How to setup own mini Cinema, Need advised

fourzee
post Jul 16 2009, 11:13 AM

388 posts

If only malaysia houses got basement ... sure sound proof and no natural light you control the lighting..
maskedchan
post Jul 16 2009, 11:26 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 15 2009, 08:34 AM)
laugh.gif like Sam Whitwicky's 'happy time'?? whistling.gif
rclxms.gif laugh.gif you guess it correctly

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 16 2009, 10:57 AM)
bro.. have u been to cinema recently?? the PQ is worst that wat u can achieve at home with Bluray source & 1080p resolution projector. After u lay ur eyes on Blu, cinema picture quality becomes like pirated DVDs.. biggrin.gif
when i used to watch BD and i watch transformer in cinema, i feel like the sound is stereo and the PQ is like CD. even worst than DVD.

ronnt88
post Jul 16 2009, 11:28 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 16 2009, 11:26 AM)
rclxms.gif  laugh.gif  you guess it correctly
when i used to watch BD and i watch transformer in cinema, i feel like the sound is stereo and the PQ is like CD. even worst than DVD.
ya ya... watched Transformers 2 last week at GSC & was soooo.... disappointed!!! doh.gif

teruk PQ & AQ.... i demand they upgrade to HD immediately biggrin.gif
TSzack2381
post Jul 16 2009, 12:19 PM

825 posts

a bit out topic..i dont like the latest transformers 2..Somehow i wonder, what type of movies was this. This transformers 2 movie reminds me to these movies:

(a) the Mummy - adventure movies, the pyramid scenes

(b) Alien - robot change to human??huh!

© Startrek - the mission to destroy earth

(d) National Treasure - treasure hunt that need to solve clues, puzzle, look back at history..

(e) fantastic four - secret collaboration between special unit squad and mutan, to save earth from unidentified wild creation - that special unit squad doesnt contribute much!

(f) terminator 3 - the mission to kill specific person..

you may want to add..hehe

ronnt88
post Jul 16 2009, 12:23 PM

2,353 posts

true true... the storyline was kinda crappy & the CG rendering was sub-par only... felt like cincai cincai effort in a sequel. part 1 was much better in my opinion.
htkaki
post Jul 16 2009, 02:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Sad but true.

The only thing that the cinema is good at is the low rumbling sub. Until I got SVS....... whistling.gif
ar188
post Jul 16 2009, 02:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 16 2009, 11:28 AM)
ya ya... watched Transformers 2 last week at GSC & was soooo.... disappointed!!! doh.gif

so they currently HD ready projector only ? laugh.gif
ronnt88
post Jul 16 2009, 02:55 PM

2,353 posts

not even HD ready i think tongue.gif
jchong
post Jul 16 2009, 04:37 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 16 2009, 11:28 AM)

I agree, the PQ and AQ in local cinemas is not up to standard. Watching in a properly setup home theater is better!
bryanlee
post Jul 16 2009, 04:47 PM

111 posts

rclxms.gif  laugh.gif  you guess it correctly
I watched it at MVM Gold Class last weekend.AQ is awesome rclxms.gif but PQ definitely our Home Projector (HD) work better.
TSzack2381
post Jul 27 2009, 11:25 AM

825 posts

can somebody advise me what are the differences between Home Theater Projector and standard projector?

choontoy
post Jul 27 2009, 11:42 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Jul 14 2009, 12:47 PM)
hi there,

i'm actually thinking of setting up my own mini cinema at my house.

The following things i've listed down in order to do that:

(i) Sound System

(ii) Set projector

(iii) Sound proofing..

Anything that i left out? any recommendation? which brand of speaker, projector etc. what are the estimated costs involved? I really dont have any idea on how to start with.

Get Dynamat for sound proof.
jchong
post Jul 27 2009, 11:59 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Jul 27 2009, 11:25 AM)
can somebody advise me what are the differences between Home Theater Projector and standard projector?
When you say "standard projector" you mean those used by companies to show presentations?

For one, HT projectors have higher resolution (especially full HD type, 1920x1080). HT projectors are also more geared towards black levels and color accuracy, because these are important for HT use.
hian
post Jul 27 2009, 12:12 PM

418 posts

Yeah, setting up a home theater is not entirely an easy job but it also depends on your own taste and standard, and of course how deep our pocket is. smile.gif The first time I got myself a projector (a 2nd hand unit), I nailed a RM35 4'x8' matt white color plywood on the wall as the screen, while Sony HTiB handled the audio. So in total, my first time so-call theater cost me RM2535. I did enjoyed it that time. laugh.gif

Then slowly, changed items by items. smile.gif
silbii
post Jul 27 2009, 02:05 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 16 2009, 02:32 PM)
so they currently HD ready projector only ?  laugh.gif
cinemas used analog film projectors to play film reels...these pj needs constant maintenance, if not the pq will deteriorate
timtamtom
post Jan 31 2010, 01:14 AM

wah lau eh~! guyz... u r talking abt 30k and above stuff for home theater... i juz feel bad abt my mini home theater in my living room. i only got 42inch lcd.. hik hik hik... logitech z5500 speaker..... and xtreamer media player that plays mov, flac and mkv files..... which only cost me less than 5k. sigh.... juz feel myself pity enuf...... sad.gif
silbii
post Jan 31 2010, 06:08 PM

963 posts

have someone already mentioned a light controlled room? this one is a must...unless u only wanna use it at night....

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0210sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:57 AM