AVR setting for Speaker size

jchong
post Jun 23 2009, 04:06 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(benjaminn78 @ Jun 23 2009, 03:50 PM)

just a simple question that i not very sure, for AVR, setting for speaker size, either small or large, this refer to speaker size? or other meaning? if speaker size, which measurement need to refer?
You're referring to the setting after the calibration function right (e.g. Audyssey)? What AVR are u using?

Normally "large" is for full range speakers. Meaning your speakers can go down to 20 Hz. If your speaker cannot do this then set to "small". Even if the system sets your speaker to "large" generally I see the recommendation to still set to "small" (especially if you have a sub).

This post has been edited by jchong: Jun 23 2009, 04:07 PM
jchong
post Jun 23 2009, 04:33 PM

5,989 posts

Yup, it refers to speaker frequency not the size. So you are using the YPAO function on the Yammy.

Only very high end speakers can go down to 20Hz. Most people cannot afford speakers like that. So that's why sub became popular, the sub makes it affordable for people to get low bass.

So yup you should set your speakers to "small".

This post has been edited by jchong: Jun 23 2009, 04:34 PM
jchong
post Jun 23 2009, 04:49 PM

5,989 posts

Yeah do try the different setting and let us know the result.
jchong
post Jun 25 2009, 09:18 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 25 2009, 02:26 AM)
i am no expert but i have things in my mind to share, correct ,e if i'm wrong.

I think for a floorstander, even if we set to small, doesn't mean the sound is small. Compared to a bookshelf, floorstander details is higher because the driver is bigger and gives better details compared to the bookshelves. But we still need all the kaboom, bang, boom sound from the woofer. Woofer > floorstand in bass/low frequency
Setting to small simply means the low bass frequency is not sent to that speaker. Exactly how much low bass is cut out depends on your AVR. In my Onkyo the cross over is user selectable, so for my mains I set to small and cross over at 40 Hz, meaning only 40 Hz and above is sent to the mains.

As for my sub, the LFE is set to 100 Hz meaning sub will handle all low bass up to 100 Hz.

So, up to 40 Hz handled by sub exclusively. From 40 Hz - 100 Hz handled by sub and my mains. Above 100 Hz by mains only.

I hope the above example clarifies how the bass management works in an AVR.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jun 25 2009, 09:25 AM
jchong
post Jun 25 2009, 03:22 PM

5,989 posts

Question:
You said: "So, up to 40 Hz handled by sub exclusively. From 40 Hz - 100 Hz handled by sub and my mains. Above 100 Hz by mains only."
You sure about that? All this time I thought when you set Mains to say 60Hz, no matter what crossover setting you have in the SUB, the highest it can go is 60Hz. This is because the bass management in the AVR only sends 60Hz and below to LFE channel, higher freq to MAINS. If your claim is true, I have to reassess my bass management setting. Tq.

There are 2 separate settings for bass management, one LFE for the sub and one for all the rest (main, center and surround). You might be confusing between the two. For the mains, if you set at 60Hz that means only 60Hz and above will be played by the mains. Then in the separate LFE setting for sub, if you set at 60 Hz that means only 60Hz and below will be played by the sub.

just to share something ... my old yammy avr rx-v595 had all 5 channels factory set to LARGE. I'm not sure what cutover freq actually was for Large and small because the avr won't let you set it. I used bookshelf LCR and when set to large, the sound was fuller compared to small. I left it to Large and was happy with it. Large and small really confusing in this case because why Large setting on a bookshelf give a fuller sound than small setting. What Large and small actually means? Is it just freq cutover or also include dynamic range and other sonic parameters? If the latter is true, it makes sense to set Large for bigger speakers.

To some extent it makes sense that "when set to large, the sound was fuller compared to small." When set to large your AVR will send full range frequency to your bookshelf speakers. So the performance is only limited by your bookshelf potential. So if your bookshelf can play down to 50 Hz then it will reproduce down to 50 Hz as sent by the AVR. However, if you set to small then maybe your AVR cuts off at 80 Hz (this will depend on your AVR) which means your bookshelf only playing 80 Hz and above and won't sound as full.

As to what large and small means, I think it is just freq cutover. But exactly what is the freq it cuts over that will depend on your AVR.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jun 25 2009, 04:35 PM
jchong
post Jun 25 2009, 04:21 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 25 2009, 03:43 PM)
for the bold letter, do u mean the built in crossover in sub?
Nope not the sub's crossover. In your AVR there should be another setting for LFE. If you use this, then in your sub's built in crossover you put to the max possible (usually 120 Hz, depending on sub model) or if there is a 'direct' setting then to 'direct'.
jchong
post Jun 25 2009, 04:44 PM

5,989 posts

It might be AVR dependent.

So in your AVR can select speaker size for mains, center and surrounds only? No option related to subwoofer or LFE?
jchong
post Jun 25 2009, 08:20 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jun 25 2009, 05:31 PM)
By the way, found some interesting article on bass management which quite a surprise to me. According to this article, it's better not to use the subwoofer output due to double filtering. Not sure if this is true.

http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/34579/119794.html
I read that article too, quite interesting. As for the double filtering, the article did say "Some subwoofers have LFE inputs that bypass the sub's filter. If you insist on using the sub out jack, you may want to use the sub's LFE input." I think if you connect to the LFE input then no issue.
jchong
post Jun 26 2009, 09:55 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 25 2009, 05:23 PM)
dont have la. i got speaker size, crossover, distance and db level only sad.gif

paiseh....need to upgrade again la like this tongue.gif
No need to upgrade. AVR not having the LFE setting is not critical, because you can simply adjust using the sub's in built crossover.
jchong
post Jun 28 2009, 02:40 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jun 28 2009, 10:16 AM)
Then my Sony sub cut-off freq. at 150Hz.
You set this 150Hz cut off in the sub or in the AVR?

Anyway, might not be necessary to set so high because I read that in movies the bass track for sub only goes up to 120Hz.

0.0185sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:26 PM