so biar la.

Giving Advice, at the gym
Jul 3 2009, 05:11 PM
3,300 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sometimes I wanted to give advise as well but their faces damn cocky.
so biar la. ![]() |
Jul 3 2009, 05:21 PM
3,980 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: HeAv3N |
QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jul 3 2009, 05:11 PM) Sometimes I wanted to give advise as well but their faces damn cocky. where can buy this? it's cool t-shirtso biar la. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i did advised people once for the proper squat form in the gym. but normally i just biar, let it be. there was one fellow told me full squat bad for knee too, choi him dou sou! |
Jul 3 2009, 05:30 PM
3,385 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i only give advice during meetup with lowyatian
Jul 3 2009, 06:33 PM
3,649 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Somewhere over the rainbow |
Jul 3 2009, 08:17 PM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(pedro @ Jul 3 2009, 06:33 PM) Our love will never die noOOOO!!!! You'll always be a part of me I'm part of you indefinitely Girl don't you know you can't escape me OO darling, cuz you'll always be my baby! Layan David Cook a bit....Morph and I are meeting up on the 14th of July. Then we're flying off to Kelantan for a sports science conference. That'll be our meet up! |
Jul 3 2009, 09:49 PM
2,425 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Please report after the sport science meet.
Summary and what not. |
Jul 4 2009, 08:42 PM
3,385 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 6 2009, 07:54 PM
259 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From ///K.L\\\ Supremes Holic |
Gym should be a friendly place... where stranger knowing each other.. talking about nutrition , what's gd, what's bad... giving advice is really good.. maybe u can make partner at the gym someday because of your kindness.. those people who ignoring is just arrogant.. they think they know what they are doing.. once you advice them... they ignore it.. u better do your own job and concentrate at your workout... THEY IGNORE YOU, YOU IGNORE THEM..
This post has been edited by hakimz: Jul 6 2009, 07:54 PM |
Jul 6 2009, 09:45 PM
2,425 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
I just met the most stubborn gym rat today.
I was chatting with the gym owner when this fella came in. He picked up a magazine and saw those american bb'ers huge ripped abs. So he asked how to get them. Another fella join the conversation and said those fella inject substances so the their abs grow and become ripped. As if it's similar to injecting silicon into breasts. LOLz! The gym lady recommended the abs-wheelie. Then he became super defensive and said the abs wheelie is only effective the first time he did it. And claimed that the wheel is only good for training the arms and shoulders... abs no feel at all. No matter what the lady said, he just plain refused to listen. The gym owner then looked resigned and at me when a blank face. I so wanted to wallap that idiot for disrespecting the gym owner, and for talking smack... when he knows nuffin'. Talk about giving advice. Even when the advice is sought, the person himself might still reject it. Some people's head are made of adamantium. Nothing penetrates. |
Jul 6 2009, 10:06 PM
3,809 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Jakarta |
I saw a guy playing PSP in the changing room inside the gym last week.
The janitor was looking at him while he gleefully play his PSP. I went out did my 1 hour 30 mins workout, came back he still playing PSP. Probably his exercising routine = playing PSP. Don't know what to say anymore. |
Jul 7 2009, 05:39 PM
264 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Winland |
QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 6 2009, 10:06 PM) I saw a guy playing PSP in the changing room inside the gym last week. Lol, PSP gym workout. The janitor was looking at him while he gleefully play his PSP. I went out did my 1 hour 30 mins workout, came back he still playing PSP. Probably his exercising routine = playing PSP. Don't know what to say anymore. |
Jul 13 2009, 10:58 AM
152 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
You can only teach the teachable. If the person is dead on unteachable, regardless of your credentials, background and other attributes, you're only pouring water of a duck's back.
I generally keep to myself and friends. At most, I'll ask other patrons whether they are done with the machines. My reason is that it's Asian mentality to be hostile toward strangers even if a stranger offers advice. How many times has a stranger offered small talk while you were waiting in a public place / in public transport? |
Jul 14 2009, 04:09 PM
639 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Most people go to the gym to milk their ego. Horrible form with weights that are too heavy for them. My best advice for you is to treat them as entertainment and let them be. Unless they're about to hurt you.
Jul 14 2009, 04:19 PM
4,630 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: PJ somewhere~ |
Jul 15 2009, 08:48 PM
2,586 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: got la sumwhere |
I'm still fairly new at this whole weight lifting thing, but have been discouraged with helping ppl out when they brush off advise....especially in situations when it was bleeding obvious they were f***ing up. These days i just mind my own business, STFU, and train. I want that t-shirt la lolz!
Jul 15 2009, 10:21 PM
259 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From ///K.L\\\ Supremes Holic |
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jul 15 2009, 08:48 PM) I'm still fairly new at this whole weight lifting thing, but have been discouraged with helping ppl out when they brush off advise....especially in situations when it was bleeding obvious they were f***ing up. These days i just mind my own business, STFU, and train. I want that t-shirt la lolz! ouww dont be like that... not everyone are arrogant |
Jul 19 2009, 01:36 AM
86 posts Joined: May 2009 |
haha, i dont give a shit, mind my own business.
Jul 19 2009, 02:24 PM
2,394 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bristol, UK |
A good way to say it is
"I know it's none of my business, but it would be better if you could <insert advice here>" "I used to <insert workout here> like that too, but when the weights got heavy I piled on some injuries that really affected my workout, then I learnt from other lifters that I was doing it wrongly" "Just passing on some healthy comments, it's up to you to take it. After all, who am I to tell you what to do, it's not like I'm very strong. I just don't want to see a fellow lifter get injured!" |
Jul 19 2009, 07:44 PM
3,802 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: City of Anggerik |
"Wah lau eh, my best friend used to squat exactly like you man! Gawd, the memories. So he was doing it like you, when one day he collapsed under the weight! He severed both quadriceps, destroyed both knees, his damn cun girlfriend is now mine, and he is a cripple in a wheelchair."
| Change to: | 0.0171sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:35 PM |