Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V4, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

e30
post Aug 13 2009, 01:24 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

i'm planning to get a used set soon. what are the key things i should inspect when i test the set before buying?
e30
post Aug 15 2009, 11:04 AM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

i bought a used set, and the seller didn't clear anything yet from the system. so if i want a fresh new ps3, what must i do? sorry i'm very new to this, a little more detail is appreciated
e30
post Aug 15 2009, 06:10 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Aug 15 2009, 11:18 AM)
if there is a user on the system then make sure to deactivate it before formatting otherwise you might be losing precious space on your ps3.. if there is psn games then make sure not to delete it heheh.
wait i dont quite understand. yes, the previous owner's profile is still in the system. why will i lose space if i format without deactivating the system? if there are psn downloads by the old owner, i can still access them when using my new profile?

btw, where can you all recommend to get ylod problem fixed? what is the cost roughly?
e30
post Aug 17 2009, 08:56 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

h9ow much does that belkin surgemaster cost?
e30
post Aug 22 2009, 10:38 AM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Aug 22 2009, 07:07 AM)
hello in summit usj a shop called max dream is having an offer they told me that rm 950 for ps3 slim they are having pre order on limited units in 1 st week of sept but have to deposit rm 50

and the fat one 80 gb asia set already rm 1100 selling there anybody got other offers?
so 80gb sg sets are reducing in price. last week it was 13XX, now 1100.. used sets must be cheaper now
e30
post Aug 23 2009, 11:20 AM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 23 2009, 10:26 AM)
you should know when you purchase right?
wont they ask for the receipt as proof?
e30
post Aug 30 2009, 11:57 AM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Aug 29 2009, 09:03 PM)
[attachmentid=1166159]

The customer service ask many times about when did I buy because afraid overseas version. I lost the invoice tongue.gif plus I registered at HK PS website. (last time dun have MY PS website to register, if Im not mistaken la)

Added on August 29, 2009, 9:03 pmbtw, what is SCTARCHES tongue.gif
hey what did you manage to do actually? you got to claim wrranty at sony my for your sony hk set? free of charge?
e30
post Sep 3 2009, 10:34 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Sep 3 2009, 09:45 PM)
Thing is... I am trying to collect all the major hardware revisions, but I scared I buy 360, turn to jack sparrow  icon_question.gif
The collector thing is exactly what is my problem. Maybe its an obsessive thing, but Slim really calling to me.

The 360 games are from my old Zephyr (3ROD 9 times). All ori somemore.
sell one of the ps3s, get the slim & a 360. i think you'll only be satisfied when you have both fat and slim version, as well as a 360
e30
post Sep 6 2009, 02:54 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 6 2009, 10:20 AM)
hey guys... i've been trying 2 solve a prob in my hse...
i have setup the ps3 in the living hall..every now n then, thr always seem to be a debate abt watching tv or playing games thr...
i hv a 30 lcd upstairs...is thr anyway i cud find a device which cud transmit ps3's video signal wirelessly either hdmi or component vid?
any1 in this prob b4?
thx for the help n comments
huh? you want the video to transmit to the lcd upstairs, but the ps3 remains downstairs? then how're you gonna control the game if the console and lcd are in 2 different places? rclxub.gif or have i misunderstood you?
e30
post Sep 6 2009, 11:30 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 6 2009, 10:01 PM)
I would like to know how well it works if i buy the PS2 controller adapter from Sony for PS3 and hook up my Dualshock 2 & a 3rd Party Fighting Stick for PS2? The adapter cost around rm80++ it's still cheaper than buying a PS3 fightstick or a DS3, but want to know if there's any problem?
what about the usb-PS2 adaptor which is sold at computer shops for around rm15? can use that to link two DS2 at once rite?
e30
post Sep 9 2009, 12:39 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

hey guys, can we play multiplayer online with people running the same game region, or is multiplayer region free too?

0.0485sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:44 AM