CLOSED

BeastX
post Sep 30 2009, 01:26 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

............. Dell does have a full refund policy, not sure applicable in Malaysia or not.
BeastX
post Sep 30 2009, 07:23 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(porty @ Sep 30 2009, 04:27 PM)
i see > 95% monitors sold now dont have displayport. why so important?
vga d-sub survived for more than 15 years can still be used with adapter if gpu card doesnt have vga out

if you want triple-monitor setup with ati eyefinity and need to use 1 displayport from the card, can use this displayport to hdmi adapter eh
QUOTE(porty @ Sep 30 2009, 04:40 PM)
even got displayport to dvi-d adapter so i think we no need to worry about displayport taking over the world anytime soon biggrin.gif
Both these are passive DP to DVI/HDMI adapters .... not all DP ports will have pass-through DVI/HDMI signals going through the DP (also known DP+). You'll need a powered active DP to DVI/HDMI converter for the case of AMD/ATI 5870 (& all the rest of the 5000 series), if you want to power more than 2 monitors. These powered active converters are not cheap (around USD 100).

Besides adding DP input to a monitor does not incur much cost to the monitor manufacturers. In fact if a monitor with DP cost the same as without, perfect logic is to get one that has it). Especially if you r getting a new monitor.

QUOTE(yslysl @ Sep 30 2009, 06:45 PM)

Added on September 30, 2009, 6:49 pm
bro, Dell U2410 is not 16:9 which is not Full HD hehe smile.gif

Hello all, forgot to ask...
Among Viewsonic, Dell, Samsung etc, which 1 got USB port?
thanks smile.gif
U2410 is beyond FullHD (1920x1080) with 1920x1200 resolution (& it has a 4 port USB hub and a multi card reader)...
BeastX
post Oct 3 2009, 09:10 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Oct 3 2009, 06:27 PM)
Hey guys, are the power cords the same in terms of voltage if i buy a dell monitor from MY and use it in Australia?
BeastX
post Oct 4 2009, 08:22 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Oct 4 2009, 07:30 PM)
wana ask dat response time 2ms = 75Mhz...?
and 5ms = 60Mhz...?
i wana get a 22" monitor wif 75Mhz at least...
so means i nid to get a 2ms response time monitor...?
There are 2 default output for monitors... 60 and 120Hz.... only TN panel (2ms) are fast enough for 120Hz. Some 1680x1050 monitor can do be forced to do 75Hz through SL-DVI... dell 2209wa is one..

As a guide 120Hz requires 8.333ms "full pixel response", even 2ms GTG TN cannot do it perfectly.
60Hz... 16.7ms
75Hz... 13.3ms

5ms GTG should be sufficient for 75Hz.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 4 2009, 08:38 PM
BeastX
post Oct 6 2009, 11:48 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Oct 6 2009, 09:35 AM)
If LCD no DVI, but got HDMI, then hw the graphic card socket connect to that LCD?
Muz buy converter? Or the converter comes with the LCD ?
Haha, thanks in advance nod.gif
HDMI to DVI adapter, should cost around RM10
BeastX
post Oct 6 2009, 09:46 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Oct 6 2009, 12:24 PM)
I was about to ask the pricing of that converter.. thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Faint @ Oct 6 2009, 12:39 PM)
RM10  shocking.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif  Where do you found it ?
I bought mine from edbe, cost me RM40 included postage.
Got mine for RM14 (postage included, or free If I use coupons from Play-Asia)... but If you can find shops parting out this cheap adapter, RM10 is a fair price... There is actually no signal conversion occurring on this adapter.
BeastX
post Oct 7 2009, 12:27 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ghost705 @ Oct 7 2009, 10:56 AM)
wah...Sony preps 56-inch, 4K resolution monitor
Sony probably use the same glass panel cut from 28" 1920x1200 Viewsonic panels.

Actually with a thin enough bezel and with 4 TN 1080p panels with DP input, you can get a 47inch 4k display too. cost together with one 5870 six edition at probably 1/7th the price.

BeastX
post Oct 10 2009, 06:00 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Oct 9 2009, 10:07 PM)
confirm not dirt, just that do not know whether its dead pixel or stuck pixel
from what i've read, dead pixel can't be fixed, while stuck pixel can
hoping that it's just a stuck pixel, one tiny blue dot there, running the fix software now, let it be for few hours and see what will happen later
It's the sub-pixels that are defective... the red and green maybe dead, you'll need to cycle different colours to determine it

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 10 2009, 06:01 AM
BeastX
post Oct 13 2009, 05:44 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(yarusaru @ Oct 13 2009, 03:13 AM)
i wanna buy a hdmi cable..what kind of good cable would u guys recommend me n where to get it
based on price/performance ratio..
as long as it performs wonderful ill be delighted it doesnt hv to be perfect
i hope to hear from u guys..tq
Cheapest ones will do...
play-asia has some.. the cheapest one is out of stock a.t.m.
http://www.play-asia.com/SOap-23-83-87su-7...-j-70-1z5w.html
BeastX
post Oct 16 2009, 05:06 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Oct 15 2009, 01:02 PM)
Splitter:D
Get a multiple input switch, it could be powered or not...
BeastX
post Oct 17 2009, 08:30 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Oct 16 2009, 02:32 PM)
hdmi can carry sound + picture but dvi only can carry picture

and hdmi can carry up to a resolution 2560x1600p IINM
Not that accurate ..... although HDMI 1.3 and beyond can support more than 1600p no display device has implemented it yet, in fact I would say all present display devices (monitors/TVs) with HDMI port only support SL-DVI's bandwidth (which is a little more than 1200p)
BeastX
post Oct 22 2009, 08:07 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(zero_hour @ Oct 22 2009, 01:32 AM)
hmm,that model dont have HDMI right ...
HDMI is not essential on a monitor with DVI (with HDCP) a certain convenience only.. RM10 gets you an adapter to switch around...

more importantly it has display-port
BeastX
post Oct 22 2009, 08:11 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Oct 22 2009, 07:13 PM)
I've seen a lot of HDMI term in this thread, may i know what is it about? If you have HDMI port meaning you can watch Blu-Ray movies? Is it important? I've tried to google it but i don't really get what does it mean (can transfer audio/video data?), too technical i think. And also, is there any significant difference between the 21.5" and 22"?
HDMI = (DVI + digital audio) ... sincce most monitors have no built-in speakers... HDMI = DVI. To be more specific, HDMI = SL-DVI.

just different sockets, cheap adapters/cables makes switching between the 2 easy...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 22 2009, 08:13 PM
BeastX
post Oct 23 2009, 10:06 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Oct 23 2009, 09:05 AM)
Hye guys, can anyone tell me what is the#  Response Time  ? and 50,000: 1?
is it important to look at that? is it the higher the better? like response 2ms or 50,000:1?
Response time, time taken for pixels to change colour, lower, better, most companies quote G2G, grey to grey, when it should be black to white and back to black again

Contrast ratio: luminance ratio of the darkest colour to brightest colour. higher, better..... Many ways to measure, companies choose those that gives high results,
A better/more even/fair test would be close checkered pattern on screen test

actually if your darkest luminance is 0, your contrast ratio is infinity, .. even if your brightest is very low.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 23 2009, 10:09 AM
BeastX
post Oct 23 2009, 10:42 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(LKW3 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:22 AM)
To BeastX:

Someone is selling the SAMSUNG XL2370 here in mudah: http://www.mudah.my/Samsung-LED-Monitor-XL2370-4192108.htm

Am very much interested in it. Hope you can give some comments.

Also, can it be compared against the DELL U2410?

Thank you.
Different panels/categories, IPS for the U2410, TN for the Samsung... The cheapest 23/24" 1200p/1080p LED IPS panels is the Apple 24", more than 2x U2410's price.

I would say the Samsung is kind of overpriced.... but you pay more for the slim form factor (less due to LEDs, they should be cheap). Bezel's kind of wide, I would've prefer thin, up-to one's taste or functional needs...

I say the market is ripe for a resonably priced IPS/PVA with LED back-lit, for people wanting something better than TN but not paying significantly more.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 23 2009, 10:43 AM
BeastX
post Oct 23 2009, 02:20 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Oct 23 2009, 01:24 PM)
Also must our choices trend to display port output for future use or is display port a none event..
Since Ati cards with eyefinity tech uses them..and i notice the dell p2210 monitors has them built in..
Display port incur very little cost to the manufacturer ( very little electronics needed, pure digital with no legacy issue/drawbacks).... omitting them is just laziness/not forward looking on their part/or money pinching to the extreme. HDMI needs licensing fees... Display port does not. With the big 3 onboard.. Dell, HP, Lenovo, ........ ATI, Nvidia, Apple, Samsung... Intel had to join... their UDI port failed to get traction

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 23 2009, 02:24 PM
BeastX
post Oct 23 2009, 04:04 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Oct 23 2009, 03:31 PM)
Can i conclude that if i have external speakers, i won't be needing this HDMI?

I'm planning to go for the Samsung 2243SW. What do you guys think about this? What's the difference of 2243SW and 2243SW+? There are so many types out there, SWX, BW, BWX, P, T etc. rclxub.gif
not really, Without speakers on the LCD monitor, HDMI or SL-DVI input is just the same. Just a cheap adapter is needed if you have need for the other connector type.

You may want to look monitors with multiple digital inputs, multiple DVI, HDMI or combo.. (and with Display Port) if you have multiple video sources.

If not, best price, or best panels or a compromise ....

Basically HDMI or DVI is a non-issue for a monitor below 1920x1200 resolution (or the limit of SL-DVI's bandwidth).
BeastX
post Oct 31 2009, 07:55 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(giaogiao @ Oct 30 2009, 09:52 PM)
Hi. I'm new here.
Want to ask bout my CRT.
(Cant find any CRT Thread here. Don't shoot me ar. laugh.gif)

Here's my situation:

I have 2 pairs of PCs. One is super old P3 CPU with Acer 15" mia CRT. Another one is P4 with Samsung SyncMaster 793DF. Till recently, I brought only my CPU back from my hostel (My samsung left at hostel) Then, two CPU shares the Acer 15". When my dad wants to use his comp, he plug out the vga from my cpu and put into his. Vice versa.

Then, last month, out of sudden the Acer crt went blank and i smelt smoke. Quickly turned off and cant open ever since.
Later, I brought back my Samsung from my hostel and continued to sharing the monitor.

Then, now.. The monitor sometimes turn blank, or sometimes all the settings to set the brightness, contrast, length, width etc all lari.. sometimes the colour turn black with purple and green (like the film negative). The worse case: screen turned black with some random curvy lines moving and the monitor's power indicator (yellow LED) blinking so fast. May be 2 times a second.

At first, I will just need to press monitor's Off button and leave it for few seconds. It will restore to normal. But now, even I plug out the VGA cable and power cable and put back, also useless. Got to try so many times then only okay.

What happen to my monitor ar? It's working perfectly when I used it at my hostel. Am suspecting is it the super old P3 spoiled the monitor.  hmm.gif

Oh yeah. Want to ask, where can service / fix CRT ar? I asked the pc shop at my place. He told, lots of them retired liao. Didnt hear ppl fixing CRT for quite sometime summore. Any suggestions?
Plugging and unglugging VGA is not a good idea.... use a KVM or a video switch.... either get a 2nd hand CRTs... or get a LCD (with a vga switch) or 2.

Time for CRT to die

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0546sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:18 AM