QUOTE(VyvernS @ Aug 10 2009, 03:13 PM)
6 death for H1N1 infected one...Not something good news though, may be this drive some speculation based on those glove stock.
Stock Market V37: Return of the Bull, Part V, Bull vs. Bear
Aug 10 2009, 03:19 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Aug 10 2009, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(VyvernS @ Aug 10 2009, 03:46 PM) Dilemma...dilemma.... Gain money also got dilemma one meh? Dudes/Gals out there with Tanjong.... If you bought at 13.40, will you sell it at 16.00? Help QUOTE(chyaw @ Aug 10 2009, 04:09 PM) Small Cap value (forgot the name) is disposing it. If you believe KNM is a good company, it is actually a good time to buy. Lately fund managers are selling this counters, even its directors are sold a few at 1.00. Signal 1.00 a bit high for this stock? Added on August 10, 2009, 4:11 pmSmall Cap value (forgot the name) is disposing it. If you believe KNM is a good company, it is actually a good time to buy. Directors buying/selling generally tell something one although not a must. |
Aug 10 2009, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(nujikabane @ Aug 10 2009, 06:40 PM) Guys, if a counter was given as dividend-in-specie, and a while later the counter declared dividend, will the shareholders who got it as Generally, yes, you are become the shareholder of the other company as well as soon you receive the share dividend. dividend-in-specie, get the dividend as well ? QUOTE(omores @ Aug 10 2009, 07:19 PM) Anyone bought proton? In terms of price performance, it had jumped up faster (10%) than kinstel (8%), Sealink (cant remember) and definitely better than KNM (-5%). Can you believe it? Hahahahahahaha. Anyhow, these are the most recent stocks i bought, last week. For short term trade, actually it is not fair to compare directly. My old stocks still holding and going strong. Except BJTOTO that is. Just like Citi is the star performance in US because, rise more than 300% from the low, but most people lose money in this stock at least until now. |
Aug 10 2009, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(mopster @ Aug 10 2009, 11:14 PM) September is the worst month in history of US equities ? A lot of time, market crash around this time Sep or Oct. http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=206...id=aK8qWUROcAn4 Last year the big bear in multi-decade started and take control around September as well, which nosediving event start due to Lehman. 911. 1929 crash 1987 crash The previous recession of 2002 also hit the low point during September Don't know it is coincidence or not. Don't mean to say Sep is a dangerous month, just it is the history of the market. Edited, after I posted, I also found this is an interesting fact/history as well. This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 10 2009, 11:55 PM |
Aug 11 2009, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Aug 11 2009, 09:34 PM) Well, if he is 100% correct, he will be the richest man in the world. Anyway, I just dun like the way he talk about certain stocks, but some of his principles are actually quite correct. To follow or not to follow him is our choice. I choose not to follow, because if market rally, everyone are actually making money, just how much we are actually gaining? 50%? 2x? 3x? etc... Actually one doesn't need to follow or not follow, read up other opinion (like or not like doesn't matter) is good to remind and enlight us for broader view. |
Aug 12 2009, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(kolabong @ Aug 11 2009, 11:59 PM) 1)wanted to buy pbbank but looks like a bit expensive for me. is it still worth buying? 1) it is expensive based on valuation or just share price? It view expensive based on share price, then the word expensive is wrong already. No offence.2)phew...can relieve a bit.. 3)is 20% margin a norm for those side liners? sometimes i feel a bit dilemma; to race like a turtle or like a rabbit. To turtle, buy and hold till KLCI reaches 1500. To rabbit, buy sell and buy sell, higher frequency = higher return?, but timing is hard to catch! yaya..coz i dont know what else to buy..that's why i come here and curi-curi... is axreit really good? dont shoot me pls as i havent studied it properly. wow..glad to receive some many prompt feedback..all noted! is time for me to do more studies again. thanks a lot !! zzz time. 2) Diversified or not, it is up to individual risk appetite. There is no right or wrong. 3) Never try to time the market for long term investment, market 'time' you back if one is looking for it. Can't say 20% margin is right or wrong. As we just have severe downturn which just happened in multi-decade time, so now it is bounce up on recovery. In norm time, over long term, a gain of 10~20% pa is considered a very ok and good performance already. Axreit is not a ordinary stock, it is a reit. Reit is never as same as normal stock. |
Aug 12 2009, 03:19 PM
China market down nearly 5%.
Bubble bursting? |
Aug 12 2009, 03:24 PM
The most fear is if China bubble bursting, world economy ended like Japan model.
Aug 12 2009, 03:27 PM
Aug 12 2009, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(Joy~ @ Aug 12 2009, 11:23 PM) Hi all, Fed is 99.99999999% won't be adjusting the interest rate. A newbie here, swimming in the dark ocean of KLSE...trying to make some gain...hopefully Tomorrow might be good to trade if ShangHai Composite stabilise ... DJIA +125.75 now...Fed might not adjust the interest rate and everyone is happy about it. China market moves on its own one, never take cue from overseas market because it is more a closed market, not a fully open market. |
Aug 13 2009, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(espree @ Aug 13 2009, 02:40 PM) TM should be a boring dividend stock (fixed line, broadband business is steady but growth rate is low)while Axiate is more a growth stock as international line and mobile communication can be highly volatile as well as Axiata has some overseas similar operation as well. So it is nature for Axiate to be more volatile than TM. |
Aug 13 2009, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(David_Brent @ Aug 13 2009, 03:36 PM) Wonder what it will go to when they announce the results In stock market, what investors most concern is the ability of the company generate profit, not about what they owned (important also, but more secondary).I've been holding since May at 0.37. The book-value of their land bank is HUGELY understated IIRC Just like BAT has nothing in their book, but every year it can generate lot of profit and dividend to its shareholders, which make lot of people want to own it eventually higher share price. So back to a property company, it might have lot of land, but those just vacant land which generate nothing to the company, so investors are less interest compared to BAT as above example, so lower share price. The situation is as same as a shoplot, you can own a shoplot at 500K but no tenant, so even at your book worth 500K, it is a liabilities as it generate nothing while need to pay quit rent and assessment every year. So it is not right for investors to buy the equivalent 500K bookvalue (or NTA) althought those properites might have potential for appreciation. |
Aug 13 2009, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(Neon_ @ Aug 13 2009, 04:12 PM) QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 13 2009, 04:12 PM) Good recommendation Type "mopiko" in stock name/code on the online portal, error generated. This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 13 2009, 04:21 PM |
Aug 13 2009, 04:47 PM
Aug 14 2009, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 14 2009, 10:14 AM) Sorry ya. Don't mean to say that I like recession as it is bad for everybody and the whole country. This recession/crisis is one of the worst that happened since 1930's, so may be need to wait another 70 years to have as deep as just passed stock market meltdown.I guess I'm not that much affected as I'm in the government service. Recession or no recession, same same. Well, maybe the year-end bonus will be lower but don't really make a difference as we only get half month or one month bonus. I like recession with respect to picking up cheap stocks for long-term investment. It is not normal to see market plunge like last year one. QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 14 2009, 10:20 AM) Things evolve and changing from time to time. Now blue chips, 10 years later might become potato chip. GM was big blue chip 20-30 years ago, now left with ash only. Citi was big blue chip just before the crisis now become potato chip. UEM Bhd was considered blue chip before 1997 and one of foreign investors loved darling, went up until 20.00 before. Now apa chip put tak ala. |
Aug 14 2009, 11:26 AM
Aug 14 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(fatw3apon @ Aug 14 2009, 12:13 PM) can someone explain what happen to YTL power and its warrant? how come their warrant is having negative premium? hm.. Because its mothershare always good dividend, which is disadvantage to the warrant holder, also gearing is low. If really interested in this stock, I would rather go for mothershare directly which pay good dividend every year while warrant has none. So sum up why this warrant has negative premium becaus discounting the dividend issue. |
Aug 14 2009, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 14 2009, 01:03 PM) Quite right. Only one way, if USD tank means some other currencies will go up, like AUD.The world financial market will crash big time in 2012. The first country who leads the big down fall is none other than USA. 60-80% of their homes will under water, crushed under massive debt and not only that, I believe the USD will tank big time due to printing by US govt. Other currencies will follow as well. We may have to barter using precious metals like silver and gold. Yes, I am serious. You cannot have all major currencies tank one, as currencies exchange rate is relative one. Cannot possible to have all go down, get what I mean. USD tank means its value loss against Yen, AUD, Euro etc. You cannot have all tank together one, if all tank together, the exchange rate remain the same, then there is no tank at all. Unless saying people lose confidence on paper money which by then mean financial market meltdown already, everything worth little, even commodities. People only lose confidence in paper money in severe inflation time which is not happening right now. People only lose confidence in money if those money cannot buy them something equivalent to. This crisis has showed, you cannot escape if there is meltdown in financial market, everyone is a loser. See how crude dropped from 140 to 30, steel price dropped more than 50%, copper also same, gold value might be holding but not going up either. No possible to have barter trade in gold, we have not enough gold for meet the amount of world trade currently. If there is, it just means another bubble/problem, gold price sky-rocketing. Marke crash is not a major fear, in history we have crashed so many times, but eventually always recover. We had the most severe case of 1997 Asian crisis, everything was chaotic at that time, still we are through, and good stock make even higher than pre-1997 level now. (2x or 3x higher than pre-1997 level) The higher probability in near future, is like what Japan had experience after the real estate bubble burst during 80's. This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 14 2009, 02:25 PM |
Aug 14 2009, 02:26 PM
Aug 14 2009, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(mopster @ Aug 14 2009, 02:53 PM) since YTLP is just investing the cash in hand, which has nothing to do with her utilities' stable earnings and dividend... YTLP carries massive debt as well, so cannot say nothing to do with money. Somemore money could be needed for expansion on its own.in fact if Wimax is succesful then we have a +... safe to hold imo... hope im right.. as for whether she will jalan or not, i dunno.... ------------- Scammy come again... YTLP cannot simply channel the money to YTLE directly, if not it would another case of inter-company loan issue like Bjtoto with Bjland. Also YTLE major shareholders is YTL, not YTLP. |
| Change to: | 0.0491sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:13 AM |