Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

bbjslee
post Feb 19 2010, 12:52 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Hi guys,

I'm sort of torn between E-PL1 & E620 judging by the features.
I've tried E620 in camera shops, and I liked it. But I've yet to be able to lay my hands on E-PL1, since it's still new.

FYI, I'm new in DSLR.
My usage of the camera will be for travelling, shooting my family & friends during special occasions (indoor).

What do you recommend?
bbjslee
post Mar 5 2010, 01:10 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Mar 5 2010, 12:46 AM)
hahaha i use the same bag also....
my test shot on E-P2 f1.4 iso400 1/13s
Where you bought your E-P2? How much?
bbjslee
post Mar 8 2010, 07:36 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Anyone knows which camera shop in Klang Valley has E-PL1 in stock? Would like to try it out.
bbjslee
post Mar 14 2010, 12:04 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Went Midvalley today.
Foto flash quoted rm2299 for E-PL1, Foto Data at RM2300
bbjslee
post Mar 22 2010, 01:32 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Just got myself E-PL1 kit + Pana 20mm for RM3700 from a forum trader

Now is to find a bag suitable for it. Any recommendation?

This post has been edited by bbjslee: Mar 22 2010, 02:37 AM
bbjslee
post Mar 22 2010, 11:10 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Mar 22 2010, 06:04 AM)
Bought it at RM2130 for the box set and added in filters, also a Nat. Geo bag.

Bought at Gurney Plaza Penang.

@bbjslee

How much and where can I get the Pana 20mm? I'm looking for that also. What package do you get for the lens?
You can check with Ceriss
I paid 1350 for the lens, but there's interest charge for instalment.
bbjslee
post Mar 22 2010, 11:28 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Mar 22 2010, 08:06 PM)
Ceriss quoted me Rm1420 for the lens.

@daiboken

The built in flash is not good in my initial attempts. Maybe I need to test it with different sync time. I almost always never use flash so I don't test the different flash sync.

@zero_hour

Same reason I decided not to wait for G2 =P
try nego the price with him. Else get frm ebay.
there's a trick with the built in flash, use your finger to tilt the flash upward so it can bounce frm ceiling instead.

bbjslee
post Mar 23 2010, 10:27 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(zero_hour @ Mar 23 2010, 10:17 AM)
ermm, 14-42mm oly or 14-45mm pana lens for EPL1??  hmm.gif
take the kit 14-42 but must get pana pancake 20mm
i've fallen in love with the pancake, it's currently the default lens on my e-pl1.
If you have additional money, get the pl1 twin lens kit.

bbjslee
post Mar 23 2010, 11:43 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(zero_hour @ Mar 23 2010, 11:23 AM)
got twin kit ? 14-42 + 40-150??? hmmm i have 25mm f2.8,dont think 20mm f1.7 unless i sold my 25mm pancake and Pana L1 body  cool.gif
yup. But 40-150 is for 4 third not m 4 third.
It comes with an adaptor. Both lens and adapter cost additional 500.

bbjslee
post Mar 24 2010, 12:18 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Mar 23 2010, 10:01 PM)
glad u happy with epl1..as for me i got no money to upgrade already..ep2 is just fine..
EPL1 is downgrade from EP2 la.
Sell off your EP2 and get EPL1 lor
hahaha
bbjslee
post Mar 24 2010, 06:14 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Mar 24 2010, 05:59 PM)
oow..dont know that...its simple just put your finger at the flash...cant do it with gf1..
Another point scored by EPL1.... hmm.. starts to sound like English Premier League 1 tongue.gif
bbjslee
post Mar 26 2010, 06:19 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Any bag or protective cover to recommend for E-PL1?

I'm thinking among the 2 below:
The medium size retro looking PEN bag I was quoted RM290. It really looks good and quite a head turner.

Lowepro Sling Passport was quoted RM250. It doesn't looks that "cool" compared to PEN bag. But there is more compartment and I can put a water bottle in a seperated compartment in the bag. Good for day trips.
bbjslee
post Mar 26 2010, 08:18 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Mar 26 2010, 08:17 PM)
I went for a Nat Geo small bag...
Where you bought it? price? Any pic?
bbjslee
post Mar 27 2010, 12:01 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Mar 26 2010, 10:44 PM)
Nice, how much is the damage?
bbjslee
post Mar 28 2010, 12:38 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Some samples pics from my E-PL1
bbjslee
post Mar 28 2010, 05:59 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

yup yup it is pinhole effect

bbjslee
post Mar 29 2010, 11:43 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Mar 29 2010, 11:40 AM)
I have the E-PL1 kit lens+20mm pana pancake.

Estimate, around RM2.6K for the setup. A lot of shops @ BBPlaza have the E-PL1 and 20mm pancake in stock.
R you sure rm2.6k?
EPL-1 kit already at least RM2k.
Pana 20mm pancake only RM600? rclxms.gif
bbjslee
post Mar 29 2010, 12:34 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Mar 29 2010, 11:51 AM)
hahahaha I was like ..awesome deal. Hahahah oh well. biggrin.gif

Added on March 29, 2010, 11:52 amIs this combo any good for lanscape photography?

Added on March 29, 2010, 12:11 pmIs this a dumb question? hahahaha silence
It is good for all purpose.
20mm wide angle - good for landscape
f1.7 - fast lens, good for low light

Macro is abit so-so, you'll have to crop the picture to get good effect.

bbjslee
post Mar 29 2010, 12:39 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Mar 29 2010, 12:36 PM)
Thanks for the reply smile.gif  Should I even be bothered with the kit 14-42mm lens?
Well yes.
It is a good lens, not great.
it is 14mm, wider than Pana 20mm. Good for group photos. Especially on trip when you need to take group photo with landscape.
People will definitely ask, how come your "small" camera can fit so many things in, but not mine? blush.gif
42mm zoom is nothing to shout about, but is good to have. Besides the kit lens is not huge, won't add much weight to your gears.
bbjslee
post Apr 2 2010, 12:59 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Which lens is good to take action photos? Such as running children?

0.0482sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:53 PM