odd_mochi
post Aug 9 2009, 11:11 AM

23 posts

congrats for the new thread smile.gif
odd_mochi
post Aug 18 2009, 11:34 PM

23 posts

in my oppinion, to know a female hamster is pregnant or not, you just hav to wait and see... even for planned 'mating'...the owner still hav to observe for any signs of pregnancy...easiest sign would be 'bulging tummy'? i supposed so... hmm..

better separate the hamsters...

and for the 2ft tank... i think most of the syrian owners here use that.. if not mayb some using DIY storage box, or zoozone series...
if u using the plastic 2ft guppy tank, i dun think u need to make holes at the tank itself... becoz the plastic cover has holes... and the hamster can get adequate air..

regarding overheat, don't put the tank at a place with direct sunlight exposure... make sure the ventilation in the room is good.. i think like that should be fine...
odd_mochi
post Aug 26 2009, 06:49 PM

23 posts

haih...so nice u all can go for gathering...
here...dunno who can call for gath.... kuchingites?? anyone??
odd_mochi
post Sep 29 2009, 08:47 PM

23 posts

Cool! Big family! Suggest make family tree...easier to read for someone slow like me haha @_@

Added on September 29, 2009, 8:57 pm
QUOTE(Lisacrs @ Sep 22 2009, 12:58 AM)
thank you lala..i gv her milk with soak bread...someties soya with bread..
but everytime she oso cant finnish it..bcz she eat alone only so i m quite worry, her babies cant eat yet la, jz 2 days..~
i m 1st time take care the pups..
very scared and nervous oo...
scared and worry if anyting goes wrong..
everytime feed her must make sure got someting moving inside her house, then only i feel not so scared.. smile.gif
lala, may i know around how many days only the pups will walk out from the house? ^^
btw, just asking...wat kind of milk do you use? because if i remember correctly, we cannot simply give the milk we usually drink right? correct me if im wrong smile.gif

This post has been edited by odd_mochi: Sep 29 2009, 08:57 PM
odd_mochi
post Oct 1 2009, 01:17 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(SilverSpoon @ Sep 29 2009, 09:24 PM)
Hi to all hamster lover here,

I brought my hamster to Animal Medical Centre (Jln Tun Razak) to check on a lump growth on my hamster's lower lips. The doctor did mentioned something like 'pus'. He said the causes for the lump is most probably because of infection due to scratches or bite (by other hamster. For your info, i got 2 hamsters living together).
The hamster needs to do operation. The operation cost is approximately RM250.
Is it consider reasonable or expensive? Does anybody have any other recommended places for this kind of operation. The operation will be done in the morning. Then later in the evening can bring back the hamster.
So, the hamster is not required to stay overnight.

Anybody have any comment?
Last time my fren's hamster also had the same problem i think...they call is abscess (collection of pus)...also below the jaw, midline area...somewhere there la..
He was put under general anaesthesia, then drainage of the abscess was done... This procedure, together with antiseptic and antibiotic, costed less than rm100... Hamster was also not required to stay overnight..

but then this is in Kuching.. Maybe other places the cost is higher.. Wait for other forumers to give u input on this la k? Just sharing some experience..

Added on October 1, 2009, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(Lisacrs @ Sep 29 2009, 10:59 PM)
i feeding them hl and dutch lady low fat milk woh..wat milk v should gv??
blink.gif
Hmm...in my oppinion it is better to give milk which is made specifically for animals...like for cat/puppy? If not mistaken, they can't tolerate lactose and may cause diarrhea...is it? I've tried to find a reference for this issue, but failed to. Sorry. From wat i've been told, better to give milk for animal. Hope other forumers can confirm this.

This post has been edited by odd_mochi: Oct 1 2009, 01:31 PM
odd_mochi
post Oct 1 2009, 07:06 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(SilverSpoon @ Oct 1 2009, 04:50 PM)
Thanks a lot for the comment odd_mochi,
Yea, i think my hamster's condition is quite similar to your fren's hamster.
The vet also said that my hamster will be put under anaesthesia, but the saddest part is that it'll cost me around RM250.  cry.gif

Maybe like what you said, because of different location, the prices differ.
Anyway, if there's no other places/option, then i'll have to bring my hamster there this coming Saturday morning.

Do you know what is the reason / causes for this so called "abscess"?
Most probably its like wat the vet told you. Wound from scratches, or bites from other hamster..get infected and become abscess.. Good luck in searching for an alternative vet with cheaper charge...! For now, just make sure ur hammie does not get into fight with the other hammie, and make sure it eats well...clean cage a bit oso...while waiting for the operation.. All the best!
odd_mochi
post Oct 3 2009, 11:51 AM

23 posts

Lawrence93,

Umm...i hope u don't be discourage by all the response u got...
U feel like u kena bomb/scold from these responses, i don't really blame you...but then again, different ppl have their own way of expressing concern...so you have to accept this...k? This way we can learn how to be more mature, emotionally and mentally..

Next time you kena bomb/scold, and get offended....i suggest u take deep breath and calm down...analyse wat is the beneficial points/advice from the comments...and apply it for the benefit of ur hamster.. Please..all the suggestions that you can do, have been given to u by other forumers... So please...calm down, and try and figure out what to do k? smile.gif

Everyone has this kind of experience, not only confined to this forum, but also in the outside world.

Sorry for this kind of input in this forum.... I think it is important...as a petlover to have this kind of mentality... *peace* smile.gif

Lawrence93...gambatte ne~
odd_mochi
post Oct 4 2009, 12:53 AM

23 posts

thumbs up Lawrence93 smile.gif all the best~
odd_mochi
post Oct 20 2009, 05:00 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 19 2009, 11:46 PM)
I've not posted my hamster's pictures in a long while. So hard to snap pictures when she can hardly stay still lol

This one was bought from bobiac, lowyat seller. Extremely cute little thing biggrin.gif

Meet Min. I cannot remember she was hamster number what lol.

She's...a cinnamon half-banded ruby-eyed hamster. Or is it cream? Someone clarify me on this.
You can only see the beautiful redness when there's light. Don't think it is ruby gene though...both parents are normal eyed.

The photos didn't show her redness, so it was a surprise when we saw her in real life.

She's quite a sui chia hamster though. Will not want to be caught if she's not ready. Something like a cat in a hamster body.
wuaaaaaaaaaaahhh sophiera...minmin so cute! smile.gif btw..i think her fur is cinnamon...smile.gif how u make her so round wan???

Added on October 20, 2009, 5:04 pmbtw, Toph is having a bald patch between his 2 scent glands.... do you guys have any idea wat to do to make the hair grow bck?

This post has been edited by odd_mochi: Oct 20 2009, 05:04 PM
odd_mochi
post Oct 21 2009, 01:15 PM

23 posts

any remedies for bald patch please? bump bump
odd_mochi
post Oct 27 2009, 07:20 PM

23 posts

wan2 ask those ppl who bred their hamsters b4...do they give birth in the house (the hamster house) or at the nest they made themselves (not in the house)?

odd_mochi
post Nov 2 2009, 01:42 AM

23 posts

sophiera....
Toph also has the same thing... her eyes are less red than when she was younger...
and only recently the fur around her head is a bit off, if compared with her color in general... smile.gif
odd_mochi
post Nov 7 2009, 07:47 PM

23 posts

when does female Syrian hamster stop haveing heats??

Added on November 8, 2009, 12:14 ami tried to mate toph and toby.........
clean 1 cage, put beddings in it...then put toph....and later on put toby...

toby is on heat right now, i thought so - because she has this certain-smelling-discharge... i've noticed that few times b4... but previously, whenever i tried and stroke Toby's back...she was never receptive...

jst now, put both of them in the newly cleaned tank...then...toph chased toby...smelling her bottom and sometimes licked a bit...
toby in the other hand...is busy exploring the new tank (eventhough i did not put any toys/hideouts in it)...

so, it was like..toby running here and there....toph tailing her... nothing happened... will toby always be not receptive like that?
or should i change the environment a bit? i separated them after 15minutes....

any ideas?

This post has been edited by odd_mochi: Nov 8 2009, 12:14 AM
odd_mochi
post Nov 15 2009, 09:39 PM

23 posts

mrytl3....how about the payments...? how much?
odd_mochi
post Feb 1 2010, 10:12 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(atok194 @ Jan 31 2010, 08:50 AM)
help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

huhu.
why my bebe takes her child to the other part of the cage?1st day the baby was under the stair.3rd day,the baby at the house.8thday(today)the baby was beside the sand bath box.i scare le...=(

1 more thing.
i also realised that she left 1 pup in that while other 2 at down there.
she also start to running the wheel while she got a baby to take care.
this is normal or not... cry.gif  cry.gif

huhuhuh.why no one replying me...i keep pressing F5 le.. cry.gif
i dun think the wheel should be in the cage when the hammy is having babies, as there are risks of hurting them...smile.gif
QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Feb 1 2010, 03:16 PM)
My rat have undergo a tumor surgery too few months ago, which vet did u went to?
Glad to see it getting better

Anw, pic of my dead Button sad.gif
Warning: Graphic images

Really sad to see her dying in such horrible way
I tried everything i could to save her, bringing her to vets frequently sad.gif
Last time i plan to make taxidermy after she died because she have very unique color (Not a solid cinamon in case u wandering) but she's almost bald when she died doh.gif
wat happened to Buttons?? may she RIP.....sad.gif

odd_mochi
post Mar 12 2010, 09:44 AM

23 posts

hey, my Toph's nails are really long now...its so long and really tempting me to cut it... does petshop offer this kind of service? or shud i just leave it like that?

sometimes feel stress when i see him walking with his nails that long...
odd_mochi
post Jun 14 2010, 12:46 PM

23 posts

halo everyone....its been a long time since i visit this thread...

WTA...i need to buy the vitakraft hamster food...but currently the one that i want is out of stock... any suggestion on other good food?

Added on June 16, 2010, 4:05 pmmy hamster just arrived from Kuching smile.gif transported them from kuching to kk, kk to sdk via MasKargo smile.gif so happy that they arrived safely... but now, want to let them settle down first...

mayb later at night i clean their tank....smile.gif there's a lot of process to get them here...but i think its worth it smile.gif

Added on June 16, 2010, 4:05 pmoh, and since i hvent been here for a while...where can i get the smoothie to go??

This post has been edited by odd_mochi: Jun 16 2010, 04:05 PM
odd_mochi
post Jul 2 2010, 09:39 AM

23 posts

what are u guys giving ur hamsters as their staple food? petshack's vitakraf is out of stock...except for the nature dinner... any other suggestions?

0.0569sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:26 PM