Home Teather Separates, Next target upgrades... :p

car_o_scope
post Jun 19 2009, 09:56 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 19 2009, 09:27 AM)
eh...all these brands are poor man's HT gear lar...

elite go for Krell, B&W, Martin Logan, Dynaudio, Naim etc.....and their speakers cable alone can buy my whole set of HT equipment liao..... sweat.gif
Sometimes, expensive gears cannot guarantee it will work well with other equipments and also in the room. rclxub.gif

car_o_scope
post Jun 19 2009, 04:56 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 19 2009, 04:41 PM)
so if ur power amp 3 channels only, front n center speakers will connect to ur power amp n surround speakers still connected to receiver? power amp has no volume control right? everything still control by receiver? power amp only to boost power?
The receiver will act as the control unit only.
In an integrated amp/receiver, it is consisted of two parts.
One is the control (something like pre amplifier) and the other is the power amplifier.

If you are adding power amp to your receiver, the power amp will take over the job from receiver to drive the speakers but the signals are being fed by the receiver's pre amplifier part.

Power amp can maintain a more consistent output compared to receiver's built in power amp. The drop in performance is due to distortions and heat.
(Sorry if explanation not clear... but something like that lar.. laugh.gif)

car_o_scope
post Jun 24 2009, 09:43 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 24 2009, 06:13 PM)
Say ur speaker only 100W max, no prob driving it with 200W receiver/power amp? or will it clip n damage.
Speakers have higher chances of being damaged by low powered amps rather than high powered amps.
car_o_scope
post Jun 24 2009, 10:07 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 24 2009, 09:55 PM)
exactly.... like those ppl pumping current instead of signal to the speaker driver.... eventually u are doing goreng2 biggrin.gif

Added on June 24, 2009, 9:56 pmif AVR is pariah grade??

so rubbish in rubbish out

get power amp also no use rite? sad.gif
Not really. Surely can feel the differences.
If you have poweramp, the AVR's output is already nothing (useless).
Coz the poweramp will drive the speakers.
AVR will be the signals processor only.

Poweramp usually have a better output consistency.
Very useful if your speakers are demanding and also high volume listening.
So, with a poweramp, the performance will surely increase.
car_o_scope
post Jun 25 2009, 09:32 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 25 2009, 09:26 AM)
May I ask why this particular XPA model? What about other brand of power amp?
I might have no idea in mutlichannel HT systems but when I looked at the Emotiva, I feel that the prices are very reasonable given that sort of performance.
Hence, the Emotiva is the focus of our fellow forummers here.

Not to say that other brands are not good.
There are lots of brands that are good but most of them dont come cheap.

0.0192sec    1.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:28 AM