Help Mac OS X with HuaWei E220 3G Modem, OS Crashes when online using 3G modem
TSelico
Jul 19 2009, 01:29 AM, updated 17y ago
Well here is my issue... I uses the HuaWei E220 modem (from Maxis) to connect to my Digi 3G Broadband, and the problem comes in where Mac OS X 10.5 will crashes once in a while with it...
Here is what i have done:
I have installed the driver from the CD given by together with the modem. I use the software Mobile Connect and it was unable to connect to the internet.
Then I google and found some other solution to the previous problem, so i downloaded the driver given by the site, and i can connect connect to the internet, and now the problem kicks in, it freezes the Mac once in a while (5-10 minutes after the connection) when i was surfing the net.
Than i downloaded the latest driver from HuaWei, and I was able to connect without problem, but 1.5 hour later the system crashes...
I suspect a kernel panic happen due to the driver, cause this issue does not happen on Windows with the same Mac and with the same modem.
Now here i have some question, should i delete all the previous install of the driver and reinstall it? the software does not comes with any uninstaller for the driver... and i donno how to do a proper uninstallation for the driver.
Anyone have facing the same problem? Anyone?
elfreakz
Jul 19 2009, 11:19 AM
i use the same model... no crashes... i didnt install mobile connect.. i only install the drive, and use system preferences to set up my connection.
TSelico
Jul 19 2009, 11:22 AM
u install the .pkg file in the cd? or download from HuaWei?
I now also connect using System Preferences, been connected for half hour now, donno when will go crashing again...
elfreakz
Jul 19 2009, 01:30 PM
check out this tutorial.. i download the driver from that site. http://blog.evandavey.com/2008/02/how-to-c...-usb-modem.html
TSelico
Jul 19 2009, 01:43 PM
ya i using the driver from here too... but both Generic driver and HuaWei driver will have the chances of crashing OSX...
last connection was 2 hours and 40 minutes, and no crashing... see later will it have any issue arise again....
dvlzplayground
Jul 19 2009, 08:45 PM
using e220 modem from maxis as well.... yeah i suspect its the driver's fault. i dont get crashed often but it happened not less than 5 times since i've started using it1 year ago. im using the leopard driver, and while i have mobileconnect installed, i normally just use the system pref way to connect (put shortcut at menu bar...easier  ) but my mac doesnt crash when it gets online. sometimes it crashes when i boot my mac with the modem attached. i get the 'black screen' with the kernal panic warning. after unplugging the modem and rebooting, the system crash report told me it was the huawei driver problem. again, this doesnt happen EVERYtime i boot up with the modem attached, but just letting u guys know ;p
TSelico
Jul 19 2009, 10:37 PM
yup i did the same i put it on the shortcut on menu bar...  oh ok... no wonder i didnt get crashes last 2 time coz i didnt connect it while booting... hmmm seem like the driver do have problem with Leopard... ok now i disconnect when i wan to shut down.
elfreakz
Jul 19 2009, 10:42 PM
u using 10.5.7 mac?
last thing to try, reinstall your mac.. see if the problem appear again.. i dont have freeze upon connected to huawei..
TSelico
Jul 19 2009, 11:46 PM
yup using 10.5.7... have too much of data in my mac... my Time Machine only backup my important data, but i dont want to loose the other data now so i refrain myself from formating until i get my hand back on my 2nd computer, which has a 500GB hdd served as my server... Added on July 20, 2009, 8:23 pmOk looks like i not the only person having this issue... more rant and complaints can be found Hereit seem like the problem has been exist since last year... haiz... kinda disappointed by HuaWei... This post has been edited by elico: Jul 20 2009, 08:23 PM
dvlzplayground
Jul 21 2009, 10:25 PM
using 10.5.7 as well. dun wan to reinstall my mac cuz i dun have a hard drive for backups (u nvr know!). well, i did bought a hard drive to use for time machine before but i end up stuffing it with movies lol
wow from the forum i didnt know the huawei modem got so many connection issues! i always thought it was maxis' fault haha
elfreakz
Jul 21 2009, 11:05 PM
lately always got disconnection, and PPP cannot found.. i believe this is maxis fault.. and very slow connection is agree by all maxis RM99 package user lately... so its not the modem fault...