What if i buy a car in Langkawi, and transport it back?

TSaKatoRA
post Jun 24 2009, 10:30 AM, updated 17y ago

248 posts

Guys,

Just wondering, if i bought a car in Langkawi, how can i transport it back? I heard that we need to put our car there 1 year only we can bring it over here. Anyone can shed me some light?
squareasia
post Jun 24 2009, 10:42 AM

34 posts

I am not so sure but I do bought a KV **** A, Merc 190E 2.3 (M) a few years back. On the reg card was stated, "Cukai Dikecualikan". Unable to transfer to my name. Go to Custom but to no avail. At the end, ask a runner settle it for RM 500.00. "Cukai Dikecualikan" is crossed. Bought the car from auction for RM 6.3K. (Need repair works)
TSaKatoRA
post Jun 24 2009, 10:46 AM

248 posts

Means u pay rm500 for the runner and another RM6300 to auction it back? Why need to buy it from auction?
mokhzaini
post Jun 24 2009, 10:49 AM

278 posts

what if u buy a car in langkawi? first the car is of non tax value.

second is, u cant get it to the mainland within just a year. thats the normal case. corrupted case, today buy tomorrow send to KL oso can.

but it is BEST not to offer corruption although i believe corruption is for some people, is good for some areas. such as this buy-car-langkawi thing, and also speeding tickets.

normal case would be a 5 year period where the car must be in langkawi before it can be moved to the tax-land peninsular malaysia. well u can applied for occasional 1 month usage at mainland but then when the period ends, the car must be back in langkawi. again this is the normal, uncorrupted way.

of course u apply for the 1 month occasional mainland permit, then get it somehow 'lost'.
POYOZER
post Jun 24 2009, 10:56 AM

Traveler
3,653 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Jun 24 2009, 10:49 AM)

second is, u cant get it to the mainland within just a year. thats the normal case. corrupted case, today buy tomorrow send to KL oso can.

but it is BEST not to offer corruption although i believe corruption is for some people, is good for some areas. such as this buy-car-langkawi thing, and also speeding tickets.

normal case would be a 5 year period where the car must be in langkawi before it can be moved to the tax-land peninsular malaysia. well u can applied for occasional 1 month usage at mainland but then when the period ends, the car must be back in langkawi. again this is the normal, uncorrupted way.

of course u apply for the 1 month occasional mainland permit, then get it somehow 'lost'.
very complicated rclxub.gif

so, what about buying a second hand car from there?

This post has been edited by POYOZER: Jun 24 2009, 10:57 AM
ah liew
post Jun 24 2009, 11:37 AM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

Transport is not a problem, you can always use the ferry service.
But the tax is a problem.

Alot of people bought their bikes & cars in Labuan & shifted back to KK by ferry.
mokhzaini
post Jun 24 2009, 11:56 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(POYOZER @ Jun 24 2009, 10:56 AM)
very complicated  rclxub.gif

so, what about buying a second hand car from there?
it is quite complicated. for much clearer view, u'd have to refer to the authority. but the fact is that u cannot simply buy and transport it to mainland just like that. or whenever u want. there is a period where the car must be in the island before it can be shipped permanently to mainland.

as for second hand, dont quite sure the procedure. but with salty air which may cause bad corrosion or rust or something like that to metal, i may stay off them.
POYOZER
post Jun 24 2009, 12:13 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Jun 24 2009, 11:56 AM)
it is quite complicated. for much clearer view, u'd have to refer to the authority. but the fact is that u cannot simply buy and transport it to mainland just like that. or whenever u want. there is a period where the car must be in the island before it can be shipped permanently to mainland.

as for second hand, dont quite sure the procedure. but with salty air which may cause bad corrosion or rust or something like that to metal, i may stay off them.
Ohh, so the minimum period is about 5 years? Because I planning to stay there for 2 years.
kokyang
post Apr 28 2014, 09:08 PM

QUOTE(ah liew @ Jun 24 2009, 11:37 AM)
Transport is not a problem, you can always use the ferry service.
But the tax is a problem.

Alot of people bought their bikes & cars in Labuan & shifted back to KK by ferry.
hi may i know how much the ferry service transfer from langkawi to mainland? thx
kurty
post May 2 2014, 05:40 PM

224 posts

sorry, wanna ask this:

is it possible for us to drive from penang to langkawi?

is there a bridge?

or there's a ferry whereby it will take you and your car to langkawi, intend to go there for a holiday
gahpadu
post May 2 2014, 06:33 PM

1,438 posts

If not mistaken u can take own car to island using fery from kuala kedah
.worth it if u are going for long time.
fuzzy007
post May 2 2014, 06:37 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(kurty @ May 2 2014, 05:40 PM)
sorry, wanna ask this:

is it possible for us to drive from penang to langkawi?

is there a bridge?

or there's a ferry whereby it will take you and your car to langkawi, intend to go there for a holiday
there is no bridge connected,if there is a bridge that connect penang with langkawi,the bridge will be more longer than penang bridge 2 cool2.gif
there are ferry service that transport u to langkawi,approximately 1 or 2 hours if i'm correct
i'm not sure about car but there sure will be charges,it is not worth to do that
Noobi3
post May 2 2014, 07:28 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Jun 24 2009, 10:49 AM)

Langkawi cars r allowed to be used 90 days on mainland , not 1 month . Also , after 90 days , there's a fine until you go back to langkawi , RM150 a day or what , i forgot . And of course there's a bond , " cagaran " b4 it can be brought out to be use here if u wanna take it out the minute you bought it b4 the grace period . Bond in terms of an FD but the dept have the right to take your FD if u fail to come back . What most supercars do is make use of the loopholes to avoid tax . They pay their fine since it's cheaper then paying tax . Example , tax difference of 1 year for an Aventador is around 200k , meaning if u pay RM700k in 2013 , u only pay RM500k in 2014 . That's excluding depreciation of car value . And lastly , road tax difference between a Langkawi cars and peninsular cars . Then that's where u get all the G1M supercars running around .
shahruls
post May 2 2014, 11:56 PM

243 posts

I just come back from holiday there, I saw lot of G1M plat number, now I know why. But not all supercar.
Xu3r
post May 4 2014, 01:30 AM

134 posts

Lol the G1M plat number can buy online now

Also JPJ release new rule ..you can register a car plate even the letter is not your state

like MCM can be bought in KL or Johor can i buy S1R easily no need agents anymore unlesss you want them keep track 24/7

0.0170sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:17 PM