ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

ericmaxman
post Jul 22 2009, 02:49 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 20 2009, 01:08 PM)
well, considering that u get almost the same performance as a Dell Studio 15 for rm700 less and 1 more yr of warranty, really hard to beat...

or juz think this way lor, the next closest that Asus can offer is F81Se which is rm1k more ex... laugh.gif
hmm.gif

Isn't the Dell Studio 15's HD4570 running on a 128-bit memory bandwidth?
ericmaxman
post Jul 22 2009, 02:54 PM

-
7,951 posts

blink.gif

Darn..

Everest? CCC? GPU-Z? drivers?
ericmaxman
post Jul 22 2009, 05:21 PM

-
7,951 posts

You'll need KLM or VLC to playback HD clips.
ericmaxman
post Jul 22 2009, 07:53 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(vincent7474 @ Jul 22 2009, 06:05 PM)
erm..pad cooler can reduce the temp ? i am thinking to buy a alu cooler ..
Hacked my cooler to get better results

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1050849/+300
ericmaxman
post Jul 24 2009, 11:21 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jul 24 2009, 10:39 PM)
the windows 7 interface looks kinda complicated and hard to use actually.. from what i see lar..

but whats da additional stuffs in windows 7? jus a slight upgrade in appearance from vista rite?

win 7 is free with home premium oni wert.. surely the seller will provide home basic i guess.. and if possible it comes in freedos.. i might be able to same some cash wert.
In reality, 7 is much more easier to use, and easier on the computer than Vista. problems on Vista were acknowledged and rectified in 7.

Those who use Vista knows how annoying the UAC can become, and how removable drives did not have the cool blue free space indication in Computer, and how maximizing a window in Vista removes the Aero theme.

Well, 7 fixes all of those, and yeah, I enjoy using it.
ericmaxman
post Jul 24 2009, 11:26 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jul 24 2009, 11:22 PM)
yeah.. unless im going back with the freedos itself.. and get ultimate installed myself..

well.. mostly probably they'll give me a free home basic.. for free upgrade its gonna need home premium or business or ultimate rite?

btw.. i actually have a 1gb ram at my house.. so is it possible that i install the ram myself? will the warranty be void?
Depends on what type of RAM is it.

If the one in the K40AB is faster, and your RAM is slower, it will run slower. And vice versa.

And make sure its DDR2 also.

icon_rolleyes.gif
ericmaxman
post Jul 24 2009, 11:34 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jul 24 2009, 11:33 PM)
type? its DDR2.. 1gb..

well the model is offering 2gb rite..

will there be conflicts?
What about speeds?
ericmaxman
post Jul 24 2009, 11:41 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jul 24 2009, 11:40 PM)

isnt most the rams standard now?
To be honest, most RAM found in most newer laptops these days are 800Mhz..

ericmaxman
post Jul 27 2009, 12:43 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(positronmaster @ Jul 27 2009, 12:39 AM)
when using the DNA driver....

i notice the screen, image especially word  is quite blur......

is it caused by the driver ?????
What resolution you running?

0.0175sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:23 AM