<-<- Sugar Gliders V13 ->->

malowie
post Aug 3 2009, 04:15 PM

418 posts

reserved!~... just joking... so many reserves lar!

congrats!!!!!!!! new version!
malowie
post Aug 4 2009, 08:31 AM

418 posts

my sugar glider has not been eating... she's only about 3 months old... im very sad because she has not been eating much for many many days. perhaps 4 days?

also, she has one 'hiss' sound, a very brief moment one, when she pees.

yesterday i fed her papaya but she only took a little, and totally ignored the apples.

what should i do???

Added on August 4, 2009, 8:32 amand in dont want her to suffer...

This post has been edited by malowie: Aug 4 2009, 08:32 AM
malowie
post Aug 5 2009, 12:27 PM

418 posts

whens the next gathering? i really want to go. lol
malowie
post Aug 5 2009, 12:32 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Aug 5 2009, 12:29 PM)
wanna ask...how much actually the exact amount of food to feed 1 sugar glider at night??cuz normally i just cut some mix fruits n vege n feed my minnie at night...sometimes left a bit in the morning, sometimes left a lot like she just eat few pcs...is it she picky on food or i gave too much i also not sure... sad.gif
well, usually i give my glider one tablespoon of staple mix such as Hun's GliderSLURP!, one spoon of fruits and one spoon of veggies. she finishes most of it left a little the next morning.but if u give apples or the same thing everyday she will ignore.

you can feed bak choy. mine loves it. and its high in calcium

malowie
post Aug 5 2009, 03:55 PM

418 posts

i just bought some cranberry apple juice for my glider... hopefully she does not hiss anymore when she pees..
malowie
post Aug 6 2009, 09:09 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Isx @ Aug 5 2009, 04:32 PM)
My Charlie hissed when he pee'd last week.

But now he no longer hisses.

I gave Cranberry Apple juice is that okay?

What if he hisses when he poos?
hey i tried cranberry apple juice and my glider hisses no more when she pees!

yup cranberry apple juice is excellent..

if he hisses when he poos, normally it's diarrhoea. dont feed grapes and anything unfamiliar to ur glider. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on August 6, 2009, 9:13 am
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Aug 6 2009, 08:41 AM)
i've a different opinion on this one...
to it's not really rare
in the wilds, u can actually get a number of white tips...
n some white tips r produced from 2 standard grey parents
but of course, i've got nothing to confirm this, just my opinion
lol!
in US, white tip is just a tad bit more expensive
cos apparently it's ez to produce white tips
in malaysia, i've know 3 person who have bred white tips before
the most successful one managed to produced 5 so far...
so i think it's just a matter of time till we see more white tips...

but no worries, we got lotsa black beauties here!!!
nope, in the wild there are virtually no white tips. cuz white tips lack the camouflage defense. they are more easily recognised by predators as the unusual white part of the tail does not blend with the environment. white tips exist because of mutation of DNA base sequence due to UV light exposure etc.
so, those normal colored gliders are at advantage.

two normal colored parents may give birth to a white tip because the parents carry the white tip gene in them, but are not expressed in the parents because it is recessive, and grey/black is dominant in the parents. the joey is a white tip and exhibits white tip because it has two or more alleles coding for white tip, and does not have the allele coding for grey/black at the end of tail.

so, if ur normal colored glider gives birth to a white tip, youre lucky! biggrin.gif

so, those normal colored gliders are at advantage.

i cant wait to get my hands on a white tip though! or perhaps a leucestic glider. tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by malowie: Aug 6 2009, 09:17 AM
malowie
post Aug 6 2009, 11:24 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Aug 6 2009, 11:05 AM)
Nah, that breeder found a white tip in a pool of smuggled gliders
he took it in n bred it with a standard grey female
produced 3 WT males...but the mommy died
i never met that breeder for a long long time de
dunno if there's anymroe white tip
he's got a really long white tip....

normal length of tail with the black end, and an additional 1 inch of white
imagine how long is that drool.gif
wow. 1 inch of white tip is already a lot. usually the price of the white tip depends on how much white coloration there is on the tail.. biggrin.gif
malowie
post Aug 7 2009, 12:52 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Aug 7 2009, 12:07 PM)
At mudah loh... where else? Lowyat also got wan but rarely ppl show photos like these.

I wonder how long the apple inside the cage. The cage super tiny. This makes me wanna do a post in my blog about it. Its sickening lah to see gliders treated like that.
its like that everywhere now lar... people just wanna make a quick buck
malowie
post Aug 8 2009, 12:46 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Aug 7 2009, 11:09 PM)
shocking.gif hamsters and illegal in australia..oh wow i didn't know that
yup... cuz if hamsters escape from captivity they will live in the wild and disrupt the existing cycle of ecosystem...

but imagine if gliders escaped and went into our forests... and survive. then we can see wild gliders in malaysia lol...
malowie
post Aug 8 2009, 01:38 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(loritanah @ Aug 8 2009, 12:58 PM)
disaster?ding dong in our natural eco system?.or being added as another healthy meals by the predators?
unless some greedy seller start to breeds plenty glider ..and price slowly going down..uh...unwanted gliders may become  another meals for snake/tiger...ceh
yes. lets say in malaysia, gliders are not native. so when they are released into the wild in large numbers they may compete with our local species i.e flying squirrels, slow lorises etc. for food... this may happen cuz our weather mimics indonesia's, and gliders can possibly adapt well to our environment.

for example, in australia, in the 1800's, only two dozens of rabbits were released into the wild. now, there are bliions of them, and they are a major pest to crops and even wild plants of australia.

take a look at this website to learn more

http://www.invasiveanimals.com/

thats the reason why australia strictly disallows the import of pets and also the export of pets. the cockatoos, rosellas, etc. you see in the malaysian market are descendants of the cockatoos imported out of australia before the australian government banned the export of wildlife.

even australians are not allowed to keep sugar gliders. did you know?

Added on August 8, 2009, 1:40 pm
QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Aug 8 2009, 01:07 PM)
@loritanah
but u see many "suppliers" are already doing that..some even selling as low as RM200 each.As you can see in some of our forumers blogs..they are breed in small cages and all in bad conditions..some even producing 20+ over babies in a week..every week got new babies..so imagine how many they have...they cant possibly tend to so many suggies and care for them at once
very well said. who can properly take care and bond with 20 gliders and more a week???

This post has been edited by malowie: Aug 8 2009, 01:43 PM
malowie
post Aug 8 2009, 06:53 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Aug 8 2009, 06:49 PM)
Just when we were discussing about how the market price fell.... adpots.com/my/pets got an ad, this guy sold joeys before to many in this forum and now he is back again with colour dyed rabbits and hamsters and sugar glider joeys that look like they are 4 weeks oop going for rm190! Now with this, there will be more impulse buyers and more abandon or sick gliders later on. He sells dogfood in containers and calls them glider biscuits. So sad..... so sad.....
i saw that too... color dyed rabbits! poor rabbits.
malowie
post Aug 8 2009, 06:59 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Aug 8 2009, 06:57 PM)
The dye is bad for their skin and fur. And I think the dye for the hamsters were injected like those little coloured chicks people used to sell at pasar malam. But 60 joeys.... summore so proudly say can choose on the spot from the 60. I wonder how many cages for 60 underage joeys.
may be its a small cage where all joeys cram in like how toby's pet in ikano does it la... i feel so sorry for them.

and yes i remember at one point those colored chicks were hot cakes! so many ppl bought them..

Added on August 8, 2009, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(izzjml @ Aug 8 2009, 06:51 PM)
hey, im trying to do the tent time tonite, but how should i carry my suggie to the tent? if start holding her she starts to bite me, when i touch her sleeping pouch she crabs and sometimes try to go up and bite also. so what do you suggest?
dont give in to her demands when she bites you. if you show that you are scared when she hisses/crabs loudly at you and bite you, she knows it works on you. so she will continue biting cuz she knows by that way it will get you not to hold her.

i suggest u bring her in the pouch into the tent, then using hun's method slowly bring her out as if pushing out tooth paste from it's container.

This post has been edited by malowie: Aug 8 2009, 07:02 PM
malowie
post Aug 8 2009, 09:11 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(izzjml @ Aug 8 2009, 08:50 PM)
okay will try it, thx!
no probs. tongue.gif
malowie
post Aug 8 2009, 09:43 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(farid87 @ Aug 8 2009, 09:33 PM)
wanna know : what brand cranberries juice u all buy...
can feed suggie with frozen cranberries>>??
is that normal my suggie crabbing at night??
sugar gliders baby can makan mealworm?? buy mealworm 1 tupperware... but she dont want to eat...
well you can't really find pure cranberry juice but i buy the paple cranberry juice from (peel fresh) if im not mistaken. but i know the tagline is any fresher, you'll have to peel it yourself la.... lol

yes, gliders can be fed frozen cranberries but it's better if u freeze the cranberries in an airtight container.

is there a reason it crabs specifically at night? my glider crabs only when irritated. at night, she barks.

yes can makan mealworm... try to break the mealworm and squirt it's contents on your finger, and let it lick the contents. see how it goes.
malowie
post Aug 9 2009, 12:11 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Aug 9 2009, 01:45 AM)

Added on August 9, 2009, 2:01 amy the thread so quiet today?
ppl go church =) haha
malowie
post Aug 9 2009, 12:14 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Aug 9 2009, 11:21 AM)
If you grab her like that using a cloth and also she bites, it means you startled her and that is not a good way to make your glider bond to you. You have to make her trust you. Tent time is where you try to create a bond with your glider, touch her, hold her, let he climb on you.
If I'm not mistaken, itu lah Jeorge yang kat Johor. This guy sells on mudah and adpost and his joeys all underage. Lagi pun dia tak tau stuff about gliders, just jual only since Johor takda orang jual.
the glider in the pic there does not have a bushy tail.. underaged!

malowie
post Aug 9 2009, 12:26 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(farid87 @ Aug 9 2009, 12:16 PM)
maybe my gliders also underage =.=
because this gliders when play with me last night.. 3 hour... then go sleep already... 3.30am tats gliders sleep already... i tot wanna play with her until 5 am
i dont think you can really tell that a glider is underage that way lar.. i think she best way is to see the tail. how's the tail of your glider like? if it's bushy means its 2 months if its not then it's less
malowie
post Aug 9 2009, 08:01 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Lawrence93 @ Aug 9 2009, 07:16 PM)
i Have a question to ask = ) , my friend picked up a Adult sugar glinder from Kl , Wangsa maju 2 months ago, well my friend treated it very well and provide it anything it wants , but it still acted defensive and very fierce nip untill blood can be seen = ( , what should my friend do
ask your friend to get a bonding pouch and put nothing else but the bonding pouch in the cage. then in the morning, zip the bonding pouch and ask your friend to bring it every he goes in the morning. that way the glider will get used to his scent, sounds, sights etc.

also he can put his unwashed shirt over the cage covering it so that the glider can get used to the scent of it. biggrin.gif

Added on August 9, 2009, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Aug 9 2009, 07:05 PM)
nip? mayb she's grooming u.. Crislyn always grooms me too biggrin.gif
yups... they love to groom.. sometimes my glider does it so hard it hurts! haha...

but well, it shows that your glider sees you as a companion who is trustable, that's why it does that...

if it does not draw blood on your neck then it should be okay... =)

This post has been edited by malowie: Aug 9 2009, 08:02 PM
malowie
post Aug 9 2009, 11:24 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chickymuchachaz @ Aug 9 2009, 11:21 PM)
dr.jenny kira murah, bro.
aritu pergi deworm + consultation rm20.
berpatutan lah tu.

Added on August 9, 2009, 11:22 pmdoes anyone know about a brand called chubbypetsgarden something2 like that? saw that at a petshop here in segamat.
they have a website. www.chubbypetsgarden.com
malowie
post Aug 10 2009, 03:51 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Aug 10 2009, 01:55 PM)
A lot people questioned me when i tried to educate them.. they claim that feeding fruits and catfood would be enough.. And their gliders still alive...

Yup, if u r feeding catfood and fruits probably the glider can stil live up to 1-2 years at least or longer..becoz catfood did provide certain amount of protein..

But i can assure that the glider definitely not in healthy condition..dull coat and fur, inactive, not alertive, and etc.

A lot people dono glider can live up to 15 years, and they tot 2-3 years is good enough already.. but they dono actually 2-3years is only quater of captived glider lifespan..
of course they would survive, but they certainly wont get the complete nutrients they need.

actually a lot of my friends were shocked too when they knew that a glider can live for 10-15 years in captivity.... they thought the life expectancy was a mere 3 years!

anyway, i was wondering who has the oldest glider here.... blush.gif

0.0254sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:28 AM