3,603 posts

This is my target for next year....

• Number of channels: 3

• Amplifier Class: Short signal path A/B

• Output design: Triple Darlington with On semi-conductor output stages

• Differential Drive: Dual Differential input

• Types of inputs: Both Balanced (XLR) and Un-balanced (RCA)

• Type of outputs: Audiophile quality 5 way binding post

• Display type: Digital status indicators

8 ohm rating:
3 channels - 8 ohm = 200 watts per channel
2 channels - 8 ohm = 250 watts per channel
1 channels - 8 ohm = 300 watts per channel

4 ohm rating:
3 channels - 4 ohm = 300 watts per channel
2 channels - 4 ohm = 400 watts per channel
1 channels - 4 ohm = 500 watts per channel

• THD+N at rated power output: 0.007%

• S/N ratio: >100db

• Frequency response: 10 to 120Khz (-3db) and 20 to 20 (with less than .15db deviation)

• Gain structure: 32db

• Transformer size: 850VA Toroid

• Secondary capacitance: 60,000uF

• Weight: 57 pounds (unboxed) | 71 pounds (boxed)

• 17” W x 7.75” H x 19” D

to drive my front L/R/C
let the SR6003 drive the surround only
ar.....hopefully the got bonus this year.... sweat.gif tongue.gif
dreaming 1st......
dirtrun
post Jun 17 2009, 03:51 PM

3,136 posts

Walau eh bro..

Wats de expected street price of tat hunk of metal???

Cheers
Dirtrun
TSmpyw
post Jun 17 2009, 03:55 PM

3,603 posts

if u r in USA...cheap cheap...only USD599....
but we r here in bolehland....so, if can escape tax...then very good tongue.gif
dirtrun
post Jun 17 2009, 03:58 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 17 2009, 03:55 PM)
if u r in USA...cheap cheap...only USD599....
but we r here in bolehland....so, if can escape tax...then very good tongue.gif

Ya..

Tats a gud price.. but here...

Sighsss
Dirtrun

pierreye
post Jun 17 2009, 06:49 PM

1,308 posts

I'm aiming for XPA-5. After comparing both XPA-3 and XPA-5, I believe XPA-5 is better choice. Reason is even if you only use for L, R and C, you get higher output. Second, if one of the channel die, at least you have another 2 channel as spare. I wouldn't want to send this unit back to US for repair. The shipping cost will be the killer. If you check their forum, you will see that XPA-5 is more popular than XPA-3. Future if you want to upgrade to full power amp, just buy another XPA-2.
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 10:22 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jun 17 2009, 06:49 PM)
I'm aiming for XPA-5. After comparing both XPA-3 and XPA-5, I believe XPA-5 is better choice. Reason is even if you only use for L, R and C, you get higher output. Second, if one of the channel die, at least you have another 2 channel as spare. I wouldn't want to send this unit back to US for repair. The shipping cost will be the killer. If you check their forum, you will see that XPA-5 is more popular than XPA-3. Future if you want to upgrade to full power amp, just buy another XPA-2.
That's informative. I am thinking of buying power amp too. Taukeh mpyw, we sapu XPA-5 together lah. I told you abt the 'thing' this afternoon brows.gif
megatron007
post Jun 17 2009, 11:02 PM

4,000 posts

walao..the XPA can do simi ?
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 11:18 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 17 2009, 11:02 PM)
walao..the XPA can do simi ?

It's multi channel power amp

s6xs9x
post Jun 18 2009, 12:25 AM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

600bucks USD well it's still cheaper than any AVR which has the same power rating thou. Since you've already have a processor it's a good call.

Estimated around 4.5K D2d?

Would get on when I move in to the new house.
htkaki
post Jun 18 2009, 09:07 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Erm... apart from XPA-5, will buy this to drive my Klipsch LR since its min pwr rating is 100W and max out at 400W (if got moolah)

dirtrun
post Jun 18 2009, 03:22 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jun 18 2009, 12:25 AM)
600bucks USD well it's still cheaper than any AVR which has the same power rating thou. Since you've already have a processor it's a good call.

Estimated around 4.5K D2d?

Would get on when I move in to the new house.
Well,

Most pwr amps give tru rated 'watts' with all channels driven unlike sum avr's who bolster up their claims a bit..

Cheers
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Jun 18 2009, 03:23 PM
djdyks
post Jun 19 2009, 09:17 AM

404 posts

Really elite class ...
Congrats on your new purchase ... AXIOM ! and soon to purchase ... EMOTIVA !
TSmpyw
post Jun 19 2009, 09:27 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(djdyks @ Jun 19 2009, 09:17 AM)
Really elite class ...
Congrats on your new purchase ... AXIOM ! and soon to purchase ... EMOTIVA !
eh...all these brands are poor man's HT gear lar...

elite go for Krell, B&W, Martin Logan, Dynaudio, Naim etc.....and their speakers cable alone can buy my whole set of HT equipment liao..... sweat.gif
car_o_scope
post Jun 19 2009, 09:56 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 19 2009, 09:27 AM)

elite go for Krell, B&W, Martin Logan, Dynaudio, Naim etc.....and their speakers cable alone can buy my whole set of HT equipment liao..... sweat.gif
Sometimes, expensive gears cannot guarantee it will work well with other equipments and also in the room. rclxub.gif

htkaki
post Jun 19 2009, 02:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 19 2009, 09:27 AM)

Bro, not going home yet ah? Your new toys waiting for you lah.

Sorry for asking you out for lunch just now. Else, you would have some poison here already tongue.gif
TSmpyw
post Jun 19 2009, 03:02 PM

3,603 posts

eh....the pos laju guy not here yet lar...sad.gif
arremie
post Jun 19 2009, 04:15 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

errr....how do u hook up av receiver, power amp and speakers together? I'm still confuse donno what goes where rclxub.gif
htkaki
post Jun 19 2009, 04:29 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Pre-out of the rcvr
dirtrun
post Jun 19 2009, 04:35 PM

3,136 posts

AVR -> PWR AMP -> SPKRS

Avr must hav pre-outs for tis to work.. n u nid analog rca cables..

Cheers
Dirtrun
arremie
post Jun 19 2009, 04:41 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

so if ur power amp 3 channels only, front n center speakers will connect to ur power amp n surround speakers still connected to receiver? power amp has no volume control right? everything still control by receiver? power amp only to boost power?
htkaki
post Jun 19 2009, 04:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

You are a fast learner!

car_o_scope
post Jun 19 2009, 04:56 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 19 2009, 04:41 PM)
so if ur power amp 3 channels only, front n center speakers will connect to ur power amp n surround speakers still connected to receiver? power amp has no volume control right? everything still control by receiver? power amp only to boost power?
The receiver will act as the control unit only.
In an integrated amp/receiver, it is consisted of two parts.
One is the control (something like pre amplifier) and the other is the power amplifier.

If you are adding power amp to your receiver, the power amp will take over the job from receiver to drive the speakers but the signals are being fed by the receiver's pre amplifier part.

Power amp can maintain a more consistent output compared to receiver's built in power amp. The drop in performance is due to distortions and heat.
(Sorry if explanation not clear... but something like that lar.. laugh.gif)

sonyman
post Jun 19 2009, 08:35 PM

1,043 posts

if you can. buy a receiver that does HD audio, upscaling and make sure it does preout. then in the future when you upgrade your speakers, you need more kick, just add on a power amp.
arremie
post Jun 19 2009, 08:50 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

tq tq notworthy.gif

totally got it now. i must be quite smart tongue.gif laugh.gif
pierreye
post Jun 20 2009, 07:11 PM

1,308 posts

Normally emo have special sales on 4/july. If discount is good, might get the XPA-5.
jchong
post Jun 20 2009, 10:57 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jun 20 2009, 07:11 PM)
Normally emo have special sales on 4/july. If discount is good, might get the XPA-5.
Thanks for the tip. Let's keep a lookout for Independence Day sales smile.gif
htkaki
post Jun 21 2009, 09:20 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 20 2009, 10:57 PM)
Thanks for the tip. Let's keep a lookout for Independence Day sales smile.gif

drool.gif

But need to count my cash since I have not much to spare now sad.gif (Flipping Ah Longs' cards)

Taukeh mpyw is ultra keen on XPA-5 whistling.gif

easternred
post Jun 22 2009, 08:14 AM

61 posts

was quoted 804usd for xpa-3 d-d
jchong
post Jun 22 2009, 08:19 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(easternred @ Jun 22 2009, 08:14 AM)
was quoted 804usd for xpa-3 d-d
That means D2D shipping alone is USD205 (since the XPA-3 is USD599). Total with local taxes would be about USD1,017.
easternred
post Jun 22 2009, 01:36 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 22 2009, 08:19 AM)
That means D2D shipping alone is USD205 (since the XPA-3 is USD599). Total with local taxes would be about USD1,017.
Close my eyes and just hit the transfer button. Now I'm rm2872 poorer.
TSmpyw
post Jun 22 2009, 02:53 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(easternred @ Jun 22 2009, 01:36 PM)
Close my eyes and just hit the transfer button. Now I'm rm2872 poorer.
fuyoh....remember to give FR when you received it....
might want the XPA-3.....
kiam
post Jun 22 2009, 03:50 PM

183 posts

so easternred took the plunge? biggrin.gif mpyw poison is effective!
htkaki
post Jun 22 2009, 04:16 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 22 2009, 02:53 PM)
fuyoh....remember to give FR when you received it....
might want the XPA-3.....
Boss, tarak ngam lah for you. Too powerful for the front 3 and puny power for your surr sad.gif
TSmpyw
post Jun 22 2009, 04:33 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 22 2009, 04:16 PM)
Boss, tarak ngam lah for you. Too powerful for the front 3  and puny power for your surr  sad.gif
my surround can take max 120W nia...so the SR6003 just ngam to drive 4 channel at ard 110W
the Axiom max can take 250W and the center 400W...for 2 channel, the XPA-3 could provide 225W/ch which is sufficient (double of what the getting now)...so should be just right.... sweat.gif
putih
post Jun 22 2009, 04:37 PM

293 posts

Boss, tarak ngam lah for you. Too powerful for the front 3  and puny power for your surr  sad.gif
That's what I'm wondering. If you have 3 LCR driven by external AMP, the surrounds by internal amp, won't the sound output be "weird".... because external amp and internal have different sonic and electronic characters... I think if I go the external power route, I will output all channels to external amps of one brand and series , whether 5ch-in-one, 3 stereo amps, 2 LCR, or 5 monoblocks. Anyone can verify this? Tq.

htkaki
post Jun 22 2009, 04:38 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Later, you will know why I said so...... brows.gif
TSmpyw
post Jun 22 2009, 04:47 PM

3,603 posts

poison me to change surround ar? brows.gif
htkaki
post Jun 22 2009, 04:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 22 2009, 04:47 PM)
poison me to change surround ar? brows.gif
Not only surround ler tongue.gif I bet you will regret after getting your XPA-3 (if I know you well) laugh.gif
TSmpyw
post Jun 22 2009, 04:52 PM

3,603 posts

then I no need to get lor....tongue.gif
jchong
post Jun 22 2009, 05:16 PM

5,989 posts

So you mean there will be a mismatch between the front 3 and the surrounds? Got that much difference between the XPA-3 and the SR6003 (even if only driving the surr)?
arremie
post Jun 24 2009, 06:13 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Say ur speaker only 100W max, no prob driving it with 200W receiver/power amp? or will it clip n damage.
car_o_scope
post Jun 24 2009, 09:43 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 24 2009, 06:13 PM)
Say ur speaker only 100W max, no prob driving it with 200W receiver/power amp? or will it clip n damage.
Speakers have higher chances of being damaged by low powered amps rather than high powered amps.
arremie
post Jun 24 2009, 09:52 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Cool....no worries then. Thanks notworthy.gif
megatron007
post Jun 24 2009, 09:55 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 24 2009, 09:43 PM)
Speakers have higher chances of being damaged by low powered amps rather than high powered amps.
exactly.... like those ppl pumping current instead of signal to the speaker driver.... eventually u are doing goreng2 biggrin.gif

Added on June 24, 2009, 9:56 pmif AVR is pariah grade??

so rubbish in rubbish out

get power amp also no use rite? sad.gif

This post has been edited by megatron007: Jun 24 2009, 09:56 PM
car_o_scope
post Jun 24 2009, 10:07 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 24 2009, 09:55 PM)
exactly.... like those ppl pumping current instead of signal to the speaker driver.... eventually u are doing goreng2 biggrin.gif

Added on June 24, 2009, 9:56 pmif AVR is pariah grade??

so rubbish in rubbish out

get power amp also no use rite? sad.gif
Not really. Surely can feel the differences.
If you have poweramp, the AVR's output is already nothing (useless).
Coz the poweramp will drive the speakers.
AVR will be the signals processor only.

Poweramp usually have a better output consistency.
Very useful if your speakers are demanding and also high volume listening.
So, with a poweramp, the performance will surely increase.
jchong
post Jun 25 2009, 09:10 AM

5,989 posts

Ok, I inquired with Emotiva about shipping and discounts if for example 4 pieces are bought at the same time.

1. Unfortunately, no discount.
2. However, will save a bit on shipping since for 4 pieces of XPA-5, total cost D2D is US$585.87 or $146.46 each. This is compared to US$205 shipping paid by easternred for his 1 unit of XPA-3.

Just for info if anyone is thinking of doing a MO smile.gif
arremie
post Jun 25 2009, 09:26 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

May I ask why this particular XPA model? What about other brand of power amp?
car_o_scope
post Jun 25 2009, 09:32 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 25 2009, 09:26 AM)
May I ask why this particular XPA model? What about other brand of power amp?
I might have no idea in mutlichannel HT systems but when I looked at the Emotiva, I feel that the prices are very reasonable given that sort of performance.
Hence, the Emotiva is the focus of our fellow forummers here.

Not to say that other brands are not good.
There are lots of brands that are good but most of them dont come cheap.
arremie
post Jun 25 2009, 09:35 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I see....price over performance issue la. Good enuf reason for me smile.gif
pierreye
post Jun 25 2009, 01:10 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Jun 22 2009, 04:37 PM)
That's what I'm wondering. If you have 3 LCR driven by external AMP, the surrounds by internal amp, won't the sound output be "weird".... because external amp and internal have different sonic and electronic characters... I think if I go the external power route, I will output all channels to external amps of one brand and series , whether 5ch-in-one, 3 stereo amps,  2 LCR, or 5 monoblocks. Anyone can verify this? Tq.
Should be no problem as majority of the sound is coming from L,R,C. Surround normally wiil only provide ambient sound. Also, I think lots of people mix and match speaker for surround and front speaker. The advice is to at least get your L,R,C from the same brand and same size of drivers. Just make sure you level match all the speaker.

I have L, R, C from B&W 600 series, Axiom QS8 for side surround and Xavian XC for back surround.

Also, mpyw already have axiom speaker, I think can get some further discount if mpyw post in axiom forum that he offer audition to other potential buyer. We all can pretend that we had audition from mpyw axiom speaker than share the discount.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jun 25 2009, 01:14 PM
easternred
post Jun 26 2009, 09:51 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 25 2009, 09:10 AM)
Ok, I inquired with Emotiva about shipping and discounts if for example 4 pieces are bought at the same time.

1. Unfortunately, no discount.
2. However, will save a bit on shipping since for 4 pieces of XPA-5, total cost D2D is US$585.87 or $146.46 each. This is compared to US$205 shipping paid by easternred for his 1 unit of XPA-3.

Just for info if anyone is thinking of doing a MO smile.gif
Unfortunately my order didn't come thru so I'm all for the MO
jchong
post Jun 26 2009, 10:54 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(easternred @ Jun 26 2009, 09:51 PM)
Unfortunately my order didn't come thru so I'm all for the MO
Eh, I thought your order submitted and you sent payment already. What happened?
TSmpyw
post Jun 27 2009, 08:28 AM

3,603 posts

I am rethinking again if wanna get the Emotiva or not after reading this..... sweat.gif blink.gif

I thought I would post this here since this is where my story started. Caution=long post.

Some of you tried to warn me, but like an idiot I wouldn't listen. The reviews and price point of the RPA-2 was just too tempting.

Anyway, I was really, really impressed when I got my RPA-2 back in Jan. Posted a glowing review and everything. I think it was about a month later the problems started with the amp.

While I had no heat or shutdown issues with the RPA-2 like some others, my amp just completely died. The left channel completely went out, nothing, nada, gone. Now the weird thing is when I went to sleep that Saturday night (after listening most of the day)the amp was fine. It went into standby mode and I went to bed.

The next morning I woke up, walked into the living room and noticed the solid red LED was on. I powered up everything and the left channel on the RPA-2 was gone. After doing some trouble shooting, I had to call Emotiva.

Now I will say one thing. Emo was very professional and provided excellent customer service. They shipped a new one out asap and issued a call tag for the defective one. Fedex showed up 2 days later, swapped the boxes out and I had a new RPA-2.

So...while I was a little (actually alot) freaked out the first amp failing after only a month, I now had a new one. I'm thinking to myself "Darn, I new I shouldn't have went with Emo" but was also thinking what was the chances of 2 new amps failing back to back. I remember when Randy (sirquack) warned me of his emo issues.

Well, 4 weeks later after receiving the 2nd amp...catastrophe! While cranking some Gary Moore, BAM! Left channel GONE! AGAIN! I couldn't freakin believe it. I called Emo and asked for Lonnie. I explained to Lonnie what has happen to me and questioned him again about the "pairing of axiom M80's and emotiva". At this point I wanted a different amp, XPA or something, I just didn't want to go thru this again.

Lonnie was very understanding and calmed me down. He also told me there was probably something wrong with my left speaker for this to happen twice with the left channel. He said I had to have a "short" in the left speaker and one of the drivers just had to be defective. Telling me something to the effect that a driver was shorting out for a "split micro-second" (which was why I couldn't audibly hear any problems) thus blowing the left channel out on the RPA-2. I was like what? you're kidding me? right? Now, it's Axioms fault?

My 6 year old Yamaha plays fine and even when cranked to loud volumes, my yammy never faulted once! He then explained to me that most receivers have built in "limiters" and "protection circuits" and the RPA-2 did not. Thus causing the failure. Again, he mentioned the M80's ohms dropping too low as well. We've all heard that story before. I say bull****! They even told me I should send the left speaker back to Axiom to have them check it for a defect.

I did call Axiom and talked to JC. Now, Emo has me thinking there was actually an issue with my left speaker. I just didn't buy that logic cause I didn't understand why my old yammy drove the M80's and the RPA-2 would not, built in limiter/protection, whatever, I didn't care. I just wanted a 2 channel amp with no problems!

So, Lonnie told me to send the 2nd failed RPA-2 back to him and he would personally checked it out. I sent the amp back and they had it for 3 1/2 weeks. Lonnie and I spoke a couple times while my 2nd amp was being repaired. I told him to make absolutely 100% sure they checked it out and do a thorough burn in testing before they sent it back to me. He also told me to make sure I switched the left/right speakers. This way, he says if that "one" (left one) speaker was shorting out, then it would obviously blow the "right" channel of the amp this time. If the right channel blows this time, then we would know for sure it's a defective speaker driver causing the amp to fail. I agreed, as I definitely wanted to know. He even suggested I try setting the M80's to small and route all LFE to the sub only! Explaining that this setting in my receiver would prevent the low HZ from dropping the speakers ohms "too low" and blowing the amp. Again, in my mind I'm saying Bull****! I want my receiver set the way "I want it". To have to have "special" settings to accommodate any amplifier is ludicrous!

Also, I wanted to mention that sometime during this 2nd amp disaster, Emotiva actually discontinues the RPA-2, which just came out in Jan 2009. I think they only had it for sale the first couple months of this year. Emo states somewhere on their forums that the parts, cost of production, etc. became too expensive and they just couldn't offer the RPA-2 anymore, it didn't "fit" into their Business model and marketing strategy or whatever. I found that extremely ironic.

Back to the story. After 3 weeks I called Emo and asked how much longer to repair it, couple days later they ship it back to me. The amp arrives and I unpack it. At this point I just stop, didn't even hook it up or plug it in. I know at this point I'm just gonna put this thing on Audiogon or ebay & get rid of it. My mind was set on getting a completely different amp.

I go back to work and call Lonnie. This whole thing has just driven me crazy and I wanted Lonnie to explain to me "exactly" what failed in the amp before I sell it. Funny thing, he states he was just about to call me and make me an offer. He told me that he looked at the first amp that failed on me and said that on "both failed amps" the exact same resister fried. He said that "those M80's just go so low in ohms" (cough,bull****,cough), that any of his amps would just keep failing because none of the emo amps have a "limiter" built in. He said he would be glad to refund my money, send me a call tag to have it shipped back to him and we can both be done with this. I freaking jumped at his offer! I wanted my money back now and I could go buy a different amp.

A week later...got my refund in full. Right now, you all might want to take restroom break, grab a bite to eat or a coffee refill. \:\) The story continues...

So while my second RPA-2 was being repaired I had been relentlessly researching different amps. Knowing I was going to wash my hands of this Emotiva amp one way or another. I was tired of this emo/axiom pairing issue, almost sick to my stomach of it. I was determined to find an amp that would blow my balls right off! \:\) I must have read thousands of forum posts, reviews, audiogon listings, more reviews, more posts, more, more, more...even convincing myself I was going to just get a AVR and be done with it. I researched every freakin AVR and amplifier to no end. My eyes where hurting at this point.

Frustrated and weary, I went back to my very first post here on the Axiom Forums...

http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/ubbthread...=241765&fpart=1

As I was reading the thread again, noticing again that both Randy and Sean had oddysey amps and I had already read every odyssey review I could find. I gave Klaus a call. As Sean and Randy had told me to do from the very beginning! God, how I wish I would have listened to you guys. I'm such an idiot!

As at least a couple of you know, Klaus is a class act. After a couple weeks and several conversations with Klaus and figuring my budget, I had Klaus start building me a pair Stratos monoblocks with board, cap, resistor and wiring upgrades, in Khartago cases. And then the long 5 week wait began.

As usual, Klaus found out exactly what my needs were, making it clear that my huge priority was pristine sound quality at levels that will, well...you know...blow my balls off! (been married for 24 years, so I have no need for them anyway \:\) )

So the mono's finally arrived last Friday June 5th. They have been running 24 hours a day since.

Now, I won't go into how great they are. I have already done that with my RPA-2 posting and we can all see what that has done to me. Who knows, maybe these will blow up too. As Klaus put it, amplifiers are electronic and sometimes, electronic equipment just fails.

I will say this about my Odyssey monos. So far...(fingers crossed)...

my balls are gone, they came completely & cleanly off, no pain, no snags, nothing, just gone. I have been searching the house for them the last few days. I miss them dearly now... \:\) I think the dogs got them, they both have strange, sort of "revengeful" smile on their faces.

Hope you all enjoyed my story...and I hope this may or may not be viewed as advice for future amplifier purchasers, not sure, it's just one guys experience.

And special thanks to Randy and Sean for leading me to Klaus, as they both tried to do in the beginning.

Respectfully,

Dduval

Link to Axiom forum for experience with Emotiva
megatron007
post Jun 27 2009, 08:50 AM

4,000 posts

at price praise up up ...then now pick up shit sad.gif

jialat case
jchong
post Jun 27 2009, 08:58 AM

5,989 posts

At the end of the day, we must all realize that no brand or model is perfect. There is no 100% success rate, if you read the user reviews of any equipment sure you will have some people who report problems.

Anyway, that's why reading a lot of user reviews is important - for us to know the pros and cons and then make up our own mind.
pierreye
post Jun 27 2009, 09:40 AM

1,308 posts

I think that forum mention problem M80 with emotiva amp. I believe your M60 which is 8ohm shouldn't have any problem. Also according to some forumer, the problem only exist between the older M80ti. Oddesey looks nicer on paper but then it's custom built and almost double the price of emotiva. For USD 599 for XPA-5 I don't think you can find a better value power amp. Unless you want to wait for their new Class H amp (Should be quite similar to Class D).

Also note that that guy complain about RPA-2. XPA-2 and RPA-2 is different model. Check out some of the pro reviews that mention XPA-2 is better than RPA-2.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jun 27 2009, 09:42 AM
htkaki
post Jun 27 2009, 01:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh mpyw, I can get the Marantz 8 channel power amp for you if you do not want to buy Emotiva tongue.gif . MM-8003 if not mistaken blush.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 27 2009, 01:46 PM
TSmpyw
post Jun 27 2009, 03:03 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 27 2009, 01:45 PM)
Taukeh mpyw, I can get the Marantz 8 channel power amp for you if you do not want to buy Emotiva tongue.gif . MM-8003 if not mistaken  blush.gif
siao...so expensive...u think I print money ar?
however, If I strike the RM15Mil lottery this month then diff story tongue.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Jun 27 2009, 03:11 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 27 2009, 03:03 PM)
however, If I strike the RM15Mil lottery this month then diff story  tongue.gif
Wah! If u do get the Rm15 mil do 'donate' ur HT system to a poor peasant like me! Then u 'up-grade' ur system to 'mati langgang' & 4 SVS 13 ultra & oh before u do that 'up-grade' ur house to a big mansion to enjoy ur new ultra elite HT system. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
In the meantime I wish u all the best & may u win the Rm15 million lottery! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

htkaki
post Jun 27 2009, 05:42 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 27 2009, 03:03 PM)
however, If I strike the RM15Mil lottery this month then diff story  tongue.gif

http://us.marantz.com/Products/2325.asp

PM me for the price as it is not as expensive as you think brows.gif
arremie
post Jun 27 2009, 07:39 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

very nice
htkaki
post Jun 28 2009, 08:52 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh mpyw, aint that expensive as you thought, right? tongue.gif

It is within your 'affordable' range whistling.gif
gocitygo
post Jun 28 2009, 09:34 AM

397 posts

Sorry to tumpang this tread icon_rolleyes.gif

Currently I have an entry Hi5 setup, CD5001 + PM4001 + 1 pair of MS902i.

Now, plan to invest on HT. How do I maintain 1 pair of speaker with AVR(target on SR6003) + Int Amp(PM4001)? I have not listened SR6003 with MS902i but based on Marantz salesman, PM4001 should give better SQ in stereo.

Can I tap the pre-out of AVR (front L/R) to the Int Amp to drive front speakers? The Centre & Surround will drive directly by AVR.

CDP --> Int Amp --> Front L/R
AVR(pre out) --> Int Amp(pre in) --> Front L/R
AVR --> Centre/Surround/Sub.
jmdibr
post Jul 6 2009, 11:10 PM

324 posts

just got qoute from my friend,

XPA 3 - RM 3k
XPA 5 - RM3.8k

anyone interested? drool.gif

mys_terious
post Jul 7 2009, 01:43 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 27 2009, 08:28 AM)
I am rethinking again if wanna get the Emotiva or not after reading this..... sweat.gif  blink.gif

bro this is the risk u have to take when u buy ID products especially for Mlaysians.. any problem with the product its gonna be a hasstle sending back,,, expecially for amps when they got problem we cant diy to fix it... i doubt emotive will cover the shopping cost to send back for repair but u can ask 1st b4 your purchase.. the case u read might be an isolated case.. all products might have defects.. even the popular svs had problems for a few singaporeans.. 1 guy had repeated same problem until the 3 unit of replacement were sent... just that it is easier to settle coz just send the parts n they cover the shipping cost... for the price emotiva is said to be a steal for the performance they provide and if u r not using 4 ohm drivers i think its not so worrying unless u find a few threads abt it having problems with 8ohm speakers... of course it is easy for me to say all these coz i am not forking money out to buy it flex.gif

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jul 7 2009, 01:43 AM
pierreye
post Jul 7 2009, 07:36 AM

1,308 posts

jmdibr, you mean XPA-5 RM 3.8k d2d? Do your friend bring in the unit for sale?
jchong
post Jul 7 2009, 07:40 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 7 2009, 07:36 AM)
jmdibr, you mean XPA-5 RM 3.8k d2d? Do your friend bring in the unit for sale?
No his friend is in USA and helping to co-ordinate buying and shipping from USA.

Added on July 7, 2009, 7:43 am
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Jul 7 2009, 01:43 AM)
bro this is the risk u have to take when u buy ID products especially for Mlaysians.. any problem with the product its gonna be a hasstle sending back,,, expecially for amps when they got problem we cant diy to fix it... i doubt emotive will cover the shopping cost to send back for repair but u can ask 1st b4 your purchase..
This is what Emotiva says for overseas service: If service is required, the cost of shipping to us and return shipping is the sole responsibility of the end user.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jul 7 2009, 07:43 AM
jmdibr
post Jul 7 2009, 07:48 AM

324 posts

Jchong already answered tq
TSmpyw
post Jul 7 2009, 08:21 AM

3,603 posts

the XPA 3.8k incl tax?
mys_terious
post Jul 7 2009, 08:48 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 7 2009, 08:21 AM)
the XPA 3.8k incl tax?
yes.. i think if the price x2 we still cant find any amp with the same spec locally right...
pierreye
post Jul 7 2009, 09:05 AM

1,308 posts

I had check with Emotiva. If your unit is having problem and you can get the technician to localize the problem, they can send the parts and schematic to you to do the replacement. With their design with dedicated card for each channel, shouldn't be too difficult for a electrical technician to do component swapping.
kiam
post Jul 7 2009, 09:19 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 7 2009, 08:21 AM)
the XPA 3.8k incl tax?
i checked with him, and he mentioned that the 3.8k is including tax and all, from US to PG.
htkaki
post Jul 7 2009, 09:28 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Interesting..... for RM3.8K. Kiam, sapu this for your RF-83 setup?
jchong
post Jul 7 2009, 09:53 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 7 2009, 09:05 AM)
I had check with Emotiva. If your unit is having problem and you can get the technician to localize the problem, they can send the parts and schematic to you to do the replacement. With their design with dedicated card for each channel, shouldn't be too difficult for a electrical technician to do component swapping.
It's good they can do that. Saves a lot on shipping costs, but I think user still has to pay for shipping of the parts right?
jmdibr
post Jul 7 2009, 06:53 PM

324 posts

just order XPA-5 for one of our forummers here drool.gif
my friend agreed for COD but in Penang only, need to
pay 20% of total cost first when order...

easternred
post Jul 7 2009, 07:11 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jmdibr @ Jul 7 2009, 06:53 PM)
just order XPA-5 for one of our forummers here  drool.gif
my friend agreed for COD but in Penang only, need to
pay 20% of total cost first when order...
how about if for kuching? any chances?
pierreye
post Jul 7 2009, 07:48 PM

1,308 posts

Your friend in Penang? I'm from Penang so I'm interested.
jmdibr
post Jul 7 2009, 08:07 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(easternred @ Jul 7 2009, 07:11 PM)
how about if for kuching? any chances?
for kuching I'm afraid need to pay full..sorry about that sad.gif

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 7 2009, 07:48 PM)
I'm staying in Penang, area bayan lepas...PM me if u're interested
& I 'll reply tomorrow, tonite cannot online...
pierreye
post Jul 7 2009, 08:10 PM

1,308 posts

0.0347sec    1.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:28 AM