post Jan 2 2010, 04:05 PM

499 posts

that would be...? weekly?
samsoong
post Jan 4 2010, 01:06 AM

499 posts

guys, i recently bought a bedding recommended by previous owner.. its called woody pet.. & they're pellets made out of wood if i'm not mistaken...
i'm wondering whether is it safe?

just on the mites problem a little.. frontline spray is use to cure mites? or prevent mites problem?
if i bring to dr.jenny to check on my hedgie.. how much does she charge on checking, & if there's mites problem.. what will they do?
samsoong
post Jan 4 2010, 11:19 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jan 4 2010, 03:00 PM)
Dr Jenny is pretty reasonable and knows what she's doing.

Wood bedding needs a little more care. My hedgie is currently on no bedding, I just give her a blanket. and a potty tray.
whats a potty tray? the bedding is actually to prevent poo & pee smells.. biggrin.gif its working though.. i'm just worried he might get mites..

Added on January 4, 2010, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(weiwei89 @ Jan 4 2010, 08:44 PM)
For mite treament, Dr. Jenny charge bout rm15 per shot... n its depend on how serious ur mite problem for the numbers of shot that hedgie need....

and the frontline is for cure mite problem, but bkful... frontline oso can kill ur pet if u accidently over spray o spray on face...
so should i use the spray before i go to dr.jennys? how bout just body check up? does she charge as well?

This post has been edited by samsoong: Jan 4 2010, 11:22 PM
samsoong
post Jan 9 2010, 09:37 PM

499 posts

how about my question?
samsoong
post Jan 12 2010, 05:56 PM

499 posts

guys, after i played with my hedgie.. i noticed there were like mosquito bites on my arm... any explanation on that?
samsoong
post Jan 12 2010, 10:32 PM

499 posts

haha.. ok ok..
so its not some mites problem or something right...?

by the way.... why is the almighty hedgehog thread getting quiet? where did all the lovely hedgie owners went?
noob needing more lecture & advice here smile.gif
samsoong
post Jan 13 2010, 02:18 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(kazeko @ Jan 13 2010, 01:57 PM)
Answer
1. Treats for hedgehog are important. They provide the needed nutrients and can act as a reward for your hedgehog. At first i thought my hedgehog dont really like worm... but when i start to feed him, u get to see how it goes berserk over worms... haha so cute. And worms are inexpensive and u can make ur own worm farm if u want... my bettle's eggs just hatched few days ago ^^

2. i would 101% say take it along with u... safe the worrying

3. lOl i hope not. i think it would be the other way round... ;D

4. hamster ball not recommended. The big wheel is the only thing my hedgehog can play and never get bored. Just that its the most expensive thing and needs cleaning everyday.

Feel free to correct me if i wrong.
where do u get ur worms from? how u make ur own farm?
samsoong
post Jan 14 2010, 10:16 PM

499 posts

so its not advisable to bring hedgies out as well?
samsoong
post Jan 16 2010, 01:31 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(weiwei89 @ Jan 15 2010, 08:49 PM)
if u use wood shave, higher chance...

if ur house got cat dog, higher chance...

If ur house sorrounding got cat dog, higher chance...

to infected by mites...
wood pellets?
samsoong
post Jan 17 2010, 12:53 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(weiwei89 @ Jan 16 2010, 08:35 PM)
i heard glider will like monkey, checking each other body rite? but ther still is chance, mite drop from their body, so u nid sumthing like frontline for safe... but if ur glider is clean, then ok lo...
yup, i using wood pellet nw... good beeding, but kful... choose those tat treat with high heat, cos unheat wood pellet product mayb contain sumthing like phenol(poison tomany animal if eated), and mites... but 1 thing so sure its expensive... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
how do you know whether its treated with high heat? by the way, what wood pellet u using?
samsoong
post Jan 17 2010, 08:11 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(weiwei89 @ Jan 17 2010, 03:21 AM)
Nice question ther, sum will stated at their packet ther.

I guess and judge it by myself  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Study science b4? To make wood dust or shave into pellet from, u nid high pressure and high temperature...

buy those that won't smashed easily when u put pressure on the pellet using ur thumb...

the wood pellet i buy at pet wonderland, MV... blue packet in 10liter size, oso available in 40L
size, imported.

Actually, i think the recycled paper pellet is the best for pet...
but price, haha... tongue.gif
oh mine doesnt smash easily.. so.. i hope its ok for my hedgie then..
anyway.. what are the treats we can give to hedgies?
samsoong
post Jan 18 2010, 12:16 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(bendonarticx @ Jan 17 2010, 10:38 PM)
Two questions
^this and..

is it better to buy from pet shop or someone else (etc on the forum)? I found 1 at the Pets wonderland at Great eastern mall that costs rm480. yes, it is expensive. but at least I trust that it had been taken care of well
apparently most people dont think that they are well taken care of... not sure why...
i would recommend to get from breeders...
samsoong
post Jan 18 2010, 02:08 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jan 18 2010, 01:49 AM)
No they are never taken well of.

Most of them are in terrible condition.

Get yours from a breeder.

With chain petstores, all they want is $$$ and your pet health is not $$$ to them. TO them your pets are STOCK. Not living things.
very well said.. thumbup.gif
samsoong
post Jan 19 2010, 01:09 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jan 18 2010, 02:32 PM)
Uh no... they are both paper pellets.

One has a more broken wider shape and the other is thin and long if that's what you mean.

But anyway, the broken pieces might get stuck but that's rare.

Are you using as an overall bedding? or just the litter tray?
what would u suggest for both usage?
samsoong
post Jan 19 2010, 08:53 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Jan 18 2010, 02:14 PM)
It's different.

Back2Nature is broken paper pellet, breeder celect is hardy pellet.

Back2Nature is softer, and milder than breeder celect.

And after i used both, realized back2nature absorbent power is slightlly better than breeder celect.

For hedgie, i prefer to use Back2Nature, because they directly step on the bedding, so better for their feet.
how much they both cost?
samsoong
post Jan 20 2010, 09:41 PM

499 posts

hey guys, i just check out my woody pet bedding's details abit.. its written there fibre wood, is it safe for hedgies..?
samsoong
post Jan 23 2010, 02:28 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(samsoong @ Jan 20 2010, 09:41 PM)
hey guys, i just check out my woody pet bedding's details abit.. its written there fibre wood, is it safe for hedgies..?
mind answering this question of mine..? just in case if its not the right one for my hedgie. blush.gif
samsoong
post Jan 23 2010, 03:36 PM

499 posts

is exercise ball advisable for hedgies? or just wobust wheel will do?
samsoong
post Jan 23 2010, 05:12 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(weiwei89 @ Jan 23 2010, 05:01 PM)
Exercise ball is for those tat dun hav enough money to buy wheel.

but actually Eball hav lots of disadvantage.

U can put a hedgie in Eball for long period cos they can't jus open the door go out drink water n go in again.

U can onli leave hedgie in Eball under ur supervision.

Hedgie nid lots of running, they usually run for whole nite
if u can supervise them for the whole nite, and open the door every 30min... then u ma buy Eball lo...
oh i'm more of wanting to let it run around the room, because i cant let him out just like that or it'll hide under the bed & i'll have to dig him out...

but overall, u're saying wobust wheel will do?
samsoong
post Jan 23 2010, 05:43 PM

499 posts

are there like different size for these eballs?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0598sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:43 PM