Jun 27 2009, 01:27 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
5,909 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 06.02.58.44.23.08.03 |
So, it's all about the new Samsung so called 'LED TV'... again.
If not because of reminders by many posters here, many people would have been stepped into the trap set by Samsung. Nice one Samsung.. Samsung is really misleading us. I was once a fan of Samsung such as their computer monitor and mobile phone but never be a fan of them anymore. |
Jun 27 2009, 01:34 AM
103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Subang Jaya |
yea i was almost conned .. .they price it so high to misled ppl that its LED throughout not LCD with LED backlight. zzz
i hope they dont do the same for all their other product range. |
Jun 27 2009, 06:53 AM
367 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
if u guys wanna get 1 of those LED TV from samsung... then i think u should wait next month.... Sharp will coming out LED Backlight LCD TV as well... but for batter performance... because it's direct LED compare to Edge LED using by samsung..... sommore da backlight is RGB backlight... Samsung currently is White LED.... wat i notice after long comparison with LED TV by samsung and normal LCD is : noise level is significantly reduce, Contras somehow lower already, But panel is Pure Black~ color still aggressive as samsung always hv.... i still dont' like da green color by samsung... look like plastic green on tree/ leaf....
well... overall it's da best LCD TV by Samsung....(i still dun like da color... not only green... others also seem not that natrual...bad for movies...good for gaming) This post has been edited by Alex_tan168: Jun 27 2009, 06:53 AM |
Jun 27 2009, 08:15 AM
1,336 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Battown in Johor |
For us, consumer, the longer we can wait the better we can get...
Jun 27 2009, 10:13 AM
5,542 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(Alex_tan168 @ Jun 27 2009, 06:53 AM) if u guys wanna get 1 of those LED TV from samsung... then i think u should wait next month.... Sharp will coming out LED Backlight LCD TV as well... but for batter performance... because it's direct LED compare to Edge LED using by samsung..... sommore da backlight is RGB backlight... Samsung currently is White LED.... wat i notice after long comparison with LED TV by samsung and normal LCD is : noise level is significantly reduce, Contras somehow lower already, But panel is Pure Black~ color still aggressive as samsung always hv.... i still dont' like da green color by samsung... look like plastic green on tree/ leaf.... colour on samsung LCD TV is not a problem for me after calibration, before calibration the colour level is badwell... overall it's da best LCD TV by Samsung....(i still dun like da color... not only green... others also seem not that natrual...bad for movies...good for gaming) not sure about LED TV, but they still do the same QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Jun 27 2009, 08:15 AM) then you wait till forever also cant get a TV since new things always coming out, and when old model become cheap you will not look into it anymore since the new products are more tempting. |
Jun 27 2009, 10:39 AM
3,508 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
y LED tv? jz wait for large screen size OLED tv to come out la~ lol
Jun 27 2009, 12:41 PM
[quote=amduser,Jun 27 2009, 10:13 AM]
colour on samsung LCD TV is not a problem for me after calibration, before calibration the colour level is bad yea i have the same problem ... i could never adjust my settings correctly. Hope there is a proper guide out there. Last time (many many YEARS ago) it was so much easier using projector as we had to display a certain image and use that for adjustment to obtain better picture quality. wonder if there is guided walkthrough on this .. [quote=General_Nic,Jun 27 2009, 10:39 AM] y LED tv? jz wait for large screen size OLED tv to come out la~ lol [/quote] aren;t OLED only used for mobile phones because of its size limitations atm? |
Jun 27 2009, 01:54 PM
624 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
OLED is only good for small displays... for now and a couple of years more. It will be quite some time to wait for this technology to mature in the larger displays.. Some companies already close down this development due to internal yield issues very low yield) and heavy cost of R & D.
I think so far, SONY is the only company really still trying to market this aggresively for the future. As for the Sammy LED series (as I would like to call it instead of LED TV), I found out some ppl call it the Luxia series in the US, but their US wedsite still registers it as LED TV.. very confusing OR Luxia is the next generation LED backlight LCD TV (who knows)..... This post has been edited by de_lasoul: Jun 27 2009, 01:56 PM |
Jun 27 2009, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Jun 27 2009, 01:54 PM) OLED is only good for small displays... for now and a couple of years more. It will be quite some time to wait for this technology to mature in the larger displays.. Some companies already close down this development due to internal yield issues very low yield) and heavy cost of R & D. i guess the "digital paper" will have to wait |
Jun 27 2009, 03:21 PM
624 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
LED backlight, high contrast, super thin width will be the next thing for an LCD to continously evolve and stimulate buyers. This is the only way to ensure ppl continue to buy for the company's own survival.
Don't worry. Right now the LED backlight technology is still a premium, but when other brands release the same techology, it shall be competitive again. One downside though, LED wafers are on shortage currently. Shortage will mean price might not drop that soon. Eventually the whole world and light source that we know will one day use LED. LED manufacturers will continue to find ways to lower their cost as well as LUMENS (brightness). Once this can be realised, then they can compete in the current world mainly dominated still by fluorescents... Corporates, governments, and many commercial sectors already reliased the LED's many advantages and they look into long term investment. So they will invest in LEDs.. Imagine how much we can save on electricity alone on the Penang Bridge with the use of LED, not counting the manpower, crane, etc cost each time it takes to replace a bulb. LED has been proven typically to last at 50K hrs(which is true), but this are commited from the branded LED manufacturers only. They are many low cost packaging LED's done in China (copycats) with a much lower cost, but we can only wonder what the reliability can be. Ppl like us may not consider LED as a replacement for our home yet cause I am sure we will not pay RM70 for an LED bulb (reliable Philips brand) compared to a fluorescent or filament bulbs which cost between RM5~12 even counting the fact LED is cheaper in a long run. Imagine one house uses more than 20 bulbs... we will need to spend RM1400. I am sure we would not mind to pay RM5~12 and replace it later every 3 ~6 mths or so... this way, we will not see the impact of the amount. |
Jun 27 2009, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Jun 27 2009, 03:21 PM) LED backlight, high contrast, super thin width will be the next thing for an LCD to continously evolve and stimulate buyers. This is the only way to ensure ppl continue to buy for the company's own survival. Ya, have to wait a while. Still remembered those days when PLASMAS was like 5 figures ... hahaha now almost anyone can get one. Same goes for LCD too Don't worry. Right now the LED backlight technology is still a premium, but when other brands release the same techology, it shall be competitive again. One downside though, LED wafers are on shortage currently. Shortage will mean price might not drop that soon. Eventually the whole world and light source that we know will one day use LED. LED manufacturers will continue to find ways to lower their cost as well as LUMENS (brightness). Once this can be realised, then they can compete in the current world mainly dominated still by fluorescents... Corporates, governments, and many commercial sectors already reliased the LED's many advantages and they look into long term investment. So they will invest in LEDs.. Imagine how much we can save on electricity alone on the Penang Bridge with the use of LED, not counting the manpower, crane, etc cost each time it takes to replace a bulb. LED has been proven typically to last at 50K hrs(which is true), but this are commited from the branded LED manufacturers only. They are many low cost packaging LED's done in China (copycats) with a much lower cost, but we can only wonder what the reliability can be. Ppl like us may not consider LED as a replacement for our home yet cause I am sure we will not pay RM70 for an LED bulb (reliable Philips brand) compared to a fluorescent or filament bulbs which cost between RM5~12 even counting the fact LED is cheaper in a long run. Imagine one house uses more than 20 bulbs... we will need to spend RM1400. I am sure we would not mind to pay RM5~12 and replace it later every 3 ~6 mths or so... this way, we will not see the impact of the amount. I totally sync with you on LED advantages. Had opportunities to use LED instead of conventional rope lights and to date (3years++) no problem with the LEDS. I think what you say is true, the initial cost just simple shock the home users - but then again we are in Asia where a majority are conservative. Its always an uphill battle to try to get ppl to look long term. CHINA products ah ... errrr I frankly believe that they do require more QC - what more can i say "Looks nice on the outside" ... For the Penang bridge ah .. i think better to maintain the status quo la .. else ppl no job ... kakakaka .... they still need to feed the contractors else sit down goyang kaki - semua "rugi". I have ventured from my Maglites to LED torches from CREE and its super bright, longer lasting - lower costs cause batts are replaced less, and also enviromentally friendl-ier, etc.... i guess we can go on and on about its benefits eh. |
Jun 27 2009, 04:39 PM
17,021 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Sony already have LED backlight TV. Model Bravia KDL-46XBR8. Not sure when will arrive here.
Jun 27 2009, 05:39 PM
154 posts Joined: May 2009 |
anyone heard about new philips widescreen tv 21:9?
Jun 27 2009, 06:08 PM
Jun 27 2009, 06:49 PM
5,542 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(chpteh @ Jun 27 2009, 12:41 PM) yea i have the same problem ... i could never adjust my settings correctly. Hope there is a proper guide out there. Last time (many many YEARS ago) it was so much easier using projector as we had to display a certain image and use that for adjustment to obtain better picture quality. wonder if there is guided walkthrough on this .. go google and type video calibration pattern, i'm sure there are some HD ready or full HD resolution colour test pattern and contrast and brightness test patternif your TV got blue mode then it made your work easier, just switch to blue mode and display the colour bar and adjust from there. |
Jun 27 2009, 07:19 PM
154 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Jun 27 2009, 08:42 PM
Jun 27 2009, 09:32 PM
9,707 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Why U wana know? Status: Meditating™ |
well Philips do have better color and more natural and real compared to samsung lcd whether it is for LCD tv or monitor. Though samsung is nicer but its quite fake
Jun 27 2009, 10:01 PM
88 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Earth |
well i still confuse before i read this thread. hahah i thought it really use only led to replace other type screen.
i not so stress on the picture quality. well i am tv repairer . i most interesting about their replacement component. until now i still can't found a supplyier for lcd sparepart's. they give me $400~$500 for a set board and not component = . = |
| Change to: | 0.0208sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:48 AM |