iPhone OS3.0(OUT NOW) | iPhone 3G[S](31/7) V2, 3GS registration-booking etc discussion

leecwai
post Jul 9 2009, 09:22 PM

233 posts

Hong Kong Iphone 3GS plan/pricing is out biggrin.gif

See it here : http://iphone.three.com.hk/website/en/iplan.html

leecwai
post Jul 15 2009, 09:39 AM

233 posts

The plan is out

http://www.maxis.com.my/iphone3gs/rateplan1.asp

leecwai
post Jul 15 2009, 09:50 AM

233 posts

But didn't see the release date.... Anyone saw it???

Oh, thanks....I was so focus on the plan forgot all about the FAQs. smile.gif
leecwai
post Jul 16 2009, 09:52 PM

233 posts

The other option to "run" away from this data usage nightmare is to use Celcom 3G which capped at 5GB. But problem is not sure how's their speed and coverage.
leecwai
post Jul 17 2009, 08:29 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(xenohawk @ Jul 17 2009, 04:37 AM)
Sigh.. I'm still deciding on which plan is for the best. Currently I'm on iPhone 3G with DiGi Unlimited Data Plan and according to my Cellular Network Data I only use around 300-400MB each month (is it accurate?).

Thinking of whether to get the 32GB with iValue Plan 1/2 or go the Prepaid Option and stick with my DiGi. Is Maxis 3G speed faster then DiGi EDGE overall?
I am using DiGi unlimited data plan on my Iphone 2G too, the only disadvantage I see is when you use EDGE, no phone call or SMS can go through. (That's the frustrating part about EDGE).

And nod.gif I am in the same dilemma like you, to go for iValue Plan or to go for Prepaid option rclxub.gif

Celcom 3G unlimited, better coverage... but is the speed and stability comparative to Maxis 3G? Just would need to know better before deciding to choose Prepaid option + Celcom 3G Unlimited or iValue Plan 2 (Maxis 3G)
leecwai
post Jul 17 2009, 05:14 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Mr Kong @ Jul 17 2009, 05:10 PM)
@leecwai
means if u buy for 2490 for prepaid plan
every month they will give u 500mb data?
Yes, exactly. But the prepaid card must be registered under your name.
leecwai
post Jul 17 2009, 08:46 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(BroJason @ Jul 17 2009, 05:06 PM)
hmmm funny... i just went to maxis klcc center to pay my deposit. recieved both sms and email (sent more than 24hrs later). i went with prepaid option. but i did not buy any prepaid pack yet. they did not ask me to buy any. i thought the prepaid option means that i will be getting a new sim with a new prepaid number?
Mine also, I didn't buy any new prepaid card. However, I was issued only a manual receipt from Maxis center, not a computer generated one.
The maxis center guy was saying I need a maxis number to place the deposit, since I am using DiGi, they can only issue manual receipt.
Hopefully they keep track of my receipt and don't disappoint me on the day of pickup. I will be very pissed off if they failed to give me
the phone on 31st Jul vmad.gif
leecwai
post Jul 23 2009, 08:51 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ Jul 23 2009, 08:14 PM)
don't worry, it's linked.

if you check out your manual receipt, there's an account number printed somewhere at the top of the receipt. it tallies with the reference number in your confirmation email.
I checked my manual receipt, Maxis center only indicate my name, registered phone # and IC # only. I think maxis center to center is not aligned at
how they write the receipt. Really worry....because it didn't state my reference # at all.
leecwai
post Jul 23 2009, 09:18 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ Jul 23 2009, 09:06 PM)
are you sure? pls try checking again. you should see something roughly like this:
OFFICIAL RECEIPT
----------------------------------

Thank You for Using Maxis

Acc Name: ###############                             <------------------------------------This is your Reference Number in your email
Account No: ###############
Payment for: iPhone 3GS Deposit             RM200.00
-----------------------------------------------------
TOTAL                                                    RM200.00
Cash                                                      RM200.00

REMARK
Ur phone# / IC
Name
Model
The numbers listed as "Acc Name" and "Account No" above are the same numbers as your Reference Number in your email.
Mine only mentioned about "Payment for: iPhone 3GS Deposit"
Acc Name : My Name
Account No : My phone #

Remark
IC#

That's why I am worried. Anyway, just have to trust them on this one. I tried to call up 123 but they can't verify whether my booking is valid with deposit. What to do.... have to wait for another 1 week and will know by that time. If they said I booked late and didn't get the phone, i am going to "drill" them upside down as I booked and paid deposit on 15th July.

This post has been edited by leecwai: Jul 23 2009, 09:33 PM
leecwai
post Jul 28 2009, 11:36 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 11:08 AM)
@breonwei,
That will be ideal but from Maxis FAQ it doesn't look like it's possible.
tinkerbel,

I am not sure how they activate it, but do they need my prepaid card for activation or
they have their own activation use sim card?

It would be great for who ever that pick up the i3GS on 31st July morning to post their
activation process. smile.gif

This post has been edited by leecwai: Jul 28 2009, 11:37 AM
leecwai
post Jul 30 2009, 09:02 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(xenohawk @ Jul 30 2009, 08:43 AM)
Oh god...I'm not going to use this number that I used to book and I can't change it to maxis either. I thought I have already tick on the option "new number" when I book it. I have already paid the deposit too (>__<). Any advise?
Xenohawk,

Don't worry. I also booked my i3GS with non-maxis number (DiGi). Yesterday, I just called the maxis support and was
informed that my deposit is shown in the system and can collect on time.

If you are worry and want to confirm, why not call up the maxis support and ask them to confirm for you that your deposit is in? nod.gif
leecwai
post Jul 30 2009, 09:39 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 30 2009, 09:34 AM)
@xenohawk,
U should be able to purchase the Hotlink SIM packs from Machines when U collect the phone should U need a SIM to activate the i3GS - or at least that's what I've been informed by Machines.  Forgot to check if we need to bring an active SIM with us.

@din,
For instalment information please refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1091499
Tinkerbel,

So far I have called up Maxis twice, and reconfirm again with them. Only need these for i3GS pick up

1) IC
2) Confirmation letter
3) Deposit receipt

Maxis will register the mobile # that you want to tie with their plan, but the catch is the mobile #
must be register under your name. Same applied to hotlink. No sim required but the number
must be register under the buyer's name.

If you don't have a prepaid and do not want to buy a prepaid card, basically you can give the free
data to your family members or friends by changing the prepaid register name to your name.
Changing of name is free but must be done in Maxis center (The original owner must be there
to change the registered name).
The process is quite fast and will take effect on that day.

This post has been edited by leecwai: Jul 30 2009, 09:42 AM
leecwai
post Jul 30 2009, 09:58 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jul 30 2009, 09:51 AM)
Hmm about the confirmation letter thingy, what about ppl who walk straight in and book on the spot like me, i dun think it's required rite?

Another thing is, does maxis impose any charge for payment with cc? can anyone confirm this? coz i dun want to bring so much $$$.
Janson_kaniaz

I paid my deposit using credit card at maxis center and no additional charges imposed. Would expect the same
as well during the pick up day, however I am not sure about MEP.
leecwai
post Jul 30 2009, 05:39 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(nice3z @ Jul 30 2009, 05:15 PM)
Just got call from Maxis Center Queensbay Mall Penang, delayed till 4th August for 32GB!  rclxub.gif
Don't mind to share when did you place the booking as well as deposit for your 32GB i3GS?
Can give me Maxis Center Queensbay Mall Penang's phone #? I booked from there too.
leecwai
post Jul 30 2009, 05:48 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(nice3z @ Jul 30 2009, 05:45 PM)
around 22-23th
You might want to call 123, can't locate their number.
Oh....I booked and paid the deposit on 15th July (1st day) for i3GS 16GB.
Was the first person to pay the deposit there.

Anyway, I will pray hard to get it tomorrow.

0.0515sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:11 AM