4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V6, I LIKE to be left ALONE

shukri77
post Jul 16 2011, 06:04 PM

24 posts

I just finished making a stand for Cika's wheel. I use PVC pipe (3ft), 3 PVC pipe covers, 2 L joint, 1 T joint, metal saw, knife and iron solderer. I dont use any PVC adhesive or glue, all joints are tight enough and it is easy to change anything if it is not glued. The cost of the stand is not more than rm10. smile.gif
The tutorial on how to made can be found here Chin Mania and Hedgehog World Forum (have to register first)

Added on July 16, 2011, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 16 2011, 05:57 PM)
Aha, you should put him down when you see his tail come up. wink.gif
thank you for the tip. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 16 2011, 06:47 PM
shukri77
post Jul 16 2011, 10:30 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jul 16 2011, 08:41 PM)
ya, he should  rclxms.gif
It is my hobby smile.gif. My next future plan when Cika grows up is to make a bigger and longer box using coroplast. Coroplast is fun and cheap than plastic container. I think i can make a 2ft x 2ft box from coroplast which cost about RM12 ( i have to combined them using tape), if i installed wheel (about RM10). A 2ft container box cost about RM40-50.

Added on July 16, 2011, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 16 2011, 09:11 PM)
Like I told you before, I free-feed my hedgies. smile.gif
Chubster has a tiny double chin already.  whistling.gif
She's at Day 20 now. Fifteen or so days to go till she gives birth if she's actually pregnant.
If she isn't, it's time for her to diet next month.
She's 380g already.
Holding Huffy is like holding a cotton ball next to Chubster's weight of a 'bowling ball'.
What is Chubster's weight now? My Cika is 229g.

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 16 2011, 11:34 PM
shukri77
post Jul 16 2011, 10:54 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Jul 16 2011, 10:44 PM)
i mean, she'd eat only about a tablespoon worth of food from the two tablespoon i'd leave at night doh.gif

how's your hog doing shukri, is he more active now since moving him to your room?
Yes he is now more active in my room which is dark. Lucky I have made the wheel's stand, easy to take out and clean. Before this i fixed the wheel to the box.
shukri77
post Jul 17 2011, 12:15 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Jul 17 2011, 12:07 AM)
shukri, where do you get your coroplast from. a hardware shop or ..? i was thinking of using acrylic but those sheets do not come cheap.

i usually get 11" x 11" x 5pcs to make display cases which would cost around rm50 in materials (chloroform included) a  2' x 2' box..  and i'd have to use thicker sheets too.
Mydin at its stationary department (2.5ft x 2.5ft about RM6) and Kiang Trading stationary shop, they call it Infla Board.

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 17 2011, 12:21 AM
shukri77
post Jul 17 2011, 09:59 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 17 2011, 08:42 AM)
Instead of catching a rat in the mouse trap, my mum caught Huffy.  doh.gif

I just can't figure out how he's been escaping.
What type of trap did your mum use? Is Huffy ok? I think he climbed the wall rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 17 2011, 10:05 AM
shukri77
post Jul 17 2011, 02:04 PM

24 posts

Cika...

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 17 2011, 02:06 PM

shukri77
post Jul 17 2011, 05:12 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jul 17 2011, 02:09 PM)
Well my little hibari yesterday escaped as well ! I was like oh time to play with hibari and when i open the cage she was missing!!!

Lucky she did not poop anywhere , she was under my sofa .

And she's having food strike now!! I just bought RC36 for her but she didnt wanna eat it. I fed her with IAMS cat food for 1 month coz there was no RC36 T^T its been 2 days she didnt eat!!
wah so many hedgies escape from their places. sweat.gif Hope mine do not escape. Where do you keep your hibari? In a container box or what?

Take one piece of RC36, dip in the water and put to his mouth.
I did this when Cika on the second day he was at my home. He was given RC36 before i bought him, the seller dont tell me, I bought 8 in 1 he did not like it. Now I have RC36, i mix both.

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 17 2011, 05:36 PM
shukri77
post Jul 17 2011, 11:27 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Jul 17 2011, 11:03 PM)
Hi all..    smile.gif
im new here (new hedgies owner..)
any fren from melaka?  icon_rolleyes.gif
may i know where can buy rc36 or any other hedgehog food in melaka?
now feed them purina kitten + whiskas kitten... they eaten well.. + some cricket.

shukri can you show me pic of your choloroplast cage?  hmm.gif
im currently using gypsium board to make my hedgies cage. (diy. 4ftx2ftx1.5ft)
currently i am using container box. if you want to make coroplast cage u can google guinea pig cages. here is an example

if u cannot find the cube, u can use the coroplast to make the wall or fender like the video below where the cage is made from coroplast and duct tape only.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImRt3V9HqsY

Royal Canin 36 is sold at pet shop.

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 18 2011, 12:11 PM
shukri77
post Jul 18 2011, 08:39 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jul 18 2011, 06:53 PM)
^ some hedgies dont like mealworm sad.gif aww.

Well its been friday till today that hibari did not eat!! She dont even touch a bite of RC36 :C!! I just now gave her oats she took two bite and then ran away. I gave her boiled egg but she didnt eat.. im so worried

Rc36 seems so oily to  me lah .. but dam nice smell makes me hungry  brows.gif
RC36 smell makes you hungry biggrin.gif How about mealworm, did it makes you hungry too?
shukri77
post Jul 21 2011, 08:15 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Jul 21 2011, 05:25 PM)
thanks..
sad.gif  my female hedgies getting thinner.. maybe she dislike that food.. but when i give mealworm she like it.
diff about the male.. he getting fat fat lazy boy.. hahaha  laugh.gif he also no problem with food, cricket or mealworm..  shakehead.gif

any other brand can i choose other than rc36? in my place (melaka) its hard to find...  hmm.gif dunno where...
ask the petshop ady.. out of stock.. (royal canin / blackwood) i think this pet shop never have stock for rc la maybe..  doh.gif
u can buy online here ChubbyPetsGarden and petshack

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 21 2011, 08:32 PM
shukri77
post Jul 22 2011, 04:44 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Jul 21 2011, 08:41 PM)
thanks bro. smile.gif
i think Hedgehog Corner topic has the highest replies in LYN Petswonderland. Does that means hedgehog is the no 1 famous pet in malaysia? Or maybe in LYN.
shukri77
post Jul 23 2011, 08:34 PM

24 posts

tq olivur, looking at your pic, i also have made a toilet for Cika's wheel, its size is about the size 2 pieces of toilet tissues.
[attachmentid=2346535]

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 23 2011, 08:40 PM

shukri77
post Jul 24 2011, 01:26 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Jul 23 2011, 05:15 PM)
i was taking the pic, sabar la! lol

edit* didnt realise it's already 5+, time to play with her ><

when Cika started to escape from my box, i will upgrade like yours... wah acrylic... how much is the cost? where to buy? how to cut?

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 24 2011, 01:28 AM
shukri77
post Jul 24 2011, 09:34 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jul 24 2011, 07:14 AM)
my hedgie doesnt like to drink water, pee oways in yellow color......will ur hedgie be the same too?  hmm.gif
my hedgie drink and eat not much like my guinea pig. I give Cika and all my GP the M6 filtered water bought at vending machine in front of BSN. I think hedgie dont drink much, maybe u can try give him a good taste and quality water. My pets dont like Dr Sukida water like M6 water. Even it is a plain water, it has different taste. A good quality mineral water also has good taste.
shukri77
post Jul 25 2011, 12:20 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Jul 24 2011, 11:46 PM)
Won't it be difficult to wash the wheels when it's attached to the cage?
yes. That's why i made stand for Cika's wheel.
shukri77
post Jul 30 2011, 08:29 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ Jul 30 2011, 12:05 AM)
how much you buy for 4oograms?
here in malacca i found 1shop sell 9oograms for around rm30+- like that.. (RC36 kitten)
that is ok i guess. more less (lebih kurang) compared to the price we get.

If u buy online u have to pay shipping cost somemore. Just take it and keep it in an air tight container.

This post has been edited by shukri77: Jul 30 2011, 08:30 AM
shukri77
post Aug 1 2011, 05:04 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 1 2011, 12:32 AM)
haha nvm i just force her run everyday enuff xD
try la DIY wheel ...
shukri77
post Aug 1 2011, 06:55 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 1 2011, 05:51 PM)
^ Finding items , cant seem to find the right thing for rotation
I am using waveboard (already broken) wheel (I have one left icon_idea.gif ). U can find it at bicycle shop. Last time I replace the wheel for kid's scooter which looks similar. The spare part wheel is sold about RM15-RM20 each. Alternatively, u can use roller skate wheel, caster wheel (can find at hardware), sliding door caster/ wheels.

I fix the wheel to cake container using cable tie. I made holes on the wheel, cake container and PVC pipe using Iron solderer (only RM2 at RM2 shop). I made stand using PVC pipe (3 Feet), 1 T PVC pipe joint, 2 L and joint 3 caps. Dont glue the pipe because it is tight enough.

For cutting the PVC pipe. I suggest when u bought the pipe u ask them to cut it (2 pieces of 1 feet, 2 pieces of 1/5 feet) this can reduce your work.

This post has been edited by shukri77: Aug 1 2011, 07:03 PM
shukri77
post Aug 1 2011, 07:36 PM

24 posts

I have disambled the wheel and i think the wheel caster also can be used to make a wheel since it also has good bearing.
shukri77
post Aug 1 2011, 10:40 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 1 2011, 09:23 PM)
I went back to check on them. I stayed a distance away from the cage, just listening for squeaks because I know peeking is the most important thing that every hedgehog breeder told me NOT to do.

Then I heard it. Little squeaking sound. <3
At least 1 should be alive. Not quite sure about the one that I saw Chubster step on a few times...

-------------------------

I just fed her a few mealworms & YES!

TWO BABY HEDGEHOGS! ALIVE!  rclxm9.gif
congrat! picture pls... rclxms.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0325sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:14 PM