9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Official SPM 2009 English Thread

baoz
post Jun 18 2009, 08:40 PM

963 posts

It's easier to write a factual essay because you can argue anything out with the topic they give you.

But it's also the most dangerous one to write because you can stray from the question very easily.

I've been writing factual in every single exam since form 4 and been getting lousy grades for them (because apparantly, my teacher doesn't get my point). Somehow I took a last shot and got GCE A1.

So I'd suggest practising the genre that you're comfortable with. Don't change too frequently unless the question is really not within your range.

Vary your writing styles. Don't sound monotonous like "I am a boy. I like to eat bananas". Don't use words that are too bombastic or scientific jargon. You can keep that for EST.
IamjustME
post Jun 18 2009, 09:23 PM

inb4 /k/
785 posts

QUOTE(babysiiaozz @ Jun 18 2009, 07:59 PM)
yeah, i am form 5 ^^ nice one, make sure you don't MIA suddenly one day,
cause no one will be able to edit the first post except mods.. and
i am taking Literature in English too. (extra subject)
can i post directed writing examples/etc here too?
it is not advisable to do so because some of us might alter them wrongly..
and the exam 's question paper itself stated clearly that
" you should remember .. to use all the information given"
.. conclusion, it is the best if you don't change anything and elaborate
your points/keywords/etc clearly!

read instruction next time.. ^^
Nice. This piece of information should help our current candidates.

Ahh, remembering the old days back in SPM. Challenged myself to write a descriptive essay instead of the usual factual essays and scored 1A in GCE-O. icon_rolleyes.gif Not advisable to do this if i) you are not confident enough and, ii) you are not adapting/improvising enough skills to change your style of writing. nod.gif

As previous forumers have said, clear, concise and balanced essays are requirements for an 1A grade in GCE-O.

This post has been edited by IamjustME: Jun 18 2009, 09:24 PM
Batusai
post Jun 19 2009, 08:28 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(realz @ Jun 17 2009, 04:15 PM)
On the directed writting:
Let say I got 8points.
Let say Ive been asked to make a talk based on this:
4points in causes
4points in suggestion
So its not mean that I need to elaborate each points?
I did joining some points(2-3)in one paragraph.Is it ok?

Added on June 17, 2009, 4:22 pmMost of English teachers said it is too hard to get mark on factual essay.
I just get 25/50
I have several question:
a)Story-telling essay
I kinda not familiar with it and I guess my minds only work on something that I have been faced.Where can I get examples of story essay.
b)Descriptive essay
The essay seems easy,my dream house but how to elaborate it?
c)General essay
The title is easy.On my midterm the title is "Flower"
How can I make an essay of it?can it be story-telling too or what?
sorry for the late reply bro.. since ur given 8 points.

theres 7 points left.. it will go to the elaboration and format.

read the instructions whether is asks for an opening and ending. if yes that means its 2 points for format.

well then u have to contain 5 elaboration.

its always better to separate ur elaboration to each point.

giving 2 elaboration for one point might be that good..

Added on June 19, 2009, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(IamjustME @ Jun 18 2009, 02:30 PM)
My question on directed writing has not been answered few years after I took SPM. Is altering keywords in Directed Writing acceptable to score content points?

My classmates and I were taught to use 100% of the given keywords without changing the nature of words (verb -> gerund, noun -> verb in infinite form, etc). Even the order of key points must be followed according to our question paper. 

However, friends from other schools of my zone stated otherwise. In the end, "????".
its advisable not to alter the keywords.

the markers have a marking scheme which the points are the same as given.

as long as u listed the same point given.. u'll get a mark.. if u alter the word.. the marker might miss out the point.. the marker doesnt mark a class bear that in mind.. he has to mark the whole school.. so he will rely on his mind.. its almost hes memorized all the points.. so altering is not advisable really..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Jun 19 2009, 08:31 PM
babysiiaozz
post Jun 19 2009, 08:33 PM

342 posts

@above
you are right ^^
Batusai
post Jun 20 2009, 02:23 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

haha.. my teacher used to tell me that too
arsenwagon
post Jun 20 2009, 02:33 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

but of course u can change the forms of the word.. like
from verb to noun etc. right? as long as you keep the root word i guess.
in fact it shows that youre not just copy pasta..
babysiiaozz
post Jun 20 2009, 10:22 PM

342 posts

^ depends the one who mark our paper is very strict/close minded, etc or not la.. if not, then can accept lor. this is Malaysiaaa. laugh.gif
raiw
post Jun 20 2009, 11:05 PM

21 posts

There's a shortcut for the 2nd part actually. Just write a descriptive story before your SPM, have a teacher to mark for you and have it memorized. Walk in to the exam hall,take a look on the question and write out everything you have memorized. Change your essay a bit here and there to fit in the question.

Fitting in is the most important part. Your story should include places, special characters and memorable moments. These three elements should let your essay fit in most of the questions. Just take your essay and try to fit in any descriptive essay questions. If it fits in most, then that's your A1 essay.
styrwr91
post Jun 20 2009, 11:24 PM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

always always follow the instructions given, and mind ur grammar as well....a lot of my frens can write really interesting story with powerful vocab, but due to mistakes in grammar, he cant even get a decent B3 for GCE-O
Elven
post Jun 20 2009, 11:36 PM

399 posts

During my SPM English paper last year, I was having a f***ing bad headache and sweating like hell. For directed writing, I think I missed out 2 points given. I didn't even bother to check and add in the missing points because of the headache. it's driving me crazy. So I finished the paper 15 minutes early and got myself hell out of the class. I thought I wouldn't be able to get A for my English, instead I was shocked the moment I received my English paper. Sorry don't mean to brag, but you just need a flawless consistent writing. Make it short yet compact. The longer the essay, chances are for you to commit mistakes.

This post has been edited by Elven: Jun 20 2009, 11:39 PM
Batusai
post Jun 21 2009, 01:23 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

for directed writing.. its very important u keep it short.. its marked based on the points.. as long as u have all the points.. the 15 marks is yours already..
language is 20.. even though u dont have good vocab.. jus try to maintain ur grammar.. dont make mistakes.. its important not to make mistakes.. even with good vocab but alot of mistake.. ur marks is pulled down too.. its better to lift the whole given point.. its safer to do so..

for continuous writing.. like raiw said.. just memorize an essay if you're not that good.. but u have to alter the essay to fit the question.. just use ur imagination to do so.. its pretty easy.. of course.. u have to choose an essay which can be twisted into any ways..

well on top of all.. its very very important to maintain ur grammar..
mistakes pull down your marks..
write simple english if you're not sure what u wanna write..
TSrealz
post Jun 22 2009, 07:50 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(babysiiaozz @ Jun 18 2009, 07:59 PM)
yeah, i am form 5 ^^ nice one, make sure you don't MIA suddenly one day,
cause no one will be able to edit the first post except mods.. and
i am taking Literature in English too. (extra subject)
can i post directed writing examples/etc here too?
it is not advisable to do so because some of us might alter them wrongly..
and the exam 's question paper itself stated clearly that
" you should remember .. to use all the information given"
.. conclusion, it is the best if you don't change anything and elaborate
your points/keywords/etc clearly!

read instruction next time.. ^^
I am more than happy if you can provide me the example of essays.
I will editing the first post with all the information that the forumers share.
Perhaps you can PM me and I will give you my email and you send me the script there so I can put it in the first post.

and TQ batusai thumbup.gif
Batusai
post Jun 23 2009, 01:04 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

no problem there.

sample essays? whoa.. its gonna take time to write it out..

u should just keep reading some sample essays. and also. if possible. find errors.. from ur previous work or your fren's work.. looking for errors helps alott.
baoz
post Jun 23 2009, 01:38 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jun 23 2009, 01:04 AM)
no problem there.

u should just keep reading some sample essays. and also. if possible. find errors.. from ur previous work or your fren's work.. looking for errors helps alott.
Agreed. Usually teachers will announce the person who wrote the best essay. Approach that friend of yours, read their essay and photostat it if they don't mind. Sharing is caring. thumbup.gif

The difference between that and buying a reference book outside is that the level of English between you and your classmates are more likely to be on par, plus in the same context. Some of the books outside use words that are either too simple (no variation) or the lack good content points. Or others, too bombastic.

I used to go around photostating my classmates essays. Also a good way to know why and where you went wrong.

TSrealz
post Jun 23 2009, 06:57 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jun 23 2009, 01:04 AM)
no problem there.

No I mean babysiozz said she want to post the sample essay.
Batusai,
I think the directed writing full mark only 30
15 content
15language

Added on June 24, 2009, 7:15 pm
QUOTE(realz @ Jun 23 2009, 06:57 PM)
Batusai,
15 content
15language
Isnt it?

Added on June 26, 2009, 5:43 pm
QUOTE(realz @ Jun 23 2009, 06:57 PM)
Batusai,
15 content
15language

Added on June 24, 2009, 7:15 pm

Isnt it?
Anyone who has sample of Essay or their school note please contact me so I can put it in first page

This post has been edited by realz: Jun 26 2009, 05:43 PM
Batusai
post Jun 27 2009, 01:30 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

nope.. its 35 for sure.. and CW will be 50.

im not sure the syllabus changed.. but i dont think so..

format, content and elaboration total 15 while language is 20.

just sat for my SPM last year buddy
TSrealz
post Jul 3 2009, 08:20 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jun 27 2009, 01:30 PM)
nope.. its 35 for sure.. and CW will be 50.

im not sure the syllabus changed.. but i dont think so..

format, content and elaboration total 15 while language is 20.

just sat for my SPM last year buddy
Yes..my mistake blush.gif its 35

Added on July 3, 2009, 8:50 pmIve updated first post and looking for some comments and improvement from others :-)

This post has been edited by realz: Jul 3 2009, 08:50 PM
studwo
post Jul 3 2009, 10:15 PM

1,129 posts

SPM english ... If you fail this ... go jump down from klcc ..

This post has been edited by studwo: Jul 3 2009, 10:16 PM
TSrealz
post Jul 3 2009, 10:52 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(studwo @ Jul 3 2009, 10:15 PM)
SPM english ... If you fail this ... go jump down from klcc ..
thumbup.gif
In this thread we are aiming to get A1.
To pass just a tip of iceberg icon_idea.gif
anything to share?

This post has been edited by realz: Jul 3 2009, 11:00 PM
TSrealz
post Jul 6 2009, 06:17 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(MoonBaskins @ Jul 5 2009, 07:03 PM)
Seriously,if you have basic knowledge of the English language or everyday interactions with the English language,I don't see what's the problem with scoring A1 for both SPM level English or 1119.In my opinion,SPM level English is extremely low compared to other exams,so,don't worry ^^ reading newspapers can also improve your English
But it still requires techniques
so hope to have someone who can guide me.

Added on October 1, 2009, 8:07 pmmy CW for trial is 33 C
:-(

This post has been edited by realz: Oct 1 2009, 08:07 PM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.3569sec    1.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:15 PM