123 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, Man Utd 2 Arsenal 1

slycoop
post Aug 14 2009, 06:48 PM

26 posts

Torres: Beating United is easy

FERNANDO TORRES threw out a title taunt to Chelsea and Manchester United last night.

The Liverpool hitman said: "We have no problem beating Manchester United or Chelsea but it is games like Sunday's at Tottenham where we need to show our real title intentions.

"Tottenham is not an easy place to go but these are games we must be winning if this is to finally be our year."

The Spanish striker, 25, believes his side simply HAVE to win the Premier League title this season after going so close last term.

They missed out by just four points to champions United.

Torres said: "I am not thinking can we win the title, I am thinking we have to win the title.

"We came so close last season but for many of the players it was their first time experiencing the pressure of a Premier League title race."

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...ed-is-easy.html

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by slycoop: Aug 14 2009, 06:49 PM
kampit_ikram
post Aug 14 2009, 07:06 PM

155 posts

blah la pool.... takkan menang punye... setakat nak harap torres pendek tuh... xabi pon dah takde... blok cecukup si gerard abis... makan rumput je la...
creap
post Aug 14 2009, 07:15 PM

I would like a piece of punch line
3,306 posts

ha ha ha. every year I have the pleasure updating my siggy...
aztechx
post Aug 14 2009, 07:15 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

somehow i find torres' comment on us a lil bit endearing.. sweat.gif
TSalien2003
post Aug 14 2009, 07:17 PM

12,754 posts

Man Utd v Birmingham preview

Manchester United kick-off their bid for an unprecedented fourth successive title with a home meeting against newly-promoted Birmingham.

The Red Devils may have seen Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez depart for pastures new this summer, but Sir Alex Ferguson has brought in Antonio Valencia and Michael Owen to bolster his squad.

United remain the team to beat as they bid to make history on two fronts in becoming the first team to be crowned champions four years on the trot, and overtake fierce foes Liverpool as the most successful side in the English league.

For Birmingham, an opening weekend trip to Old Trafford represents the toughest possible examination of their top-flight credentials having secured promotion from the Championship.

And their Premier League record at the home of the Red Devils leaves much to be desired, with no points and no goals from their five previous visits.

But Ferguson's men are not always the fastest starters in the top-flight marathon, having been held on home turf by Newcastle and Reading on the opening day of the past two campaigns.

Team news

Nani confirmed he had made a rapid recovery from the shoulder injury he sustained in the Community Shield against Chelsea with a substitute appearance for Portugal against Liechtenstein on Wednesday.

Goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar is out after finger surgery so Ben Foster continues to deputise despite pulling out of the England squad in midweek, while inspirational centre-back Nemanja Vidic is out with a calf problem.

Jonny Evans would be the first choice to replace the Serbia international, but he missed Northern Ireland's encounter with Israel this week after suffering an ankle injury.

Wes Brown should be available but has not played for over a fortnight since injuring a thigh during a pre-season tournament in Munich.

Craig Cathcart could be drafted in, while Ferguson would also have the option of using John O'Shea in the centre of his defence and allowing Ritchie De Laet to build on his Premier League debut at Hull City last term.

Blues boss Alex McLeish faces major selection problems with defenders Liam Ridgewell, Martin Taylor, Scott Dann, Giovanny Espinoza and David Murphy all unavailable.

Midfielder Lee Bowyer is suspended while striker Marcus Bent is sidelined by a hamstring problem.

New signings Joe Hart, Roger Johnson, Gregory Vignal and Barry Ferguson will all make their debuts, while fellow new boy, striker Christian Benitez, could be on the bench as he continues his recovery from shoulder surgery.

Possible starting XIs:

Man Utd: Foster, Brown, Evans, Ferdinand, Evra, Carrick, Fletcher, Nani, Park, Berbatov, Rooney.

Birmingham: Hart, Carr, R Johnson, Queudrue, Vignal, Larsson, Carsley, Ferguson, McSheffrey, Jerome, Phillips.

One to Watch: Wayne Rooney

http://www.skysports.com/football/match_pr...3162377,00.html

Danny Simpson loaned to Newcastle

August 14, 2009

MANCHESTER United defender Danny Simpson has gone on loan to Championship side Newcastle United.

The 22-year-old, who has made just eight first-team appearances at Old Trafford, has joined the Magpies until January.

Simpson has had loan spells at Royal Antwerp, Sunderland, Ipswich and Blackburn since signing with the United academy in July 2003.

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo...ed_to_newcastle

This post has been edited by alien2003: Aug 14 2009, 07:55 PM
rayz1031
post Aug 14 2009, 07:23 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

Prediction time.

Foster
Oshea Brown Rio Evra
Valencia Carrick Fletcherinho Nani
Rooney
Owen

Just wanted to see Owen play, have nothing against Berba. He still have the most cun-ness touch in EPL, next match maybe tongue.gif
kampit_ikram
post Aug 14 2009, 07:25 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(creap @ Aug 14 2009, 07:15 PM)
ha ha ha. every year I have the pleasure updating my siggy...
love that lol....
EmaNLeTo
post Aug 14 2009, 07:39 PM

14 posts

This is our year.. whistling.gif

My lineup:
Foster
O'shea Brown Rio Evra
Valencia Fletcher Carrick Nani
Berba Rooney

but i want to see De Laet + Owen in action.. drool.gif
Rhadykall
post Aug 14 2009, 07:55 PM

After 9 years only can modify
590 posts

Hmm... Simmo got loaned off again, this time to Newcastle. Guess that's it for him. We always loan out our players a couple of time before they get sold off. We have too many RBs anyway.
nizamhameed
post Aug 14 2009, 08:11 PM

6,437 posts

owen will be our sub as usual

if we seal the game bring in owen play 4-3-3
Sheep319
post Aug 14 2009, 08:22 PM

how do i post
6,364 posts

Man Utd: Foster, Brown, Evans, Ferdinand, Evra, Carrick, Fletcher, Nani, Park, Berbatov, Rooney.

Fuh.

Not even a new signing in sight.
redscorpion
post Aug 14 2009, 08:51 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Aug 14 2009, 08:22 PM)
Fuh.

Not even a new signing in sight.
mind games as usual.. whistling.gif
whoopa
post Aug 14 2009, 08:53 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

nani not injured meh zzzz ...
corez
post Aug 14 2009, 09:00 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Ada gathering tak Sunday? Wanna show off my new White Ronaldo 9
nizamhameed
post Aug 14 2009, 09:02 PM

6,437 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Aug 14 2009, 09:00 PM)
Ada gathering tak Sunday? Wanna show off my new White Ronaldo 9
hidup lagi glory hunter nie... tongue.gif

corez
post Aug 14 2009, 09:03 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Saya hidup waktu footie season aje. Waktu summer I hibernasi
cellfreezer
post Aug 14 2009, 10:07 PM

65 posts

Lol Torres. Selective memory it seems. Did he forgot that they lost in the 07/08 season?
tommy81
post Aug 14 2009, 10:19 PM

88 posts

what is the ucl play off?!
damn,show it and no bpl!
no live for agianst burnley! vmad.gif
akkmutd0711
post Aug 14 2009, 10:22 PM

188 posts

No, they actually won the Liverpool Premier League 08/09, you have forgotten didn't you?

This post has been edited by akkmutd0711: Aug 14 2009, 10:23 PM
cellfreezer
post Aug 14 2009, 10:26 PM

65 posts

I missed the double over United and top 4 mini league play-off to determine the Liverpool Premier League winner. So, they won huh? *hangs head in shame*

123 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:49 PM