iPod Touch User Thread v3, Everything about iPod

drgnkid
post Oct 9 2009, 08:52 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(-PatheticSoul- @ Oct 9 2009, 08:03 PM)
alright itouch 3G is officially in Malaysia.went to lowyat mac there.its in yooo!!
REALLY!!!!!!???? WOO HOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

Did you buy? Which shop? Mac Studio?

Wait a minute, is it the same shop that dkzk86 went to? As far as I know, there is no Machines or Mac City in Lowyat...and Apple Online Store still says delivery is 2-4 weeks.

This post has been edited by drgnkid: Oct 9 2009, 09:03 PM
drgnkid
post Oct 9 2009, 09:17 PM

109 posts

AAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just called Mac Studio in Lowyat....NO MORE 32GB OR 64GB..................SOLD OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! cry.gif vmad.gif

They asked me to try again next week. sad.gif
drgnkid
post Oct 9 2009, 11:29 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(dkzk86 @ Oct 9 2009, 11:14 PM)
yea mac studio..just remembered the shop name...hahah
Damn...they are an Apple Premium Reseller. Means its legit..

I wonder why they stock up so little? They know there is a big demand...?! blink.gif

Are they coming in in batches?
drgnkid
post Oct 11 2009, 12:22 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(cookie860217 @ Oct 10 2009, 08:42 PM)
just got a new ipod touch 32gb 3g from all it hypermarket. last unit there

still exploring

hehe
Which All IT did you go to? Lowyat?

QUOTE(valho @ Oct 10 2009, 08:56 PM)
Got mine today at Mac Studio at LYP, 32GB version. I think they still have stocks

Bloody hell......I called yest and they said no more stock! mad.gif I will make a trip there tomorrow and see...

May I ask what is the part number for your 32GB ipod?

This post has been edited by drgnkid: Oct 11 2009, 12:24 AM
drgnkid
post Oct 11 2009, 12:45 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Oct 11 2009, 12:39 AM)
you mean the model number at the back ? it's A1318.
I was at the area today so thought I'll just try my luck, and I got lucky biggrin.gif
I believe that's a 3g. The part number starts with MC xxxx ?

Do you know how many they have left? If they still have, I wanna buy tomorrow (later today, since it's past 12 tongue.gif )

Added on October 11, 2009, 12:47 am
QUOTE(cookie860217 @ Oct 11 2009, 12:39 AM)
yes the one in lowyat
Oh ok..but u mentioned it's the last unit, right? You're so lucky bro!

This post has been edited by drgnkid: Oct 11 2009, 12:47 AM
drgnkid
post Oct 11 2009, 01:07 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Oct 11 2009, 12:57 AM)
yeah parts number start with MC xxxx, I think they still have stock since when I bought it they nvr mention it's the last unit smile.gif
Was your ipod placed on the shelf? Did you manage to see if there were any more when the sales person took yours for you? What time did you buy?

Sorry for asking so many questions but I just wanna see what the probabilities are cos I don't wanna go down all the way from PJ if the chances are slim.

QUOTE(cookie860217 @ Oct 11 2009, 01:01 AM)
yea the sales girl said it was the last unit and it was the only 32gb there...the rest was 8gb

she said that they brought in less unit of the 32gb and more of the 64gb but the 64gb sold out faster.. lol
ok..thanks, bro. Congrats on your new ipod....
drgnkid
post Oct 11 2009, 01:21 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Oct 11 2009, 01:15 AM)
there have a display unit, while for mine the guy went behind counter or something to get it, I didn't really see since I was looking at some AKG earphones they have haha.

btw I found their site here, they have a branch at Digital Mall as well. Maybe just give them a call before you go over just in case smile.gif

Thanks, now I need to find some sort of case to protect my ipod touch biggrin.gif
I see. Heheh...was just looking through their site too..

I'm not sure if I trust phone calls anymore. The last time I called, they said don't have and you got it!

I will try LY first cos usually PJ is slow in getting stuff. Wish me luck tongue.gif

I actually have something in mind for protection. If I manage to get my touch tomorrow, I will be getting the Switcheasy Neotouch case and the Switcheasy PureAR screen protector. Maybe you might wanna try that.

Anyway, thanks bro. Sorry to disturb..

This post has been edited by drgnkid: Oct 11 2009, 01:23 AM
drgnkid
post Oct 11 2009, 02:43 PM

109 posts

THE WAIT IS OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif

Went to LY this morning to get the 32GB 3rd gen Ipod Touch. Seems like the stock has arrived as there are a few places that have stock. I bought mine from a Thundermatch stall at the ground floor nearby the entrance. I wanted to go to Macstudio but I found that their pricing a bit high and they were not willing to give discounts. Also, I wanted to get the Neotouch casing but they are selling more expensive than their branch in Digital Mall. Wonder why is there a discrepancy?

Currently unboxing the product...... tongue.gif

Bye.....
drgnkid
post Oct 11 2009, 03:00 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Oct 11 2009, 02:58 PM)
Congratulation! How much you bought for it? Is it the same price as listed in Apple Store?
Cheaper than but I don't think it's appropriate to list the price here..... tongue.gif

If pay cash even cheaper but I pay using installment so slightly more expensive because of handling charges.
drgnkid
post Oct 11 2009, 09:59 PM

109 posts

I have friends who cannot even fill up 16GB on their touch. I think it all depends on the individual's usage.
drgnkid
post Oct 12 2009, 12:43 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(Vagrant @ Oct 11 2009, 11:02 PM)
huhh?? went to machine today n still no news about when 3g is arriving in MALAYSIA mad.gif  mad.gif !!!
da workers oso cant tell exactly or approximately when is da units "officially launch"  yawn.gif
forget machines. Make a trip to ly. A lot there. I got mine at thundermatch
drgnkid
post Oct 13 2009, 10:46 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Oct 12 2009, 08:27 PM)
blackra1n your 3G Touch already?  Definitely worth it.  Unless u guys waiting for Chronic Dev to release unconfirmed untethered one.

Bro, how you jailbreak ah? I tried to jailbreak this afternoon but cannot.

After I run Blackra1n, I cannot restart my IPT because if I do, it will ask me to connect to iTunes. I've upgraded to OS 3.1.2.

Also Cydia won't work.. sad.gif

Can teach me?
drgnkid
post Oct 14 2009, 01:29 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Oct 13 2009, 11:54 PM)
Direct procedure to JB with blackra1n

1) Update to 3.1.2 if you haven't
2) Connect the touch to PC
3) Run blackra1n -> make it ra1n
4) Don't do anything and wait for reboot
5) after reboot, go to the app "blackra1n"
6) install cydia/rock/icy

and, you're done
Thanks Kyl3...yes, i did as such..

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Oct 14 2009, 01:33 AM)
on 1st run of blackra1n did u manage to see geohot's picture on your Touch?  and blackra1n icon in your ipod?

for Touch 3G u need to run it twice, 1st to JB it and once again to reboot it.

and subsequently for every reboot u need to blackra1n using your pc again, otherwise it wont boot and stuck at connect iTunes logo.

so in your case, since u say u stuck at 'connect to itunes', exit iTunes, click make it rain on your pc,  then attach your ipod.  If iTunes comes out again and asks u to restore dont do so.
I managed to JB, thx bro. So meaning to say, everytime I reboot my IPT, I need to connect it to the PC and run blackra1n? Isn't there a patch for this? What happens if I am not near my PC and I need to reboot? Does this happen to iPhone too?
drgnkid
post Oct 14 2009, 06:24 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Oct 14 2009, 05:57 PM)
New ipod touch 3g stock available in Machines, KLCC. Whoever want to buy can go there grab it.
Machines is so slow. Tot of getting from Machines but just cannot wait anymore. Anyway, the IPT 3G is available everywhere now.

Thanks for the heads up, anyway....

Cheers.
drgnkid
post Oct 15 2009, 02:13 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Oct 14 2009, 07:45 PM)
yes, that's the special case of our 3rd gen ipod touch.  it is called tethered jailbreak.  for blackra1n all other devices(such as iphone, ipod touch 2G) are untethered, except ipod touch 3g.

in summary, dont reboot or do something that can cause reboot if u are away from a pc that has blackra1n.

there is no patch for this currently.  A group called Chronic Dev would be releasing their own JB(not known when) but even they cant confirm whether it would be untethered for Touch 3G.

btw, Machines called me while i was driving this afternoon, I think it's Mid Valley machines, cause I asked them to call when Touch 3G has arrived there.  But i got my US set earlier(and cheaper) thanks to a forumer.

I'm curious of those who bought in LYP, do the Touch 3G 32gb going cheaper than RM1100 in shops there, like ALLIT or Thundermatch?
I bought from Thundermatch. I don't think it is possible to go under RM1100 unless used set..

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Oct 15 2009, 07:12 AM)
where can i buy screen protectors for ipod touch?  cant seem to find it anywhere, even this forum
Can find in Mac Stores. I recommend Switcheasy PureAR...

QUOTE(valho @ Oct 15 2009, 11:24 AM)
more space is always good, but for me 32gb is already good enough, currently I still have 25.3 gig of space after putting in all my songs, a few videos and a few hundreds photos inside biggrin.gif
Yea..I'm finding it hard to fill up my 32GB. tongue.gif
drgnkid
post Oct 15 2009, 11:06 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Oct 15 2009, 10:18 PM)
oh, register in iTunes Store not Apple website.

What if we don't register? Is the warranty still valid if we don't register in iTunes?

Thanks for the info.
It depends on what you are registering. You have to register at itunes store for your appleID but you have to also register your IPT for warranty through Apple site via this link

Wow....I really enjoy my iPod more since blackrain tongue.gif Now I know why ppl like to jailbreak their iphone/ipod....

This post has been edited by drgnkid: Oct 15 2009, 11:07 PM
drgnkid
post Oct 15 2009, 11:32 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(username86 @ Oct 15 2009, 11:19 PM)
just wanna ask. how to buy games/app? must have credit card or what?

can i just sent to apple store/machines/switch to buy it for me?

somebody plis help me.
In order to buy apps, you must first register for an appleID in iTunes Store. It is possible to register for an appleID without a credit card but you will only be limited to getting only free apps.

Not sure if the apple stores have such service but you can always give it a try....

For more info, I suggest you read the pinned threads in the beginning of the ipod bar sub forum. That might help..
drgnkid
post Oct 18 2009, 09:20 PM

109 posts

Yes, I am enjoying my iPod more now that it is jailbroken.
drgnkid
post Oct 21 2009, 11:34 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Oct 20 2009, 03:50 PM)
dunno bro, what do u like to do?  u wanna install themes?

-connect to wifi
-open cydia
-if this is first time, choose 'essential updates only'
-goto tab SEARCH
-find WINTERBOARD
-install
-find themes.  the same way u found Winterboard, thru the Search tab in Cydia. 
-Dont have idea which themes to install?  Go HERE or HERE.

To Change Themes
-open winterboard
-tick or select the theme u want to apply
-press home button
-device will respring by itself and u will go to the lockscreen with new theme applied
-enjoy

*remember to untick the previous theme before applying new one
wicked themes, bro! drool.gif
drgnkid
post Oct 25 2009, 12:53 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(username86 @ Oct 23 2009, 05:21 PM)
if i sync my app at other computer and then i use another computer to sync new app.

so my previous app still save in my ipod or i must download it again?
If you purchased or downloaded your apps from iTunes, then you can transfer the apps between pcs but if the apps are downloaded via cydia, then it can only sync wif 1 pc

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0296sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:30 AM