Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

davidmak
post Nov 26 2009, 08:47 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(itypewithkeyboard @ Nov 24 2009, 03:59 PM)
anybody experiencing speaker "pecah" on the macbook?
im wondering if we were to maxed out the volume of the macbook speaker boleh pecah ka in the future?
sweat.gif
Well technically the speaker diaphragm won't break easily unless being 'poked'. It'll distort if you max it out like any other speakers, especially when it is new. Thats because the diaphragm is still new and stiff. Give it a run in (few days of 'karaoke' tongue.gif) and it should do nice at 70% volume.

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 24 2009, 08:32 PM)
Can the MBP use any regular laptop ddr3 ram or it needs a specific one?
Yes, it does. Macs use industry standard 'PC' components. To be exact, DDR3 SODIMMS. It is the same ones being used by PC laptops. They're only available in one speed (local market) so just get those. Price range is around RM140 per 2GB modules.

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 24 2009, 11:06 PM)
if got budget, you can push the ram up to 8gb biggrin.gif
Yes, you could. IF you can find 4GB modules.

QUOTE(MinK @ Nov 25 2009, 02:07 PM)
overseas ??? what kinda crap god forsaken country is your sister in that has a land line but no broadband ? ask the isp if they can get her one. why go thru all the hassle of duties and customs and shipping ?
Then God must have left this world for long long time. biggrin.gif Well, there's a lot of countries out there that has not 'catch' up with the rest of the world. To be honest, we're right at the back too (in internet penetration). So this is nothing new and you should not be surprised. Unless you're one of those ignorant Americans tongue.gif (sorry for the pun).

In some countries, people had to use land line dialups because broadband is plain too expensive. Remember back in the days where 56K connections were just as expensive while 128K ISDN lines were like crazy expensive. So like any developing countries, they all go through the same stage (well some are smarter like the Thais). Just because we're 'here' in our rate of progress, it doesn't mean we should forget where we came from.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Nov 26 2009, 08:49 AM
davidmak
post Nov 26 2009, 09:09 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 26 2009, 08:59 AM)
those ignorant american tot they have great internet speed. But actually, they are not really fast compare for what i'm using, their fastest = uk slowest.
Come to think of it, I think Koreans are pretty good too with their bandwidths. Actually we shouldn't compare speeds because those are point to point links. If you have a 30Mbps link to your ISP that doesn't mean you'll get it filled to the brim cause you still need to account for available bandwidth, current utilization and congestion.

In reality if the link is pretty speed in the first place, people generally don't feel a 'faster' connection any faster as long as it loads content within their expectations. Of course, when it comes to downloading some GBs of files... 1-2 hours difference to completion matters. Then yes, agreed.
davidmak
post Nov 26 2009, 10:11 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 26 2009, 10:03 AM)
true
but one thing you will see differences, mostly ISP can provide cable tv service, and In uk you can watch tv channel with your computer. you need this!

so, it mean, the faster the speed you can provide, more services you can do, resident can enjoy more.

another one, like itunes store, it offer you to download "hd" movie; boxie, hulu.......
Yes definitely. Just waiting for that to happen (in my dreams hahaha).
davidmak
post Nov 28 2009, 11:10 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 26 2009, 09:35 PM)
You mean we can run 64bit win 7 in Macbook?  drool.gif

Hmm...if I run 64bit win 7 then all my other software needs to have 64bit as well, am I right?  rclxub.gif
No worries bro. As long as your hardware/device drivers are the appropriate 64bit ones (Bootcamp driver install from the Snow Leopard CD) you'll do just fine. Running Windows 7 64bit/x64 will allow you to make use all of the 4GB of RAM you have. In 32 bit, Windows can only address up to 3.5GB. Your applications need not to be in 64 bit to work either. You can install 32 bit applications onto Windows 7 64bit. It'll install it at a separate 'Program Folders'.

Correct me if I'm wrong but the current mainstream 64 bit architecture (for consumers) runs on the x86-64 instruction set. It is an extension over the present x86 instruction set to allow 64 bit applications. It is more like a hybrid. So as a result, you can run 32 bit or x86 applications onto the Windows 7 64 bit or the Vista variant. But your drivers should be in 64 bit and it is mandatory. If you can get past the process of looking for appropriate drivers, its a go for you. Of course, system-related applications like defragmentation program, antivirus, etc should also be in 64 bit. Programs that uses internal components like sound, etc for example media player is recommended to be in 64 bit. So if you look at it, quite a lot of applications must be in 64 bit mode to run optimally. You may think that I'm contradicting myself here but my point is you CAN run 32 bit applications. nod.gif The same like Snow Leopard which has some programs still in 32 bit or you can still install applications from older OSX versions.

Still, there's already a lot of popular applications that moved over to 64 bit already. So we're covered.
davidmak
post Dec 3 2009, 08:48 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I have one issue with Windows 7 though. I'm currently using Mighty Mouse and it connects to the MBP via bluetooth. Problem is... everytime I reboot, Windows 7 cannot find my mouse. So I had to redo the entire procedure of searching for the mouse and connect to it again everytime.

With OSX, it just works. It'll find the mouse.
davidmak
post Dec 12 2009, 10:39 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Peeps, I realized Apple has released a bunch of downloads/updates for the MacBook Pro family. There's the EFI Firmware Update v1.8, SuperDrive Firmware Update v3.0, Java Update for OS 10.6 Update v1.0, AirPort Client Update, etc.

The EFI update together with the superdrive update attempt to address the noisy superdrive sound every time you reboot, restart or resume from sleep. The JAVA update I believe resolves the buggy JAVA application on the Firefox browser (not tested yet) while the the Airport update address a few issues like cannot create a computer-to-computer network.
davidmak
post Apr 14 2010, 10:16 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 14 2010, 08:31 AM)
A lot of people will be sad because the 13" model didn't come with  a new Core i3/i5 processor. biggrin.gif
At least those who bought the 13" before this announcement can feel better haha... except that new 320M GPU or maybe a renamed old chipset.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0377sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:48 AM