ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

gunzerdude
post Aug 31 2009, 10:36 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(chugeliang @ Aug 31 2009, 09:58 PM)
thx for the quick reply.
Btw, im using everest to monitor my laptop temp.
when the mobo runs hot ard 85~90C, the fan still run is the same manner(slow) but sometimes its run fast even the mobo is nt hot(45~50C)
might be related to d intake of the internal heatsink, if u look carefully d intake is just below d lcd, so maybe the angle of ur screen has something to do with the temps
gunzerdude
post Sep 8 2009, 06:12 AM

693 posts

hey guys i.m having a problem here, i'm using windows 7 rc 7100 on a 1st generation k50ab, when i use the dgpu mode i could acess the 4570 but when i switch to xpress power everytime i tried to switch from the hd3200 to the 4570 it would just say that the process completed and its using back the SAME thing. is this related to driver problem? because i'm using the latest ati mobility 9.8 beta from the ati website rather than asus since it peforms better on games.
gunzerdude
post Sep 9 2009, 11:25 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Sep 9 2009, 10:49 PM)
do u use cooler pad? my 4570 goes up to 97C when play nowadays games and im using cheap cheap cooler pad
normal cooler pads dun have much effet cos the bottom dun have intake for the fan, using an exhaust blower like the evercool fairy or magic (which i myself use oso) will have a much better effect since the fan inside so damn slow and doesn't react to high temps ( u could try the fan speed bug to enable 100% fan speed but i find the sound annoying especially at night)
gunzerdude
post Sep 10 2009, 02:26 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Sep 10 2009, 12:05 AM)
evercool fairy? magic? brand or product name? sweat.gif sorry i very noob bout notebook accessories
which laptop do use & mind to tell me how many degree celsius decreased after using cooler?
for graphic card, u can try google gpu-z
if it is not work, then try HWmonitor
lol, d brand is evercool bro, the fairy and magic are basically the same exhaust fan the u attach to the heatsink vent behind the lappy to suck the heat out, difference is magic can adjust between fast and slow and d price around 10 bucks more exp, while i never use a notebook stand+cooler i can tell u the temps drop around 7-10 c compared to 5c from the other ppl experience. btw i bought mine(magic) at ALL IT @ rm49
gunzerdude
post Sep 10 2009, 01:13 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Sep 10 2009, 11:46 AM)
well, my case is different
cpu rarely exceed 60C, but gpu damn hot during gaming
u mean u open ur laptop & change its fan to evercool brand fan? rclxub.gif
the themp drop is applied for which hardware??
doh.gif lol not change the internal fan bro, the fan i bought is attached to the exhaust vent with clips, i dunno where to find the gpu temps but my proc drop from 95 to around 86-88. u could try googling 'evercool magic notebook cooler', then u'll understand what i mean.
gunzerdude
post Sep 10 2009, 01:54 PM

693 posts

rclxub.gif damn.... i just finished with the windows 7 rtm 7600 installation, then i suddenly noticed a single stuck pixel( not dead since the color changed depending on the surrounding pixel color) that appear out of nowhere, any suggestion on how to fix dis? even thought normally won't notice but i damn sakit hati when i see that my brand new lappy got such a problem while the lcd i use for 5 years on my gaming system never have such problem.... haiz cry.gif
gunzerdude
post Sep 10 2009, 03:50 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Sep 10 2009, 02:13 PM)
thats not windows problem...send ur laptop to service centre.
i know, but the warranty states that need to have at least 2 stuck or deal pixels only can qualify for d service, so i need to try and solve it by myself if can before sending it back as low yat pretty damn far from my house also

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Sep 10 2009, 05:01 PM
gunzerdude
post Sep 11 2009, 01:03 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Sep 11 2009, 12:48 AM)
Hey guys, getting a lappy soon. Eyeing on the K50AB. Which shop is quite reliable at lowyat (100% new & sealed unit).

Is there is a 4GB, 320GB version of this lappy ?

Thanks in advance. You guys are awesome. icon_rolleyes.gif
new batch with the cool n quiet sticker comes with 2gb and 320gbhdd but the price has also been increased.
gunzerdude
post Sep 11 2009, 10:51 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(jackng @ Sep 11 2009, 10:19 AM)
Evercool Magic this 1 cooler sell how much ya??
does it use power from the usb or wad?
check page 72 for d info

gunzerdude
post Sep 11 2009, 10:29 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 11 2009, 10:26 PM)
is this laptop can really play games without any lag? 512MB VRAM means i can play games like prototype and gta 4 right?
Not much of a problem if u wanna play games like those as long as u keep the setting down, higher end games like crysis need some tweaking to be playable(>25fps) at medium settings. another tip is that disabling shadows usually give a nice boost.
gunzerdude
post Sep 12 2009, 01:51 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 11 2009, 11:08 PM)
for GTA4.. i think it would be a problem.. i set everything to the lowest.. with fusion on.. the best fps was 15 during gaming..

well.. u still can play.. but its no smooth.. lags.. but still can get thru lar..
everything lowest only 15fps? u using power express mode or dgpu? cos k50ab won't auto switch to the 4570 when u game, driver issue.
gunzerdude
post Sep 13 2009, 05:42 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Sep 13 2009, 03:55 AM)
im in Express mode,the Catalyst detected my HD 3200 & Hd 4570,but somehow when i go to basic or advace configure catalyst,it doesnt show my HD 3200,but only 4570.

before i use 64 bit window 7,my 32 bit window 7 can detect both of it at catalyst.

somehow i suspect i accidently tweak the resolution seting that may causes the problem but i dont know how to set it to default resolution setting...
strange, mine oso 64bit but mine shows 3200 instead of 4570 in express mode and doesn't let me change to the 4570. wat version of the driver u using? i updated mine from win update based on review here that it's the most updated and problem free
gunzerdude
post Sep 13 2009, 05:53 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Sep 13 2009, 05:45 AM)
Im using Catalyst 9.9 + MobilityModder so that it can detect the 4570 in Express Mode but the switch program cant be use,instead need to set at catalyst.

can i know at your resolution setting,how do u configure it???

i've already mess up my Reso Setting this morning...=.=
perhaps using ati try tools will have a much better effect? if does have more options for you to use. i never used it before though cos my lappy @ home most of the time so no need to use a low power gpu

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Sep 13 2009, 05:54 AM
gunzerdude
post Sep 15 2009, 09:11 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(hagiri_11 @ Sep 15 2009, 08:07 PM)
If can get a cheaper model.. why pay more?

Both also HD4570, specs are about the same. The diff. is the AMD core.
got difference la, according to a review, the processing power of the ql-64 is same as of the new cluv single core intel running @ 1.4 ghz, if u wanna get intel proc AND 4570 also, then i would suggest buying a dell studio 15 from their website since u can customise the laptop urself( such as upgrading the 6-cell to a 9-cell and also a backlight keyboard for just 60 bucks) the base price for the model is 2699 if not wrong, with c2d and 3gb ram, 320gb hdd and 4570. the difference in spec already considered cheap since only about rm700 difference, planning to get this laptop end of the year also for personal use since i already "biasa" with high end system and can't adjust to the speed of the ql-64

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Sep 15 2009, 09:15 PM
gunzerdude
post Sep 16 2009, 12:14 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Sep 15 2009, 11:52 PM)
I've used both Intel and AMD laptop. In my view, there are no difference whatsoever. Why you compare the old AMD with new Intel? If I compare the 'New' intel T4xxx series, any single core AMD will definitely pawn Intel.

Old tech compare with old tech, new tech compare to new tech. why compare old proton wira with new Honda City?

doesnt make sense.
hmm, actually the intel proc i mentioned is a cluv ( compact ultra low voltage model) thats used in light notebooks for low power and minimal processing power, and normal user exprience on windows desktop sure will be the same since both of my systems have the same response times in windows 7. what i'm comparing is the speed of it in games since new titles nowdays are getting more cpu intensive( take prototype for example) so its not just about the graphics processor anymore. Another thing i need to clarify is that i'm not saying the k50/k40 is bad, since the specs u get especially the gc is great for 1.9k. i'm just stating another option for the end user thats all.

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Sep 16 2009, 12:16 AM
gunzerdude
post Sep 16 2009, 08:10 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 16 2009, 01:50 AM)
Look, you only talking about yourself the whole time, I don't see benefits to other user. Yes you might say RM700 is little for you but A LOT to others. You get what you pay for, buy more get more, but not always. And seriously, unless you can give me some link or benchmark number, I don't believe QL-64 have the same processing power as some 1.4GHz single core low voltage Intel processor. And how you know QL-64 going to be slow? Have you tested it yourself?

If you serious about gaming, forget buying cheap laptop. I don't believe Studio 15 is miles ahead of k40AB, low end card is a low end card, no matter what CPU it uses
Lol, ur right, rm700 isn't a small amount, i'm just saying if u wanna compare 2k laptop to a 3k with same specs and a c2d t9550 why not just get something in between? and about the comparisim i made earlier, the exact comparisim is between a rm-74 and a C2D SU9400 (two cores, sry about the mistake), you can follow the link here http://www.tomsguide.com/us/HP-Laptops-Not...iew-1392-2.html, to see for yourself.My apologies if what i said offended anyone here.

Added on September 16, 2009, 8:16 am
QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Sep 16 2009, 01:57 AM)
studio 15 gpu is better than k40ab/u80v/f81se gpu...it uses gddr3 memory which is at 800Mhz...while ours is ddr2 500Mhz...plus compare ram speed studios 15 can go up to ddr3 1066Mhz while k40ab is up to ddr2 667Mhz.. and in 3dmark06 scores k40ab scores 3k and u80v and f81se scores 3.2k. studios 15 scores 4k..
and yea its better...

Added on September 16, 2009, 2:00 ame processing power of the ql-64 is same as of the new cluv single core intel running @ 1.4 ghz

either ur joking or u dunno anything....even intel copy amd HT link into their new core i series...and u say amd sucks...
did i say that amd sucks in my previous post? i'm just saying that the overall performance of the processor is quite low compared to a low frequency intel only. i owned 3 AMD comps in the past, cos at that time AMD win over intel a hell lot with their procs. AMD and intell procs does have their own advantage n disadvantage. and core i series proves that as u said.

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Sep 16 2009, 08:16 AM
gunzerdude
post Sep 16 2009, 09:29 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 16 2009, 09:07 AM)
AMD confirm will lose if u compare with crunching numbers only... wat most reviews miss out, is memory latency and bandwidth...

thanks to the integrated memory controller, a AMD K8 will always ve lower
latency and much higher memory bandwidth compared to Core 2...

and this is essential for games... u dun want to lag and get killed rit???
Ya, i did say that intel and AMD procs have their own advantage, if not why intel wanna copy their tech? buying AMD or intel system is a person's preference i think, some ppl think that faster processor will help while others think that faster system bandwidth will offer better performance. I buy my stuff based on my needs and what i learned on the net. And i play all sorts of games so of course i don't wanna lag and get killed.
gunzerdude
post Sep 16 2009, 01:21 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 16 2009, 12:28 PM)
Basing performance on Windows Perfromance Index, its not even accurate. It even can be considered lame. My desktop can achieve 6.2 CPU score, does that mean my lappy with 4.7 feels a lot slower? Nope. There are no detail on what WEI tested for CPU test, and they might optimise it for Intel too
pc mark scores for a su9400 are around 1200-1300, a Ql-64 can do around 1300-1400, while a pentium dual core t4200 is able to run at 1700+ depending on the chipset as theres the one with intergrated graphics and also the pm45 chipset which is used on the dell 1555. see what i mean? u can check a few notebook reviews around the web to verify this if u still doubt my claims. And i did say before that although older games don't depend to much on the cpu, newer games are getting more cpu intensive, unless u want tell me u can get discrete solutions like audio cards to offload cpu load on a notebook. Plus user experience in windows is practically the same since windows 7 is optimized for all types of procs, not just for intel like u said.

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Sep 16 2009, 01:23 PM

0.0217sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:16 AM