^_^ Cat Lovers Version 5 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

AXMONZA
post Oct 29 2010, 12:24 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Oct 12 2010, 09:14 AM)
The brand Evo is considered a super premium cat food.
Of course its safe to consume.
Unlike Orijen which is not 'Halal' as it contains wild boar meat.
Excuse me, i think you got your facts wrong when you stated Orijen (catfood) contains wild boar meat.
You can check the ingredient list from this link:
http://www.orijen.ca/orijen/products/catki...ngredients.aspx
There are NO wild boar meat included. Most probably you got mixed up with orijen's 'regional red' dogfood which does include pork & wild boar meat.
Anyway, ALL catfood are not 'Halal' for human consumption as the animals used are not slaughter following islamic rites (sembelih etc.). LOL.

Added on October 29, 2010, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Oct 12 2010, 11:46 AM)
Hi Seleisha....

For your information RC is a super premium food and it is definitely good for your kitten  thumbup.gif

Sorry, but i juz have to give my 2 cents here;

It's commonly prescribed among petfood dietician, vets, etc that catfood categorised as 'super premium' only applies to 'GRAIN-FREE CATFOOD' such as Evo, Acana, Orijen and very few others. RC does have grains included in it's ingredient, so it's NOT considered 'super premium food' but still considered 'premium catfood' like Blackwood, Iams, Science Plan etc but still good for cats.
Juz my 2 cents

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Oct 29 2010, 12:47 PM
AXMONZA
post Oct 29 2010, 03:57 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Oct 29 2010, 01:04 PM)
Hi thre Axmonza,

Please refer to this link.  I won't simply quote saying that Orien contains pork :-

dari website champion petfoods:

http://www.orijen.ca/orijen/about/

We are an award-winning, family-owned and operated Canadian pet food maker with a tradition of innovation & quality spanning more than a quarter century. We use fresh regional ingredients to produce Biologically Appropriate foods that promote the peak health of dogs & cats.

Put simply, we use fresh regional ingredients to produce Biologically Appropriate foods that promote the peak health of dogs & cats.

We're Different
We sell only what we make ourselves. All of our foods are produced in our own award-winning factory here in Alberta, Canada.

Our fresh regional ingredients include free-run chicken, turkey & ducks, whole Grade A eggs, free range wild boar, bison and heritage pork, grass-fed lamb, and a variety of wild-caught freshwater & saltwater fish—all farmed or fished within our region, passed ‘fit for human consumption’ and delivered FRESH TO OUR DOOR. Each & every day!

1. Our focus is on ingredients that are sustainably farmed or fished WITHIN OUR REGION – by people we know & trust, and delivered to us FRESH (never frozen) each day (click here to learn more)
2. Our award-winning dog and cat foods are based on our ‘Biologically Appropriate’ nutritional philosophy (click here to learn more)

But perhaps what sets us furthest apart is our true commitment to and passion for dogs & cats. It is with our own cherished dogs & cats in mind that we produce ACANA and ORIJEN pet foods — a food to nourish your dog or cat as Nature intended.

In the ingredients listing for the cats, it was mentioned that 6 types of fresh meat is used as well.  How can we confirm that NO BOAR or PORK meat was used when it clearly states above that

"Our fresh regional ingredients include free-run chicken, turkey & ducks, whole Grade A eggs, free range wild boar, bison and heritage pork, grass-fed lamb, and a variety of wild-caught freshwater & saltwater fish—all farmed or fished within our region, passed ‘fit for human consumption’ and delivered FRESH TO OUR DOOR. Each & every day!"

"Anyway, ALL catfood are not 'Halal' for human consumption as the animals used are not slaughter following islamic rites (sembelih etc.). LOL."

Err.... based on the above statement, I don't any wise humans would consume cat or dog food  tongue.gif  However, some Muslims are particular about what they feed to their beloved pets as they follow the procedures of their religon and that is why the subject of food containing non halal items was brought up.  But if you are not the fussy type... then by all means go ahead and feed your pets with what you like.  I am not directing but merely informing. 

Just my two cents.
i thought that you would show the above link. My opinion is that the statement of the ingredients listed are in general, which means some of their product includes but some not. They didn't mean ALL of their product include ALL the meat mentioned. It's juz in general.

Let me show further, in this 'CAT & KITTEN' listing:

INGREDIENTS
Fresh deboned chicken, chicken meal, turkey meal, russet potato, fresh deboned salmon (a natural source of DHA and EPA), herring meal, sweet potato, fresh deboned lake whitefish, peas, fresh deboned walleye, chicken fat (naturally preserved with vitamin E and citric acid), chicken liver, salmon meal, fresh deboned turkey, fresh whole eggs, fresh deboned herring, sun-cured alfalfa, salmon oil, chicory root, dehydrated organic kelp, pumpkin, carrots, spinach, turnip greens, apples, cranberries, saskatoon berries, black currants, choline chloride, psyllium, licorice root, angelica root, fenugreek, marigold flowers, sweet fennel, peppermint leaf, chamomile flowers, dandelion, summer savory, rosemary, sea salt, vitamin supplements (vitamin A, vitamin D3, vitamin E, niacin, vitamin C, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, vitamin B5, vitamin B6, folic acid, biotin, vitamin B12), mineral supplements (zinc proteinate, iron proteinate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, selenium), dried Lactobacillus acidophilus product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product.'

they include poultry, fish etc but NO pork or wild boar.
While in this 'REGIONAL RED' Dogfood listing:

INGREDIENTS
Fresh deboned wild boar, fresh deboned lamb, lamb meal, russet potato, fresh deboned pork, peas, salmon meal, whitefish meal*, herring meal, fresh deboned bison, fresh whole eggs, potato starch, fresh deboned salmon (a natural source of DHA and EPA), alfalfa, sweet potato, fresh deboned walleye, salmon oil (naturally preserved with vitamin E), pea fiber, psyllium, pumpkin, tomatoes, carrots, apples, cranberries, Saskatoon berries, black currants, chicory root, licorice root, angelica root, fenugreek, marigold flowers, sweet fennel, peppermint leaf, chamomile flowers, dandelion, summer savory, rosemary, organic kelp, vitamin A, vitamin D3, vitamin E, niacin, zinc proteinate, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, vitamin B5, iron proteinate, vitamin B6, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, folic acid, biotin, vitamin B12, selenium, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product.

they include lamb, pork, wild boar, fish etc but NO poultry meat.
While in this '6 FISHCAT' listing :

INGREDIENTS
Fresh deboned salmon, herring meal, salmon meal, russet potato, fresh deboned northern walleye, salmon oil, peas, potato starch, whitefish meal, sweet potato, fresh deboned Lake Whitefish, fresh deboned herring, natural fish flavors, fresh deboned lake trout, fresh deboned flounder, sun cured alfalfa, chicory root, dehydrated organic kelp, pumpkin, carrots, spinach, turnip greens, apples, cranberries, Saskatoon berries, black currants, psyllium, choline chloride, licorice root, angelica root, fenugreek, marigold flowers, sweet fennel, peppermint leaf, chamomile flowers, dandelion, summer savory, rosemary, vitamin A, vitamin D3, vitamin E, niacin, zinc proteinate, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, vitamin B5, iron proteinate, vitamin B6, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, folic acid, vitamin C, biotin, vitamin B12, selenium, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product.

they include lotsa fish etc but NO poultry meat, pork, wild boar or even any land animals!

So this clearly means NOT ALL the animal meat above mention include in ALL of their product. They're individually selected and They merely boasting it in general.

As for human consumption, well...i'd say normally people dont really eat petfood BUT there are possibility that someone might be tempted, out of curiousity to taste it.. especially when there are petfood critics out there saying, 'this brand got lotsa salt', 'that brand rich with meat' etc.
Anyway did you watch "Turner and Hootch"? In that movie the dog caretaker (stars Tom Hanks) taste his dog's petfood coz he wonder why his dog only prefer one certain brand and end up eating the whole kibble (bone size kibble).
As you can see from what Orijen's claim : "Our fresh regional ingredients, passed ‘fit for human consumption", so basically its NOT UNwise to comsump orijen petfood juz that as Muslim they're not 'Halal' simply coz the animals are not slaughtered accordingly (tak sembelih).

Added on October 29, 2010, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(mecharojak @ Oct 29 2010, 01:29 PM)
I didn't know cats can have religious needs  whistling.gif
Yes, cutiepie is right. It's on the owner's part. Especially when handling it. Need to 'samak', you know (i'm not explaining it.. tired typing...LOL.)

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Oct 29 2010, 04:18 PM
AXMONZA
post Oct 29 2010, 06:23 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 29 2010, 05:43 PM)
haha well this is interesting issue...

to my opinion its all depends on the owner's sensitivity toward the 'non halal' ingredients and how they see their cat in your daily life. I mean there's no way of telling if other brands are halal or not, coz in the 'real' terms, chicken or meat that is not 'sembelih' properly in the muslim way is also not considered halal, so hard to tell ma...
For Muslims, Animals other than dogs and pigs (includes wild boar) regardless alive or death (sembelih or not) NO need to 'samak' but must be 'sembelih' in order to make it halal to eat for humans only (consumptionable animals only like poultry, goat, cows etc.). Dogs and pigs (includes wild boar) regardless dead or alive (waaa.. sounds like western movie...) MUST 'samak' IF in contact physically.

But bear in mind that the 'samak' in contact with dogs (doesn't include pigs), differ among Muslims from other part of the world especially in Mediterranean countries (including Northern African Countries) where they follow different 'school of thought' of Muslim 'mazhab' where they can touch dogs without 'samak'. So dont be surprised if you see Muslims especially in those countries hugs their dogs affectionally. This is very true when i visited Istanbul years ago, where full hijjab (tudung plus face cover - only show the eyes) women walk their dogs freely.

As for the currency notes, I'm at the same opinion with cutiepie.

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Oct 30 2010, 12:20 AM
AXMONZA
post Oct 29 2010, 11:37 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(siti_hani @ Oct 22 2010, 03:12 PM)
Anyone knows where I can get a sphynx kitten here in Malaysia? A cattery etc?
Are really interested in this breed of cat??
I do know someone who sells this cat, in fact he's a LYN member. He's specialize in selling exotic animals.
I enquire about this spynhx cat earlier this year juz out of curiousity and the seller sent me the pic. which he has at that time but now i'm not sure.
But do you really want? I ask twice coz:
1. It's really demanding to take care of this breed due to it's lack of hair; it's very sensitive to cool weather and cant be expose too long to the sun. It can easily fall sick like catch cold or fever.
2. The price tag is hefty too...i was quoted by the seller.. let juz say for kitten, it's even more expensive than CFA Registered Pedigreed Maine Coon cat! The adult are even more expensive...

Added on October 30, 2010, 12:18 am
QUOTE(evil_educator @ Oct 29 2010, 11:18 PM)
Hello guys,

i'm not sure if any of you guys heard about the orijen [/U]incident apparently some cats in australia died from it and it was traced back to orijen.

Also, brands like innova and evo which have been bought over by P & G (Procter & Gamble) conduct cruel animal testing. Please try to refrain from buying from this MNCs. As we all know, the bigger the company, the better they are at cutting costs thus the quality is sacrificed
This was two years ago...the cause have been indentified and resolved.
It happened only in Australia due to the nature of the country's very strict importing of anything that have to do with animal products & plants.
If you've been to australia, you will know how strict their customs about this. You must declare this 2 things and they have separate lane for those carrying them.
They'll throw away any food (such as biscuit, chocalate etc- i lost my maggie!), milk powder etc if they even found any tear or damage on its package, let alone if its already opened.
It's their way of protecting their island nation from contaminating anything undiserable.
Since the quantiy of meat in orijen's petfood are high (75%) and the meat are cooked at low temperature to maintain its nutrition, the australian health control doesn' allow this unless it go through some process which include irradiation.
This irradiation process was identified as the cause that turned the petfood bad. So Orijen petfood is not really at fault here.

As for cruel animal testing, i read about it done by IAMS. P&G, not sure.

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Oct 30 2010, 12:24 AM
AXMONZA
post Nov 3 2010, 09:28 AM

85 posts

--

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Nov 3 2010, 09:31 AM
AXMONZA
post Feb 9 2011, 09:42 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(acam2812 @ Feb 7 2011, 03:28 PM)
just wanna ask, my friend that day send a wild cat to vet when she saw it laying on the road. Now the cat is back at her house. Now just to ask, she asking either it is legal to keep the cat in captivity or do she need to release back to the place where she found it?

The cat at the vet.

here the pic of the wild cat after release by the vet
This is an Asian Leopard Cat, Malay name is Kucing Batu definetely not a bengal. It's listed as CITED : protected or endangered species. So it's illegal to keep one without permit from Perhilitan which is difficult to obtain nowadays especially after the Anson Wong's case (Perhilitan Officers were held for corruption). You could be fined up to Rm10,000 if i'm not mistaken plus jailed too. You can still try though especially mentioning to them that you found her injured by the road side but i personally think they will take her from you.
AXMONZA
post Feb 10 2011, 01:44 PM

85 posts

[quote=Cottoncandyclouds,Feb 9 2011, 10:13 PM]
Its not endangered here in Malaysia. I am VERY SURE OF THIS. Its protected because its a type of wildlife, but DEFINITELY not endangered.

CITES means Convention of International Trade of Endangered species. So animals listed in CITES and animals endangered ONLY in Malaysia and animals listed in' Akta Perlindungan Hidupan Liar 197'2 might be different.
CITES only involved in trading. The Leopard cat is listed in CITES but maybe not listed as endangered species in Malaysia.

Check this : http://www.wildlife.gov.my/pengumuman/Thir...9%20%282%29.pdf. Go to page 51, it's scientific name is 'Prionailurus bengalensis'. I got this from LYN website.

I also came across this website : http://www.earthsendangered.com/search-regions3.asp where it did list the Leopard cat as endangered.

Added on February 9, 2011, 10:17 pm
my cat loves bread. Mam mam

Bread is actually bad for cats. Although bread is not toxic to cats, but it is also not of any use to them. Cats have difficulty in digesting such high carbohydrate foods such as bread, corn and wheat, so it is not ideal to feed a cat bread on a regular basis where in long term the cats will probably encounter health problem.

Pls read this : http://www.acreaturecomfort.com/cathealth.htm

AXMONZA
post Mar 24 2011, 11:09 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(darusishak @ Mar 24 2011, 10:38 PM)
sent my cat, Kassim to vet yesterday because of d wound he got after fighting with stray cat. d wound small but got something like nanah there. already asked the vet people sedut the nanah. and they told me, kassim might have Sporotrichosis. need to wait 6 more days to be sure he didnt have the diseases. he cannot stand like normal. pity him . sad.gif *sporotrichosis dangerous to human also*

today i sent him to vet for 7 days so they can take care of him more. and to avoid he go fight with other cats, i spayed him. duhh.. pity him again. :\

dun want to upload the pics . later someone will go puke at the keyboard. tongue.gif
pity him for the wound. hope he will be ok.
'Sporotrichosis'??!!! My cat was suspected of that desease too but fortunately negatif. Sorry, dont want to scare u but It's a very serious desease.. as it can infect other cats, pets and even human. Normally it's incureable and the cat must be put to sleep otherwise it cud infect others and that's even worse! Better pray it's NOT Sporotrichosis.

Why hav to wait 6 days?? It can be determine by juz microscope the sample of the wound on the spot!

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Mar 24 2011, 11:11 PM
AXMONZA
post Mar 25 2011, 11:51 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Mar 25 2011, 07:05 PM)
does anyone know what kind of cat is this? TIA! biggrin.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzvUyu3zOmE...drec_grec_index
Persian... a pure high quality one... normally persian this beautiful comes with pedigree certificate.
AXMONZA
post Jul 14 2011, 01:39 PM

85 posts

Not 1.5 years la... average around 7-8 months but sometimes as early as 4 month depend on the cats individually...that's why sometime ppl neuter their cats as early as 4 months old..

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Jul 14 2011, 01:48 PM
AXMONZA
post Jul 14 2011, 01:58 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(XeLLisCompleX @ Jul 14 2011, 01:49 PM)
how bout female cat? what is their mature age?
What i mentioned before are general (for both male & female cats) but usually female matured a bit earlier than male.
Please dont allow your female cats to mate earlier than 8 months old as it's really bad for their health if she got pregnant and if she gave birth, most probably the kittens wont survive coz the mom woudnt know to feed and take care of her kitten instinctly...
AXMONZA
post Aug 21 2011, 02:08 PM

85 posts

BENGAL CAT STUD SERVICE
Any body knows anyone offers Bengal Stud Service? Pls inform me ya...My female bengal cat is in heat... I know a few from petshop but very expensive-Rm700 above.
AXMONZA
post Sep 20 2011, 12:21 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(ali86 @ Sep 12 2011, 02:23 PM)
guys, just asking....any maine coon breeder here? i'm looking for maine coon....tq
Check this: http://forums.petfinder.my/member.php?u=951.

AXMONZA
post Oct 10 2011, 12:59 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(blaserjagdwaffen @ Oct 7 2011, 05:36 PM)
yes, i can afford either evo or rc...my concern is to have the best dry food for my cats...smile.gif

so, is it true that evo is better than rc?
Evo is without a doubt much better than RC coz of the grain-free ingredients.... another brand is Orijen...

Added on October 10, 2011, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(gecko8 @ Oct 10 2011, 07:53 AM)
Blog and site haven't started yet.but if needed pic of I can forward to whom interested  smile.gif

How about FB acc.? You can post your bengals picture there right?

Added on October 10, 2011, 7:58 am
Yup.about the price,for those really interested,currently male brown spotted available.sire kittunkatz seri buana and dam Pendekar Kris dayanti.soon another F6 gonna give birth smile.gif .all kitten comes with TICA cert + health cert too.
Pls PM me the pics and price.

This post has been edited by AXMONZA: Oct 10 2011, 01:06 PM
AXMONZA
post Oct 25 2011, 12:18 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(vng69 @ Oct 25 2011, 10:51 AM)
juz check out the website. nid to call for more info.
yeah i know bout their short legs..as long as she likes it,im fine with it. i find it cute also though. =D
it seems the younger it is, the more expensive it is. hmm...best age to get? 4 months old? or 5? or 6? pls advise.
D'Bora Bora Cattery also sells munchkin... minimum age to get a cat generally is 13 weeks.. so for me the best age is 3 month.

0.0482sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:50 PM