iPhone 3GS Singtel (Singapore), News and Discussion

shdwkillr
post Jul 6 2009, 09:14 PM

324 posts

The Singtel 3GS sets' price plans are OK for non-existing 3G users since they are pretty much the same as last year's 3G price, however, they are RIDICULOUS to current 3G owners as they have to pay SGD600+handset price if they are between 6-12 months within the contract (obviously all Singtel 3G owners are in that area as it was launched on 22nd August 2008) and SGD300+handset price if they are between 12-21 months within the contract.
shdwkillr
post Jul 6 2009, 09:58 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Jul 6 2009, 09:23 PM)
Hi i also plan to sign a 3GS at singtel, but i won't going to use the plan as im in malaysia, based on your all opinion, does it worth to sign?
If this is so, why don't you just wait for maxis launch? Are you going to pay SGD20+ per month (I assumed you signing the cheapest plan) without even using it for 24 months?
shdwkillr
post Jul 8 2009, 11:28 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Jul 8 2009, 10:01 AM)
@tink

yes, it's for 16GB. and I don't think i need 32GB. iFlexi lite is the mobile + data plan, with 500MB @ 7.2mbps

my current contract with singtel however is mobile + data, with 50GB @ 3.2mbps monthly cap. although my monthly data access normally around 200-300MB. thus, by choosing iFlexi lite my monthly fee will be reduced slightly from $60 to $50.
Hi mONSTers,

can I know your current data plan with the 3.2mbps speed ok or not? is it consider fast or very slow in terms of browsing the net? Also, are you a student or currently working in SG?
shdwkillr
post Jul 9 2009, 10:39 AM

324 posts

I was constantly getting the error that I am not able to recontract for the phone through Singtel online. I called the customer servce centre and they said that people holding student pass/ work permit (those without proper Singaporean NRIC) are not able to recontract online and have to WALK IN in order to get the phone! I just don't get it why we can't recontract online and I have been a loyal Singtel user here for more than 3 years! Haiz...
shdwkillr
post Jul 9 2009, 10:59 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 9 2009, 10:50 AM)
@shdwkillr,
Er.. 3 years?! My family's been on Maxis ever since it entered the Msian market !!
I was just unhappy why the reservation is only applicable to Singaporean and PR but not those who are holding student pass/work permit.. I will just go down on Friday after 8pm to see how chaotic is the walk-in line and decide if I want to queue or just go early Saturday or Sunday.
shdwkillr
post Jul 9 2009, 02:59 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Jul 9 2009, 12:28 PM)
u'll get additional $100 off for signing up the iFlexi plan, if u're previously on iplan or others.
i'm also getting trouble for recontract as the system said im not eligible for recontract. so i called the CSO and she told me just sign up the new line and bring along all the email (which stated reduced upgrade fee and reservation) and they'll be able to recontract for u on the spot.

im collecting mine on this coming sunday.
Oh man, this is shit... and now they closed the preorder d... I called the CSO for more than 5 times none of the time they told me that I can do that... now what... walk in either friday or saturday or sunday and being told that the phone is sold out! shit... SINKTEL...
shdwkillr
post Jul 9 2009, 03:50 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Jul 9 2009, 03:44 PM)
The launch is tomorrow but time is not mentioned in their website. Any1 has info on this? Perhaps tonite midnite?? heeee  hmm.gif
Comcentre will make iPhone available for purchase at 8pm sharp tomorrow.
shdwkillr
post Jul 11 2009, 09:27 AM

324 posts

Going to be in the walk-in queue later around 12:30pm. Hope that the queue won't be too long and hope that they don't tell me that there is no more walk-in acceptance which definitely will drive me mad.. Looking forward getting 3GS later..
shdwkillr
post Jul 11 2009, 10:06 AM

324 posts

@tink
the appointment thing is for corporate purchase. The other will be pre-order which is guaranteed a set however like I said earlier they just don't let ppl holding student pass/work permit to go for recontract hence I was not being able to pre-order for a set. Just hope that they don't tell me walk-in sets are finish later when I arrived. Will keep you guys updated when I am there later (but subject to availability of wireless, haha..)
shdwkillr
post Jul 11 2009, 10:21 AM

324 posts

@rx330
no, it will not be in other Singtel stores until 13th (Monday). These 3 days of launching will only exclusively available at comcentre.
I am not sure what agents are you refering to..
shdwkillr
post Jul 11 2009, 10:29 AM

324 posts

@rx330
Open from 10 to 10 this 2 weekends.
However, as of today, the queue was formed starting from 6am..
shdwkillr
post Jul 11 2009, 11:01 AM

324 posts

Heard that Sinktel no longer accepting walk-ins!!! i think I'm gonna be mad this time..
shdwkillr
post Jul 11 2009, 07:46 PM

324 posts

Went around 1pm today and been told that no more walk-ins allowed, then went shopping till now.. Now rumor saying that there won't be any walk-ins allowed tomorrow too.. I don't know if I want to go comcentre around 6:30am tomorrow to wait or just wait for the availability in other Singtel stores which don't know when will stocks be available after all..
shdwkillr
post Jul 12 2009, 10:25 AM

324 posts

@tink
Haha, after making a lot of thinking, I decided to wait and not to go today.. I hope they have stocked up by this week...

@eric
I am not too sure about this but I did heard the figure of SGD800 for early termination..
shdwkillr
post Jul 13 2009, 11:31 AM

324 posts

I have just made a reservation through Singtel website since the customer service told me that I have to made a reservation due to stock limitation (I do not want to travel all the way to the store and being told that I can't get the phone).. Hence, now the problem is I do not know how many N days I have to wait till I can get the phone (poor me in Singapore which has to face the same situation as some of you guys in Malaysia waiting for Maxis..)
shdwkillr
post Jul 13 2009, 11:51 AM

324 posts

@tink
I believe we are in the same boat coz according to the latest news currently Singapore island-wide the iPhones are just for those who have pre-ordered last week.. According to some people who asked the staffs in store, the next batch of iPhones coming in will be between 2 weeks to 1 month.. If that is the case, by that time Maxis has launched it's iPhone and I am still not being able to get one in hand.. T.T
shdwkillr
post Jul 13 2009, 11:59 AM

324 posts

@tink
Haha, the problem is I am studying in Singapore and it's really no point for me to sign the Maxis contract... LOL
shdwkillr
post Jul 13 2009, 12:06 PM

324 posts

@tink
hmm, i'm not changing from 3G to 3GS, 3GS will be my first iPhone, currently using a cheapskate phone, been saving much for that..
shdwkillr
post Jul 13 2009, 12:14 PM

324 posts

Haha, not gonna wait for another year coz there will never be the "best" gadget that I can get, it will be endless waiting if I were to wait, haha..

@Tink,
Ya, Singaporeans are TRULY kiasu!! You really can't imagine how terrible was the queue during the past 3 days... 6-8 hrs queueing... omg....
shdwkillr
post Jul 13 2009, 09:26 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Jul 13 2009, 07:05 PM)
yea...16GB white iPhone is out of stock and I'm back with empty hand smile.gif
Hmm, seems like I can make the conclusion that Singtel really failed this time.. what is the purpose that they asked pre-orderer to make a reservation with SGD50 deposit and in the end not even securing a phone for them..
Well..

0.0155sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:39 AM