iPhone 3GS Singtel (Singapore), News and Discussion
mONSTers
Jul 6 2009, 09:44 PM

Im off this time. SGD600 as a penalty for existing iPhone 3G customer! That's what they call "valued customer"! QUOTE We know you have an iPhone 3G contract with SingTel and are keen to upgrade to an iPhone 3GS. As you are a valued SingTel customer, we have introduced an early upgrade fee just for this launch at $600 (in addition to the handset prices above) if you take a 24-month contract with the pricing above. This offer is only available at the launch event at Comcentre between 10 - 12 July 09.
We are also offering the following discounts off the purchase price and early upgrade fee. These offers are only available at the launch event: $100 discount if you upgrade to an iFlexi price plan from your existing price plan. Trade In your iPhone 3G for $400 (16 GB) or $300 (8 GB) This post has been edited by mONSTers: Jul 6 2009, 09:47 PM
mONSTers
Jul 7 2009, 09:01 PM

Just received email from singtel stated early upgrade fee for those signed during last year august been reduced t0 $300 from previous $600.
Doing the maths now:
Choosing the iFlexi Lite,
Monthly fee @ $39 iPhone 3GS 16GB @ $548 and $100 discount if upgrade to iFlexi price plan from existing price plan.
So $300+$548-$100 = $748
i'll get back the 16GB iPhone but 3GS. and i'll need to dispose my current white 16GB to offset the price im going to pay. wat's u guys think? worth it? How much could I sell my current white 16GB iphone?
mONSTers
Jul 7 2009, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(pikaphebat @ Jul 7 2009, 09:41 PM) u dont need to return the iphone 3g in order to get the 3gs.. but there's an option to trade in. they will take iphone 3g 16gb at 400$. and 8gb at 300$ Yes. Acknowledge that. However is not worth to trade in as it way below market price.
mONSTers
Jul 8 2009, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(jonest @ Jul 7 2009, 11:35 PM) Added on July 7, 2009, 11:36 pmI need a confirmation for the penalty so I could update the first posts. Thanks QUOTE Hi XXX, Yesterday I wrote to you to let you know about the iPhone 3GS launch in Singapore. An early upgrade fee of $600 applies to customers upgrading to the iphone 3GS. To reward early adopters who bought their phone in August 08, we will be extending an early upgrade fee of $300 (on a 24 mth contract) specially to you if you come to our launch event this weekend (10 -12 July 2009). We appreciate you are keen to get the new iPhone 3GS and we have introduced this special upgrade offer just for you! For more details about our offers please visit www.singtel.com/iphone Regards, Wong Soon Nam That's the content of the email received from Singtel for the reduced upgrade fee.
mONSTers
Jul 8 2009, 10:01 AM

@tink
yes, it's for 16GB. and I don't think i need 32GB. iFlexi lite is the mobile + data plan, with 500MB @ 7.2mbps
my current contract with singtel however is mobile + data, with 50GB @ 3.2mbps monthly cap. although my monthly data access normally around 200-300MB. thus, by choosing iFlexi lite my monthly fee will be reduced slightly from $60 to $50.
mONSTers
Jul 8 2009, 11:20 AM

iFlexi value is fine but u have to factor in other VAS after 3months free subscription, such as Caller ID which cost $5 and for me, another v019 @ $5.35. that say, it gonna cost $56 + $5 + $5.35 = $66.35 monthly fee. Both 16GB and 32GB now have white color, so no worry.
mONSTers
Jul 8 2009, 12:28 PM

@shdwkillr sorry, correction. shd be 3.6mbps. the speed actually quite ok. after all, it's just browsing using handphone. how fast u gonna need it? even with 7.2mbps, im doubt it will reach that speed also.
@rx330 no. all iflexi plans have to pay for caller ID etc VAS after 3months. VAS only free for 3months for new line sign up. So im not sure about recontract.
@tink ya. now i need to dispose my i3g, desperately.
mONSTers
Jul 9 2009, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 9 2009, 10:14 AM) wat the.... only for 3 days? either now or after august 22nd for me then... malas to go in and Q like shit ler... u'll get additional $100 off for signing up the iFlexi plan, if u're previously on iplan or others. QUOTE(shdwkillr @ Jul 9 2009, 10:39 AM) I was constantly getting the error that I am not able to recontract for the phone through Singtel online. I called the customer servce centre and they said that people holding student pass/ work permit (those without proper Singaporean NRIC) are not able to recontract online and have to WALK IN in order to get the phone! I just don't get it why we can't recontract online and I have been a loyal Singtel user here for more than 3 years! Haiz... i'm also getting trouble for recontract as the system said im not eligible for recontract. so i called the CSO and she told me just sign up the new line and bring along all the email (which stated reduced upgrade fee and reservation) and they'll be able to recontract for u on the spot. im collecting mine on this coming sunday.
mONSTers
Jul 10 2009, 07:02 PM

Yes, it's absolutely make no sense getting iPhone in SG if you not gonna sign up the telco's plan. Look for alternative, there are many...
mONSTers
Jul 10 2009, 07:10 PM

QUOTE(vui_msia @ Jul 10 2009, 07:03 PM) which means mostly likely import s'pore sets.... going to be selling at RM4000++ here  i doubt who will buy it if selling at rm4k.
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 11:10 AM

I'm not able to collect mine on yesterday which suppose to be as schedule on my pre-ordered. Too busy and the crowd really turn me off. At least 2-3 hours of waiting time is needed.
Going to collect later after work. Hopefully the colour i choose still available.
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 11:22 AM

I get the singtel lady to wrote a statement on my reservation letter yesterday that i'll be collecting mine today, with those launch discount and accessories voc still valid for me.
Just the stock availability is another concern.
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 11:31 AM

@tink i cant wait too but have to wait till knockoff at 530pm. Damn tired as been tour guide for my frens that visited here during weekend, singapore tour..
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 11:43 AM

@tink haha, if it's my first iPhone maybe i'll do that. Last year been crazy queue up for few hours to get the i3g. no for this year anymore. after all, my i3g still with me now  tonite, go collect and back to setup the phone, play with it for a while and have a nice sleep. hehe
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 12:10 PM

@tink ohh...so u thought mONSTers = student studying in sg keep changing phone? lol
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 12:13 PM

@tink Singaporean like to queue, some dun even know they queue for wat!
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 05:53 PM

@rockdaman $600 plus the phone price under the chosen plan
mONSTers
Jul 13 2009, 07:05 PM

yea...16GB white iPhone is out of stock and I'm back with empty hand  decide to wait as they still will honour me the early upgrade fee + $100 discount + $30 acce voc. not rushing into getting the GS  ------------------- saw 1 uncle collecting his iphone as well. the most headache part was, he keep asking the staff how to do this and that with the phone. nowadays, ppl really buying something that they themselve dun ever know what they buying. This post has been edited by mONSTers: Jul 13 2009, 07:55 PM
mONSTers
Jul 14 2009, 06:22 AM

@jonest yup. I just make sure they keep the launch discount/freebies to me by taking down the remark into their system. @tink yup. only 16GB white not avaiable. They asking me wether wanna change to 16GB black or 32GB white. they cant really sure when the replenish stock will arrive, but maybe around 2 weeks to month. Singtel actually very flexible in some way, i means even after i get my phone after july, but they do able to waive the $50 preorder fee if it's due to the stock shortage. So im really no worry about it. But, my hunger for GS getting lesser day by day, maybe i'll stick with my i3g and let my gf take up my reservation slot.  still considering.