Complaint Lawyer Service, Where and how?

Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 12:12 AM

22 posts

Seah & Co at Selayang Point - AVOID. Once they think they might lose the case they will abandon their client by discharging themselves but not before you've paid all the fees.

So BEWARE. There are so many legal firms around so DO NOT go to them. However, in malaysia there are very few good firms.

Go to well-known ones like Mah Weng Kwai & Associates. Not really that expensive bcs they have to follow the recommended fee-scale. Such reputable firms will do a good job,not out to fleece your money.
Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 12:17 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Dec 21 2016, 03:02 PM)
i have checked, we have to send our documents to KL, and the office hardly answer phone.

Seems like because we dont have a good fair disciplinary system for lawyer, that's why all behave so unprofessionally, they know we cant do much.

or anyone have some success case to share?

thanks.

Haha success case? Seems like NOT EVEN 1. This is the reason why lawyers in malaysia are so unprofessional and blatant in breaking the code of ethics. They are the most unethical bunch of law breakers when they are supposed to uphold the law.

Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 12:09 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ Dec 29 2016, 12:49 AM)
Think it's a misconception about lawyers upholding the laws. Their jobs are to work in the best interest for their clients.
You think so? Are you a lawyer?

Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 12:20 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Dec 29 2016, 06:53 AM)
lawyers are not allowed to abandon their clients unless

1. client didn't pay their fee
2. client earlier pledged not guilty for the case but later lawyer found out via meeting with client that indeed the client is guilty but client refused to pledge guilty.
My lawyer abandoned me simply bcs I wanted to go for trial as the plaintiff refused to accept my offer for settlement which they said was too low but they are overcharging me for their purported losses. Just bcs my lawyer thinks I will lose the case she applied for notice of discharge as per their email yesterday which was so unexpected when her staff (my lawyer employed by her company. The boss is also a lady) had proposed that I sign a sworn statement due to my lack of witnesses and concrete evidence of plaintiff's unethical behaviour :-

"...Despite our earlier two meetings, neither are you able to produce supporting document and/or provide any witness to support your case or to adduce any document and/or to provide any witness to rebut the Plaintiff’s claims, we regret to inform you that we are not able to representing you. Hence, we will file our Notice of Discharge..."

The next case management is on 5/1/2017. Now I have to engage another lawyer or be without representation and open myself to further bullying by the plaintiff. I'm scared of lawyers dy so I will have to speak to the registrar to help me settle this case. I know they will press for what they want which is way above what they should get. On top of that they will force me to sign an undertaking. That was the reason why I made a counterclaim but this useless lawyer is afraid of losing. Say what now?

Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 12:25 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ Dec 29 2016, 12:20 PM)
I believe so.

Nope. I'm not a lawyer.

But surely you can understand that if you engage a lawyer to act for you, his job is to use the laws to your favor? (those sue and sued always feel they are the righteous one). Hence, the notion lawyer is to uphold laws is a misconception.
Kindly read my thread in serious kopitiam. My lawyer did nothing for me yet I spent RM3300 for nothing. feel very heartsick. She doesn't care at all. Only interested in charging.

Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 12:57 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ Dec 29 2016, 12:30 PM)
I am responding to the statement "upholding the law", not on how your lawyer abandoning you.

Since you mentioned that your lawyer abandoned you, doesn't that proved "upholding the laws" is a misconception? ultimately, lawyer will take on cases that are profitable to them (of course, we do have lawyers taking case for altruism reason but these are far few in between)
I agree. Few lawyers uphold the law. Look at our law makers and law enforcers. No need to look further than putrajaya. Everywhere is the same in malaysia - harapkan pagar,pagar makan padi.

I don't understand why she took on my case when I told her from the beginning about my lack of witnesses and concrete evidence like certain photos or video recording. When things happen we are sometimes so stunned we forget to take pictures and video recording cannot be taken where they are not available like in open spaces. I think she did not mean to help right from the beginning. She was hoping I would not go to trial but settle out of court so it would be an easy job and good profits. I don't know the true reasons. If that be the case I could have saved my RM3300 and simply settle with the plaintiff right from the beginning,without having to bother about trampled dignity,being bullied,harassed,humiliated and pushed to the edge!

The situation today is exactly summed up in this poem by playwright Christopher Fry

The human heart can go to the lengths of God.
Dark and cold we may be, but this is no winter now.
The frozen misery of centuries breaks, cracks, begins to move.
The thunder is the thunder of the floes, the thaw, the flood,
the upstart Spring.
Thank God our time is now, when wrong comes up,
to face us everywhere

Never to leave us till we take the longest stride of soul
men ever took.

Affairs are now soul size.
The enterprise is exploration into God.

What are you making for?
It takes so many thousand years to wake.
But will you wake for pity's sake?

Well,this incident leaves me sad and despondent. I will pay whatever they want and move on,having learned the precious lesson that JUSTICE EXISTS FOR JUST A CHOSEN FEW. Justice in the real world does NOT exist for the commoner since the beginning of time. Those who fight for justice for the common man will always suffer losses or even death in the end. From now onward I don't want to have anything to do with lawyers. Very bad experience so very scared of them dy.

Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 01:20 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ Dec 29 2016, 01:01 PM)
I'm sorry for your bad experience. Hope everything turns out well for you. Good luck.
Thank you. I hope so too.

I will lose money. If only this lawyer was brave enuf to go for hearing I'm positive the plaintiff would have to pay me compensation and court costs for what they had done to me. I might have to pay them too but overall I won't lose and my dignity would have been restored by the court. Now I'm afraid to engage another lawyer so I'll just let them win.

Perhaps the registrar could help me reduce their claim by not allowing them to claim what they do not deserve. Thx anyway. I know his job is to move cases along but I hope to move him so he helps me LOL.

Seinz
post Dec 29 2016, 08:39 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Dec 29 2016, 06:25 PM)
I am not a lawyer.

but I know that go for hearing will cost you more money and time, and you might not be able to recover your money. that's why the lawyer prefers to settle out of court.
That I totally agree but they should not have abandoned me after charging so much. At the very beginning I should not have engaged this lawyer and should have just gone to court myself for the first case management and tell the magistrate I want to settle out of court. The lawyer knew very well she would not want to go to court yet still took my case. If she had been altruistic (fat hope LOL. It's human nature to do things to benefit only themselves yet people always talk about win-win) she should have just told me to settle it myself but must go to court to file whatever or they would simply rule in the plaintiff's favour then I will have to pay the court charges as well.

The plaintiff did not make an effort to nego with me. Just kept on demanding by writing,then b4 suing they did send a lawyer's letter of demand. If only I was 100% in the wrong I would have paid them 100% what they demanded but bcs they provoked me no end and also bcs they overcharged by RM5k.

0.0218sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:45 AM