NOKIA N97 V2!, Nokia Flagship Phone 2009

toytoy
post Sep 10 2009, 09:33 AM

875 posts

Hi everyone, just got a black n97 last night. Comes with v11 firmware and can't update v12 coz it's RM-505 sad.gif

The first set shown to me have some fingerprint on it so i suspect it's been opened and 'played' around b4 and i found the sliding mechanism very rough, it's like the dummy set where a slight push will open the slider with a heavy 'tuck' sound.

Luckily i demanded for 2nd set and the slider is much more smoother, very smooth opening. Anyone experienced the 'tuck' b4?

I saw the Scratch Test video and it seems like the n97 don't need screen protection? The phone seller showed me anti-fingerprint screen protector and it seems very thick and make the whole screen blur/not sharp.

So i m wondering if it is ok to do without screen protector or if i go with the cheap 'clear' protector will it cause the screen to be not so sensitive?

I m still using the 'plastic' that comes with the set biggrin.gif

BTW, i've installed garmin mxt 5.00.60 meant to solve some problems with 5800, works great with n97. Dang nice to see full widescreen navigation biggrin.gif See changelog below biggrin.gif

v5.00.60:
- To improve the horizontal to vertical NOKIA 5800 screen problem
- NOKIA 5800 to improve the horizontal screen open "turn preview" issue
- To improve the NOKIA 5800 in the evening when the text mode
toytoy
post Sep 10 2009, 12:29 PM

875 posts

Kinetic scroll will be available in October with the release of V20 firmware. I can't wait biggrin.gif

Regarding the screen protector, those cheapo crystal ones will cause the screen to be less sensitive or not?

Accoding to N97Fanatics N97 screen is not really scratch proof hehe. I think have to get a screen protector liao sad.gif
toytoy
post Sep 10 2009, 01:53 PM

875 posts

Hehe becoz 5.00.60 is only launched in taiwan's website for now. I oso not sure why it hasn't been launched internationally biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 10 2009, 02:47 PM

875 posts

I think so, mine's in english. biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 10 2009, 03:09 PM

875 posts

I was surprised how fast my N97 locked on to satellite. I didn't try without A-GPS but it locked on in less than 10 seconds, i was really impressed, even with A-GPS on, coz it's first time locking on from cold start biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 10 2009, 09:37 PM

875 posts

The symptom shows that LCD screen konging soon i think. Better ask Nokia to change for u.

toytoy
post Sep 12 2009, 09:01 PM

875 posts

I compared E71 and N97 satellite lock-on today. Both with A-GPS on. E71 is very much slower than N97. N97 only take less than 10 seconds biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 12 2009, 10:09 PM

875 posts

May i know if it's possible to remove Boingo, Joikuspot and QIK?

Anyone using these few software?
toytoy
post Sep 14 2009, 05:11 PM

875 posts

Can RM-505 sets change to V12 firmware in NCC?
toytoy
post Sep 14 2009, 05:26 PM

875 posts

What do u mean can't download sinchew? U canot find it or canot download it?

Another option is to browse ovi on the PC and send the download link from Ovi site to the phone. I installed a lot of Ovi apps thru this way coz i find it easier to browse in PC biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 15 2009, 02:52 PM

875 posts

I don't see the point of hacking the phone. If it is just for installing apps which require signing, there are lots of website that can do that and the apps were installed without any problem at all biggrin.gif

As for the dual sim card for internet access thingy, i m using my phone as modem to connect to notebook thru bluetooth. saves the problem of having 2 sim cards. But then the speed will be limited to 115.2kbps, if u don't mind the speed, normal browsing is ok biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 15 2009, 03:04 PM

875 posts

Hehe the few times i used was inside card, usb cable not with me so i use bluetooth.

just tested with usb cable can reach full speed hehehe. Very nice!!!

So now if you have a usb cable connected to n97 which charges n97, battery life is not a problem, you can still use both phone + modem, then no need for 2 sim cards liao lah tongue.gif
toytoy
post Sep 15 2009, 03:19 PM

875 posts

Hehe lucky you, can get a brand new set biggrin.gif Maybe ur set will come with V20 firmware. tongue.gif
toytoy
post Sep 15 2009, 03:50 PM

875 posts

Where did you copy/move ur ringtones to? Under Phone C: or Mass Storage E:?

I normally put my ringtones in Sound/Digital, but n97 C: very little space so i put in E:
toytoy
post Sep 15 2009, 04:06 PM

875 posts

Hmm are they mp3 files? Normally no need browse ger wor, it will come out automatically.

This post has been edited by toytoy: Sep 15 2009, 04:07 PM
toytoy
post Sep 15 2009, 04:23 PM

875 posts

I am not sure if you need to reload your library but no harm trying biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 16 2009, 01:26 PM

875 posts

Part of their marketing strategy is to always make their product 'imperfect' in one way or the other. If they market n97 as a 'perfect' product then the mini won't sell.

So in a way one is better than the other and vice versa biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Sep 17 2009, 09:37 AM

875 posts

Anyone experiencing battery indicator always full problem?

I remember when i got the phone it's ok, last 2 days it's not reducing anymore. then all of a sudden out of battery.

I installed a lot of apps/games, duno which one caused this.

I malas wan reformat th phone ler sad.gif
toytoy
post Sep 17 2009, 10:57 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Sep 17 2009, 10:42 AM)
Install the Energy Profiler inside the OVI store. My phone is stabilize on 0.48W - 0.50W all the time.

There's a reason why when the battery is full, it will  be quite permanent, once it drop, it drop very fast. I'm encounter that too. tongue.gif, as long as your phone could last 1.5-2 days and battery flat out on normal usage, then i guess it's quite common.
Hmm but the battery indicator should show the power drop, stage by stage. You know the 7-step indicator where it will drop one-by-one? Mine doesn't drop anymore, from full to flat sad.gif

I swap the battery with my E71, and E71 shows 5 bar, put back into N97, full bar.

I think i have to reformat the phone liao sad.gif

This post has been edited by toytoy: Sep 17 2009, 10:58 AM
toytoy
post Sep 17 2009, 02:42 PM

875 posts

Did some search online and found out i m not the only one with the magical 7-bar battery indicator problem.

A lot of ppl having the same prob. From full bar to full flat with nothing in between. No one else having this problem???

0.0474sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:21 PM