Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V4, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
RAMChYLD
Nov 10 2009, 11:17 PM
Want to ask if there is external cooling fan kit for PS3 Slim like the one for PS2 slim. I'm planning to get PS3 soon. Been reading about PS3 slim overheating and yellow light of death (one reviewer on Amazon claim that his unit exploded. I don't believe, but still a bit scared) and want to know if there are preventive measures like fans for the console. If got, where to buy.
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 10 2009, 11:17 PM
RAMChYLD
Nov 11 2009, 12:05 PM
Thanks for the reply sifus!
I'm just worried because you know how bad Malaysian heat is, especially in the Klang valley, without air-cond.
RAMChYLD
Nov 18 2009, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(laowai @ Nov 18 2009, 09:30 AM) When playing game or movie on PS3, how to switch back to PS3 main menu? Can't remember liao. Doesn't the PS button on the gamepad do that?
RAMChYLD
Nov 20 2009, 11:00 AM
QUOTE any chance of sucking the content off a yloded ps3 into a new ps3? the vids, pics, music? Swap hard disk? Or is it encrypted and cannot swap?
RAMChYLD
Nov 27 2009, 11:04 PM
Hi PS sifus,
I finally got my PS3. As I worried, it has a heating problem. The console becomes worryingly hot after 30 minutes of use. I'm worried and currently never use it for more than 30 minutes at a time. Any suggestions on where I can get cooling accessories? Console is seated in open air, no obstructions around it's vents.
Please help.
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 27 2009, 11:05 PM
RAMChYLD
Dec 8 2009, 11:55 PM
No, not malfunction. Mine also like that the last time. Just say no and you're on your way.
It's like Windows automatically going into chkdsk, Mac running Disk First Aid automatically or Linux running FSCK when computer is restarted after power failure. The system just scan disk for error and tell you that it has crashed before this and ask you if you want to forward complain to Sony.
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Dec 8 2009, 11:58 PM
RAMChYLD
Dec 9 2009, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(lim360 @ Dec 9 2009, 12:09 AM) Well ic,does it showing the symtomps that PS3 will be breaking down in future?Since this is the first time I encounter this issue,i am very scared about this Well, it never happened again after that, so I hope not  I think cheapo hardware like some no-brand USB Hub can also cause that. I've had issues with my PS3 detecting USB devices on dirt-cheap hubs (ie those RM12 no-brand ones hanging with all the accessories at Sri Komputer). The abovementioned crash happened when I had the no-brand hub plugged in. But the devices work fine as soon as I swap it for a twice-as-expensive cap-ayam-brand hub from Giant. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Dec 9 2009, 12:29 AM