How to setup own mini Cinema, Need advised

TSzack2381
post Jul 14 2009, 12:47 PM, updated 17y ago

825 posts

hi there,

i'm actually thinking of setting up my own mini cinema at my house.

The following things i've listed down in order to do that:

(i) Sound System

(ii) Set projector

(iii) Sound proofing..

Anything that i left out? any recommendation? which brand of speaker, projector etc. what are the estimated costs involved? I really dont have any idea on how to start with.

ronnt88
post Jul 14 2009, 12:54 PM

2,353 posts

I think RM40k to RM50k should get u a decent setup thumbup.gif

RM5k - AVR (Denon / Onkyo / Marantz)
RM15k - Projector & Screen (Panasonic / JVC / Infocus)
RM15k to RM20k - 5.1/7.1 Speakers (Too many brands tongue.gif)
RM2k - BD Player
RM5k - Cables & some BDs

The balance depends on reno cost of room thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Jul 14 2009, 12:56 PM
jchong
post Jul 14 2009, 01:19 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Jul 14 2009, 12:47 PM)
hi there,

(i) Sound System

(ii) Set projector

(iii) Sound proofing..

Anything that i left out? any recommendation? which brand of speaker, projector etc. what are the estimated costs involved? I really dont have any idea on how to start with.

Another thing to consider is your room setup. Are you going to have a dedicated room for your mini cinema? Or are you putting in your living hall?

You also need to set a budget. As ronnt88 mentioned, 40k to 50k will get you a very nice setup. But if you don't want to spend so much, I think 20k to 30k can also suffice. The main thing that will eat your budget is the projector and screen.
htkaki
post Jul 14 2009, 02:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Room size also plays an important role in deciding what to get.
neoardi
post Jul 14 2009, 02:57 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 14 2009, 12:54 PM)
I think RM40k to RM50k should get u a decent setup thumbup.gif

RM5k - AVR (Denon / Onkyo / Marantz)
RM15k - Projector & Screen (Panasonic / JVC / Infocus)
RM15k to RM20k - 5.1/7.1 Speakers (Too many brands tongue.gif)
RM2k - BD Player
RM5k - Cables & some BDs

The balance depends on reno cost of room thumbup.gif
yes, reno including furniture like cinema seats... brows.gif
ronnt88
post Jul 14 2009, 02:58 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jul 14 2009, 02:57 PM)
wah... nice nice nice drool.gif
rx330
post Jul 14 2009, 03:01 PM

11,811 posts

anything less than 50k is indecent sad.gif
richard912
post Jul 14 2009, 03:09 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jul 14 2009, 02:57 PM)
If your budget permits, go for LazyBoy recliners
ronnt88
post Jul 14 2009, 03:09 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 14 2009, 03:01 PM)
anything less than 50k is indecent sad.gif
indecent proposal?? laugh.gif
rx330
post Jul 14 2009, 03:10 PM

11,811 posts

kena elite ron pijak sad.gif
ronnt88
post Jul 14 2009, 03:11 PM

2,353 posts

shocking.gif me elite? shocking.gif

me pijak?? doh.gif

shakehead.gif to both

butter finger
post Jul 14 2009, 03:11 PM

317 posts

I use only normal rocking chair, less than RM300
rthj
post Jul 14 2009, 03:15 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 14 2009, 10:09 AM)
If your budget permits, go for LazyBoy recliners
does it come with the organic couch warmer in the picture?
mpyw
post Jul 14 2009, 03:16 PM

3,603 posts

or get a multimedia projector - 2k
tripod screen - 400
HTiB system - 2k

less than 5k and u r set to go tongue.gif
Serpentarius
post Jul 14 2009, 03:16 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Jul 14 2009, 12:47 PM)
hi there,

(i) Sound System

(ii) Set projector

(iii) Sound proofing..

someone mentioned 50k is quite accurate ........... depending on your specs ... the 2 most expensive items would be your Projector set and the soundproofing renovation .....

soundproofing is hard .... but not impossible (just impossible to do perfectly in Malaysia) .... for best quality and cost saving .... is DIY

imho i think it's cheaper to get a LCD tv, sit near and have mid-range sound system (since Malaysian homes are NOT SOUNDPROOF - contractors made thin walls)

most of us doesnt have the experience of building a dream HT system .... maybe you should try other forums for more details ....
http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/home-theater.htm
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/forum/
neoardi
post Jul 14 2009, 03:19 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jul 14 2009, 03:15 PM)
does it come with the organic couch warmer in the picture?
laugh.gif LOL...good one thumbup.gif
htkaki
post Jul 14 2009, 03:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jul 14 2009, 03:19 PM)
laugh.gif LOL...good one thumbup.gif
I would buy it if it does come with the package tongue.gif

butter finger, can I go to your house to audition your setup? smile.gif
butter finger
post Jul 14 2009, 04:25 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 14 2009, 03:52 PM)
I would buy it if it does come with the package  tongue.gif

butter finger, can I go to your house to audition your setup?  smile.gif
htleg no offence but I am living with my parents. You know rules and regulation applied. Mummy and daddy get vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif with my obsession. Would love you to come over to radio shack my surround though tongue.gif
htkaki
post Jul 14 2009, 04:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(butter finger @ Jul 14 2009, 04:25 PM)
htleg no offence but I am living with my parents. You know rules and regulation applied. Mummy and daddy get  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif with my obsession. Would love you to come over to radio shack my surround though  tongue.gif
No problem if I am free. Where?

For a simple HT setup in a medium size room, I think a budget of RM25-RM30K would be sufficient. Of course, only 720 pj but with latest AVR and 7.1 system completes with BDP.

butter finger
post Jul 14 2009, 04:56 PM

317 posts

Nah, not atm. Parents might move to S2 in near future and will need your help when it comes brows.gif

Thanks for the offer, appreciate it.

0.0175sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:55 PM