2,633 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Jul 14 2009, 06:47 PM)
Guys how to hard format the phone?
*#7370#

blinky
post Jul 14 2009, 11:30 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(mrunicron @ Jul 14 2009, 11:13 PM)
wheres the digital compass under? i cant find it anywhere in my applications haha
Under "MAPS", but you have to go online to use it.

QUOTE(firstknight @ Jul 14 2009, 11:25 PM)
the barcode reader for mobile phones... n97 dun have?
They do. Do a quick google search and you'll find it. I have it in my phone.
blinky
post Jul 15 2009, 11:30 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(chinsc @ Jul 15 2009, 11:14 AM)
same Q here  tongue.gif

waiting for PRO reply.

oh yah, any ideal how to disable the vitual keyboard in java????
Menu => Settings => Application Manager => Installed Apps => Choose your app => Options => Suite Settings => Disable on-screen keyboard.
blinky
post Jul 15 2009, 11:56 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(daisuke @ Jul 15 2009, 11:55 AM)
haha werid enough i tried your method on 5800XM and it works.......n97 really 5800 with keyboard
Are you insulting the N97 or glorifying the 5800XM? tongue.gif
blinky
post Jul 16 2009, 10:59 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Jul 16 2009, 10:36 AM)
I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask. I'm thinking of getting another phone, perhaps the iPhone 3Gs or the N97 because my wife wants my current iPhone. Can u guys tell me what are the advantages and disadvantages of the n97 over the iPhone 3Gs. Price is about the same i think. I'm quite used to using the iphone already.
I've said this a lot of times and I'll say it again.

You cannot compare the Nokia N97 to the iPhone (whatever the series may be), simply because they are different. Phones like the Nokia N97, WinMo or even Android devices are smartphones. They are as close as you can get to a mobile computer.

iPhone, on the other hand, love it or hate it, it's NOT a smartphone. A lot of people might disagree, but how can the iPhone be a smartphone when it doesn't even perform the must fundamental function of a smartphone, which is to multitask?

Nokia N97 is targeted to the tech-savvy masses; whereas the iPhone is for a very niche market - the Apple fanboys. If you love Apple, you'll love the iPhone. If you love tech, you'll love the N97.

I won't tell you the advantages of the N97 over the iPhone because I can go on for another 10 paragraphs, but I can tell you what basic functions the iPhone 3GS does not have that even my 3 year-old N95 can outfunction it:

- No multitasking
- No file transfer over Bluetooth
- No Java support
- No LED for camera
- Which doesn't really matter because the camera is rubbish
- No hactic feedback on the touchscreen
- No proximity sensor
- No shutter key for the camera
- No stereo speakers, only mono
- No file manager
- No DIVX support
- The battery is shit

Stop comparing the iPhone to smartphones already. I think its competitors should be the Samsung Jet and LG Arena.

I'm not saying that the iPhone is inferior, but it's just different. I appreciate all the technology iPhone introduced to the mobile phone market, but drawing comparisons with the flagship device of the N-series is just out of line. N97 (Sedan) vs iPhone 3GS (2-door coupe). It's quite a silly comparison when they target to different users (tech-savvy and fashion-savvy).

This post has been edited by blinky: Jul 16 2009, 11:02 AM
blinky
post Jul 17 2009, 02:26 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(mshakir83 @ Jul 17 2009, 01:44 AM)
hey guys...wanna know...i have been having this phone for like a week now....i realise battery dies damn fast....any energy saving tricks????thanks
Turn off haptic feedback. Lower your light sensor.
blinky
post Jul 17 2009, 09:08 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jul 17 2009, 07:46 PM)
Still getting familiar with mine. Any nice apps / games to intro? smile.gif
Drop me a message on MSN, I'll show you the light bro. I've about 100++ apps and games for N97 brows.gif
blinky
post Jul 20 2009, 12:38 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

N-GAGE is now available on N97.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SALRNN6B
blinky
post Jul 21 2009, 11:05 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Anyone knows where I can get a 16GB Micro-SD?

I finally finished using the 32GB onboard storage smile.gif
blinky
post Jul 21 2009, 03:42 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Jul 21 2009, 02:07 PM)
Wow? You putting all pr0n inside?
Blu-Ray movies smile.gif
blinky
post Jul 22 2009, 12:47 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(trickle @ Jul 21 2009, 11:01 PM)
hey, is the format supported by ovi suite? What converter are you using? It only works if the format is avi and most of my files are rmvb. I have tried to convert to mp4 from rmvb but it can't be opened using the phone. sighh
Simple.

First, download "Any Video Converter".

Convert your files to the preset "MPEG-4 Mobile Phone" format. Note: for Blu-Ray movies, you have to convert the video files one by one (usually 8 of them for one movie).

After the conversion, download "Free Video Joiner".

Import all your converted MPEG-4 videos into Free Video Joiner and just click on the JOIN button.

Ta-dah!
blinky
post Jul 23 2009, 02:33 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(trickle @ Jul 22 2009, 06:31 PM)
Thanks! I have used the 'Any Video Converter' but the movie seems have been squeezed and look weird. Maybe I need to join the Free Video Joiner. I will try it. Thanks!
Make sure you double-check the drop down menu on the right. It has several video options like "PSP", "3GP" etc. Make sure you select "MPEG 4 for Mobile Phones".

Added on July 23, 2009, 2:34 am
QUOTE(gzero @ Jul 23 2009, 01:19 AM)
the nokia pc suite (not Ovi suite) has a component called video manager which converts any video files (i think) to mp4 format, it has a simple conversion interface and is optimized for n97. you will have to download it from the nokia website.
I don't think Video Manager rips and converts Blu-Ray DVDS.

This post has been edited by blinky: Jul 23 2009, 02:34 AM
blinky
post Jul 23 2009, 06:04 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(trickle @ Jul 23 2009, 02:18 PM)
Video manager in Ovi suite does not support rmvb.

Added on July 23, 2009, 2:28 pm

Yes, I want to convert rmvb to mp4, gzero. I have tried to copy rmvb file to the phone directly and play it but errors appears. Yes, sos strange that the phone has real player but can't support rmvb. Sigh

Hey Blinky,  I have choosen that option and it works! Thanks. The only problem I notice is the quality for the tvb series I converted from rmvb to mp4 is low (can see pixel and bit blur) where else those movies (e.g ice age) is much better. Clear. Strange. I have compared few times and result between the series and movies are the same as above.
It means that your original video file is in low-res, nothing to do with the converter.

Glad I could help.
blinky
post Aug 11 2009, 06:30 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

New firmware already out.

http://www.nokiausers.net/forum/nokia-n97/...t-included.html
blinky
post Aug 18 2009, 12:31 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Updating my firmware to v12 now.

I don't need new features, I just need them to solve the phone rebooting problem.
blinky
post Aug 21 2009, 11:24 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Aug 21 2009, 11:12 AM)
N97 Product Codes

RM-505 (Global version)

Mine is 0586301: N97 Singapore CV W, no V12 update for this code yet..
Do u know what is CV stand for?
Custom Version.
blinky
post Aug 21 2009, 12:06 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Aug 21 2009, 11:46 AM)
What is the different between Custom Version and APAC Version?
That is when you get widgets like The Star and Sin Chew.
blinky
post Oct 28 2009, 12:04 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Updating my firmware now!
blinky
post Oct 28 2009, 02:26 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Just updated to V20.

Kinetic scrolling is available albeit a little sluggish.

Some extra apps here and there.

Need a few days to judge.

0.0378sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:56 PM