Humanities Human emotions, Bringing out the best in emotions

sense_less143
post Aug 3 2009, 01:03 AM

428 posts

I get where the question comes from, TS, I was wondering along the same lines a few days back.

I mean, imagine how much more efficient life can be without emotions! Because we have it now, we can't ever imagine being *without* it, but if we live in a world without emotions, I guess we'd just deal with it, make it work, fit it in.

It makes one wonder.. if such a lifestyle ever existed, how do we substitute socializing and bonding, our primal desires?
hazairi
post Aug 3 2009, 03:25 AM

2,694 posts

Sometimes when it is a good thing to be emotion-less.
U won't get mad, u won't get sad.., etc..
But come to think of it..
It's a pointless life; without emotions..
TSThinkingfox
post Aug 3 2009, 02:28 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Aug 2 2009, 11:40 AM)
Emotions is a must for humans. The only thing i can think of an emotionless human, is not human.

Tools that we called today, were made by humans. Tools are emotionless but human decides on what type of emotions the tools will be depending on their liking.

Take example of knife. Knife is emotionless, but it can be used to chop stuff or kill people. There are no hesitating in knife when it comes to action. But humans are different.

If i use a knife to kill people, yes, percentage of succeed is always 100%

If i use human to kill people, no, percentage of succeed is varied depends on their emotions.

Tools (emotionless) are not = to Humans .

There is no such thing as advantages and disadvantages of having emotions. Saying that is like saying there are advantage of having a brain, and not having one. It is part of what makes human. It varies from how one's manipulate it. Emotion is a critical factor in every humans and this factor is one of the factor that varied us from one another.
What you say is partially true in the sense that human cannot be separated from emotions. At least using the current technologies. But what is discussed here is the merits of having or going without emotions. It's not possible, yet. But we still discuss it. And that's why this discussion is somewhat philosophical in nature.

Of course there is such a thing as advantages and disadvantages of having emotions. I've listed a few in the first post. Others have also listed a few in their posts.

<<If i use a knife to kill people, yes, percentage of succeed is always 100%>>
I disagree because there's such a thing called attempted murder but let's no go there.

Added on August 3, 2009, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Aug 3 2009, 01:03 AM)
I get where the question comes from, TS, I was wondering along the same lines a few days back.

I mean, imagine how much more efficient life can be without emotions! Because we have it now, we can't ever imagine being *without* it, but if we live in a world without emotions, I guess we'd just deal with it, make it work, fit it in.

It makes one wonder.. if such a lifestyle ever existed, how do we substitute socializing and bonding, our primal desires?
Interaction would then be utility only, i.e. when discussion is needed or when the presence of others is needed.

Primal desires? Copulation would be for utility also i.e. for the continuity of the human kind and not due to lust, pleasure etc.

Added on August 3, 2009, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 3 2009, 03:25 AM)
Sometimes when it is a good thing to be emotion-less.
U won't get mad, u won't get sad.., etc..
But come to think of it..
It's a pointless life; without emotions..
The thing is... when we have no emotions, we won't feel that life is pointless.

This post has been edited by Thinkingfox: Aug 3 2009, 02:38 PM
Joey Christensen
post Aug 3 2009, 02:38 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Very simple.

No Emotion = If yu strike ToTo or 4D or lottery, yu wouldn't have any feel.

With Emotion = If I throw a slab of concrete to your face, yu would feel pain.

Yu tell me, which one is better? With or without emotion?

Regards, Joey
TSThinkingfox
post Aug 3 2009, 02:40 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 3 2009, 02:38 PM)
Very simple.

Regards, Joey
I believe you have over-simplified the whole matter by assuming that these 2 example represents life without emotions.
Shadow Kun
post Aug 3 2009, 02:47 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

After thinking about your posts, i think i can agree that humans can still live and progress without emotions.

But i don't think living without emotions will be any better than with emotions in terms of quality of life. I believe things like war and murder or damaging the environment will still happen even without emotions. just because we humans can still make mistakes.

And i think emotions is what spice things up in life. It's like a difference between eating a cheese burger and eating a nutrient pill that have the same amount of nutrients as a cheeseburger. Both can fill you up and enrich you, but you enjoy the cheeseburger more.

Joey Christensen
post Aug 3 2009, 03:18 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Aug 3 2009, 02:40 PM)
I believe you have over-simplified the whole matter by assuming that these 2 example represents life without emotions.
Yu are right. I feel soggy after PC Fair.

Regards, Joey

p.s: I'm just accommodating to Thread Starter's questions...I'll pick up where I left after recovery.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Aug 3 2009, 03:19 PM
lin00b
post Aug 3 2009, 08:21 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 3 2009, 02:38 PM)
Very simple.

Regards, Joey
hello, physical pain is not an emotion.

more like, without emotion you would endure many more concrete slab if it meant protecting/rescuing something important. you will not fear the pain.
TSThinkingfox
post Aug 3 2009, 09:09 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Aug 3 2009, 02:47 PM)
After thinking about your posts, i think i can agree that humans can still live and progress without emotions.

But i don't think living without emotions will be any better than with emotions in terms of quality of life. I believe things like war and murder or damaging the environment will still happen even without emotions. just because we humans can still make mistakes.

And i think emotions is what spice things up in life. It's like a difference between eating a cheese burger and eating a nutrient pill that have the same amount of nutrients as a cheeseburger. Both can fill you up and enrich you, but you enjoy the cheeseburger more.
Perhaps war, murdering and the damaging of the environment will still happen. But perhaps also less frequently, because many quarrels and wars are fought out of anger, lust, pride etc.
SUSbubblenetics
post Aug 4 2009, 12:52 AM

49 posts

without emotions what makes us humans...we will be mere robots
Tak3shi
post Aug 4 2009, 01:02 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Jul 29 2009, 07:49 PM)
Are our emotions an advantage or disadvantage to us?

What are the consequences of a life without emotions (let’s assume it is possible)? e.g.  fear, anger, happiness, love, jealousy, shame, admiration, pride, guilt, contempt etc.

Some advantages and disadvantages that I can think of:

Advantages of emotion:
1) Adds aesthetic value to the world
2) Helps us understand the world more easily? (but not necessarily better)
3) Emotions like fear help us stay away from danger

Disadvantages of emotion:
1) When a person is emotional, s/he is less likely to think logically
2) Mismatch in emotions may result in a conflict
3) Without emotions, our lives would be rather meaningless?

What do you think?

Added: In this case, let us assume that being logical (but without being emotional) is a good alternative to being logical and emotional.
Humans without emotions, would lead to no crime, no strife, no conflict, a higher level of competency and efficiency but that would also make us robots. Of course the human race would probably go extinct as we won't feel the need to love and procreate and life would be meaningless.
Shadow Kun
post Aug 4 2009, 08:50 AM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Aug 4 2009, 01:02 AM)
Humans without emotions, would lead to no crime, no strife, no conflict, a higher level of competency and efficiency but that would also make us robots. Of course the human race would probably go extinct as we won't feel the need to love and procreate and life would be meaningless.
I disagree. I think crime, strife and conflicts will still happen. Level of competency won't be higher because I think emotions do a better job at driving you to compete. Efficiency however, is something I think can be improved without emotions as we can focus only at things that matter.
TSThinkingfox
post Aug 4 2009, 04:17 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Aug 4 2009, 01:02 AM)
I'm not too sure if there will be no crime, strife or conflict but I logically it will be less than if it involves beings with emotions, because emotion is the cause of many fight and wars.

I don't think we will go extinct because logically we would want to continue the works done in one generation and pass it on to the next, unless there is reason to believe that there are fewer advantages as compared to disadvantages for life to continue.
Shadow Kun
post Aug 5 2009, 08:31 AM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Aug 4 2009, 04:17 PM)
I'm not too sure if there will be no crime, strife or conflict but I logically it will be less than if it involves beings with emotions, because emotion is the cause of many fight and wars.
true to that, but emotions are also things that prevented potential crime, wars and conflicts. positive emotions such as pity, mercy, love etc. without them people will be less/not hesitant to use the most inhumane methods to solve problems such as simply killing your opposition to reduce competition.

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: Aug 5 2009, 08:33 AM
goldfries
post Aug 5 2009, 08:36 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Jul 29 2009, 07:49 PM)
Advantages of emotion:
1) Adds aesthetic value to the world
2) Helps us understand the world more easily? (but not necessarily better)
3) Emotions like fear help us stay away from danger

Disadvantages of emotion:
1) When a person is emotional, s/he is less likely to think logically
2) Mismatch in emotions may result in a conflict
3) Without emotions, our lives would be rather meaningless?
when we talk abou Advantages and Disadvantages , it's supposed to be about the SUBJECT and it's positive and negative points.

thus I don't see how should be part of the DISADVANTAGE, seeing that it's pretty much covered in point #2 for Advantages.

from my POV - EMOTIONS is just our expression some people choose to display it, others are good at hiding.

problems arise when EMOTIONS are not under control, or left to influence decision making.
TSThinkingfox
post Aug 5 2009, 02:29 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 5 2009, 08:36 AM)
when we talk abou Advantages and Disadvantages , it's supposed to be about the SUBJECT and it's positive and negative points.

thus I don't see how should be part of the DISADVANTAGE, seeing that it's pretty much covered in point #2 for Advantages.

from my POV - EMOTIONS is just our expression some people choose to display it, others are good at hiding.

problems arise when EMOTIONS are not under control, or left to influence decision making.
Oops..thanks for pointing out the mistake I made there. I have removed the point.

Yes, some people (e.g. diplomats & politicians) are very good at hiding their true emotions, but it still affects us even if we try not to let it cloud our judgement. And very often, people do not even try to control their emotions especially when they get into an argument.

And that's why I started this discussion; To discuss the advantages and disadvantages of a life with emotion and without emotion.

This post has been edited by Thinkingfox: Aug 5 2009, 02:30 PM
goldfries
post Aug 5 2009, 06:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Aug 5 2009, 02:29 PM)
Yes, some people (e.g. diplomats & politicians) are very good at hiding their true emotions, but it still affects us even if we try not to let it cloud our judgement. And very often, people do not even try to control their emotions especially when they get into an argument.

ahh, that's what we think they're good at hiding.

there's one documentary that I watch, it was very interesting.

one part of it was explaining how body language could give away what the person is feeling inside.

even how they stood, how they walk, how the hand supports them when they speak and so on. biggrin.gif interesting huh?
SUShako
post Aug 5 2009, 09:06 PM

245 posts

advantage:

emotions, in today's world where dead-hard-cold money rules, some emotions are good. at least we know we are human.
TSThinkingfox
post Aug 6 2009, 04:02 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 5 2009, 06:56 PM)
ahh, that's what we think they're good at hiding.

there's one documentary that I watch, it was very interesting.

one part of it was explaining how body language could give away what the person is feeling inside.

even how they stood, how they walk, how the hand supports them when they speak and so on. biggrin.gif interesting huh?
Yes, I've read somewhere (I think it's 'Body Language' by Allen and Barbara Pease) that some politicians train themselves not to give off undesirable cues from their body language or even to give out the desirable body language. But of course I don't think anybody will be able to hide every emotions indicator in our body. The best we can do is probably hide some to send out mixed signals.

Yea, I find it interesting too. I've read a few books on body language. If you're interested in this topic, I think you might also find sociology and psychology interesting.
3dassets
post Aug 6 2009, 05:55 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

There is no life if no emotion, the entire living cycle is about feelings otherwise like animal and plant. This is a silly question coming from someone like you.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0214sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:35 AM