Samsung Jet

TStechmostwanted
post Nov 2 2009, 09:55 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Nov 2 2009, 02:04 AM)
DXII2 is the latest and have more new features... visit www.darkforestgroup.com forum to get the firmware..

Added on November 2, 2009, 2:08 am
the latest firmware improves on the touch sensitivity, browser and new features... never experience any lag(3 sec) like you said..
the firmware also improve phone call sound etc.
searched everywhere in darkforest Jet thread,esp in the firmware threads from 1-9 but couldnt locate DXII2 sad.gif
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 2 2009, 10:15 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 2 2009, 10:04 AM)
http://darkforestgroup.com/forum/index.php?board=34.0

read S8000 Jet Firmware Part 9 wink.gif

Added on November 2, 2009, 10:07 amoops, i couldnt find DXII2 too biggrin.gif it could've been removed(?)
thats the IG2 lar...anyone care to post II2 firmware link here? i coudnt use the europe vers as i need chinese language support. but tempted to sacrifice chinese support since the europe vers is way much better. sad.gif
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 2 2009, 11:45 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Nov 2 2009, 11:21 AM)
im using xeii2, works great!
here's the link... http://www.megaupload.com/?d=WM4TB58R

love the new media player... i've posted some pics in my blog
u'll lose chinese support, but gain the GPS function! wink.gif
there is gps function in S8003, just have to enable it and download route66. im still finding the II2 firmware for s8003...
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 2 2009, 03:36 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Nov 2 2009, 02:11 PM)
nonono, the XEII2 firmware is for s8000 since it's a europe firmware...

s8000 = europe
s8003 = asia

they're both the same hardware, so u can use the XEII2 for S8000 on your asian s8003 wink.gif
know i can flash to XEII2, but thats the europe version and lacks chinese support. im looking for S8003 II2 firmware which some forumners state that it was better than IG2 which i currently have now.

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Nov 2 2009, 03:37 PM
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 2 2009, 04:11 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Nov 2 2009, 04:09 PM)
i am not sure whether dxii2 is better than dxig2,but it definitely better than dxif7. dxif7 can't use the etiquette pause and speaker call,and dun have easy java.other than that i dun see difference between dxif7 and dxii2.

do you have dxii2 firmware? care to upload and post the link here? many thnxxxx.. notworthy.gif
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 3 2009, 11:13 PM

515 posts

wanna ask, i got over 1000 songs in my Jet. I wanted to create playlist so that i can browse the songs easier. Is there anyway that i can create the playlist from my PC and transfer to my Jet?
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 4 2009, 11:59 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:19 AM)
1. anyone knows what are the numbers to press to go inside technical mode - ie. to test h/w functionalities?

2. how much is a jet now? some says as low as RM1500 smile.gif

3. how's the camera? i bought nokia 5800 - camera was crap! also bought samsung omnia - camera was crap too. sold both phone and got SE C905 - perfect

but now looking at jet smile.gif

Added on November 4, 2009, 8:44 amsorry more Qs and maybe have been answered.

if i go buy a phone now, I should key in *1234# to check f/w version.

1. what to see it's for Asia and not an AP phone - from Russia or Ukraine:)
2. is there an official samsung website to d/load new f/w instead of darkforest
3. what is the latest f/w no. for asia

thks
i bought brightstar unit lower than rm1450 biggrin.gif . very hard to find the back cover with red stripes, all new batch comes with all black cover(without red stripes). i lucky to find one with red stripes biggrin.gif.

im not sure about 5800 camera, but overall 5800 sux as it's ugly; physically and the UI as well. but for Jet, the camera quality is at least better than average from my opinion.

darkforest got one topic which teaches u how to read firmware codes for Jet, but the easiest to identify a russia/ukraine vs asia phone is by its firmware. all S8003 are asia firmware.

* there is one shop in SG wang selling re-con/2nd hand unit but claimed it was new and original. the shop is at first floor, beware.

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Nov 4 2009, 12:01 PM
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 4 2009, 05:56 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(redblaque @ Nov 4 2009, 05:51 PM)
1. jet is now around rm1400-rm1600, depends on the shop, freebies. i think the price didn't go down that fast.
2. the pics look nice on the AMOLED screen, but when viewed on a computer the picture gets a B+. (for me lah)
3. i don't think there's an AP? but just make sure the fw is S8003 for Asian.
4. the NPS has an updater, but it doesn't update ur phone to the latest fw. (not with mine) u either have to go to the service center or update the fw ur own.. but flashing the fw is really easy! just be careful..
5. the latest for asia is DXII2, but have not been shared on the net yet.
nowadays no more stripes? wahhh i'm oso lucky to have the stripes then.. it's really classy~
The best thing about samsung jet is it's really slim and it gets a lot of attention..  laugh.gif
according to my survey, here are some of the shop owners told me:

-only FMG unit got stripes, all brightstar dont have
-units coming in since last week of October doesnt have stripes anymore.

*FMG one are pricier.
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 5 2009, 11:59 AM

515 posts

i find that jet's touch screen is not as sensitive compared to others phone at the same price range. i mean compared to others resistive touch(not capacitive) like htc touch2. htc touch2 has better responsiveness in the touch screen.
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 7 2009, 02:54 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(john5449 @ Nov 7 2009, 12:34 AM)
hello guys...i am considering to buy samsung jet or omnia 2...which one should i choose?? can give me some advise?? thanks~!
both are good. depends on what u need actually. if u want to install many applications on ur device, then go for omnia 2, else if u want cheaper with almost similiar functionality and way better screen, then Jet biggrin.gif. though omnia 2 has bigger screen, but it was pathetically held down by windows mobile OS support only 65k max colour doh.gif .else omnia 2 would be a kick ass phone of 2009.
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 8 2009, 08:46 PM

515 posts

one thing i found out about Jet is that it has no more than 32mb of ram. possibly even less (16mb or 8mb).

why?

Jet cant open more than 3 heavy applications. LBS, java game, and music player was not possible.

Jet lag when browsing photos, media and videos.

heavy transition effect causes severe lag, thats why Samsung removes it. i mean, the different kind of transition effect which only found on ancient jet firmware.

same thing happens to LG arena which has 8mb of ram.

TStechmostwanted
post Nov 9 2009, 03:52 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 9 2009, 09:28 AM)
Actually, Omnia 2 support 16million colors as well. The limitation is in Windows Mobile 6.1, not the hardware. I'm not sure if Windows Mobile 6.5 support 16 million colours though, but i heard u can use apps like CorePlayer to support 16m colours.
nope. win 6.5 doesnt support 16million as well. but maybe win 7 might support. that would be a long wait.
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 10 2009, 10:57 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(redblaque @ Nov 9 2009, 09:58 PM)
i don't have any lagging after i flashed to XEII2 and heavy applications are okay.. BUT sometimes when i try to preview pics from the camera screen, it says memory full. hmm  hmm.gif
are u sure you set the phone right? try settings>phone settings>PC connections
yes.. but i haven't tried. as far as i know, u can use the phone as a modem thru the options in the software (NPS).
hmm, no lag if u open the music player? i mean when browsing through musics in the album there(with all the album pics also)? worst is in the horizontal mode in music player, that function cant be used at all, so lag.
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 11 2009, 04:42 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 11 2009, 12:38 PM)
I heard there's a Samsung 8M/12M phone to compete with the Aino, not sure the model. I think S8xxxx something?
this is Samsung Jet thread, thnx.
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 21 2009, 02:26 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(snowcrash @ Nov 20 2009, 11:50 PM)
Anyone know if got Samsung service centre in Bukit Bintang/ Masjid India area or nearby? want flash my phone fw, but scared to do myself...
of coz there is, one in lowyat plaza. open frm mon - sat(half day only). what firmware u using now? if it's dxig2, probably they wont flash any newer for u as this is the latest supported in this region. while dxii2 seems 2 have more bugs , though it was a newer vers. correct if im wrong.

but i do suggest every Jet users 2 flash XEII2. u still able 2 read ur chinese sms in this firmware, trust me. biggrin.gif. read below how.

p.s = through Samsung NPS. smile.gif
TStechmostwanted
post Dec 7 2009, 11:27 AM

515 posts

would like to share my recent finding on Jet. the memory size is actually 128MB. (122MB to be precise). it wasnt 16MB as what i previously thought biggrin.gif.

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Dec 7 2009, 01:05 PM
TStechmostwanted
post Dec 23 2009, 11:55 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Dec 21 2009, 07:54 PM)

I'm starting bulk#12 and closing on this coming Sunday (27th of Dec) 12 midnight.
Items will be arriving one week later. biggrin.gif

For Samsung Jet, there are three different types of screen protector available.

Thank you.  notworthy.gif
Regards,
AskarPerang
eh bro, u wanna sell there is garage forum out there. this thread is for discussion, dont pollute this thread.
TStechmostwanted
post Jan 5 2010, 11:45 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(bonebone` @ Jan 1 2010, 10:38 PM)
Anyone faces the problem where when u have an incoming call and u answer the call.. The caller may not hear the voice of yours. The caller can only hear ur voice after the 2nd call ? Is it i m only one facing this prob?
i come across this problem where i was not able to answer the call at all doh.gif . 3 times since i bought the phone 3months back.
TStechmostwanted
post Jan 6 2010, 02:27 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Jan 6 2010, 01:14 PM)
you must be Kidding!!  doh.gif

Specs says:  Stand-by  Up to 422 h (2G) / Up to 406 h (3G), ie  15 days

sure ka u?
i think he used the wrong word. standby means that ur phone is turned on and just left idle there and u did nothing for the phone.

that 2-3 days is a typical usage for Jet. I got mine last for 2days with listening to mp3 4-5hours per day, gps, wifi, sms alot, calls 15-30min per day.
TStechmostwanted
post Jan 6 2010, 04:55 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Jan 6 2010, 04:33 PM)
that's preety good, Rock smile.gif

i still have some reservations over Samsung, worry after 1 yr ++ - the hardware will go KO
every phone will go KO if u didn take care ur phone nicely. thats why phone manufacturer only gv u 1year warranty.

you can choose to pay extra 100 for 18months from samsung, but this only applies to FMG.

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Jan 6 2010, 04:58 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0211sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:37 PM