Power Conditioner, Recommendation
Aug 20 2009, 11:19 AM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
Any of you here have come across an AVR with 2m powercords or detachable powercords?
Aug 21 2009, 08:55 AM
1,230 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Aug 21 2009, 10:02 AM
899 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Sumwhere |
I bought a power conditioner (Consonance) from AV fest last month (Tong Lee), made in china. Wanted to use it to connect my AVR, LCD, sub & Dvico..
Thank god, luckily i tested it out on my PC for a few days. After the third day, the whole power conditioner blew up with a loud bang. Now i'm trying to find for the receipt to get a claim... Imagine if i had hooked it up to my HT set.. |
Aug 21 2009, 10:22 AM
Aug 21 2009, 10:35 AM
36 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: End Of The Valley |
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 20 2009, 11:19 AM) Any of you here have come across an AVR with 2m powercords or detachable powercords? Not sure about the actual length of the power cords but as for those with removable power cords there are many. Any of the latest Yamahas from XV1900 onwards comes with a detachable power cord. Marantz mid-range units also have them. Not an onkyo or denon fan so not sure about those but I am sure certain models in their range do. |
Aug 21 2009, 10:45 AM
My Onkyo 876 does come with detachable pwoer cords.. I've asked Tong Lee during AV Fest and they mention that even if its built in power cord, they can help to exchange it with the power cord that you choose... Just make sure its done by the authorized dealer then its fine..
Aug 21 2009, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(uneek @ Aug 21 2009, 10:35 AM) Not sure about the actual length of the power cords but as for those with removable power cords there are many. Any of the latest Yamahas from XV1900 onwards comes with a detachable power cord. Marantz mid-range units also have them. Not an onkyo or denon fan so not sure about those but I am sure certain models in their range do. Oh no.. I am very very sorry..I have made you all confused.. Should state the full name. The AVR that I mentioned is Automatic Voltage Regulator. Not Audio Video Receiver. Sorry. |
Aug 21 2009, 12:06 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Aug 21 2009, 10:02 AM) I bought a power conditioner (Consonance) from AV fest last month (Tong Lee), made in china. Wanted to use it to connect my AVR, LCD, sub & Dvico.. Probably same. The conditioner blew up only and not other gears since your PC is still ok Thank god, luckily i tested it out on my PC for a few days. After the third day, the whole power conditioner blew up with a loud bang. Now i'm trying to find for the receipt to get a claim... Imagine if i had hooked it up to my HT set.. |
Aug 21 2009, 12:09 PM
true but my heart would have gone with it even though ntg would have happened to my HT..
Aug 21 2009, 02:35 PM
36 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: End Of The Valley |
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 21 2009, 10:45 AM) Oh no.. I am very very sorry.. Well in that case I am not sure. To my knowledge if it is just a voltage regulator then odds are the cords are not detachable.I have made you all confused.. Should state the full name. The AVR that I mentioned is Automatic Voltage Regulator. Not Audio Video Receiver. Sorry. |
Aug 21 2009, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(uneek @ Aug 21 2009, 02:35 PM) Well in that case I am not sure. To my knowledge if it is just a voltage regulator then odds are the cords are not detachable. It's OK bro.. I am just trying my luck here.Coz all the Auto Voltage Regulator that I have seen so far only come with 1m length non-detachable power cord. |
Aug 21 2009, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 21 2009, 02:52 PM) It's OK bro.. I am just trying my luck here. The APC line of AVR does not come with any cord. It uses an IEC connector type and support up to 1200Watt continuous output at 240V @ 5.2A max. Retails for around RM200 only but make sure your amp does not require more than that, otherwise, it will trip Coz all the Auto Voltage Regulator that I have seen so far only come with 1m length non-detachable power cord. Far as I can tell, its the only AVR which has a detachable cord. I am using an Isotek main cord on it fyi This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Aug 21 2009, 03:56 PM |
Aug 21 2009, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 21 2009, 03:54 PM) The APC line of AVR does not come with any cord. It uses an IEC connector type and support up to 1200Watt continuous output at 240V @ 5.2A max. Retails for around RM200 only but make sure your amp does not require more than that, otherwise, it will trip Bro... where can buy this? Far as I can tell, its the only AVR which has a detachable cord. I am using an Isotek main cord on it fyi It is for my stereo system. Should be ok, right? I will go hunt for it. |
Aug 21 2009, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 21 2009, 04:00 PM) Stereo will be no problem. You can probably get the 800 watt version which is cheaper but its always better to get the best as you never know what you will add-on later. You can find it in Sri Computer @ Low Yat if in KL. Otherwise contact your local computer dealer to indent one for you |
Aug 21 2009, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 21 2009, 04:04 PM) Stereo will be no problem. You can probably get the 800 watt version which is cheaper but its always better to get the best as you never know what you will add-on later. You can find it in Sri Computer @ Low Yat if in KL. Otherwise contact your local computer dealer to indent one for you Got it. Thanks. |
Aug 24 2009, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Aug 12 2009, 11:57 PM) hey guys, any recommendation of good and budget power Conditioner? How was Belkin PureAVĀ® Home Theater Power Console PF30? Yes, it should. Used to have the same problem. Since getting a proper conditioner, its virtually gone And I'm having 'hiss' noise coming from plasma TV set, around Power Socket part, by using this power conditioner, does it solve the problem? But a lot depends on what type of conditioner you are using, plus you may also need to upgrade the power cables as well |
Aug 26 2009, 11:16 AM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Look what I got in to try...
![]() It's the PS Audio Duet Power Center, which I decided to try based on the good reviews on the Net. Of course another factor is that I could loan it from the friendly chaps at A&L. With others like the Bada, Tacima, etc I would have to buy first. ![]() The Duet has 4 outlets (all US style) configured into 2 zones (2 plugs per zone). Each zone is isolated from the other to prevent cross contamination from plugged in equipment. I like this feature because I read that if there are no zones and you plug several components into a conditioner they can cross contaminate each other. Also, the Duet says it does not restrict current so you can plug stuff like amps, AVRs into any socket. From the Duet to your power point, a standard IEC power cable is included. However, I used the 'white snake' instead. ![]() So, I plugged in my AVR into Zone 1 and my blu ray player into Zone 2. This is what PS Audio recommends (i.e. separate the digital and analogue components). Then I spent about 1-2 hours listening to Michael Buble and watched a bit of Kung Fu Panda. What was immediately noticeable was slightly better bass, by better I don't mean more bass but cleaner and more accurate bass. After some more listening I also heard more detail, this was quite apparent on Kung Fu Panda where I heard more subtle sounds and surround effects compared to before. For the Michael Buble concert I also had a greater sense of the ambience or space of the hall. So my initial impression of the Duet is very positive, though I will spend more time with other movies to see if my opinion changes. This post has been edited by jchong: Aug 26 2009, 11:21 AM |
Aug 26 2009, 12:20 PM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
how muchie?
Aug 26 2009, 01:39 PM
494 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Amcorp Mall |
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 12:16 PM) So my initial impression of the Duet is very positive, though I will spend more time with other movies to see if my opinion changes. " AC cleaning and protection at our lowest price ever. The Duet is a no-compromise performer that features our exclusive Nano Crystalline filters, dual differential zone cleaning, over under voltage as well as surge and spike protection that is state-of-the-art. The Duet has no power limitations and will not restrict dynamic range of connected equipment. Clean spacious and open performance for audio with richer blacks and a more three diemnsional image for video. The Duet is perfect for any small system or as a standalone power center for power amplifiers of any wattage. Compact and powerful, the Duet is the perfect choice for any system" - PS Audio |
Aug 26 2009, 02:05 PM
111 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Kit Long Boh |
QUOTE Of course another factor is that I could loan it from the friendly chaps at A&L. wow......A&L got such service ? U must be a big big customer of it...... C.T.Seong.....can i borrow somethings also to test out at my place. |
| Change to: | 0.0253sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:41 PM |