English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, Latest: Welcome to the club, Obertan!

TSalien2003
post Jul 7 2009, 07:37 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(nizamhameed @ Jul 7 2009, 07:28 PM)
how can even our taiko only highlight mu training time only....  tongue.gif
This is Man Utd Street Talks mah laugh.gif Nvm, highlighted MY session [in blue] as well to avoid anymore speculations tongue.gif
TSalien2003
post Jul 7 2009, 10:13 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jul 7 2009, 10:11 PM)
That's encouraging to hear. I know he's not young anymore, but with GK, the older they are the better they would be. Would obviously help us in the long run if those homegrown(6+5) rule come into place.
I can see Ben getting more regular game time this coming season to slowly ready him as our future #1 while VDS start some of the bigger games that required his big match experiences? nod.gif

Just make sure you stay fit, Ben! flex.gif flex.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 7 2009, 10:14 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 8 2009, 07:00 PM

12,754 posts

BLANC: NEW BOY OBERTAN HAS LOTS TO LEARN

Laurent Blanc has admitted his “surprise” that Sir Alex ­Ferguson has swooped for ­unknown Bordeaux midfielder Gabriel Obertan.

Former Manchester United defender Blanc, now in charge of Bordeaux, was forced to farm Obertan out on loan last ­season after the player fell out of favour.

While Bordeaux closed in on the French title, Obertan spent the closing weeks of the campaign in Brittany with Lorient.

Blanc said that the player needed to overcome “psychological and mental ­challenges so he can express his true value”.

Obertan, 20, was in Manchester yesterday for a medical and to finalise his £3m move.

But Blanc, who won a title medal at United in 2003 before retiring, reckons Fergie’s third capture of the summer still has a lot to learn.

Blanc, 43, said: “I was surprised, too, but it is an unexpected chance for him to play with one of the best clubs in the world.

“Manchester United have been tracking him for a long time.

“They certainly hope to advance him, something that ­Bordeaux and Lorient have failed to do. He has the potential. But he must overcome psychological and mental challenges, so he can express his true value.”

Obertan is United’s third signing this summer following the arrival last week of Antonio Valencia from Wigan for £16m and Michael Owen on a free.

But Ferguson, who has lost Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez, is working flat out to parade a stellar signing before his side launch their defence of the ­Premier League next month.

One area he will not be required to strengthen is the keeper department after Ben Foster committed his future to United.

Foster, 26, signed a new long-term ­contract extension yesterday that will keep him at Old Trafford until 2013.

Veteran Dutch keeper Edwin van der Sar, 38, is expected to retire when his contract ends next summer.

A catalogue of ­injury problems have restricted Foster to just 10 senior ­appearances in four years but ­Ferguson said: “Ben is seen as one of the best young ­goalkeepers in ­England and we genuinely see him as a successor to Edwin.”

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/8...-lots-to-learn/
TSalien2003
post Jul 8 2009, 07:46 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(nizamhameed @ Jul 8 2009, 05:50 PM)
we should sign him back!

please saf dont let this guy go somewhere

btw top six club?
With Berba, Rooney & Owen ahead of him in the pecking order [again]? Not a chance that he will return I guess.

TSalien2003
post Jul 9 2009, 12:52 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(longamwai @ Jul 9 2009, 12:20 PM)
hi guys....what time is the MU training session thx...might not make it...
QUOTE(alien2003 @ Jul 7 2009, 07:17 PM)
The training time for next Friday is confirmed at ticketpro's website:

17/7 TRAINING SESSION

MU 5.30 p.m. - 6.30 p.m.

MY 6.30 p.m. - 7.30 p.m.

http://www.ticketpro.com.my/jnp/sports/159...ysia.html
TSalien2003
post Jul 9 2009, 07:00 PM

12,754 posts

Huntelaar's a Klaas act says Arnie

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo..._act_says_arnie

Zlatan Ibrahimovic could be next on Manchester United transfer hitlist blink.gif

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/200...15875-21505863/
TSalien2003
post Jul 9 2009, 07:22 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ Jul 9 2009, 07:15 PM)
Pole In Goal..btw, i dont think fergie is going to get zlatan..30mil ++ and he's 27..way out of our policy..
Some time ago their president said something about he worth close to/more than Kaka, no? If that's their valuation then they can keep him there coz no one will pay that for him. Plus its not like we really need him anyway smile.gif
TSalien2003
post Jul 9 2009, 10:45 PM

12,754 posts

Blog: Time for Ando to step up

There have been big changes at Old Trafford this summer, from which Ben Hibbs feels Anderson must come of age and kick on next term...

Whenever a talismanic and iconic player departs for pastures new, the inevitable clamour to find his replacement begins, people often seeking a like-for-like alternative. The truth is, there arguably isn’t a player in the world that poses the same threat Cristiano Ronaldo does, so I think we need to look elsewhere for a hero-in-waiting.

Identical replacements for players are hard to find, although I’m sure Antonio Valencia will be a hit at Old Trafford next season. The players that define a team come in different forms, and positions. There are several candidates in the current Reds squad to take over Ronaldo’s crown. Wayne Rooney is a prime contender, displaying all the qualities to characterise the way this Reds team plays, and he will be United’s most important player next season, no doubt. Elsewhere, Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic epitomise the team’s classy and aggressive brand of defensive solidarity.

Owen Hargreaves is another potentially influential component of the side - and getting him fit again remains one of the most important targets of the summer for Sir Alex Ferguson. Hargreaves, more than anyone in the squad – perhaps with the exception of the outstanding and still underrated Darren Fletcher – performs that crucial role of disrupting opposition attacks, before restarting the United assaults.

But there’s one other player I believe has the charisma, personality and ability to define this team for years to come: Anderson. He rapidly earned respect among United supporters in a hugely impressive first season at OT but, after a disrupted summer and one or two niggling injuries throughout the campaign, we only saw glimpses of his talent last  term.

There isn’t always time or patience for transition at United, and with Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez departed, Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs edging towards the end of their careers, there’s a vacancy that Anderson seems primed to fill.

Sir Alex once told me that when he had Anderson watched at FC Porto he had to temper the excitable reports he received back from his scouts, who were queuing up to lavish grand praise on the young Brazilian’s shoulders. Best young midfielder in the world, some said. Now could be the time to prove it.

Yes, he hasn’t scored yet (apart from in penalty shoot-outs, of course), but that will come. For a player of his skill and passing accuracy, it’s only a matter of acquiring the composure that comes with age to overcome his stuttering record in front of goal. When one goes in, plenty more could follow – and can you imagine his goal celebrations? He promised (or threatened) to tear his shirt off and run round the pitch when he finally breaks his duck.

His goal tally is only a minor issue, it’s his energy, skill and vision that are his greatest assets to United. It’s time for Anderson to step forward; next season he has to, and I’m sure he will.

The views expressed in this blog are personal to the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Manchester United FC.

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6635976
TSalien2003
post Jul 10 2009, 06:18 PM

12,754 posts

REPORTS: SUNDERLAND AGREE CAMPBELL FEE

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce hopes to push through his first summer signing over the weekend after agreeing a fee with Manchester United for Fraizer Campbell.

Press Association Sport understands United have accepted a bid of around £5million for the England Under-21 international, who has been courted by Hull in recent weeks.

Campbell is expected to head for the north-east to undergo a medical and discuss personal terms as Bruce steps up his efforts to strengthen the squad he inherited from Ricky Sbragia.

The Huddersfield-born 21-year-old has made just four senior appearances for United, but impressed during a loan spell at Hull during the 2007-08 season, when he scored 15 goals in 37 appearances.

He spent much of last season at Tottenham after joining the club on a temporary basis as part of the deal which took Dimitar Berbatov in the opposite direction.

The former United trainee made 22 appearances, 13 of them as a substitute, and scored three goals during his spell at White Hart Lane.

Bruce has been targeting strikers throughout the summer after the Black Cats decided not to take up an option on Djibril Cisse.

He is understood to have tabled an offer in the region of £11million for Portsmouth's England international Peter Crouch, and the Wearsiders have a long-standing interest in Spurs marksman Darren Bent, although it remains to be seen whether or not they are prepared to meet Harry Redknapp's asking price for the player.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/trans...Sunderland.html

p/s: Slower than Wan for 3min! laugh.gif Didn't refresh the page so didn't know posted biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 10 2009, 06:19 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 11 2009, 04:17 PM

12,754 posts

Latest Paper Talk at 09:08 BST

MIRROR

# Ipswich boss Roy Keane is to make a move for Manchester United defender Danny Simpson.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/trans.../papertalk.html
TSalien2003
post Jul 12 2009, 11:49 AM

12,754 posts

Isn't there was a point where SAF actually told Rooney not to overdoing his usual running and try to attack more? We have enough workhorses in the team. The likes of Rooney, Park, Fletcher and etc has been doing all the so called "donkey work" and we need someone to make use of it and provide the end products.

I will take "less overall running but more effective runs" instead of "running/covering all over the field but no end products" anytime.

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 12 2009, 11:49 AM
TSalien2003
post Jul 12 2009, 06:37 PM

12,754 posts

Man City can have him (E'to) if they want but there is no way we will give him what he wanted, something like 150-200K after tax? shakehead.gif blink.gif
TSalien2003
post Jul 12 2009, 10:15 PM

12,754 posts

Some rumours to spice up the transfer talks biggrin.gif

E'to? blink.gif

Douglas Costa?

Ashley Young?

So we probably have:

80m from CR to RM
25m that was allocated for Tevez
3.5m from Campbell to Sunderland
1.5m from Martin to Ipswich

= 110m

and we spent 16-18m (take it as 18) for Valencia + 3m for Obertan = 21m.

That leave us about 89m? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Sir Bobby Charlton)
The Reds have spent £16m on Antonio Valencia from Wigan and £3m on Gabriel Obertan from Bordeaux but have yet to splash the major slice of Ronaldo's world record £80m windfall.

"Everybody assumes because we have a lot of money in the bank we will spend it hastily but we won't do that," added Charlton.

"The club has always been fairly frugal and we try to do our homework before we actually spend a lot of money on players.

"But if a good player comes along we are in the race like everybody else."

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo...nner__sir_bobby

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 12 2009, 10:24 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 12 2009, 10:46 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Jul 12 2009, 10:28 PM)
went to Speedy, Arsenal and Liverpool 08/09 review already there but United review still did not arrive cry.gif
May I know which Speedy outlet you went to? Coz I checked in their website and they already list out the item/DVD:

http://www.speedy.com.my/store/Default.asp...T&Code=DVD-5056
TSalien2003
post Jul 13 2009, 06:33 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Jul 12 2009, 10:28 PM)
went to Speedy, Arsenal and Liverpool 08/09 review already there but United review still did not arrive cry.gif
QUOTE(kaka_89 @ Jul 13 2009, 06:27 PM)
taw xpe..i just went also..but didn't arrived yet..but anyway..see you guys in bukit jalil.. rclxms.gif ..
Another update, went to Pavillion's Speedy outlet just now and no luck as well sad.gif sweat.gif
TSalien2003
post Jul 13 2009, 09:50 PM

12,754 posts

FERGIE CALLS HALT TO UNITED BUSINESS

Sir Alex Ferguson handed Michael Owen the prized Manchester United number seven shirt and then declared Old Trafford closed for transfer business.

It was anticipated Ferguson would make further signings in addition to Owen, Antonio Valencia and Gabriel Obertan, who joined last week from Bordeaux.

But, faced with a market over-inflated by Real Madrid and Manchester City, Ferguson has decided his current squad is good enough to challenge for an unprecedented fourth consecutive league title, even though Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez have left.

He said: "It is the end of our business, so all these stories about who were are supposed to be getting - forget it."

It means Owen will take over Ronaldo's shirt and his place in an attacking line-up containing Wayne Rooney and Dimitar Berbatov, plus youngsters Daniel Welbeck and Federico Macheda, who will both be given a chance to prove they are worthy of the accolades that have been bestowed on them.

"They are both young players - but young players with ability always get a chance here."

Ferguson confirmed he made a bid for Karim Benzema, only to be rebuffed by the Lyon man, who instead became part of Real Madrid's extraordinary spending spree.

With a world-record £80million burning a hole in his pocket following the sale of Ronaldo, United had the funds to compete.

But Ferguson refuses to be drawn into a bidding war for any player beyond the level he thinks is acceptable.

"There are some amazing numbers being talked about, not all of them realistic," he said.

"It is very difficult to get value now.

"In a way we benefited through the sale of Cristiano, although that figure was non-negotiable.

"But I feel we have a good squad, which meant there was no need for knee-jerk reactions.

"We asked about Benzema and we had a value for him. Lyon have done well because they got 42million Euros but I think we took a sensible view."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/trans...ER_Man_Utd.html

Ljajic set to miss Rhyl trip

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12003_5430336,00.html

Fergie knew Tevez was leaving

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5431237,00.html

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 13 2009, 09:56 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 14 2009, 12:55 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(509307 @ Jul 14 2009, 12:42 PM)
i like wat i wan to say...cant?
If its within the rules & regulations then yes else no.

Lowyat.NET Rules and Regulations

ii.Forum Rules

Action: Trolling/Flaming. Do not make posts that are inflammatory just to upset people.
Result: Your thread will be closed, your post may be deleted and a warning may be given depending on severity

Action: Spamming - posting unconstructively, bumping topics unnecessarily, opening multiple threads are all considered as spamming.
Result: Offending threads or post will be deleted and a warning given to the offender.

Action: Using profanities or vulgarities, as determined according to discretion of a member of the moderating team
Result: A warning is issued for the first offence, and suspensions for multiple offences.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules

Also there are some unofficial rules which are created by the community in that thread and it make no harm to respect those? You don't visit people's house and when the owner request you to take off your shoes before enter, you tell them "I do what I like".

QUOTE(509307 @ Jul 14 2009, 12:50 PM)
dude oh dude...man u oh man u....rules???? rules also from human..... society thrash...

Added on July 14, 2009, 12:51 pm
cant u see tat put Unofficial Rules>???? sohai
Please mind your language. I reported this post for warning and another repeated offense will means suspension to follow.

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 14 2009, 12:59 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 14 2009, 06:35 PM

12,754 posts

Sry for the long delay but here is the new thread smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1096285

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top