AS1M, ASM, ASW, ASB V2, PNB fund

uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Aug 7 2009, 11:22 AM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 7 2009, 10:23 AM)
ya lar. But do you know how PNB operates or not? They do get preferential treatment when it comes to IPO for all the bigshots, like the upcoming Maxis USD 2 billion IPO. They just need to hold the 30% of Maxis IPO and they don't even need to sell them at KLSE. Maxis will be paying PNB dividends.

That's why all the foreign stockbrokers and investors have been complaining about malaysian stock market - they are too illiquid.

You look at public bank counter, how much volume ? Not much right? Too little sellers in the market for quality stocks because GLCs and PNB are all holding these stocks for dividend purpose.

This is the reason why PNB can still pay out good dividends during bad times.

It all comes down to this:

Do you trust the government?

The people who don't like Dreamer01, refrains from PNB funds. I trust the government, so I buy PNB funds. It all comes down to your personal perception.
Another reason is PNB give lower dividend when economy is good, thus they still able to give fairly good dividend.
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Aug 7 2009, 03:06 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 7 2009, 12:42 PM)
1. Get over your losses in UEM will ya? it's been 10 years, it's about time to move on dude.

2. You assume too much. How do you know about me not willing to spend time and effort? funny man.

3. That's right. And I don't expect you to give me a single cent from your investment too.

Added on August 7, 2009, 12:53 pm

You think only. Which Law ? where? Break what LAW?  Show us.

So you are suggesting that PNB has to follow the LAW when they distribute their NEP portion to ASB, but they will break the LAW when they run ASx as a ponzi scheme?

So PNB follows the Law when it comes to ASB, but it also breaks the law when dealing with ASx. I am a bit confused here. can you make up your mind? are they following, or not following the law?
dreamer did provide a good explanation on 30% bumi share. by breaking law, i presume he meant fund with any non-Bumi share couldnt take advantage on that because of the 30% rule in NEP, hence dividend from new AS1M wont be as good as you think it will be

uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Aug 7 2009, 04:24 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Aug 7 2009, 04:07 PM)
Agree with you about "your money your decision". However, Don't be to greedy in investment. Everyone want to be rich but I don't think investing all in Unit Trust or ASx is the best way.

AS1M is not as good as other ASx but is better then any UT or FD.  drool.gif
i dont know about UT, but definitely better than FD...but bank insured max 60k while AS1M dont have capital guaranteed. do note, AS1M will have service charge after promotional period.
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Aug 11 2009, 10:44 AM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 10 2009, 11:31 PM)
I think this is down to several reason:

1. Previously few months, there are massive capital raising exercise from Bond Simpanan Merdake, Sukuk, ASM which at least suck in 10 billion of fund or FD in the market. While this AS1M comes in late, people might not that eager for it anymore and could stress in funding for individual.

2. The fund size of AS1M is extra-ordinary large i.e. 10 billion, which previously month of ASM only 2-3 billion if not mistaken. Even the 5% Sukuk come in around 2.5 billion only.
If fund size of AS1M is 2 billion or so, now almost near full already.

3. This fund is relative new compared to ASM, ASW or sukuk that carries 5%, so people might wary about the fund performance. It doesn't help people spread some rumour that the fund only pay 4% which is not the real case here. But a lot of non-investment savy people out there just heard the 4%, all turn back or not having high interest anymore.
1) Agree, young working people might not put money into this due to cash flow problem. ASW, ASM, and sukuk will add up total 60k (another 20k for ASM bumi released shares) if one successfully buy all of them.

2) I dont think so, if just 2 billion...only the chinese quota is full, but it will certainly create a 'kiasu' attitude and might fully taken when the bumi shares is released.

3) Not just the 4%, there are other reasons given from my friends. Among them are
a) Government borrow money (from chinese) to feed corruption
b) No capital protected, more risk than other PNB funds
c) 1% charges, even lower than sukuk if only give 5% dividend
d) Wait and See approach, i dont really understand what that means. I think is related to kiasu attitude, if this fund is selling hot, they will go buy too.

uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Sep 1 2009, 12:18 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Aug 31 2009, 03:14 PM)
I am working for NGO that help goverment giving out this aid. This aid is given by KPKT to the poor .. average household income below RM740 or RM185 per capita regardless of race or religion.

1) The units are not actually "given" to the poor.  What's actually done is that each family is "allocated/tagged" with 10,000 units ASW by PNB. Each given a cert "sijil" ASW.  They are not allowed to sell their units...but they can only collect the dividends.

2) As stated above, its not AS1M its ASW.  The goverment "buys" 100Mil unit worth of ASW from PNB.

Sorry for my poor English. Hope this answer your question.  smile.gif
my questions

1) how is it possible ASW for non-bumi still available
2) if not available, doesnt that mean only poor bumis received such aid from government

i wasnt playing any racial cards here, but poor doesnt limit to bumi only
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Sep 1 2009, 06:17 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 1 2009, 05:30 PM)
i also think the same, ASW non-bumi quota already fully taken up. If the government wants to help the poor regardless of race, with 1Malaysia concept, AS1M is more suitable.
another possible way, poor bumi will be given ASW, poor non-bumi is given AS1M...
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Nov 20 2009, 02:58 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

The ASN3 is open to all Malaysians aged 18 years and above.

is this true? blink.gif
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Apr 9 2010, 06:52 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

i just buy some, i do think the 1st year return gonna be "attractive", to attract more buyers (chinese). then i probably withdraw for other investment
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Apr 9 2010, 08:06 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 9 2010, 07:56 PM)
PNB's ambition is to sell AS1M and to reach 10billion quota set by our PM Najib. What i guess next for AS1M will be

a) declare 1st year annual dividen matching with ASM/ASW2020

b) increase the Chinese quota or open quota to all Malaysian regardless of race, to attract more ppl to invest, after the 1st year annual income annouced.
+1

the quota is not open yet because chinese quota is not full. if dividend announced is attractive, those kiasu aunties/uncles might swarm to buy this fund.
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Apr 12 2010, 10:33 AM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 11 2010, 10:20 PM)
It's a matter of principal that I will not invest in 'such' funds...  icon_rolleyes.gif
good to have principal, but i never make enemy with money. i see it as opportunity to park my money for few months while preparing myself to more risky investment, stocks/forex.

0.0461sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:39 PM