NOKIA N97 V2!, Nokia Flagship Phone 2009

Leo the Lion
post Sep 9 2009, 08:48 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Sep 9 2009, 09:07 PM)
Are you sure this will void warranty?  blush.gif
It's just a TXT file customization, you can do factory reset before sending in for repair right?  tongue.gif
That's why lah, Always do factory reset. shakehead.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 9 2009, 09:07 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Sep 9 2009, 10:05 PM)
installing 'special' software wont make ur phone void.
bsides, why u so worried about the warranty?
u planning on sending ur phone there soon? tongue.gif
I'm a heavy user with the phone. So far so good, my phone is in perfect conditions. Just afraid it will spoil soon.
Leo the Lion
post Sep 10 2009, 10:28 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Sep 10 2009, 10:33 AM)
Hi everyone, just got a black n97 last night. Comes with v11 firmware and can't update v12 coz it's RM-505 sad.gif

The first set shown to me have some fingerprint on it so i suspect it's been opened and 'played' around b4 and i found the sliding mechanism very rough, it's like the dummy set where a slight push will open the slider with a heavy 'tuck' sound.

Luckily i demanded for 2nd set and the slider is much more smoother, very smooth opening. Anyone experienced the 'tuck' b4?

I saw the Scratch Test video and it seems like the n97 don't need screen protection? The phone seller showed me anti-fingerprint screen protector and it seems very thick and make the whole screen blur/not sharp.

So i m wondering if it is ok to do without screen protector or if i go with the cheap 'clear' protector will it cause the screen to be not so sensitive?

I m still using the 'plastic' that comes with the set biggrin.gif

BTW, i've installed garmin mxt 5.00.60 meant to solve some problems with 5800, works great with n97. Dang nice to see full widescreen navigation biggrin.gif See changelog below biggrin.gif

v5.00.60:
- To improve the horizontal to vertical NOKIA 5800 screen problem
- NOKIA 5800 to improve the horizontal screen open "turn preview" issue
- To improve the NOKIA 5800 in the evening when the text mode
that plastic thingy is a screen protector. You just need to use it until it get so many scratch. Then change another screen protecctor.if u care your phone, then just apply it.

Added on September 10, 2009, 10:34 am
QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 10 2009, 10:36 AM)
want to ask.....if i am buying n97 how can i check whether the nokia n97 is an original n97 set by avaxx or zitron and its not china made one.  how many thing that i need to check. handset, battery, charger..... i dun want to be cheated  giving non original things like swap the charger with china made ones...etc.
I got 1 seller selling at rm2050 for a white. is it worth?
How to transfer garmin mxt from my n95 to n97. i have the locked version. or i have to submit poi to msm again. hope this is the corrct way to ask...

secondly, its it the right time to buy n97 now or wait until better firmware coming with less bugs.  HELP......
rm2050? Dun go for it, they could change some set like battery or remove some accessory. In my area, cheapest rm2250, rm2050 is too dam cheap for original set.

And if u think its the right time to buy, yeah. Cause not many have a problem in v11, only certain ppl. I suggest you do factory setting after u buy it

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Sep 10 2009, 10:34 AM
Leo the Lion
post Sep 10 2009, 11:49 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 10 2009, 12:20 PM)
maybe. have to get the latest maps as u said...last december...just that i need to poi to get it locked maps..my area sg buloh nothing much have.

By the way anyone a n95 8gb user before changed to n97...whats the good and bad betweens these two. i love n95 8gb and so is n97....but reading this forum n97 have many negative.  starting from page1....

And also the lens cover.....stratch problem.
The lens cover is a problem, but only if you're out of lluck. Most of n97 problems come because of it's software/firmware version. But rest assure, s60v5 is still new in touchscreen line. And N97 is currently improving with it's new firmware updates. wink.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 10 2009, 12:58 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Sep 10 2009, 01:29 PM)
Kinetic scroll will be available in October with the release of V20 firmware. I can't wait biggrin.gif

Regarding the screen protector, those cheapo crystal ones will cause the screen to be less sensitive or not?

Accoding to N97Fanatics N97 screen is not really scratch proof hehe. I think have to get a screen protector liao sad.gif
Every screen phone will get scratch if you didn't take care of it. And I don't think it will release so quickly especially in Malaysia. Probably November or December.

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 10 2009, 01:43 PM)
do you thinkit better to buy after v20 come out in octoer or i can buy it now and update the version later. i'm not a good tech person  dunno i can do it myself or not.
Buy it now and wait for the updates. Scare u will buy other phone tongue.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 10 2009, 02:55 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 10 2009, 03:51 PM)
thanks for ur advise.

Any recommendation to buy n97 in PJ area? i dun want to go kl.  Of course the best price. i'm getting it this weekend.

oh...gps question. how is the gps in n97? how is the connection n accuracy?  i use n95 8gb gps with gmxt connection ok. i dun want  gps worst the n95 8gb
U can find e_trade_pj here. Trusted seller. He sell cheaper. icon_rolleyes.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 10 2009, 11:50 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(cond1t1on @ Sep 10 2009, 09:37 PM)
well, that image burn only comes once in awhile..
like yesterday i had da problem, left it on and charge till today morning,
and the image burn is gone, after a few hours later, it came back..
T.T
Hurm, It could be a hardware failure. Seems the problem come from the factory itself. Guess you should send it for warranty. Worst case scenario is your screen might explode
Leo the Lion
post Sep 11 2009, 11:23 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(mysixaxis @ Sep 11 2009, 11:57 AM)
hi guys what color you guys think i should buy??hehe

Added on September 11, 2009, 11:03 amAnother question,im buying a 1 week old Nokia N97 from someone but if there is a problem on it,will I need to bring him along to claim warranty from Zitron or i can do it myself??anyway he not yet filled the warranty card..Thanks
Warranty is provided by the shop that he bought. If he doesn't have the warranty card, then you have to pay ALOT of cash to send the phone for repair.
Leo the Lion
post Sep 11 2009, 11:41 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(CapnMarvel @ Sep 11 2009, 12:29 PM)
Guys, after I have done a hard reset on the phone and restore to previous settings, I couldn't connect to the internet.

I tried connecting to my home wireless point, after it connected, the wireless icon is on the top right corner, but when I touch on it, it is nothing there, just a n icon floating around.

When I go to the Connectivity, the wireless point stated known, but it should states connect if I am on the line. I click on connect again. Message I got from the phone is "WLAN connection already active. Please close and try again".

I couldn't close any connection because when I click on top right corner, I see nothing on it.

Besides, when i try access to the internet directly from the homepage by clicking the icon of Internet > 1 of the web page in my phone > Messages I got from phone are "Connection not available" and "Web: Unable to perform operation".

I do not have any problem regarding this issue before i do the hard reset. Hope you guys may help me on this. Thanks
Try soft reset and restart your phone.
Leo the Lion
post Sep 11 2009, 12:05 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(mysixaxis @ Sep 11 2009, 12:49 PM)
Warranty is provided by the shop not by Zitron ah??anyway he does have the warranty card..so if i do have problem i can go to the shop myself without him right??Thanks
The warranty is provided by the shop under Zitron or Avaxx. My bad, should state it clearly. But make sure the warranty card is from either both Zitron or Avaxx. Anyway, how much he trying to sell to u?

Added on September 11, 2009, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(Evrae90 @ Sep 11 2009, 12:53 PM)
ei guys does ur battery power level show false level of battery? mine keep showing full then yesterday night i used it for wifi n within a minute the phone shut off by itself.
Nope. Never encounter this problem sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Sep 11 2009, 12:06 PM
Leo the Lion
post Sep 11 2009, 12:34 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(mysixaxis @ Sep 11 2009, 01:21 PM)
His selling me for 1.8k used for 1 week old..ok or not the price..anyway bro which color more style ah??white or black?? blush.gif  blush.gif
Make sure you check the phone. 1 week for Rm1800 is too cheap (unless it's AP set).
Leo the Lion
post Sep 12 2009, 12:07 PM

6,358 posts

1 month above using my phone. Haven't encounter hang during boot time. laugh.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 12 2009, 12:30 PM

6,358 posts

A nice video to watch related with n97

Leo the Lion
post Sep 12 2009, 12:48 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(knuta @ Sep 12 2009, 01:37 PM)
Great! You are lucky... smile.gif it took me several months to find this out. Calling repeatedly to Nokia and Maxis but noone figured it out. Enjoy!
If nokia, they won't know cause they only manufacture phones and netbook. If maxis... mmg kena lempang la doh.gif doh.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 12 2009, 08:14 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Sep 12 2009, 06:35 PM)
I encounter hmm i not sure is it a hang.
Is when a phone call come in, the screen is remain in black. I can hear it ring but i cannot answer the phone. I unlock also cannot. Then i have to take off my batt to restart. Anyone encounter this before?
i get this problem during v11, now dun get la. V12 quite stable now laugh.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 13 2009, 12:32 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(hamtaro98 @ Sep 12 2009, 11:19 PM)
http://www.nokiausers.net/forum/nokia-n97/...nly-here-3.html

Is your N97 Camera Glass being marked by the Slide cover?
Anyone facing the same problem ?
Been one month above using this phone. Gosh, am I lucky? Scare later will get scratch sad.gif sad.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 14 2009, 09:57 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 14 2009, 10:31 AM)
hey...want to ask....can java games install into n97...i manage to install few java games into it but could not play....how do i do it. accelerators, touch screen games...etc. do i need to install some program to let the game start...any recommed what games can play in n97..
You need to use qwerty keypad to play. haha laugh.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 15 2009, 11:43 PM

6,358 posts

Guys, I've just realize my N97 camera lenses got scratch doh.gif

Wanna send it for warranty, but raya is near now. Dunno when should I sent it. What do you think? cry.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 11:48 pmGuys, I just realize N97 mini using 256mb ram. to me, it's not fair for our big n97 sad.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Sep 15 2009, 11:48 PM
Leo the Lion
post Sep 16 2009, 09:06 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(saiya @ Sep 16 2009, 09:55 AM)
ya ya.. me too .. maybe to trade in this n97 to n900 but, n900 qwerty not so lawa, prefer n900 qwerty like n97...
N900 won't be coming to Malaysia whistling.gif

But if Nokia Malaysia did somehow manage to bring it here, there will be limited stock edition. Like what happen to N810 rolleyes.gif
Leo the Lion
post Sep 16 2009, 12:06 PM

6,358 posts

Read this

http://twitpic.com/hsnzu

And here

http://mytechnews.info/b/2009/09/nokia-one...ld-roundup.html

There state it will be using 256MB

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Sep 16 2009, 12:10 PM

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top