Forex V6

sleepwalker
post Oct 12 2009, 11:05 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Oct 12 2009, 03:17 PM)
UJ went down ...ah.. miss the boat! ahh, didn't expect it to go down so fast..
Aren't you glad you got out and weren't continuing your hope of it going up? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Oct 12 2009, 11:07 PM
sleepwalker
post Oct 15 2009, 03:47 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Oct 15 2009, 09:04 AM)
Guys, anyone using 3G broadband to trade ? I find it is too dangerous, cause many times it lags and hang. Streamyx is more stable. BTW, I need your adivice to fine tune my strategy. I trade UJ, I notice the daily fluctuation is about 100 pips, let say I trade hourly chart. Is the setting target profit at 15 pips and stop loss at 50 pips reasonable ?
I ask this because I intend not to monitor in every minute, I see is better to leave it few hours and the market will come to my target price. Previously my TP and SL ratio was 1:1, like my TP 15 pips and SL 15 pips, many times I almost ended up forced selling before the profit kicked in the next minute. Luckily I was around to cancel the SL and wait a bit before my profit comes.

My current target is daily profit about 30 pips. So I need to do few trades of 10 pips to 15 pips gain. Apart from that can you sifus slightly define the character of different pair of currency ?

Thank you.
YOu will not make money if your SL is bigger than your TP, unless every trade you do wins. Your profit to risk ratio has to be more than 1:1. Best if you can maintain 2:1, for every 2 pip profit, 1 pip risk. That way even if you breakeven in the number of trade wins/loss, you will still make more money each winning trade than you lose.
sleepwalker
post Oct 15 2009, 03:56 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Oct 15 2009, 10:20 AM)
Thanks danny and rstusa. My Celcom sucks....prefer to switch to my streamyx for trading. Just to add up about risk management,  I find 2% stop loss is more risky, aka averagely is 18 pips stop loss. Either my entry is too early from the indicators' signal, or too volatile (Is it ? Or I know nothing biggrin.gif ) to trade UJ. The movement can be easily 50 pips up and 50 pips low. What I did was to tolerate a bit longer till the extend 30 to 50 pips loss, then waiting the fight back wave to close my deal.

Don't know is the strategy safe ?  sweat.gif
If 2 percent stoploss is 18 pips for you, then you can reduce your order volume by half (example, instead of 1 mini, you do half a mini) and that will stretch your pips to 36 pips stop loss. Either that or increase your risk to 4%.

2 things most traders do not learn before they trade. When is the best time to enter and the best time to exit. MOst will think like you, that the market movement fluctuates 50 pips up and down. Most will think that it fluctuates around their entry and that by keeping an order open, they will eventually fight back the wave to close the deal. That is also why 95% of the people do not make money. Do a quick read-up online of entry and exit strategies before doing anything else. It will save your pips.

Do not trade UJ when you are just starting out. It is one of the most difficult pair to trade, yet people still want to put their heads into it.
sleepwalker
post Oct 16 2009, 12:00 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Oct 15 2009, 06:13 PM)
Reason behind my UJ pairing is simply familiarity. Wish I can gather some opinion for the character of different currencies. Why is UJ hard to trade ?
Familiarity with what? Both U and J are safe haven currency, which people flee to when other riskier equities are down. Hence there will be a tug-of-war between U and J, causing it to be erratic and difficult to predict. These are just simple basic reasons and you'd find more answers online as you learn.
sleepwalker
post Oct 26 2009, 10:23 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(husagi @ Oct 25 2009, 10:11 AM)
Wah. You got balls of steel. Experienced traders usually have capital exposure of 30%. The rest of us inexperienced traders expose only 10% of their capital. With 50% exposure, you could be a millionaire today and a pauper the next. Good luck.
No that is not quite true. You got the exposure wrong. The equity is not at risk. Of course, in his case, there is no stoploss and risky but we know gold is only heading one direction. For example, if I have USD10000 and I buy 10 lots that cost USD7500 with a stop loss of 10pips, that is not 75% risk. That is only 10% risk as hitting stop loss would cost me only USD1000 and not USD7500.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Oct 26 2009, 10:27 AM
sleepwalker
post Oct 27 2009, 09:51 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Oct 27 2009, 08:53 AM)
I think because of the oil prices increased, last week oil prices from $79 to $82 and possible that will rise to more than $100 by end of the year.
No. That's a typical reaction to DOW falling 200 points. It went right through the floor and it's a basic forex101 that when equities, oil and commodities fall, USD goes up. It's not just the EU. Oil fell, USD/CAD went up. Typical reaction is oil price down, USD up and vice versa. Commodities fell, AU and NU went through the floor too together with it. All happened last night with the DOW leading the way down.

Added on October 27, 2009, 9:52 am
QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Oct 27 2009, 07:15 AM)
Old school trendline break....what so big deal about it?

Believe me or not this break will hit 1.4820? haha..let's see
Not so much old school trendline break. It's more old school people buying USD when riskier equities fall. It all happened last night.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Oct 27 2009, 09:53 AM
sleepwalker
post Oct 28 2009, 09:37 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Oct 28 2009, 08:03 AM)
Everything is too late to find out why the price drop, oops did I said the price will hit 1.4820 earlier? Anyway, already TP. Hit my target this week.

[attachmentid=1275597]
You were too late but most of us intraday players would have seen this drop coming when DOW dropped like a stone and the forex followed it. So predicable.
sleepwalker
post Nov 17 2009, 10:20 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Nov 17 2009, 01:22 AM)
phew... great spike... manage to pull out in time for a nice little profit.....thats it... close shop for today

Added on November 17, 2009, 1:25 amfuyoh... crazy spike... i am still trying to make sense of this spikes.. I notice some spikes are caused by news.. But there are no news now...I was caught a few times by this kinda spike... is there any indicator or warning?
What do you mean no news? US Fed Chairman Bernanke was speaking. All these people make market moves, esp if they say the right/wrong thing. In last night's case, he said the right thing and people jumped on the dollar.. only to think that they can't believe him and the dollar lost everything back. For those trading on news, would have traded both ways, making money on the initial reaction to the news and then the retracement. Basic concepts of trading on news and it is so predictable. The guys like Bank of England Govenor King speaks, GBP/USD can plunge 200 pips. Last month.. 500 pips in 3 days because of what he said.

You have to be a little bit more up to date with your news.

Added on November 17, 2009, 10:25 am
QUOTE(rstusa @ Nov 17 2009, 09:58 AM)
Today received email from IBFX, they just tighten the spreads today as following:-

PAIR      OLD SPREAD    >  NEW “AS LOW AS” SPREAD
GBP/JPY                      7        >          3
EUR/JPY        4        >          2
EUR/USD        2          >        1
USD/JPY        3            >      1
USD/CHF        4          >        1
GBP/USD        4          >        2
AUD/USD        5          >        2
USD/CAD        5          >        2
GBP/CHF        7          >        4

Those are nice spreads but since I trade on news and IBFX widens their spread during announcements, that is not going to work for me. So far FXDD keeps their spreads under control. Even during Non-Farm Payrolls announcement the EUR/USD spread is still kept at 2 and GBP/USD at 4. That is perfect for news trading.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Nov 17 2009, 10:25 AM
sleepwalker
post Dec 14 2009, 11:33 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(sh3rli @ Dec 12 2009, 05:47 PM)
Just want to share with you guys who are doing day trade. I'm not against day trading, just tired of it.

Anyone into trend trading? Here is what i have (refer snapshot), a floating profit of 1067pips. Never have i thought that this is possible, but it's simple with trend trading.

If you wanna see more results or learn this (course fees is RM3,500 with 100% money-back guarantee) email me at sh3rli@hotmail.com

Added on December 12, 2009, 5:53 pm

I short EUR/USD on the 9th Dec, now already in profit of 79pips. Refer picture.
As with the rest of the forum in Lowyat, we do not condone any form of advertisement in this thread.

Furthermore, please do not post demo figures as anybody can take a snapshot of a winning demo account by opening both positions and then closing the losing position and taking a very beautiful looking screenshot.

What kind of trading system are you trying to sell by opening positions without any TP and SL target? Even the craziest EAs have 500 pip SL. Your system does not have none?
sleepwalker
post Dec 14 2009, 12:51 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(z2forex @ Dec 14 2009, 12:46 PM)
i dunno what actually happened but from my analysis it is bound to happen. luckily i made the right moves today. closed my EJ shorts in time and long GU in time also. made 260 pips so far today. good start for the week. hopefully i can maintain this smile.gif
This has nothing to do with Technical analysis. It was caused by this news....Abu Dhabi government agrees to fund $10 billion to Dubai world.

Added on December 14, 2009, 12:53 pm
QUOTE(normeck @ Dec 14 2009, 12:31 PM)
what happen? suddenly GU go up 80 pips!
This happened....

Euro Gains as Dubai Pledges to Repay Debt; Pound Reverses Loss

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=206...z62Oa25qQ&pos=2

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 14 2009, 12:53 PM
sleepwalker
post Dec 14 2009, 02:05 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(z2forex @ Dec 14 2009, 01:05 PM)
@sleepwalker
that clears it then, thanks smile.gif. are you trading news, bro? i tried before but always too late to enter or to close position. too risky for my blood i guess.
I trade on Fundamental Announcements which has a preset release date/time. This piece of news is not a Fundamental Announcement. This is just a piece of good news that everybody goes "Whoo haaaa".... we'd just have to wait till London to see whether the Bulls continue the party or it gets crashed by the Bears. The spike came with the news but nothing much after that. Let's wait and see...
sleepwalker
post Dec 14 2009, 02:40 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

A hundred pip spike means nothing to a long term position trader. Long term position traders eat 500 pip drawdowns for breakfast...

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 14 2009, 02:41 PM
sleepwalker
post Dec 14 2009, 03:00 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

This is definitely going to be an interesting London open later this afternoon.
sleepwalker
post Dec 14 2009, 03:19 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Dec 14 2009, 03:05 PM)
go go go!
It didn't go.... then it did.. then it didn't.... tongue.gif

I don't really trust any form of technical indicators during low volume periods except for resistance/support. The price action tends to do whatever it wants, for no reason and in every direction.
sleepwalker
post Dec 15 2009, 09:50 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Dec 15 2009, 09:11 AM)
I got the same thought but this may happen. I'm afraid that one day all brokers around the world disallowed Malaysian to deposit money to them because of BNM rule, then Malaysia nothing different like old day China Soviet Union.
NO that will not happen. BNM has no regulatory powers outside of Malaysia. Am I the only person old enough here to have gone through the 1997/98 Asian Economic Crisis when Malaysia pegged the Ringgit to USD and stopped trading the Ringgit on the open market to prevent Soros from speculating? Even at those extreme circumstances you can still send money out of Malaysia in the form of USD, except that you have to declare it with BNM if you are sending out more than RM10000. SO there is nothing to be afraid of BNM.

I believe we have mentioned many times in this thread that at this moment, BNM does not allow the setup of any Forex Brokers in Malaysia. They can setup a company to provide training and support their clients locally but they are not allowed to accept funds.

Added on December 15, 2009, 9:53 am
QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Dec 15 2009, 09:01 AM)
Thanks for the info dude.

What will happen if one day government disallow Malaysian to trade forex, even though we open account with oversea broker, possible for this to happen?
No, that will not happen. What you do with your money overseas is not controlled by Malaysia. What you do with your money in Malaysia is controlled by BNM. So they cannot stop you from trading in another country.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 15 2009, 09:53 AM
sleepwalker
post Dec 15 2009, 12:37 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Vaseline1 @ Dec 15 2009, 10:52 AM)
I believe day and position traders can make just as much pips. Day traders have the big advantage of exiting the markets, closing their exposure to the markets when they are not around.

The reason some people left this thread is because it has many times been used as an avenue to sell courses/EA/methods. This thread started as a place for discussion on possible strategies, each user posting up his/her charts providing greater depth. While I do not condone it, I think you should do it in other sub forums for selling products. Also, it would be better to provide a longer time frame to prove consistency.

I started at this thread, and it has definitely helped me significantly. I do hope it will stay as a good training ground for others.

After all, while I do manage to squeeze out 800-1200 pips like you, I would never be where I am today if not for those in this thread.
I'd be keeping an eye on this thread. Just report any sales of EA/Systems/Training and I'd slap on a warning, esp to non-newbies.
sleepwalker
post Dec 16 2009, 09:52 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Dec 16 2009, 07:53 AM)
FXDD are now regulated by NFA.....finally
Not yet. They are just in the final process of being regulated. Other than 100:1 leverage change and backoffice statements, nothing has changed. Hedging is still allowed.

edited: Oops.. looks like they have obtained NFA membership. I didn't check my email this morning.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 16 2009, 11:03 AM
sleepwalker
post Dec 16 2009, 10:49 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

So far only GFT forex has BB forex platform. The rest either claims to have but can't download or have none at all. MT4 is only available for Windows Mobile.

http://www.gftforex.com/software/mobile/blackberry.asp
sleepwalker
post Dec 16 2009, 11:07 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Dec 16 2009, 10:53 AM)
Trading's quite lethargic these few days, it looks like the big boys have closed their books for the year.
Lethargic? Where were you during the Abu Dhabi spike on Monday and EU tumble yesterday? You call that lethargic? Well, sure, we do have the normal boring Asian session but the excitement starts later in the afternoon.
sleepwalker
post Jan 6 2010, 02:15 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 6 2010, 02:02 PM)
As i said before robot brain never win human brain in the discipline circumstances.

Added on January 6, 2010, 2:03 pm

Normally within 24 hours.
Unfortunately human heart/emotions will override the human brain in most circumstances. That is why I decide when to buy sell but my EAs/scripts decide when to close the order according to my strategy. This way I take the emotions out of the equation. Human brain, robot heart. Best of both worlds.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jan 6 2010, 02:16 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0465sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:44 AM