should I buy edifier c3 or s330, I like both,hard to choose

TSpower911
post Mar 20 2011, 05:32 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,510 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Mar 20 2011, 04:40 PM)
Btw, TS, as C3 user, do you recommend to upgrade the RCA cable? yea, because the speaker cable look fine to me, but the RCA cable is.. well.. cheap.. not like an audio cable at all.
About the sound card, Asus Xonar U1 and Creative 5.1 usb. which one u prefer?
to be honest I don't own a C3 but I do know it's characteristics pretty well

there's no need to upgrade the RCA cables... try it out first... the cable isn't really that crappy after all

upgrade the cable only when you got bored of it's sound...
when you do wanna upgrade... try upgrading to very thick gauge wires, if it doesn't satisfy you, upgrade to silver wire)

and for the second question... you don't need a 5.1 soundcard since you're not using a 5.1 speaker system... (and 5.1 speakers are a headache to play with)

so go get the U1

Added on March 20, 2011, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(i_djoel2000 @ Mar 20 2011, 05:32 PM)
c3 has better bass depth, but lacks the decay if i'm not mistaken. hence the bass sounds dry yet very accurate, more like monitoring kind of bass, not soft nor relaxing

hope this might help a little bit wink.gif
C3 have pretty tight subwoofer as well...
to get acceptable bass user have to burn-in the subwoofer quite a while

40hz of pure sine wave for 1 hour once a day (make sure the subwoofer is moving at least half a centimeter)
a week of that will do enough exercise for the subwoofer

This post has been edited by power911: Mar 20 2011, 05:38 PM
Langiler
post Mar 20 2011, 05:43 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

Hem good point, but im the one who crazy about mixing audio..
i tot the creative 5.1 can turn other line out into line in like almost all realtek product..
TSpower911
post Mar 20 2011, 06:41 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,510 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Mar 20 2011, 05:43 PM)
Hem good point, but im the one who crazy about mixing audio..
i tot the creative 5.1 can turn other line out into line in like almost all realtek product..
that I dunno... you gotta ask the seller wink.gif
Langiler
post Mar 20 2011, 06:47 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

haha, ok thanks. still hunting for Edifier C3. all shop selling at rm 400.. sigh... i tot going to grab one today. but the box is... huge...
dlsk
post Mar 20 2011, 06:59 PM

37 posts

Seriously i dont recommend c3 coz if the axternal amp spoiled or wad,the whole speaker is gone.. tats my case..
nismo91
post Mar 20 2011, 07:01 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

C3 have lesser bass but not boomy like the S330 (if sub turned up). overall i prefer C3. as for the amplifier, if S330 amp gone the whole speaker also gone.

C3 have digital volume control and infrared remote control.
TSpower911
post Mar 20 2011, 07:05 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,510 posts

QUOTE(dlsk @ Mar 20 2011, 06:59 PM)
Seriously i dont recommend c3 coz if the axternal amp spoiled or wad,the whole speaker is gone.. tats my case..
isn't it the other way round?

cuz if external amp died... you get to pair your remaining speakers with other amps

but if it's built into the subwoofer or satellite, it's not very easy to replace the amp... whistling.gif

meh... if the amp dies... the whole speaker set is dead no matter if it's external or internal amp unless you repair or replace the amp
Langiler
post Mar 20 2011, 07:10 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(dlsk @ Mar 20 2011, 06:59 PM)
Can u suggest a speaker system, which is still work even after the amp spoiled or wad. maybe its perfect for me. im not good taking care my stuff...

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 20 2011, 07:01 PM)
C3 have lesser bass but not boomy like the S330 (if sub turned up). overall i prefer C3. as for the amplifier, if S330 amp gone the whole speaker also gone.

C3 have digital volume control and infrared remote control.
YES i agree, indeed the C3 lack of OMPH in bass, but if u ask me about sound quality.. holy, almost par with Some Logitech model with THX... seriously..

QUOTE(power911 @ Mar 20 2011, 07:05 PM)
isn't it the other way round?

cuz if external amp died... you get to pair your remaining speakers with other amps

but if it's built into the subwoofer or satellite, it's not very easy to replace the amp... whistling.gif

meh... if the amp dies... the whole speaker set is dead no matter if it's external or internal amp unless you repair or replace the amp
D: i tot he just found a system that still alive even the amp died... sad.gif

nismo91
post Mar 20 2011, 08:15 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

the problem with logitech is it uses small (2.5" or 3") full range speakers. compared to the edifier which uses two-way design, 3" mid and 1" tweeter.

so for me its the mids that matters. logitech's satellites focuses on the high so the mids is relatively weak. the only decent one is Z Cinema, and i think it's the only one with two-way satellites.
Langiler
post Mar 20 2011, 08:22 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

Herm, the main reason i choose this system is, the amp is external unit, if the amp is spoiled or fried, i still can hook up the speaker to other amp..

WjLye
post Aug 12 2011, 09:08 AM

98 posts

Okay.
I think i've made up my mind. C3 + Xonar U1.
Very useful thread ! XD
rifasha
post Aug 15 2011, 09:40 AM

233 posts

voted for C3. did hav one b4 and now looking for one as well. smile.gif
TSpower911
post Aug 15 2011, 02:04 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,510 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Aug 15 2011, 09:40 AM)
voted for C3. did hav one b4 and now looking for one as well. smile.gif