LYN Tennis Lovers V3, continued in V4

Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 12:18 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Sep 16 2009, 12:06 AM)
Yan, mind sharing what u think of these two? Exo3 100 and Pure Drive GT

Experience I had before is TT Graphite 100, Graphite Chang Version, AG400 and currently on TT Hornet.

Btw, did topper have PD GT Plus?? 27.5 inch version??
haha another fren of mine looking for the plus version too ... i dun think topper will be bringing it in .. said not that popular the plus size model.

well i havne't really tested the exo3 100 yet.. will let u know how it feels after raya... but as for the PDRGT... i'ts a remarkable racq when coupled with a rough string such as blackcode... plenty of spins and excess to power. definitely heavier on the kick and also u can bet ur ass the opponent is feeling the weight of the ball when you produce a hard whack to the ball. simply put.. it's one of the best racq i've had in a long long time... however a bit demanding to use coz it's very powerful.

Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 01:34 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 16 2009, 01:28 AM)
Topper selling the Storm GT already?
How much they selling? Or anywhere else for the matter.

Nothing to learn from me one laa.... I'm a crappy ass player who can only talk, but can't do the walk.
But I'll see some time off next week and perhaps play with you a little.
Really, the only place I 've seen the Plus model is in Sunway Pyramid.
Obviously they won't sell it to you at discount prices.

But yes the GT.... is now my main racquet too. Just a superb racquet, you can even feel that you can bang serves like Roddick does.
The only thing lacking in the PDRGT is that it just isn't that nice at the net.
haha.. topper's boss david told me he just had the pleasure of stringing up 2 Storm GT racq in the morning.. but not fr malaysia. purchased in singapore ( not officially launched yet too ) ... but somehow they got their hands on 2 of it. Anyways he was saying it's a beauty... so my hands itchy alredy ..haha...

anyways yes i do hear comments fr frens it's not the best racq at the net. For me i seldom go to the net.. love to bang fr the baseline...

come on ... we just whack onli lah ... do come n join me man .. we're having a raya marathon tennis fest goin ..lolx... angel-ice, chip, crimson, ahwee, ckseong, carto ... etc...
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 08:45 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Sep 16 2009, 08:08 AM)
yan, during tennisfest, bring exo green oso ok?
ok... but havn'et strung it up yet... so might hav to do it later on loh ...
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 12:54 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Sep 16 2009, 12:17 PM)
I dont know whether I can stand the weight....but i heard it is easier to swing compare to older graphites...

Added on September 16, 2009, 12:19 pm
Do Topper now have the PDRGT? I call last month and they say no more, now waiting for Nov supply....
yah it's definitely much easier to swing compared to the POG. had the pleasure to try out recently thx to chip73.. this exo3 graphite i demoed b4 last time with the chapalang strings and dunno what tension but my demo was cut short due to string breakage. Took 2 to test.. both also pecah within 5-10min. But i must say during that short little test, it is very easy to swing and as i was having the k6.1 90 that time, i can say it's not as rigid as the k6.1.
anyhow will have a better test on the racq once i string up mine next week.

NO PDRGT until nov and also don't think they bringing in the PLUS version according to David fr Topper.

Added on September 16, 2009, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(angel-ice @ Sep 16 2009, 11:42 AM)
wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif

prince exo3 specs wink.gif

Added on September 16, 2009, 11:44 am
nice info .. but shudn't u b focusing more on the exo3 red ?hehehe

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 16 2009, 12:55 PM
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 01:50 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Sep 16 2009, 01:42 PM)
Prince Graphites will always be on my all time favourite list for tennis racquets.
I think I definately need to have them in my collection in the near future.
I'll be restricting myself from buying racquets for 1 year after my purchase of the RDS001 and most probably the 2nd stick soon.
haha... true also ... that's my thought exactly... *sigh* .. another round of testing of strings to find the proper tension fo this graphte 100...

this time round i think i'll go for the cheaper crossfire first b4 i commit to the more expensive blackcode...hehe... else wallet pecah again ...

btw chip73, u are right lah .. TOALSON sux big time... i strung up the new 4D500 yesterday with the F.O.C Toalson ... crappy like mad... not much feel and totally diff compared to the old aero500 on the X-Fire II. anybody got any good xperience with toalsons ? the one provided was the Toalson rm39.90 hybrid... (suppose to be similar to crossfire .. kevlar & syn)

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 16 2009, 01:53 PM
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 06:57 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 16 2009, 05:59 PM)
Shop is at Bukit Baru, what name already I forgot :S. After Hotel Kancil, with the library on the opposite.
shop's name is Jenson, owner is Raymond.. was there few hours ago (on way down to JOHOR)... bought 4 packs of Xfire smile.gif. well it's sort of the cheapest string for testing purposes... so i bought 4 to test on the exo3 graphite .. mmm... now come to think of it.. should have gotten another 4 packs.. coz the 4D500 seems very nice strung with crossfire (based on the old setup of the aero500 @ 57lbs. gf luvs it...(maybe on my way back will drop by mlk for lunch again ..haha...)

Added on September 16, 2009, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 16 2009, 02:44 PM)
Don't $hit on Toalson so fast!!!!
I don't know which particular model of Toalson you were trying, but I have heard some very good reviews of certain models of Toalson string.

Models to try:
http://www.toalson.co.jp/ENGLISH/a1_rencon120.html

Toalson Rencon have heard this string plays similarly to Gamma Zo Tour, or is basically the same string, I personally have yet to try.

Toalson Mugen is a MUST try for Honda fanatics, but I have heard any thing about this string so I reserve judgment on this string.

Yan / chip73 which Toalson string did you guys try?
the model we got FOC when buy racq @ topper is the Ultimate Hybrid. but fr the website u gav .. toalson... dun think i can find the picture there.. mayb not even listed there.. (too low level / entry level). Anyways it's a rm40 below standard offering that the shop has for new bundling.

Added on September 16, 2009, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(altezza8448 @ Sep 16 2009, 01:55 PM)
Yan,

You take the Prince Racquet from me, I let you try a very nice Signum String - Tornado for free. 1 racquet only lah. Stringing cost you pay.
So far the best polystring I've played with. How about that?  thumbup.gif
mm..... tempting... but i'm not sure abt the grip 3 on the prince exo3 yet... u think i can hav a test ar ? nowadays grip size v mahfan for me... mesti cuba n c ...

Added on September 16, 2009, 7:17 pm
QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 16 2009, 05:11 PM)
Ashaway Crossfire not my favourite, but then I'm a chronic string breaker. Best durability/price for me lol.
normally on the Ashaway crossfire.. do you all follow the "recommended" guideline ? 5 lbs lower or i think on the Crossfire 18 is 15-20% lower... ??

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 16 2009, 07:17 PM
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 09:13 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 16 2009, 09:07 PM)
aiyo.. rm35 is cheap strings ar? i using dunlop max comfort @ rm5 per pack nia during RSH sales..
darn that is cheap ... ada lagi ar ? drool.gif u got extra boh ? i interested leh ... is this RSH sales the last weekend thingy ? coz a fren notified me but i was too bz to go ...
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 10:24 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 16 2009, 10:17 PM)
i think i have an extra pack to spare wink.gif i'll either pass to carto to pass to you or maybe i'll drop by during raya.. yea, RSH sales was last weekend. the previous sales was a few months back, i bought nxt and max comfort at 50% off, but this time around, they reduce the price further to rm5..which of course i gasak a few mfil and max comfort.
hey thanks man .. yar carto is going over sunway to play this saturday .. mayb u can pass to him... i wud luv to test out the dunlop max comfort... coz whenever i ask topper, he says tak ada ..haha..

wow rm5 ... aiyoh if not i wud hav sapu a few too ...

i'm guessing they had those older racq for sale lah right ? and not those 4ds ...

Added on September 16, 2009, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(chip73 @ Sep 16 2009, 10:13 PM)
Yup....the toalson string i think packaging is not there on the listed website....but if check on the string which is now on the Prince Graphite II MidPlus, it's written Toalson Ultimate Power 110...Yan is right, it's Ultimate Hybrid if i could still remember the packaging well....white and blue pack.....not a very nice string really....sucky sucky.....snapped only after 2 sessions....  wink.gif....but lasted one session longer than Forten hybrid which is more pricey than Xfire2...and it lasted me 1 hour i guess...hahahhaa....both now out of my list..... tongue.gif
OMGOOOOSSSHHH... chip is back .. hehe.. MIA so long liaw bro fr forum i mean. btw i got the 4d500 liaw bro .. feel free to test it out when i get back... shud b able to make it for friday whacking session if u can grace us with ur presence.

is this the packaging ar chip ? coz i'm away can't double chk with my racq..hehe

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 16 2009, 10:40 PM
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 10:45 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 16 2009, 10:40 PM)
the previous sales, they had the mfil 200 and the roddick (i think it's the one before yours) on sales. this time around, no more dunlops but a lot of entry level wilsons and prince graphite at 40% off.
i see... mm... wasted .. twice i misssed the RSH sales... havne't tried the dunlop max yet... been meaning to test it out since our bro ben recommends it so highly ..haha... so kena try try n c ...keke

As for toalson, the weirdest part of it also is this guy a fren of mine fr singapore swears by the toalson 115 and hav been using it for the past 10yrs.. before it was called the ultimate 115 it was prev known as Toalson Apex i think... however he strings his prince graphite with this ultimate 115 at 45 or so lbs onli.... unlike us goin like 56-58 and even 60lbs

Added on September 16, 2009, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(chip73 @ Sep 16 2009, 10:44 PM)
Hehehehe....no la got read read but no time to reply lor....but since Prea shout out then i layan layan sikit lor....hehehhe...

See how first my schedule on Friday.....very very packed here on my side.....nice ah the 4d500?.....hehehhee.....ok ok, will check it out when i get there....hehehehe...... tongue.gif
pls ignore the yellow synthetic toalson pic i posted..hehe.. reposted the actual one we got fr topper ..haha... refer the latest pic i posted

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 16 2009, 10:47 PM
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 10:52 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Sep 16 2009, 10:48 PM)
Ya ya...but written "Ultimate Power 110" on the prince racket.... hmm.gif
i'm just thinking possibly it's hybrid of the ultimate power 110 + something else...hehe... possibly repackaging it and thus can sell as another new product ..hehe
Yan
post Sep 16 2009, 11:26 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Sep 16 2009, 11:08 PM)
I think Ultimate 110 is power...ultimate 115 is control..... tongue.gif

Added on September 16, 2009, 11:10 pm

Eh i thot Ck was using k6.1 95? change already ah CK?
he tangan gatal loh ... wanted to upgrade his arsenal and battle power.... summore this one straight away import masuk fr US lagi.. so u following soon ?

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 16 2009, 11:27 PM
Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 08:38 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 17 2009, 08:32 AM)
Oh right, shop's name is Jetson biggrin.gif. Me and my family's racquets all bought and strung by him. Good pricing in Melaka biggrin.gif.
yup yup Jetson ... haha .. tersilap spell.. coz he just gav me his namecard... lolx. price can fight hockeng lah ... the owner's attitude definitely better than that arsehole Eddie
Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 02:08 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 17 2009, 01:57 PM)
Friend of mine just came back the US, bought me a pack of Babolat's new strings:

Will string it up later to see how good it is.
I think its been used by a couple of the pros just recently at the US Open.
eh can't c the pics leh ..hehe... is that the new babolat revenge ? red color ? heard lots abt it ... sportprises also bringing in but not here yet.. i think oct or nov ...
Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 02:18 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 17 2009, 02:12 PM)
yan pls tell me price of Babolat Revenge when it comes in locally, die die want to try this string!
@pooh88 ,whats the bulk price lah bro, if shy, PM me lah, if can share let everyone here enjoy lah, so next time people see you, wah this kaki very cun one, spent him kopi, simple bah boss, off course bulk means need to hit quota , whats the bare minimum and price per pkt of crossfire?
sure bro ... definitely ... mesti cuba that red devil ..haha

actually the crossfire price just went up recently according to the seller... but he has old stock .. so still can be quite competitive...

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 17 2009, 02:21 PM
Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 05:31 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Sep 17 2009, 05:26 PM)
wah... i've hung ard LYN so long also didn't notice got tennis thread here!

i stopped playing for a while, and now looking to get back in the game.

anyone knows where to find a good stringer with good prices in PJ area?
well good stringer in pj area i think this guy Bakthir fr Memory Sports near Damansara Uptown (same row as public bank). he strings for the national players and most tourneys. price is reasonable. if u venture further .. u can get it done with Peter from Sportsprises Bangsar too. it's behind TMC. the rest u know lah KL ampang area ..

Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 05:50 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Sep 17 2009, 05:46 PM)
thanks for the recommendations. i will definitely try the uptown one. hopefully his prices won't be a killer...
i'm from the RM35 prince synthetic gut era...  tongue.gif
i'm sure u can still get that sort of range.. all dependent on the string brands u want .. smile.gif the prince topspin or prince RIP is still selling rm35 i think... wink.gif
Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 06:14 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Sep 17 2009, 05:56 PM)
nolah, i'm willing to pay 50+ lah... any good recommendations for that price?

what is prince RIP btw? i know a Head RIP though...
yah i know head RIP but prince has this letR RIP range i think... el cheapo rm35 type lah ... but it's hybrid type ...

Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 06:15 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 17 2009, 06:07 PM)
Eh pics working for me....
Oh well.

Yes it is the Babolat Revenge. Pretty damn expensive though, my friend paid $23 USD (RM82) for it.
I think TW only selling it for $17 or so but she's there to shop anyway heh. Any idea how much sportprises will price the Revenge at?
damn.. i wud luv to hav my hands on her, strings... whistling.gif

dunno yet loh .. havne't reach yet.. he said need to factor in tax custom etc

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 17 2009, 06:19 PM
Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 09:37 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Sep 17 2009, 08:42 PM)
Eh Prae.....45-48 how to feel la the ball wei?.....like catch butterfly only wor like that...... tongue.gif

I tried 60 on my k6.1 95....but true...too stiff.....but strung it high so that it will drop to the comfy 57 range after one or 2 sessions... tongue.gif

Pssst....u how old la wei?.... tongue.gif
talking abt stringing low tension ... nowadays i'm hearing more n more ppl stringing it low. even this famous fren of mine in singapore ..hehe.. famous blogger .. the toalson ultimate guy ..keke.. strings all 3 of his Exo 3 Graphite 100 at 45lbs or so. he is saying nowadays even more n more players find more control and power at low tension compared to prev era..

my question is : does the feeling of the string bed the same in this 2 scenarios ..
1) string direct at 45lbs and play
2) string higher say 55lbs and whack till the tension drops or leave it there till it comes down to 45+ lbs ? ( if the string still holds and haven't pecah yet). coz i mean u often hear ppl say .. "string already dead". so i'm wondering are they refering to the string being low tension compared to their prev strung tension ??

Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 10:34 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 17 2009, 10:23 PM)
This is from what I gather, please take with a grain of salt, if you can afford to do some experimenting, I would recommend it, esp with cheap strings say around RM 40 or less.

Some people would comment that 45-48 tension is too low, they can generate power, they need control, if you are a FLAT hitter I can certainly understand your point of view, but if you are a topspin hitter, not necessary a Nadal clone, BUT your shots do dip, you will most certainly appreciate low tension rackets, I have only tried this on a 16x19 open string pattern racket. If you have 18x20, you are more than welcome to try, I won't say its harder to impart topspin on a 18x20 racket, but if you have good technique its doable.

Yan it answer your question, it all depends on WHAT type of string you are using.

Take for example, Luxilon, this is a 1st generation poly that has wowed the ATP, it is without a shadow of a doubt the most popular poly on tour, ATP and WTA, nothing else comes close! PERIOD!
Luxilon is the only brand where professionals have to PAY for their string, unlike other brands the brands pay the players to use their product.

The current information I have on poly is this:

If you are using your scenario:

1) String Luxilon at 45lbs and play, it will play beautifully and you will have the poly effect for a much longer time, hence the strings don't die as fast expression.

2.String Luxion at 55lbs, there is a higher possibility you will be able to take HUGE FRIGGIN CUTS at the ball and it will remain in, you will bewilder your opponents, however this setup WILL NOT LAST long, I have been told depending on your NTRP, some people have reported it lasted for 15 mins, during those 15 mins they played the best tennis of their life, after that 15 mins they noticed huge deterioration of the string performance, balls that were landing 2 inches before the baseline are landing a foot out. Other have noted the strings performance deteriorated after 1 hitting session ie 45 - 55 mins. Again experiment and see what works for you.

You can certainly string at 55lbs, but make a note, how you felt you were hitting the ball,ask your hitting partner, was your ball coming at them faster, did the ball feel heavy,etc. Make a mental note, how long did this last, if you get feedback, wai boss, how come your ball not so strong leh..... attribute that to the string, then.

On a personal note, I have noticed if your string lower, esp with POLY, your spin is unbelievable, BUT I suspect you MUST have a sound technique. If you cannot maintain a 20-30 ball rally, do not waste your money on this experiment, I also believe stringing lower tension on a racket only works with a STIFF racket, if you are using a flexible racket, again I would not recommend this.

Didn't Nawin change to Prince :-O Also didn't know he was a fan of Toalson either! >:-) j/k Damn he change his gear pretty radical.....lost another Wilson kaki to evil Prince shakehead.gif
He also does great reports on stuff
oh great... u know nawin as well..haha...he just invited me over to hit with him one of these days. yup he is ON the Prince exo3 graphite now. said it's his best racq to date. and have been using toalson like forever..haha.. yup he is also crazy abt gears. just bought a st.vincent few weekends ago. think he has more than 20 odd racquest in his collection so far and has the gamma x-es to string his own racqs. envynya... !!

anyways tx for the explanation. Will definitely giv it a try one of these days since i recently stocked up the crossfire 17 .. so will use that to experiment so pocket won't pecah. Will try it on the exo3 graphite first since got example already ..haha

another Q : on the crossfire normally it's "recommended to string lower 5lbs or on the 18gauge version 15-20% lower. How do u guys string ur crossfire/ hybird normally ?

26 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0382sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:31 PM