QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 15 2009, 05:49 PM)
Meaning to say, cheque we received already net and need not report it in our EA form?Do we need to pay tax for Dividend?, Please help, I am confused...
Do we need to pay tax for Dividend?, Please help, I am confused...
Jul 15 2009, 05:57 PM
5,191 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Jul 15 2009, 09:31 PM
198 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jul 15 2009, 04:22 PM) And to put it in more simpler term : I am a student investing in stocks. I earn dividend and I also earn capital gain. Since I am not working and the money come from my school loan, how am I going to declare it in income tax?The cheque that you get in your mailbox, no need declare, no need pay tax Why ? It has been taxed at source . Since the dividend is already being taxed at the source, so I do not need to woory anything about taxation anymore right? I just get the dividend and no need to pay tax? Please help me clear my doubts... |
Jul 15 2009, 10:27 PM
3,212 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: atas bawah kiri kanan |
QUOTE(sdas86 @ Jul 15 2009, 09:31 PM) I am a student investing in stocks. I earn dividend and I also earn capital gain. Since I am not working and the money come from my school loan, how am I going to declare it in income tax? You have answered your own doubt Since the dividend is already being taxed at the source, so I do not need to woory anything about taxation anymore right? I just get the dividend and no need to pay tax? Please help me clear my doubts... Yes, since it is being taxed at source, you do not need to worry about tax anymore. Just get the dividend and do whatever you like with it. Anyway, capital gain is never taxable in tax computation. |
Jul 15 2009, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jul 15 2009, 10:27 PM) You have answered your own doubt Hi,Yes, since it is being taxed at source, you do not need to worry about tax anymore. Just get the dividend and do whatever you like with it. Anyway, capital gain is never taxable in tax computation. Thanks a lot. Now, I can really concentrate o my dividend style for stock investment. |
Jul 15 2009, 11:16 PM
71 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
no need...if got tax in ur dividend then u can claim it back...or offsetting
Jul 15 2009, 11:56 PM
3,212 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: atas bawah kiri kanan |
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jul 15 2009, 05:22 PM) Which section of Income Tax law says so ? LOL I have not taken into acount those who invest overseas, so I am not the correct person to answer that question.Mind you, there are foreign dividends too, like those investing in overseas. I am only talking about dividends gain form investing in local market |
Jul 15 2009, 11:59 PM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
can i ask sth?
i m currently a student, so no salary, no income tax account but i do have some dividen kena tax 25% Any chance can i claim back tht 25%? |
Jul 16 2009, 06:38 AM
4,305 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Jul 16 2009, 07:39 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,851 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Sad to see those with accounting backgrounds do not apply what they learn i.e
Consistency Basis Vs Suka Suka Basis, and Completeness Vs mere Simplicity. Judgment of any kind should be based on the overall , and with due consideration. And Withholding Tax 10% on REITS is not final , until and unless certain criteria are fulfilled ( but do not take it for granted that it is final tax for whatever reason such as do not need to declare at all ). The claw back section always fall on taxpayers, even if the mistakes come from listed co. And we claim to live in a globalised world. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jul 16 2009, 08:08 AM |
Jul 16 2009, 01:02 PM
Jul 16 2009, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(sdas86 @ Jul 16 2009, 01:02 PM) Because lowest tax bracket is 0%, + some relief also. But if you have other income (voluntary allowance doesn't constitute income, you can consider giving some as well) or your dividend is substantial. |
Jul 16 2009, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(htt @ Jul 16 2009, 01:10 PM) Because lowest tax bracket is 0%, + some relief also. But if you have other income (voluntary allowance doesn't constitute income, you can consider giving some as well) or your dividend is substantial. Thanks. If I claim it back, how long will it takes for me to get the money back? |
Jul 16 2009, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(sdas86 @ Jul 16 2009, 01:22 PM) Previously you will have to write in for the money to be refunded back to you, but I heard nowadays they did it automatically, not sure how is the time frame, maybe someone else can help? |
Jul 16 2009, 01:43 PM
Jul 16 2009, 01:49 PM
Jul 16 2009, 02:32 PM
Jul 16 2009, 02:43 PM
232 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Here's another query on dividends, albeit a twisted angle ...
I'm not the most organised person in the world when it comes to documentation. Was putting away some paperwork yesterday and lo and behold ... I found a dividend cheque dated December 2008. Since a cheque validity is usually 6 months, any chance of me recouping my few hundred bucks ???? |
Jul 16 2009, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(overthemoon @ Jul 16 2009, 02:43 PM) Here's another query on dividends, albeit a twisted angle ... Write back to them (the share registrar), they might issue you another cheque after validation.I'm not the most organised person in the world when it comes to documentation. Was putting away some paperwork yesterday and lo and behold ... I found a dividend cheque dated December 2008. Since a cheque validity is usually 6 months, any chance of me recouping my few hundred bucks ???? |
Jul 16 2009, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(htt @ Jul 16 2009, 02:32 PM) Tax regulation change every year, I think I like things that won't change... can learn once use forever I bought a Dell netbook mini 9 last month ( comes with 3G modem ).Now it is called a discontinued model. I wonder why the engineers are so efficient nowaday. Worst thing , there is no other netbook comes with internal 3G modem in Malaysia. maybe Sony has, but 3X more expensive. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jul 16 2009, 03:52 PM |
Jul 16 2009, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jul 16 2009, 03:47 PM) I bought a Dell netbook mini 9 last month ( comes with 3G modem ). OT...Now it is called a discontinued model. I wonder why the engineers are so efficient nowaday. Worst thing , there is no other netbook comes with internal 3G modem in Malaysia. maybe Sony has, but 3X more expensive. Yes it is that efficient... Civil Engineer is the best among engineers... Brick & mortar after 50 years also brick & mortar... Electrical & Software are the worst, every 3~5 years obsolete... |
| Change to: | 0.0478sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:13 AM |