24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

> The Internet: Is speed all that matters?, Live chat with Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili

Shawnzz
post Jun 23 2009, 03:48 PM

1,911 posts

cannot /i/
SweetPuff

2,021 posts

Sure it's not a chat bot?
SUShako

245 posts

Datuk, we have questions coming in live, and some advance questions as well. The first one comes from Shermaine.

LOl. ii'm pretty sure the 1st question is by me with the name Kopitiam Forumer.
cheokchuanyi
post Jun 23 2009, 03:49 PM

41 posts

so is just a another stupid show to show how"smart" our minister is
Shawnzz

1,911 posts

comes from Shermaine.
3:47

The Star Online:

Hi Dr Maximus,

The Internet is the basis of much technological development. It's not surprising that while Malaysia has a wealth of IT talents, and has been actively investing in technology and education, Internet usage still falls behind. Two factors plays a vital role, cost of internet and speed, this is largely due to lack of competition. The last time I was home, about a year ago, Internet service start from RM67 per month (not including phone line rental), mobile broadband costs a whopping RM 130 a month (apologies if these numbers are not exactly accurate). I am currently based in London, my Internet costs £15 a month, which after coversion to RM still works out about the same if not cheaper. This means Malaysians are paying London rate!
What are plans in the pipeline to at least make Internet connection more affordable and reachable for Malaysians?

Regards,
Shermaine
3:49

Dr Max: Thanks Shermaine for your valuable input and questions
firestonez

545 posts

Dr Max: Actually it is a chicken and egg situation
SUSM4A1

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

anyone PLEASE post the question and the reply ? PLEASE?cannot watch live here la
styrwr91

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

chicken and egg?? wad does tat hv to do wif internet? hmm.gif
~LynX~

264 posts

Dr Max:  Actually it is a chicken and egg situation.

ROFL!!!
SUShako

245 posts

Hi Dr Maximus,

The Internet is the basis of much technological development. It's not surprising that while Malaysia has a wealth of IT talents, and has been actively investing in technology and education, Internet usage still falls behind. Two factors plays a vital role, cost of internet and speed, this is largely due to lack of competition. The last time I was home, about a year ago, Internet service start from RM67 per month (not including phone line rental), mobile broadband costs a whopping RM 130 a month (apologies if these numbers are not exactly accurate). I am currently based in London, my Internet costs £15 a month, which after coversion to RM still works out about the same if not cheaper. This means Malaysians are paying London rate!
What are plans in the pipeline to at least make Internet connection more affordable and reachable for Malaysians?

Regards,
Shermaine

Dr Max: Thanks Shermaine for your valuable input and questions

a whole paragraph, replied with a sentence. doh.gif
twhg
post Jun 23 2009, 03:50 PM

292 posts

lol chicken and egg
kokweng1

Poring
918 posts

Erm .. can't load = X ""
styrwr91

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

did he hit a wall? why so long haven reply?
yhtan

8,650 posts

wtf answer is that, chicken and egg situation?
vorchiel
post Jun 23 2009, 03:51 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

yeah but we are paying more to 'subsidize' stupid unimproved non-reliable isp to do marketing to get some more subsidizers (customers)

chicken and egg indeed
styrwr91

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

3:51 Dr Max:
As I said earlier, the infrastructure for broadband is only starting to roll out. Hence, it has been costly for the existing infrastructure. We need major roll out of the broadband plan in order to reduce costs. PIKOM has proposed that the cost should be no more than RM30 per month to makebroadband accessible to all and increase Internet access.

SUShako

245 posts

As I said earlier, the infrastructure for broadband is only starting to roll out. Hence, it has been costly for the existing infrastructure. We need major roll out of the broadband plan in order to reduce costs. PIKOM has proposed that the cost should be no more than RM30 per month to makebroadband accessible to all and increase Internet access.

WTF!
yhtan

8,650 posts

Dr Max reply:

Shawnzz

1,911 posts

Dr Max: Actually it is a chicken and egg situation

HAHAHHAWTF
SUSseriosekitt3h

310 posts

24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »