This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Sep 6 2009, 11:37 PM
Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!
Sep 6 2009, 11:31 PM
650 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Sep 6 2009, 11:37 PM |
Sep 6 2009, 11:40 PM
thanks, been focusing on upper chest for past few months, but the progress is really slow, i think it'll take another year for it to grow into a more or less satisfactory shape. gotta focus on lower chest also but i can't seem to balance my workouts right...
if you're injured its only natural to take a good long rest... maybe do some light weight high reps for a while. any heavy workouts would be counter-productive. |
Sep 7 2009, 08:49 PM
chill la, i think he just meant pull-ups are harder to do than lat pulldowns.
Sep 7 2009, 09:57 PM
^same here haha.
Awesome as ever there I see.. john ure a natural. Jealous siallll! |
Sep 8 2009, 07:24 PM
Yeah Icewolf your upper body looks damn good... Good chest and abs, just like John's.
Sep 9 2009, 02:19 PM
Eh gto, you don't look like 35-40% BF lor. Looks much lesser than that. Anyway even if you are an endo, you can still be healthy even though you have a higher than average BF%! Keep it up.
A relaxed pic of my right lower leg about 2 months+ ago. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 9 2009, 08:21 PM
damn, icewolf, u look huge... the bleed was from futsal lol
Sep 17 2009, 09:17 PM
shanecross... are u an ectomorph? damn man, my goal is to look something like you or pizzaboy. not the BBer look, but more of the wild, raw strength look. great job on the physique even though your aim is more towards functional strength.
Sep 18 2009, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(shanecross @ Sep 17 2009, 09:55 PM) Im not an ectomorph, thats for sure. This is my POV to become stronger. I always believe that a trainee can never neglect Bodybuilding movements, the rep work etc. I have been neglecting BB work and have been focusing on low rep work which is a bad mistake and I've only recently incorporated BB work in my routine. The basic 3 is also vital, Deadlifts, Squat and Bench. I can't put myself off by saying I'm a bad bench presser, I bench not as heavy as I squat and deadlift and I think this shows that how much bb work that I lack all this while. Workouts like Cable Rows, Lat Pulldowns, Barbell Rows , Leg Presses and other BB movements should never leave a trainee's list regardless of their goals, strength or physique etc. A strong back will significantly improve your Squats, Bench, and Deadlift. Your leg might be able to handle a 200kg backsquat, but can your back handle the weight? So is deadlift, can you maintain that strong arch when pulling a 180kg for 5 reps for instance. In terms of bench press, can you keep your back arched strong? See how much role does the back plays? This is how I approach my routine, Low Rep demonstrates strength, High Reps improves strength. This shows that one cannot stick to low reps all the time, maybe once a month to see where you at in terms of strength. Other than that, keep the reps moderately high. This might be a little long winded for you so I decided to stop here at the moment. Remember, this is my POV on training, and I just realized I've made a huge mistake to ditch BB work so you shouldn't do the same. QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 17 2009, 10:20 PM) Good advice. My coach I think gave the best way to summarize this; All these while I thought low rep work helps to increase the trainee's strength... So what about Rippetoe's? Is 5 reps considered low too?Go heavy, go high reps. When we train, we never actually follow a particular system. We'll see what our weaknesses are at. Then we'll work at it. Then when it gets easy, we play with the repetitions. Higher rep for this set, add a bit more weight for the next set, pause at certain points, use chains to overload, use bands to assist in speed, use deadstop squats. All sorts lah Actually I am considering on lifting weights only until I start working, and after that maybe quit the gym and do cross training + cardio work instead, since I expect my workload in the future to be hectic, unpredictable and inhumane. Btw, your posts were both good reads, thank you. |
Sep 30 2009, 12:47 AM
Wow braindead, if i got ur kind of body i'd be happy! looking awesome there!
Oct 10 2009, 10:39 PM
just go internet check out the websites and videos available and try to learnt he workouts from home. i did a lot of experimentation with bw squatting in my own room when i first started. i even tried imagining having a barbell on my back, etc.
but of course nothing beats the real thing, so make sure you execute the movement with proper weights and equipment the next time you hit the gym. anyway genetics do play an important role in progress and ultimate achievement and basic overall body shape/looks. you can follow what other people do, but its not gonna make you look like them. This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Oct 10 2009, 10:40 PM |
Oct 12 2009, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 12 2009, 12:45 AM) Stop kidding yourself lah. i dont know if you actually meant what u said or not but those thoughts actually crossed my mind on countless occasions. except that it extends out to some friends of mine as well as one or two of the people i know from my gym. i might even be one of them without even realizing it myself..WE're one of the most arrogant bunch of gym rats in Malaysia yet half of us won't even make it pass stage 1 of a bodybuilding contest. We're essentially the true definition of elitist gym rats. No wonder we're still skrawny fucts that still worship a 200LBS bodybuilder btw icey's body memang damn imba. awesome. reminds me of john91. This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Oct 12 2009, 04:00 PM |
Oct 20 2009, 06:55 PM
^LMFAO. dude you're far from being obese lah haha. don't need to be so humble.
| Change to: | 0.0465sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:14 AM |