Dell Studio 15 Fans Club V4., Now with ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470
c_s_mak
Sep 3 2009, 03:48 PM

Hi all, question regarding the full hd. I knows You guys have answered a lot of these questions and i've read almost all of them including the first page. let's say... I need high res when i'm working - coz i need a lot of work space. when gaming, i'll reduce to 1366x768 since the 4570 is not powerful enuff for higher res.
My question is if i buy the full hd lcd, will there be any issue if i wan to lower the resolution later? Will it display in 1366x768 resolution utilizing all the lcd sceen size?
I'm now using dell 640m which is running on 1440X900 px on 14.1 inch. Everything looks nice with native resolution and am comfortable with the font size. But in other resolutions it looks terrible, it can't utilize the whole lcd screen(probably the other resolution is not widescreen resolution). the whole screen will shrink and thick dark frame will form around the screens for lower resolution.
For those with full hd setup, can you clarify with me? thx...
c_s_mak
Oct 11 2009, 01:56 PM

Hi guys, now studio 15 got 4 packages. RM2699, 3349, 3399 and 4149. I'm interested with the 3399 package, seems like best bang of the buck among the 4. Some more now got the 48 hours rush deal with rm100 discount.
Honestly, i dun like the special artist cover but now they seems like pushing ppl to take it. Should i get it? is it a good deal?
c_s_mak
Oct 12 2009, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 12 2009, 08:31 AM) Had a look at Studio 15 price... They are really forcing those new buyer to get the RM 3399 s15 with the special design. They are just RM 50 difference. But the HDD increase by 180GB. Quite worth i think. And the design... Surely will attract other's eyes. Lolz Yeap that's true, the 3399 got alot more compare to others, that's y i choosed that. I really wish they could remove the special designs stuffs thou it cost around 200 more compare to the previous 3199. I bought it today since it's the last day for the 48 hours rush promotion with discount rm100. Ask for freebies, the sales girls offer belkin back pack for rm 99 and i took it. I hope it's a right choice. Initially thought of waitting for pc pair.
c_s_mak
Oct 15 2009, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Oct 13 2009, 09:42 AM) Your laptop got so many problems one ar  A good case of Dell after sales service, if got any problem just buzz their customer service and they will fix it for you. S15 slot-load DVD rom is one of the most troublesome DVD rom that I ever used. It has a slow reading speed and it can't detect *ahem* disc properly. I got a feeling that Dell purposely design the DVD rom not to read pirated stuff  I have no problem installing original copies, all of them to be exact. The slot dvd rom. Is there any pin hole for manual eject? In case the disc stuck inside. Anyway, something so share wif u guys. Now no more 1600X900 WLED screens. Only 1080p and 720p available from dell. Ordered mine on this monday for 900p but they changed it to 1080p during production. I check from the check order status link in dell website. the order list send from dell agent with price is stated 900p though, hope they dun charge me extra for that
c_s_mak
Oct 26 2009, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Oct 26 2009, 12:11 PM) my s15 starts to give me problem... recently everytime i boot computer it always got the windows disk check, as if i did not shut down properly, but i m pretty sure i shut down properly.i wonder is tat the sign of harddisk failure? btw, i am using win7 rtm 64bit ultimate. Did you leave your thumb drive connected at the usb port while u boot? I have the same situation as u but the disk check was just checking my thumb drive. It's vista 64 btw.... This post has been edited by c_s_mak: Oct 26 2009, 03:19 PM
c_s_mak
Oct 28 2009, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(tph84 @ Oct 27 2009, 05:26 PM) hey, i just complete the registration/order for window 7 upgrade, but it didnt charge me the shipping? anything wrong? i heard got shipping charge one?? Yo bro, mind to tell me how u register for the win7 upgrade? tried it on https://win7.dell.com/ but it got stuck at the validate button. After i key in all the details and service tag code i click validate, it shows loading icon and after that no response.. few days already. You successfully registered on 27 oct? Thx
c_s_mak
Oct 28 2009, 02:32 PM

QUOTE(LSYuan @ Oct 28 2009, 02:10 PM) hi...how urs reg goin...im having the same wit u...after click the validate button...its disappear. i duno is it success reg or fail lol If successful they'll send an email to you. Me same case, press validate and no respond. Send email to them but they reply automated answer to me - Buy a dell eligible win7 upgrade and go to this link for upgrade registration bla bla bla. My guess is probably info keyed in is not correct? I wonder how nanogen did it? Any guide from anyone?
c_s_mak
Oct 28 2009, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(tph84 @ Oct 28 2009, 03:31 PM) i successfully registered, but also after few try. if it can success will be very fast. but if it hang after the validate, i guess the only thing u can do is try again later. Ok, thx for the info. Will try that it later  anyway, what browser version u use?
c_s_mak
Nov 6 2009, 02:11 PM

QUOTE(clayton-chew @ Nov 5 2009, 09:13 PM) brothers.. Installed window 7 in my system.. everything is working fine to me.. =) starting to like window 7 already.. Added on November 5, 2009, 9:15 pmeverything working fine here wor.. i feel faster and responsive.. Added on November 5, 2009, 11:22 pmbtw, Eset Smart Security 4 doesn't work well with win7, just found out recently.. Firewall doesn't work anymore, web access protection doesn't work anymore too. please refer http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=conte...ctp=LIST_RECENTHow bout the eset antivirus on win7? i dun like the smart security, it causes problem for me even in windows xp sp3... I only use the antivirus