Question about Blu-ray player.

TSlow98944
post Aug 9 2009, 09:26 PM, updated 17y ago

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

I am new with Blu-ray. I just brought a Panasonic DMP-BD60 (not yet receive). I saw other shops selling DMP-BD60 and Sharp Blu-ray and all of them are Region A when manufactured. That is good for those watching US movies (although lot of Blu-ray discs are free region or included all three regions), but if some day when you watch Hong Kong movie with Region C, can we watch that movie in Region A player?

Why the Blu-ray player purchase in Malaysia is pre-set to Region A?

Is there anyway to reset the Region A to Free region (or all three region) for my Panasonic Blu-ray Player? If I can reset, will it affact the warranty status and still be able to update future firmware?
Learjet35
post Aug 9 2009, 09:27 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

i think cannot.same goes to PS3. smile.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 9 2009, 09:51 PM

1,442 posts

Of course you cannot alter the Region status, else why they segregate regions in the first place leh smile.gif

Meaning yr player can only watch BDs fr Region A, not B & C, tho some BDs are region free.

BTW, how much you bought yr BD60?
moviebuff
post Aug 9 2009, 10:06 PM

166 posts

wink.gif
QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 9 2009, 09:26 PM)
I am new with Blu-ray.  I just brought a Panasonic DMP-BD60 (not yet receive).  I saw other shops selling DMP-BD60 and Sharp Blu-ray and all of them are Region A when manufactured.  That is good for those watching US movies (although lot of Blu-ray discs are free region or included all three regions), but if some day when you watch Hong Kong movie with Region C, can we watch that movie in Region A player?

Why the Blu-ray player purchase in Malaysia is pre-set to Region A?

Is there anyway to reset the Region A to Free region (or all three region) for my Panasonic Blu-ray Player?  If I can reset, will it affact the warranty status and still be able to update future firmware?
Hi! friend, Hk bluray movie are region A too. So, don't worry. wink.gif
prescott
post Aug 9 2009, 10:18 PM

324 posts

you need to hard mod ur player to become multi region, and by doing that will void the warranty.

For more info, refer Hard Mod
Learjet35
post Aug 9 2009, 11:21 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(prescott @ Aug 9 2009, 10:18 PM)
you need to hard mod ur player to become multi region, and by doing that will void the warranty.

For more info, refer Hard Mod
wow.that kind of mod also got...haha
maskedchan
post Aug 10 2009, 07:49 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 9 2009, 09:51 PM)
Of course you cannot alter the Region status, else why they segregate regions in the first place leh smile.gif

Meaning yr player can only watch BDs fr Region A, not B & C, tho some BDs are region free.

doh.gif
apexg2
post Aug 10 2009, 07:55 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

me oso want to doh.gif
TSlow98944
post Aug 10 2009, 08:58 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 9 2009, 09:51 PM)

I brought it a RM1,300. Is that expensive? I saw one shop sale RM1,899... sweat.gif
mpyw
post Aug 10 2009, 09:19 AM

3,603 posts

htkaki selling RM1.1k.....sweat.gif
TSlow98944
post Aug 10 2009, 09:50 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

sad.gif I am living in Kuching. Thus need to purchase in Kuching. Kuching product often more expensive than KL... cry.gif
arremie
post Aug 10 2009, 10:24 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 10 2009, 08:58 AM)
I brought it a RM1,300.  Is that expensive?  I saw one shop sale RM1,899... sweat.gif
QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 10 2009, 09:19 AM)
whistling.gif
moomoos
post Aug 10 2009, 05:46 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 10 2009, 09:19 AM)
bukan rm900 ar... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Aug 10 2009, 06:21 PM

3,603 posts

no more RM900 stocks tongue.gif

but I heard some Sharp HP21 going for RM600.....sweat.gif
prescott
post Aug 10 2009, 08:42 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 10 2009, 06:21 PM)

where is it?
samlee860407
post Aug 10 2009, 08:51 PM

4,631 posts

hehe, rm1.3k is still mahal even if include courier service if buy from forumer here tongue.gif
ar188
post Aug 10 2009, 10:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 10 2009, 06:21 PM)

yeah that's what I heard too.. tongue.gif

TSlow98944
post Aug 11 2009, 09:09 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

If purchase from forumer, is it the Panasonic Malaysia and its authorised service centers will allow purchaser to claim warranty from them?

Recently I noted in my Plasma's warranty card, Panasonic Malaysia said that warranty on valid if you purchase the products distributed by Panasonic Malaysia only.

This mean those products using the parallel import may not cover buy Panasonic Malaysia. Correct me if I am wrong.
formalin
post Aug 11 2009, 09:27 AM

114 posts

DMP-BD60 for BlueRay is Region A code, when it play DVD disc is it "region free "? as I have Region 1,3,4 & 6 DVD disc
TSlow98944
post Aug 11 2009, 09:39 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(formalin @ Aug 11 2009, 09:27 AM)
DMP-BD60 for BlueRay is Region A code, when it play DVD disc is it "region free "? as I have Region 1,3,4 & 6 DVD disc
If not mistaken, it is manufactured at DVD region 3.

0.0211sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:53 PM