iPhone OS3.0(OUT NOW) | iPhone 3G[S](31/7) V2, 3GS registration-booking etc discussion

harmeet15
post Jun 25 2009, 03:45 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 25 2009, 02:30 PM)
@Harmeet

Meeting our "Italian Job" accomplices now. The "job" will happen on the 29th and good news on successful mission will come the day after. Otherwise i will press the panic button and do it myself on my own Paris trip.
praying hard tat all goes well..smile.gif

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 25 2009, 02:45 PM)
You can play with it now. Maxis is holding a Product Symposium for iPhone in Plaza Sentral now. Mau tunggu saya punya have to wait July 1st.

But that is a good idea on the TT. Can see a certain someone performing too. biggrin.gif
seriously..we shud plan one...perhaps after the 29..tongue.gif
we can hv a roadshow of our own
tongue.gif

Added on June 25, 2009, 3:59 pm
Belgian mobile operator Mobistar unveiled pricing for Apple's iPhone 3GS, available from June 26 in Belgium. All Belgian iPhones will be factory unlocked and sold without contract. Availability will be limited at first.

iPhone 3G 8GB: 475 euro
iPhone 3GS 16GB: 575 euro
iPhone 3GS 32GB: 675 euro

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 25 2009, 03:59 PM
harmeet15
post Jun 25 2009, 04:45 PM

2,729 posts

well it is..lets c wat boss has planned...smile.gif
he sure wud hv smting up his sleeves

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 25 2009, 04:47 PM
harmeet15
post Jun 25 2009, 05:30 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 25 2009, 05:23 PM)
Y is it so important to be the 1st in Malaysia to own the iPhone 3GS?  Maxis oredi has a couple of units so none of us are #1 in this instance! tongue.gif

PS: This isn't a race to see who's first to obtain the iPhone 3GS!
exactly...
we arent racing...those who get earlier, bravo n congrats to them...
for those hvnt, they r looking for means to get it...
harmeet15
post Jun 26 2009, 05:50 PM

2,729 posts

24Kpwn lives on, in the iPhone 3GS!

About 5 hours ago (Thursday evening, less than a week after the 3GS launch), we were able to verify that the 24Kpwn exploit that the hybrid team used on the iPod Touch 2G is still present in the bootrom of the iPhone 3GS. That means we can apply the same sort of technique used by our current redsn0w tool to jailbreak and unlock the iPhone 3GS.

This is great news, but how did it happen?  Why didn’t Apple fix this in their normal cat&mouse fashion?  Well it seems this bootrom was cut in about the August 2008 timeframe, so the unintended early reveal of 24Kpwn earlier this year didn’t affect the iPhone 3GS.

For our technical notes on where the 24Kpwn exploit is in the 3GS, see here (pastebin hash of it is here).    Our original blog post for when this exploit was first found is here.

And yes, ultrasn0w will be able to be used on the iPhone 3GS for you unlockers!

Important: Apple has not given up on the cat&mouse game, and in fact there are challenging aspects of the 3GS jailbreak that aren’t in the other devices.  It’ll take some time to safely work these into our tools, but the fundamental weaknesses are there:  The bootrom is exploitable via 24Kpwn, and the baseband is exploitable via ultrasn0w.  (And just like with the 3G, ultrasn0w for 3GS requires that you not update your baseband when Apple comes out with new firmware.)
jb is cming for 3gs...smile.gif
harmeet15
post Jun 27 2009, 11:24 PM

2,729 posts

im certainly hoping tat these turn by turn apps work fine for 3gS
very eager 2 purchase one of these apps, but awaiting tom tom's release..
only then can compare/ review few apps n get one... as they arent as cheap..

harmeet15
post Jun 29 2009, 12:50 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 29 2009, 11:08 AM)
i cannot resist not to answer this question.

the processing speed and prowess are totally unmatched.

and i'm not exaggerating!
i second tat..
thr is no match at all...the amt of ram, da processing speed...no words 2 describe..
da gps locks within sheer seconds...
im sure all da new owners wud agree with this...

and i cant agree more to tink's statement too..but ya, it'll take sm time, sm heavy load apps n all that,, then maybe it wud start to show sm wear n tear...
otherwise these old apps cant make it sweat a drop..tongue.gif
harmeet15
post Jun 29 2009, 01:25 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jun 29 2009, 12:58 PM)
Now the thing I'm curious to know is how well is it gonna perform for turn-by-turn apps. Apparently my 3G is horrible at it. Perhaps it wasn't built with turn-by-turn in mind.
im also curious 2 find tat out..but im awaiting tom tom's app and then decide 2 get a turn by turn app...
u r using sygic rite
harmeet15
post Jun 29 2009, 02:15 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 29 2009, 02:14 PM)
@davidgary73,
You sure are efficient!  Am sure the rest will be updating shortly; and knowing stringfellow there's gonna be loads of pictures of the unwrapping biggrin.gif

tish's unit doesn't come till 1st July (I hijacked his for my own use and told him to wait!) hAHahHAhahAHahHAHahAHhahA tongue.gif
u collected urs d?
harmeet15
post Jun 29 2009, 04:15 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 29 2009, 04:00 PM)
I can almost smell my baby! Come to me!  drool.gif

After this gotta go to the airport to grab the funds for the Italian iPhones. Harmeet, your Euros are with me, just holler when we can arrange so that you can grab the funds off me later.
collection time shud be soon rite..tongue.gif
i wish i was thr..wink.gif
abt da euros, i've seen ur schedule for the month and at the time of writing, cant really confirmed when im cming up.. however i do hv a plan 2 cm up 2molo..i'll give u a ring if i do..smile.gif

update us when u get ur baby..tongue.gif
harmeet15
post Jul 1 2009, 03:36 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 1 2009, 03:30 PM)
Just received the super slim super sexy Mophie Juice Pack Air from Jacquie just now. Shiny shiny! Compliments the 3G[S] perfectly!

Next up will be the TruePower iV from her, getting it on Sunday once I'm back from Osaka. Highly recommend Jacquie for her items, professional and patient as well. Jacquie, if you're reading this, I really appreciate your patience with me, I am a little impatient when it comes to my things. tongue.gif notworthy.gif

Once I get all three of the extended battery packs, I'll probably do a comparative review between the three. Stay tuned!

Also, Harmeet bro, your cash is with your bro. We went together to meet Jacquie just now. biggrin.gif
yup, i heard..and i also heard tat u managed 2 poison my frens thr..tongue.gif
they were saying i shud get 2 sell of their 3g and plan out for 3gS...
***hint***hint***any1 looking for 3g****

im seriously getting worried abt my bat la..morning 8am, full 100%..3g off, location off, bluetooth off, push off...still it comes down 2 64% at da time of writing...
any of u 3gS owners hving similar prob?
harmeet15
post Jul 1 2009, 04:45 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 1 2009, 03:46 PM)
The battery indicator may not be accurate, bro. Even on my old 3G it fluctuates wildly, to a point that it forces ny old Mophie to recharge it even when it is not supposed to.

I can't really say about your query there other than a restore and start from fresh. Don't restore from a backup and monitor your battery drainage. If it works fine, then install apps one at a time and monitor and see if the battery depletes worse than it should. That app may be the culprit. Do it similarly with your jailbreaks. I call this the "process of elimination" to narrow down the culprit.

Otherwise I don't think I can offer other solution. My 3G[S] works just fine.
I'll work on tat method n try to identify da culprit.
harmeet15
post Jul 2 2009, 11:10 AM

2,729 posts

Apple Releases Beta 3.1 iPhone Firmware and SDK to Developers

Even with the recent release of iPhone 3.0, Apple is hard at work at the next update: iPhone 3.1. Apple seeded registered developers with a beta version of the firmware and SDK today. Few details were provided as to the improvements to be found in the new firmware. The latest build number is 7C97D.

iPhone OS 3.1 Features: Non-Destructive Video Editing, Voice Control Over Bluetooth and More

Apple yesterday seeded iPhone OS 3.1 and iPhone SDK 3.1 betas to developers for testing, and users have been digging through the new releases to document new features. Among the changes found so far by readers in our forums, at Redmond Pie, and at MobileCrunch:

- Trimming video clips on the iPhone 3GS now offers the ability to save the edited version as a copy rather than simply overwriting the original file.
- Voice Control over Bluetooth is now available, allowing users to Initiate calls and control music playback via Bluetooth headsets.
- MMS is now enabled by default, but still not supported by AT&T.
- iPhone vibrates when rearranging Home screen icons.
- A "Fraud Protection" toggle is now available in Safari settings.
- iPhone startup and shutdown and app launching times have improved.
- New APIs allow developers of third-party application to access and edit videos.
- OpenGL and Quartz have seen improvements.

harmeet15
post Jul 3 2009, 09:44 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 3 2009, 09:24 AM)

More on topic how is the battery life for the 3GS owners out there? Mine went down 8% in 3 hours with about 5 SMS, minor wifi use and no calls. I was expecting much better battery capacity than that...
totally wat i am going thru rite now,
same case bro..i'll hv fully charged my phone in da morning n by noon, its 90 w/o any major usage.. rclxub.gif
harmeet15
post Jul 3 2009, 09:56 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 3 2009, 09:54 AM)
@tishaban & harmeet15,
I'll observe my batt over the weekend.  Right now, I have more pressing issues to look into *argh*

PS: My contact sync problem still NOT resolved on 3G S
note tat i am keeping 3g, push, location off most of da times..wifi is used when needed..
harmeet15
post Jul 3 2009, 09:55 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(1212345656 @ Jul 3 2009, 09:11 PM)
I experiencing Iphone 3g overheating edi....... Hai scare it will damage my Baby.......... cry.gif  cry.gif
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 3 2009, 09:42 PM)
Just a question but how on earth do U check what the current phone temperature is?  Mine isn't a jailbroken unit so please don't give me solutions which will need jailbreaking.

Thanks!
i've been reading abt tis whole overheating stuff all over da forums and websites...
sm how i am trying 2 figure wat is it tat they do with their phones which can cause it to overheat... rclxub.gif
i tethered da phone and surfed, download updates, etc for few hours... touchwood nothing like tat happened to my precious...
maybe its just a US ting..tongue.gif

and tink, i cant tink of anyway 2 check da phone temp...jb or no jb...neva cm across which can do tat..neva needed to..tongue.gif
harmeet15
post Jul 3 2009, 10:03 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 3 2009, 09:58 PM)
@harmeet15,
Yes exactly!  I read in some of the articles/forums we shouldn't be using the phone when it hits X temperature but how on earth do we know what its current temperature is when we don't have a thermostat !! tongue.gif

Well.. as long as it's not happening on my phone, I don't care tongue.gif muAHhaHAHahA LoL
u got tat rite..and besides, no one here hv reported abt any such overeating probs...
its just those guys who r hving summer holidays...tongue.gif
harmeet15
post Jul 4 2009, 10:07 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jul 4 2009, 08:31 AM)
really love tethering function,especially at a area where the 3G signal is strong! biggrin.gif
cudnt agree more with u mate...

one is with 3g da other with edge...
and im very impressed
very stable connection, no fluctuation in speed...just awesome
harmeet15
post Jul 4 2009, 11:40 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 4 2009, 10:00 PM)
@stringfellow,
If U don't find the charger then just bring a BT unit that has a charger in tact and that is not too bad tongue.gif

Yeah I read about the warning from harmeet's bro re the Gelaskin + Mophie Juice Pack Air.  I haven't any protective gear on mine; just the screen protector *smiles*

@beavis86,
Er.. pull the Mophie Juice Pack Air?! Er.. U think it's a cotton tee is it?! tongue.gif  Oil?! Er.. U might as well either NOT use the Mophic Juice Pack Air OR take off the skin lah tongue.gif
i heard my name here..tongue.gif
my bro came back home 2day n left da juice pack in nilai...i'll be heading thr 2molo or day after n wud try it out... for safety reasons, i had a temporary thin skin on it...wud be removing it and then trying it..biggrin.gif
OT:
i cudnt stop myself and went over 2 the dark side...jb my 3gs d....
harmeet15
post Jul 10 2009, 06:24 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 04:08 PM)
@dan2020,
I don't JB me phone but I believe the Wifi hotspot thing can still be done on my phone through BT Internet Tethering except I'm not sure if it'll work on multiple computers.

@arthurlim89,
Pls do not speculate the launch of the i3GS in MY.  There's more than enough talk about it here.

@jonest,
EhehE Yes.. It's 1511 not 1515 *grins*

@cocklea,
So when U coming back?!  U oredi got a unit for psyeo, Y haven't U gotten urs yet?!
U may be rite tink. We can tether one laptop with da phone n let other pc or laptops to connect to da host laptop or use adhoc. Hvnt tried it b4 but it's possible I tink. But still I'll want to try out tis myWi app. smile.gif

harmeet15
post Jul 10 2009, 09:08 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 06:32 PM)
@harmeet15,
Yes that's one way but do U think it's possible both laptops connect via BT?  I'm not v familiar with BT protocol but if it allows multiple pairings at a time, this theory should work too?

I could test it out next week when I'm back at the office - not bringing the XPS home tonight! biggrin.gif
as far as i can tell, maybe no la...it wud be better to pair up, n then try 2 look for the option, 'let others share my network'
i dun see this happening via cable coz thr is no connection setting for cable tethering...

0.0570sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:46 PM