NOKIA N97 V2!, Nokia Flagship Phone 2009

coral35
post Jul 29 2009, 08:26 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(slow.poke @ Jul 29 2009, 01:24 AM)
because like all fckien kiasu malaysian, they will lose face if the things the bought is crap...hence better not say it....
i guess not all user having the same problem, however to those experience this pls report to NCC, surely this is designflaw where clearance between lens snd cover is almost touching blush.gif
coral35
post Jul 29 2009, 11:14 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(toilet bowl @ Jul 29 2009, 08:45 AM)
n-gage for n97 has been released 1.30

can download here --> http://www.n-gage.com/ngi/ngage/web/my/en/...cdload/n97.html
ooo nice... supported finally.....

i like the bounce game... childish but it really motion sensitive.. haha rclxms.gif
coral35
post Jul 29 2009, 01:01 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(coolerlaptop @ Jul 29 2009, 11:29 AM)
hi ,
need help with the garmin installation...
am stuck on the language screen...cant seem to move forward..!!!
have u installed successfully...?

if u follow the instruction at front page.. shouldnt be any problem.
coral35
post Jul 29 2009, 05:05 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(TTY81 @ Jul 29 2009, 02:31 PM)
yes i have installed it per instructions
just that i am stuck on the language screen....

cant move any further from that
really think u should uninstall and install again.... no choice smile.gif

manquinn, u wan to sell body guard or sell off ur phone? blink.gif btw cant imagine they even warn u for replacement.. nokia customer service really -.- do u need to pay for their design mistake.. pls share more.. how long since u pass to them until u get ur phone back?

N97 is nice, but Nokia quality disspointed me alot.. with all the bugs(at least u cant live with it if u never upgrade ur firmware) and camera lens scratch, even though i havent get any yet, but i think it just matter of time.. unless i can take good care of it consistently....

how can they ship this to customer with so many bugs and expecting customer to upgrade thier firmware and bear with the camera problem without even take initiative in solving our problem???

few things tat annoying the most even after upgraded firmware:

1. zoom in picture(scrolling the bar)... most likely u will return to HOME screen out of sudden

2. for example, replying lowyat thru N97, smetime, when u point to the typing area, u back to homescreen....

3. really hard to save memory space in phone memory... only around 25MB free space now... total is 72MB i guess... they give u 32000MB mass storage and 72MB phone memory....

4. Game: totally no game to play, the guitar rock?? just one boring game? Ngage supported... but u need to pay for it...

5. biggest problem...... USB charger its convenient... but most likely it will shorten ur batt life.... imagine u got ur batt fully charge... and u want it connect to PC for some purposes, and then u charge it again... wat if u need to connect it for few hour.. so u charge it extra few hour?

the problem is whenver u connect to PC, u charge it.....

we all know that, batt life, highly depending on how u charge ur batt.... this will certainly shorten the life cycle... and 1500mAH... it gonna cost u a lot..

but i still like N97 for no reason, just hope tat it will perform more stable.... and trust me.. i will make myself love other phone nexxt time.. not nokia anymore...

coral35
post Jul 30 2009, 03:47 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Kerpzkk @ Jul 30 2009, 10:48 AM)
Please help. I can't succesfully install Garmin onto my N97. Have followed all the instruction on top of thread. Stuck at step 15. I don't have the option: "Use Attached/Built-in GPS". On the screen, there's a message, "Connection allowed to Garmin GPS devices only" The only option I can click on is "Pair New GPS" which always asks me to turn on my bluetooth.
try double tap at top left corner.. bar that showing signal strength.... it should come out with option for u to choose
coral35
post Jul 31 2009, 12:24 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Jul 31 2009, 12:07 AM)
thank god. did some research and found out how to reset it.

Shift + Space Bar + Backspace + Power On The Phone worked!!

only thing have to redo all the setting again...

ok im out...
somehow i really think NOKIA having more and more quality problem....

perhaps.... we should start to learn to love Samsung , iphone .....

waiting them to come out with a more stable firmware.. and if my lens get scratched... ....... i swear this will be my last NOKIA phone, and i will share my story to all my frens.. NOKIA u r doomed..
coral35
post Aug 1 2009, 05:57 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(veriz88 @ Aug 1 2009, 11:22 AM)
Regarding the lens scratches problem, I've read about some user's experience & found out that some N97 have the lens cover's cushion 'touching' the lens while some don't.
That's why it will cause scratches if it is touching the lens, more if it caught some dust.
So, make sure you check the lens cover's blue cushion by sliding it a few times to see if the unit is actually 'touching' the lens before purchasing it.

And regarding the 'phone keeps on restart by itself' problem, I've also read about it from a gadget magazine, that it MIGHT be caused of Virus.
This is especially if you installed some 3rd party / unsigned programs or have other people install stuffs into your phone.
Might consider getting a Mobile Anti Virus program.

Just a suggestion...
about the lens scratches, the blue thingy inside the lens cover is actually not a cushion to protect ur lens, it is actually a holder for spring, and the scratches is not caused by the dust, it is due to the spring in the blue pad... too close to our lens... seriiously do u think dust will cause such a deep scratch in ur lens? i saw this in some N97 forum.....

coral35
post Aug 5 2009, 04:43 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Aug 5 2009, 03:37 PM)
any body hv install the GarminXT?
can you pls teach me??I follow the 1st pages directory.
i cannot get the unlock code from manufacturer of garmin.
Pls help...

Step 9 You should have received your device unlock code from the manufacturer of Garmin, however if you haven’t, there are instructions on the Internet to guide you on how to get yours wink.gif
Step 10 Copy the device unlock code and paste it in a notepad, then save the file as SW.UNL
Step 11 Reconnect your via cable using mass storage.
Step 12 Copy the SW.UNL file into \Garmin\ in your memory card
bro.. of cox the unlock code cannot be obtained from Garmin, since u r not going to pay them....

either u google to download the keygen program, or u ask someone to generate for u by providing ur card id ( Garmin >About)...
coral35
post Aug 6 2009, 05:33 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Evrae90 @ Aug 6 2009, 01:53 PM)
hi guys i reinstalled my invisible shield.

i did not use the spray they give. actually u can just use soap water but dilute the soap first.
use a tupperware, fill in with water til 3/4 then add soap into the water slowly and mix it with a spoon or back of a toothbrush
or whatever slowly because you do not want bubbles.
never use detergent or anything too strong. baby shampoo or any light soap/shampoo is fine.

after applying the shield, use your finger to rub all the moisture to the sides for 1 minute or 2, to avoid any bubbles.
here's my results:
nice!! why cant just use tab water?

i looking for this, but coulnt find any.. where u bought it? expensive?
coral35
post Aug 6 2009, 10:36 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Evrae90 @ Aug 6 2009, 06:22 PM)
Actually can use tapwater but for me soap water makes the sticky side slippery..so u can slide the sticker around and adjust it.
go to garage sales, there http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...nvisible+shield

this fella is an authorized dealer, u can even find them listed in the official invisible shield website. www.zagg.com if im not mistaken.

good points:
after install invisible shield, it will have more grip.

bad points:
you cant slide your stylus or finger on the screen easily(due to the improved grip)
expensive

If its possible i would cover just the body, and for the screen i'd use a normal anti fingerprint screen protector so that i can slide my stylus easier.
I dont think anybody would need an ANTI Scratch Screen Protector..Ive been using normal screen protectors for my other phones with no problems and I believe its the same case with the rest of you.

but since ive invested 80 bucks, i might as well just use the IS.

on the other hand if any of you can really be patient and take care of your phone, gettin the anti fingerprint screen protector would be enough.
thanks.

any one use bluetooth headset listening to music? what model and how its audio quality?
coral35
post Aug 7 2009, 10:09 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(mannquin @ Aug 7 2009, 02:42 AM)
Im using BH-503, looks great and the audio quality is excellent

By the way I suggest you guys to get Bodyguardz instead of Invisible Shield. Like evraa90 said, you can no longer slide it with ur finger or stylus because of the improved grip effect. Mine still looks naked and can do anything even though I've applied it with bodyguardz

Added on August 7, 2009, 2:46 am

I tried the 1st method but it is not working. Did I miss anything?
how much it cost for BH 503? initially i m thinking of BH 103..

Bodyguardz how much and where can get it?

my N97, hang sometime after received a call.. and i need to restart it right after received the call... i still can comminicate to people the other side.. but the screen is blank after that blush.gif
coral35
post Aug 7 2009, 10:23 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 7 2009, 10:21 AM)
Any budget ?

Try Jabra HALO
not something too expensive... <rm200 still acceptable
coral35
post Aug 7 2009, 10:50 PM

105 posts

hmm.. talking bout garmin version? latest one should be 500.50
coral35
post Aug 7 2009, 11:41 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Aug 7 2009, 11:37 PM)
oo guys i heard that there might b a new firmware coming out this month end!! woot!
hope this is true... i really cant tahan to restart my phone after received a call that often...,
coral35
post Aug 9 2009, 01:12 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(y@nggene @ Aug 9 2009, 12:50 PM)
For N97 user who surf internet, may i know how much u all pay for it / month?
for digi and maxis, 10sen/10kb.

Will it cost alot if i youtube,  msn, and facebook?
10KB = 10cents...

imagine u come lowyat which required letsay 400KB.. so u need to pay them RM4...

youtube... i cant imagine... ... blink.gif
coral35
post Aug 9 2009, 06:50 PM

105 posts

i thought it suppose to be a good thing to install at mass storage?

dont understand y suddenly the option is gone, or maybe the problem in application itself?
coral35
post Aug 9 2009, 09:06 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(mannquin @ Aug 9 2009, 08:51 PM)
Guys, I am really unhappy with this phone's GPS. It is totally useless/unusable!

I was in a car, it took me like 2 mins just to get locked. I restarted my phone, and went to a field/rooftop, still took ages to get gps lock.

I could say nothing about its accuracy, totally inaccurate. Now I am totally upset.

Am I the only unlucky fella experiencing this prob? How the hell am I supposed to fix this? I really hope it's a Software problem, not the hardware that causes this prob.
dude, GPS fix withoout A-gps enabled, normally take minutes to get the fix...

wat u means by inaccurate? it showing different location or?
coral35
post Aug 9 2009, 09:30 PM

105 posts

hmmm...i normally on with AGPS, take less than 1minutes... never compare with 5800..

accuracy wise, i m using Garmin, no accuracy problem...somehow when car stopped, Garmin tends to changing its direction around, but once u start moving it will back to normal, i assume this is normal with GARmin..

Added on August 9, 2009, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(mannquin @ Aug 9 2009, 09:14 PM)
I compared it with 5800 side by side. The tube locks up pretty fast, like almost 10 times faster than n97. Yeap, the red dot seems like not really following my current location. Like 400m inaccurate
for accurate comparison, suggest u turn off both 5800 and N97, just to ensure both are doing cold start

on it back, do a comparison again... cox wat u did previously might due to the 5800 is at hot start stage, so it will lock faster...

This post has been edited by coral35: Aug 9 2009, 09:51 PM
coral35
post Aug 10 2009, 12:01 PM

105 posts

standalone gps navigator do not have service provider to operate....

A-gps, is just a enhancement for mobile phone to get quicker fix by getting location info from base station of ur service provider.
coral35
post Aug 11 2009, 10:28 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(knuta @ Aug 11 2009, 09:53 AM)
QWERTY because of how the upper left keys are positioned - Q-W-E-R-T-Y. Early typewriters had different layout but because they were mechanical, the letters got jammed when typing fast, so they developed the QWERTY layout to keep frequently used letters away from each other.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QWERTY

PS:
About batterylife, cause many have complained about short battery life on the N97. I disagree. If you turn off all the streaming/real-time updates, the phone lasts very long - more than 24 hours without dropping the first bar on the battery status.
Even with all those turned on (push email, gmail, fb, news) the phone lasts abt a day, which is normal compared to HTC and iPhone.
my one can last a day plus, sometime up to 2 days.... normal usage... few phone calls...

actually, portable device should have design for longer battery life.. i really enjoy when i have my first nokia phone... 3310 or wat tat can last for 5 days easily.. of cox tats a boring phone...

but if N97 can last for 3 days, i would really appreciate it vyvy much,... haha.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0485sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:15 AM