Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

nokia2003
post Jul 15 2009, 01:46 PM

5,786 posts

quick question.

i'm currently a hotlink user and i'm looking to have that 500MB/month of data when i come back for my summer vacation.

how likely is it, that i seek a non-maxis customer (who is maybe on celcom, digi et cetera) wanting to purchase the 3G S outright (via hotlink).

that what it is a symbiotic relationship; he gets to purchase an outright from hotlink (to be used on another network) without buying a brand new sim pack and i get that 500MB/month

any thoughts?
nokia2003
post Jul 16 2009, 09:10 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Jul 16 2009, 08:56 PM)
@tinkerbell

Just a thought really wink.gif I... ermm... actually haven't have my phone yet sad.gif My friend is only coming back this Saturday so... It's a black 16gb though!

Anyway do you happen to know how much is the rate for data usage if i'm on iValue 50 plan? I don't really know if I need the extra iData plan or not. After all, on my old iPhone I don't have GPS and surfing on the EDGE network is a bit too slow so I've never used it. I also turned off Push notification on my old iPhone.

Having said that, I am not too sure how much is enough for data usage. Would appreciate if you can share some of your experience!
i will answer this part for the last time as i'm pretty sure this has been repeated a few times. anyway regulars can quote my example and the provided website, should anyone stumbles upon another similar question.

i don't jailbreak and tether my iPhone (important piece of information) and i'm on the 250MB/data. let me illustrate on, my typical average usage per day; i'm perpetually on LYN (not the lite version), retrieve and reply e-mails (6 accounts), read news (from different sites), moderate another forum, blog hopping, IM chatting and the odd apps updating. i typically, spend approximately 6 hours away from my home during university days and rely heavily on the optus 3G network of course. also bear in mind that i have never exceeded my data allowance. this website should also be helpful to estimate your usage.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 16 2009, 09:23 PM
nokia2003
post Jul 16 2009, 09:47 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(^prion^ @ Jul 16 2009, 09:46 PM)
standard warranty for iphone should be 1 year.
If i subscribe to any 24 months plan, anyone knows whether the warranty will be extended to cover that period.. ie 24 months?
at the moment, there is no ACPP for the iPhone., to extend the warranty beyond a year,

ACPP for the iPhone is only available to countries, in which the retail apple store has officially step its foot in that said country (for example australia)
nokia2003
post Jul 16 2009, 11:39 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(vui_msia @ Jul 16 2009, 11:24 PM)
@tink..

yep, they r stupid...  makesure you have itemise billing activated. even though it is free and ONLY way to know your usage. but they don't activate it by default.

when you have itemise billing activated, it will show a lum sum figure in your phone bill eg... how many MB have you use, how much it costs based on normal charges per KB.. then it will display all data charges waived

Added on July 16, 2009, 11:27 pm

lol, may be first 3GB is 3G speed, then after that is EDGE speed..
hm.. you guys aware that one of the new features in 3GS is support 7.2Mpbs 3G speed.  wondering when Maxis will upgrade it .... our neighbor singtel already have that upgraded for 3GS  blink.gif
without trying to sound hostile, i don't think that it is wise to compare malaysia with singapore.

they are not (and never will be) in direct proportion and comparable for very obvious reasons.

singapore's internet speed has always been way more superior than ours (number 1). SingTel has more resources at their disposal (number 2). singapore is a much smaller country to enable larger penetration (number 3)
nokia2003
post Jul 22 2009, 08:27 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Jul 22 2009, 08:17 PM)
Currently I'm using iValue 2 which is RM155 per month, and I've supplemented 3 lines for my family, so if I want to get an iPhone 3G S 16GB, means I've to pay RM1290 just for the phone, and sign up the contract for 2 year and prepayment of RM620(equivalent to 4 months) right? Means I do not need to pay my monthly fee of RM155 for 4 months? Contract of 2 year mean within 2 year I cannot cancel the line right? Besides the payment that have listed on the rate plan, any extra payment for getting iPhone 3G S?

PS: Can I sell the iPhone within the 2 year?

Added on July 22, 2009, 8:26 pmCurrently I'm using iValue 2 which is RM155 per month, and I've supplemented 3 lines for my family, so if I want to get an iPhone 3G S 16GB, means I've to pay RM1290 just for the phone, and sign up the contract for 2 year and prepayment of RM620(equivalent to 4 months) right? Means I do not need to pay my monthly fee of RM155 for 4 months? Contract of 2 year mean within 2 year I cannot cancel the line right? Besides the payment that have listed on the rate plan, any extra payment for getting iPhone 3G S?

PS: Can I sell the iPhone within the 2 year?
you can opt to sell the phone anytime provided that you keep up with your monthly repayments plan
nokia2003
post Jul 24 2009, 05:41 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 24 2009, 05:08 PM)
if you do youtube a lot, 500mb is definitely not enough. Even moderate usage also not enough.

Cause 1 movie is already around 10-20mb. You watch 10 is already 100mb-200mb. One month can easily go more than 10.
if you are not on wifi, you will be loading the much lower youtube quality.
nokia2003
post Jul 29 2009, 08:46 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Elvant @ Jul 29 2009, 06:26 PM)
I feel that the branches not quiet like to entertain the folks who choose hotlink plan maybe becoz they are not get any credit for their sales from 'non-planner'. Thats why they want to charge me a 2% on Credit card payment (extra RM45.8 for 16GB 3GS) vmad.gif
hmmm... i'm pretty sure the alleged maxis branch that attempted to impose these extra surcharges, is merely an agent right?

i will be darn surprised, if it is an official maxis store (like the one in klcc), with such ruling

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 29 2009, 08:46 PM
nokia2003
post Jul 30 2009, 01:21 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 30 2009, 01:02 PM)
err...teikwing is moderator?
he is not. but he is certainly doing a lot to ease the burden of the moderators.

so stop your disgruntle and questioning who has the actual authority over here.
nokia2003
post Aug 8 2009, 01:19 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Aug 8 2009, 12:51 PM)
Maxis has a discriminatory pricing to users. Users who have gotten their iPhone overseas can't go on the iValue plan. Wtf?
erm, then maxis is not alone then.

out of top of my head, three australia doesn't allow such provisions as well.

well, since it is discriminatory, i'm surprised that no one has sued three under the TPA yet? unless it is not an unfair practice disguise/discriminatory at all?

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 8 2009, 01:25 PM
nokia2003
post Aug 8 2009, 01:57 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Aug 8 2009, 01:01 PM)
Not in defense of Maxis but to be fair, the iValue plans are specifically designed to be tied to purchases of iPhones from them. So, how can one insist that he be allowed to get the plan when he did not or would not want to buy an iPhone from Maxis?

Just like they would not entertain any warranty claims for your iPhone bought elsewhere.
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Aug 8 2009, 01:35 PM)
excuse me smile.gif
Maxis has a choice here... why can't they offer special pricing to their iPhone customer? they are offering iValue with iPhone purchase from them.
Since they are subsidising the phone, why should they offer iPhone packages to overseas iPhones?

if you think this plan is discriminatory, the only way to affect Maxis is to switch to another carrier. Nothing else will work... cos they're still getting your money and money talks smile.gif
well said to both of you. however if NekoRacing still fails to see the logic behind this despite your brilliant explanations, i cannot think of a more decent one
nokia2003
post Aug 17 2009, 03:29 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Aug 17 2009, 01:17 AM)
I checked my Hotlink statement too. I get charged 1 cent everytime i use data (3G/EDGE/GPRS) which should not be the case since 500mb is free every month. Going to call Maxis tmr and ask about this.

Btw, anyone knows how much Maxis supposed to charge if wanna upgrade Hotlink sim card from old one (about 2 - 3 years old) to 3G sim card? Some say RM10, some say RM25... just want to clarify.
i don't mean to be crude, but surely that is a rhetorical question? if you have already paid such a gross amount for a phone, will an additional rm15 do anymore harm? please spare me that recession excuse.

and assuming, that i have told you casually, that it is rm10, and upon arrival at the maxis branch, you found that it is rm25 instead, are you gonna throw a hissy fit at the poor maxis personnel, because some random bloke from LYN told you otherwise? does the rm15 justify the need of you having a faster 3G connection?

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 17 2009, 03:30 AM
nokia2003
post Aug 21 2009, 01:32 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Aug 21 2009, 01:25 AM)
just wanna clarify with the 3g stuff

i do believe i got charge of 1-2sen and i am using the hotlink plan which free 500mb permonth for a year...now i try to activate the 3g by calling *136# to get the 3g sms to say i am activate...so now there is a question of

does 3g related to the cellular network stuff?
the username and password stuff which are unet and maxis..or this is only related to edge? if i change the unet to unet9 inorder to close my edge will this effect my 3g? and the charging part which makes me dun understand it....1-2sen rate...am i using 3g or edge? do edge charges?
terms like edge, 3G and HSDPA are only used to describe the speed.

hence to answer your question, of course edge will incur charges as there is an influx and outflow of data into your device.

self explanatory, even for gprs i guess?
nokia2003
post Aug 22 2009, 10:14 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(sneakerlogist @ Aug 22 2009, 10:08 PM)
well i think the maxis offer is stupid.. rebate rm500 for the iphone 3g.

They give u a discount of rm500 of the RRP for the iphone 3Gs. so they are saying after 4 months ur iphone is worh rm500 only..??? insane right.

MIght as well i sell 2nd hand in LY forum can get around 1900. and topup better.

Maxis is always thinkin of makin money only.. this is so unfair for customers who got the iphone 3g first.

Added on August 22, 2009, 10:09 pmwell i think the maxis offer is stupid.. rebate rm500 for the iphone 3g.

They give u a discount of rm500 of the RRP for the iphone 3Gs. so they are saying after 4 months ur iphone is worh rm500 only..??? insane right.

MIght as well i sell 2nd hand in LY forum can get around 1900. and topup better.

Maxis is always thinkin of makin money only.. this is so unfair for customers who got the iphone 3g first.
thank you for your "insightful" opinion with regards to this.

1. you signed a contract and is therefore bound by it. maxis is no under obligation to offer you anything extra. do a simple research and see how other iPhone providers globally operate.

2. maxis is a company and not a charity organisation.

3. unhappy with maxis? stop patronising them and opt for another network provider.
nokia2003
post Aug 24 2009, 08:13 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 24 2009, 08:10 PM)
@Blast_Cyrus,
Ask urself what ur usage/utilisation is like.  None of us can tell U the best plan to subscribe to.

@CrossFirE,
Price information is on Post #1.  U can always purchase the phone via the Hotlink package.  That's contract-free and almost hassle free.
i have to add a disclaimer on behalf of tinkerbel because LYN forummers can get, sometimes a little unruly biggrin.gif

hotlink purchases are subject to stock level and availability.

nokia2003
post Aug 29 2009, 12:09 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Aug 28 2009, 11:06 PM)
izi?? can COD on the spot before merdeka ar?? biggrin.gif
ha ha. the legendary megatron007. one of the few pioneers of the iPhone thread in LYN!

way before i even got hold of my first generation iPhone thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

anyway, i reckon that "COD on the spot" will only be a reality once the hotlink equivalent goes live again.

that should be a good indicator, maxis is having stock surplus and a healty inventory level

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 29 2009, 12:13 AM
nokia2003
post Sep 6 2009, 07:56 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Sep 6 2009, 07:52 PM)
i just wondering is the free 500MB easy to finish or not?
that is like asking, is RM500 easy to finish or not?

read post 4
nokia2003
post Sep 11 2009, 01:48 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 11 2009, 12:38 PM)
ooh thanks! is this the one? rm68 for 500MB seems a tad too expensive for me  sad.gif
sorry for this off topic post, but i cannot resist posting this.

nokia2003
post Sep 11 2009, 11:35 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(znoop26 @ Sep 11 2009, 11:29 PM)
Maxis really sucks actually...before the giving prepaid iphone then now they are not. Then they are claiming that apple is the one who said that  vmad.gif  crazy actually...

And for foreigners,

they actually want them to deposit 1000 rm and in addition, why would foreigners sign up for a plan when they only used it to call abroad? if they have free calls abroad for sure they will go with the plan...also most of them are prepaid users already for 3-4years with monthly 100 rm load to call there love ones then maxis still wants them to get the plan....really sucks...i dont know why apple get them as there carrier.
maxis cannot even cope to supply the post paid ones, let alone prepaid. postpaid yields more profit and maxis is not a charitable organisation.

QUOTE(znoop26 @ Sep 11 2009, 11:29 PM)
Maxis really sucks actually...before the giving prepaid iphone then now they are not. Then they are claiming that apple is the one who said that  vmad.gif  crazy actually...

And for foreigners,

they actually want them to deposit 1000 rm
and in addition, why would foreigners sign up for a plan when they only used it to call abroad? if they have free calls abroad for sure they will go with the plan...also most of them are prepaid users already for 3-4years with monthly 100 rm load to call there love ones then maxis still wants them to get the plan....really sucks...i dont know why apple get them as there carrier.
that is not new and apple got them as a carrier, because maxis agreed to apple's T & C

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 11 2009, 11:35 PM
nokia2003
post Sep 13 2009, 01:19 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 11 2009, 03:29 PM)
because obtaining adequate stocks from apple to sell/waiting for customs & SIRIM to clear them, is beyond maxis' control.

but promoting them is within and at every corporation's puritanical instinct
nokia2003
post Sep 13 2009, 03:02 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Sep 13 2009, 01:34 AM)
Can i know is there any notification to the prepaid 500mb when my monthly is up?
a few golden rules with the absence of a reliable indicator.

1. reset the counter (on the iPhone) on the specified date each month.

2. check the counter religiously and once you hit 350MB, it is a good sign to "slow things" down a little.

3. treat your data bundle like a daily allowance expenditure (approximately 15MB per day)

4. avoid viewing youtube/podcasts on the network.

also it has always puzzled me with regard to this; when i was on the 3G, i barely could use up 200MB/month. however with the 3G S, if i don't refrain myself, it could shoot above 250MB/month.

turns out the main culprit, was the better camera resolution on 3G S and i typically forward pictures to my friends (via e-mail) and blog remotely. the pictures taken from the 3G S were definitely bigger in file size.

0.0284sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:49 PM