Sociology Weird education, Malaysia BOLEH

TScommunist892003
post Aug 3 2009, 08:40 AM, updated 17y ago

550 posts

Most teachers waste their time by giving exam and asking questions which are intended to discover what a student doesnt know, whereas the true art of questioning has its own purpose of discover what a man capable of knowing..Maybe the way to score well in exam is to know what u shouldnt know and dont know...Weird Education....SHould goverment somehow implement a policy to replace some role education play in this society???WHy spend 15 to 20 years on study in school just to get a secure job??? Learn things that is meaningless and most probably couldnt be apply in job...facing book full of words which tend to be memorized than understand....I sugguest a policy than a kid should work in a protected condition....Experience is always better off than what we learn in school
TScommunist892003
post Aug 3 2009, 11:28 AM

550 posts

I am mentioning about our education ...u need to be clear the purpose of our education..how our people treat education as???...I am not blaming the goverment...but our mindset toward education...that screw our brain...tat education...I had been discussing it a lot with global ppl...their view and my view...i lazy to write everything about it ..but i just write my understanding about knowledge

Knowledge...Ledge of knowing..tats it...Understandledge....ledge of understanding...which sometimes ppl call it equation
I was wondering...Knowledge is power of?? Knowing for me doesnt bring any meaning in life...I think that what is important in our life is understanding
Do u know how many equation there is for physics subject in my high school??
18 ...and based on those 18, i need to study entire 500 pages...and i still got a bad grade for tat...And then, i was outrage one day...sawing one of my fren who had a best grade in school for pyhsics and actually doesnt even have a proper physics reference book where as i got 4 -5 ...All i could conclude is tat he is indeed a smart ass
From tat day onward, i always get close to him, trying to find out what secret lie behind him...because student always wish to find shortcut in study...
At the end, i think i found one...shortcut indeed been discover
I found tat i'm actually an apple collector, where as he is an apple planter..or we can call him farmer...Apple symbolize knowledge...everyday we student's duty is to collect as many apple as u can from everywhere so tat we could score well in exam...But my little smart fren doesnt need it, he just need to sit down there waiting the apple drop from the tree...The tree symbolize equation...generating a lot lot apple...And u know wat, apple do get rotten...so at the end of the day...i still got to collect the same standard of apple to increase my quantity...I am very tired of collecting ....i am so jealous my fren just sit down there and he get more apple than mine

My theory is tat understandledge or equation generate more knowing...where as knowledge is just a product of it...Knowledge is power?? I dont think so
Sometimes old man in the market said : u just need to know few things in life which is better to be an experience...it is simple but it perform better than wat u learn in school.
When i intepret it in different meaning, he actually talking about equation(experience is the combination of knowledge and understandledge)
THe most valuable life is thinking not to know but to understand

TScommunist892003
post Aug 3 2009, 12:40 PM

550 posts

I am 20...way to young to have child...i wont discourage the children to get basic schooling...THIS it not about unfair treatment we received, if goverment change , i don think they aware of the problem in education, i think they would just make everyone equal...WHy we go school???coz my parents cannot teach me and need go to work...SCHOOL IS GOOD SOLUTION

Knowledge is everywhere
I wonder why german kids study 5 hours in school...all they did is socialize and play...but they still manage to produce a huge number of philosopher and scientist...same go to US...The country that so obsess by intellectual and genius that they do anything to lock them in AREA 51 ....how come they dont implement our education in their country...STPM, very very hard oh, malaysian said only smart can overcome....WTF country like US, german, france, UK, australia doest take a look at it??? THey had always known for their best quality in education...AYa, u try figure out urself la ...human is superior because of discovery knowledge or installment of knowledge???
I aslo felt the same way u did for the unfair treatment by goverment...all those scholarship stuff...but i think this is nothing to do with the origin purpose of education
TScommunist892003
post Aug 4 2009, 02:32 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(kei_86 @ Aug 3 2009, 05:24 PM)
if we're talking about the problem of student not really learning because we're memorizing more than understanding, then I'd say the problem isn't really about our education system per se but also the society. This exam oriented education that we have today has lots of pro and cons

the thing about exam is that it is tangible, can be seen and gauged by everyone. The parents want it because it is a proof that either their child has done something in school or the school has been doing their job. Teacher needs it to see whether his pedagogy worked or not and whether he should change into something else. The administration needs it to administer their teachers.

on its own, our curricular and exam is GOOD, but the overemphasize on exams and wrong emphasis of the curricular is BAD. With the parents and administrator racing to collect As, students are shoved with information and required to just vomit everything out again during exam. Just for the As, whether they understand or not does not matter.

I'm taking TESL myself and I find the fact that literature classroom in our country is very sad indeed. Literature is supposed to be appreciated and not dissected into points of data per se.

however I'm not against our system of education, I do believe that almost all the subjects offered in our primary and secondary school isn't that bad. I doubt that a child would know what to learn at such early a stage in their life. I consider education really starts at tertiary education because only then would a child know his/her path. If everyone would just drop the obsession with the exams in school,  our school isn't that bad at all I'd say. At least teachers are able to do more than teaching with less stress and observation from the higher ups.

get rid of the exam obsession I'd say.
Now someone get my points...thx u...i am totally agree with u....others forget it...LOL...Maybe malaysian communicate differently...always take my statements offensively...SENSITIVe...just keep telling me what is right and wrong...tell me what i need to know...why not tell me about ur reason and opinion???

Isnt this a discussion??

This post has been edited by communist892003: Aug 4 2009, 02:50 AM
TScommunist892003
post Aug 5 2009, 02:04 AM

550 posts

Education is necessary...But the wrong of the wrong is we tend to be way too excessive...Greed of security and achievement...Schooling is important or vital, but doesnt mean the only way to gain the basic or knowledge is from SCHOOL...Our purpose of education had change...Rather than develop one's potential skill, ppl tend to turn their child into what they wan...Excessively is what a good word to describe our education...drift away from the origin purpose of education
I always believed man is superior because of discovery knowledge, not installment of knowledge...U can stuck everything in ur brain, but if u dont nurture ur skill as pioneer or hunter of knowledge, u wont get or even build an equation (understanding) in our mind...Education i refer is stucking everything in ur brain, at the end of the day u go for a test see whether there is a hole u hadnt fill...I prefer to use my computer to do so

Most of our objectives to school because the guarantee of better jobs and financial security in future....Most dono even care the great meaning behind the knowledge...treating education as a investment business where u can start early in childhood...SOme parents gamble everything and even in poor condition, still dont allow the kids to works things out , keep reminding the education is a way out of poverty, behave of knowledge or financial security???...It doesnt mean they are wrong to think so, but do u think today society is way way to excessive??thinking that the better u are at school, the better of chances u success in future and the smarter u are...... I always wonder why TOp 50 students in my school, most of them doesnt even love or bother to watch documentary channel, reading book than text book...which i love the most...WHen i ask them why, they ask it is pointless...But when i meet with some top students in australia, they love this documentary so much that they said it inflict so much curiousity about this world, make their life meaningfully...this is the scenario i'm facing

I wonder the main purpose we go school is for knowledge or otherwise?? If indeed to gain basic of knowledge, what is the major motive behind it?? ARE WE SINCERE TO GAIN KNOWLEDGE??? ARE WE SINCERE??

Added on August 5, 2009, 2:13 amI dont consider ppl like einstein, bill gate, thomas edison as a genius because of their achievement....OF coz they are genius...But i prefer their great achievement in life because they are human....THey do things naturally ....pursue knowledge the origin way that human pursue it ...SHould we pursue knowledge sincrely and naturally???

This post has been edited by communist892003: Aug 5 2009, 02:13 AM

0.0162sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:15 AM