Runnerz... #3, All about running...

triple02
post Oct 28 2009, 02:47 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Oct 28 2009, 02:40 PM)
Looks like ur body is not fully recover.  just rest and stay away from running for another 1-2 days.  TNF run is very energy sapping, just squeeze everything out of ur body.  I lost 3 kg after the run, imagine tat.
3KG!! thats alot...but you have your durians to help you to gain it back brows.gif, yeah probably thats the reason why..i think ill just rest up till the end of the week
triple02
post Nov 11 2009, 09:36 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 11 2009, 09:19 AM)
want to ask,

is 2010 got Sundown in Msia??

my singapore fren keep asking me which Sundown, SG o Msia... WTF...
Only 1 Sundown...thats in Singapore..
triple02
post Nov 12 2009, 05:15 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

ahh there is a going to be a Sundown for Malaysia? cool

guys just a question,

for a marathon, when do you start to taper? and what do you do during the tapering period? just rest or do some light runnning or some other activity apart from running?
triple02
post Nov 12 2009, 09:59 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Nov 12 2009, 09:25 AM)
Dear all amateur runners,

wat they means by sundown?
rclxub.gif
Its a run that will be held in the night icon_rolleyes.gif
triple02
post Nov 16 2009, 08:10 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(Ilianas_Toy @ Nov 15 2009, 11:07 PM)
What sort of socks do i need for jogging? I heard that it can reduce injuries and improve the comfortability.
Use Wright socks if you have blisters on your other parts of your toes, use In-Jin-ji if you have blisters between your toes...

I normally use Injinji for long runs as i tend to get blisters between my toes, for shorter runs i use normal rm 6 pasar malam socks..works for me! biggrin.gif

and runners!

Those who coming up for the bridge run this week and doing half mara, why dont we try to meetup aye?

triple02
post Nov 16 2009, 10:46 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Nov 16 2009, 10:26 AM)
might be a silly question but will it be cold during the penang bridge marathon?
If it doenst rain the day before It'll be humid as heck!
triple02
post Nov 16 2009, 11:02 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Nov 16 2009, 10:52 AM)
Has Pg been raining lately in the evening and dawn??
yes Ccube it has been raining in the late evening for the past month,

and to those marathoners for running the PBIM...there will 2 flyovers apart from the middle span of the bridge for you guys to tackle, i see the route is totally different from last year,

all the best..

lucky this year got vests for the half marathoners, unlike last year they gave out t-shirts!

triple02
post Nov 16 2009, 11:48 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Nov 16 2009, 11:10 AM)
wah..tshirt last year? that sux

Anyway thanks for the info. i think should be okay la tongue.gif we're all gonna warm up anyway
so u gonna run this weekend for PBIM? brows.gif
triple02
post Nov 20 2009, 08:11 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

All runners coming for the bridge run...WELCOME TO PENANG!! laugh.gif
triple02
post Nov 24 2009, 06:48 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey guys!! Penang Bridge was fun! it was much much better organized compared to last year...thats what i feel at least, managed to catch a glimpse of the always smiling Ccube as he powered across the finish line rclxms.gif the weather was absolutely beautiful to run especially with the sea breeze on the bridge!

the run for me personally was one of my worst run ever..my mind was totally not into it after the bridge U-Turn..infact i struggled from the starting line itself as i know this route like the back of my head and i know for a fact there was nothing to see to take your mind off, just a dead straight road ahead U-turn and another straight road..got so bored that i stopped halfway and started cheering for those other runners laugh.gif finished in a poor time of 1.53 with cramps all over my abdomen region due to the stop...my pace was on course for a 1.38 but heh...we can think one thing but circumstances leads you to another..

now bring on SC-Singapore Mara!!

triple02
post Nov 27 2009, 11:01 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

guys anyone from here going for the Standard Chartered Marathon next weekend?

this will be my second full marathon, hope to do better than Sundown
triple02
post Dec 3 2009, 05:51 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

wow! Sundown Registration is open! probably will sign up for it this coming Saturday in Expo might as well do 42km biggrin.gif phoenix another 84km ha?? hats off man and good luck to you for the Macau Mara....
triple02
post Dec 3 2009, 10:28 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 3 2009, 09:10 PM)
All the best!
let register 42km...

oh shit, need to exchange more SGD...
hey vin ann...yes lets register!! ill try to walk around expo 1st to see if i can they do open a booth for registration....if not probably online, getting a 20% discount if i register by 17th this month since i ran it last year...

but first up is this weekend SCSM
triple02
post Dec 4 2009, 11:59 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(steveysl @ Dec 4 2009, 11:48 AM)
kenshiro, are you going to Singapore Std Char marathon? We are going to Changi Expo hall 5 to pick up our bibs. The info given by ccube, 2Xu is setting a boot there for registration. I am not sure on Sundown. So, will just look around at Hall 5 for it.

2XU Compression Run (12km) + Newton 30km Challenge 2010
http://www.facebook.com/pages/2XU-Compress...hettimonster=nf
hey steveysl!!

cool you'll be going there also ha?? nice i should be there around 1-ish with friends...taking MRT straight from Changi to Expo then collect bibs then go and check in @ our hotel...

Im thinking of doing the 30km Newton run but not the 12KM 2XU, hehe, hoping that there will be a Sundown Booth open for registration...its super fantastic running in nite!! nothing like it! thumbup.gif
triple02
post Dec 7 2009, 08:54 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey guys!! back from Singapore Mara..what can i say it was a superbly organised race, fantastic, everything was in order, it was so smooth the collection of the bibs!, it was a far cry from the tarak standard chartered KL mara

as for the race, knocked off 37mins off my previous marathon time, completed in a time of 4.20, and to know that i undertrained for this race and to get that time , im damn satisfied, my training runs were not more than 20 km laugh.gif, i myself am amazed how your mind works really never ever expected to get such a time, also thanks to the pacers who were pacing at 4.15 ran with them for 37kms except the last 5km..cramp attack on thighs and left calf laugh.gif

next marathon coming up for me is the Adidas Sundown and Gold Coast International Marathon!! thumbup.gif

triple02
post Dec 7 2009, 10:31 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Dec 7 2009, 09:25 PM)
congrats, if u train.....wow possible to do a sub4
aha..Ccube...thanks biggrin.gif you know, i wished that i hit at least 38kms for my long runs but the thing is i dont have any partners to run with here in Penang to run long distance sadly sad.gif , its hard to get motivated to even wake up in the morning and run on weekends..i normally do my long runs alone at 5 am shakehead.gif but i wouldnt say that ive not trained... just that ive havent been hitting the km's one should hit weekly when training for a marathon

i took a totally diffrent approach compared to the first mara, where the first one was so regimented, weekly must hit 70KM.. long runs are minimum 30KM and come race day i ended up suffering from the 18km onwards, for this race, my training was very flexible, long runs were barely hitting 22Km and i started only serious training 3 1/2 half months prior for this mara and my weekly mileage was averaging between 40 to 50km only...i normally only do speed and interval runs

i felt so bummed out for the Penang Bridge Half Mara where i stopped and walked at the 18km mark, was honestly fearing the worst for this marathon.. i guess the fear of failure kept me going, wouldnt have stopped at the 37km mark if it wasnt for the cramps as my mind wanted to go on but my body was just begging for to stop and rest just for minute

but there's a saying you reap what you sow..and for the effort that ive put in i got more than anyone can ask for... and as for running its going to take a break till the end of this year, Christmas coming up family and friends to prioritise now... laugh.gif
triple02
post Dec 8 2009, 11:38 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Dec 7 2009, 11:04 PM)
Yah, train smart and your running life span will be longer ie less injury.  There wll always be ups and downs in running, so just focus on one or two races in a year that you want to achieve your PB.  The rest are more like build-ups and purely training. I guessed for you, you should put include some short and mid distance races (try to run all out) in between your training before a marathon race.  That will help tremendously.

And yes,  now is the time to rest, relax and enjoy the year end festive season.  Come back stronger in 2010. rclxms.gif
wow! thanks Ccube for the advice notworthy.gif will definitely keep it in mind notworthy.gif

QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Dec 8 2009, 09:10 AM)
Congrat mates rclxms.gif i stil ponder how u can hit long distance run wit short distance training rclxub.gif
But i think your customized cardio and fitness training helps
u r good man! thumbup.gif
hey kenshiro, thanks thumbup.gif do come and join the running events!! this month there is going to be the Malakoff 12km biggrin.gif

triple02
post Dec 8 2009, 10:50 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Dec 8 2009, 10:29 PM)
Wah... nobody actually talked about SCSM? You guys sudah tak hairan lagi yea?
you share yours also la... we give and take ma... tongue.gif
triple02
post Jan 4 2010, 10:30 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey runners!! biggrin.gif

back after my off season and after a long break..feeling pretty fat from all the pastries and the amount of food that ive been stuffing onto myself..NB30K is too close but any joining the PutraJaya Night Marathon?
triple02
post Jan 5 2010, 11:45 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

wnated to run 42 but slot finished cry.gif running 21km for Sundown this time around....

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0291sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:23 PM